DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
If applicable, The Office would like to remind Applicant of the time limits set forth under 37 CFR 1.97.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to because they are grey scale and of poor line quality. Every line, number, and letter must be durable, clean, black, sufficiently dense and dark, and uniformly thick and well-defined. See MPEP 608.02 and 37 CFR 1.84.
Claim Interpretation
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Standbridge (US 20160369589).
Regarding claim 1, Standbridge teaches: An actuator (Standbridge comprising 10) for operating a valve (Standbridge [0020, 0026-0029, 0049-0050]) disposed (Standbridge Fig. 9) in a rotatable drill stem comprising a passageway therethrough, the drill stem defining a longitudinal axis (Standbridge near 11), the valve comprising a ball valve (Standbridge 102) disposed therein, the ball valve configured for opening and closing the passageway, the actuator comprising:
a) a mounting sleeve (Standbridge 12) configured for attaching to the valve, the mounting sleeve further comprising at least one pinion gear (Standbridge 28) configured (Standbridge [0050, 0058]) for coupling to the ball valve and rotating the ball valve to open and close the passageway;
b) a rack sleeve (Standbridge 14) circumferentially disposed on the mounting sleeve and configured (Standbridge [0028-0029, 0048-0051]) for slidable movement up and down on the mounting sleeve along the longitudinal axis, the rack sleeve further comprising a rack (Standbridge 36) configured (Standbridge [0020-0023, 0028-0036, 0048-0051]) to rotate the at least one pinion gear when the rack sleeve moves up and down on the mounting sleeve; and
c) shifting means (Standbridge [0034]; claim 8-10) for slidably moving the rack sleeve on the mounting sleeve, the shifting means rotatably coupled (Standbridge [0034]; claim 8-10) to the mounting sleeve and to the rack sleeve wherein the shifting means is substantially stationary when the drill stem is rotating.
Note: Alternative citations based on different embodiments and/or different interpretations of the same embodiment have been provided to address the different variations and/or alteration of features in the dependent claims.
Regarding claim 2, Standbridge teaches: The actuator as set forth in claim 1, wherein the at least one pinion gear comprises a shaft (Standbridge [0020, 0050]) that is configured to engage the ball valve.
Regarding claim 3, Standbridge teaches: The actuator as set forth in claim 1, wherein the mounting sleeve further comprises one or both of a threaded collar and a plurality of set screws (Standbridge [0049, 0053-0054]; claim 2) configured to engage the valve to attach the mounting sleeve thereto.
Regarding claim 4, Standbridge teaches: The actuator as set forth in claim 1, wherein the shifting means comprises:
a) first and second end plates (Standbridge [0034, 0048-0049]) rotatably attached to opposing ends of the mounting sleeve;
b) at least one shroud plate (Standbridge 22) operatively connecting (Standbridge [0034, 0048-0049]) the first and second end plates to form at least a partially enclosed or a fully enclosed structure;
c) a shifting base (Standbridge 16) disposed (Standbridge [0048-0049]) between the first and second end plates and circumferentially disposed on the rack sleeve, the rack sleeve and the shifting base, in combination, comprising
means (Standbridge [0034]; claim 7) for enabling the shifting base to engage the rack sleeve and to rotate relative to the rack sleeve about the longitudinal axis; and
d) the first and second end plates and the shifting base, in combination, comprising moving means (Standbridge [0036]; claim 9) for moving the shifting base linearly back and forth between the first and second end plates thereby engaging the rack sleeve to move slidably on the mounting sleeve along the longitudinal axis.
Regarding claim 5, Standbridge teaches: The actuator as set forth in claim 4, wherein the moving means comprises a plurality of cylinder assemblies (Standbridge [0037, 0052, 0054]) disposed between the first and second end plates and operatively coupled thereto, each of the plurality of cylinder assemblies comprising a cylinder housing (Standbridge 62) slidable disposed on at least one piston rod (Standbridge 30), the cylinder housing operatively coupled (Standbridge [0048-0056]) to the shifting base, wherein the shifting base moves up and down between the first and second end plates as the cylinder housing moves along the at least one piston rod.
Regarding claim 6, Standbridge teaches: The actuator as set forth in claim 5, wherein each of the plurality of cylinder assemblies comprises a hydraulic piston (Standbridge [0022-0023, 0036-0037, 0048-0056]) and cylinder combination (Standbridge [0022-0023, 0036-0037, 0048-0056]).
Regarding claim 7, Standbridge teaches: A method for operating a valve (Standbridge [0020, 0026-0029, 0049-0050]) disposed (Standbridge Fig. 9) in a rotatable drill stem comprising a passageway therethrough, the drill stem defining a longitudinal axis (Standbridge near 11), the valve comprising a ball valve (Standbridge 102) disposed therein, the ball valve configured for opening and closing the passageway, the method comprising the steps of:
a) providing (Standbridge comprising 10) an actuator, comprising:
i) a mounting sleeve (Standbridge 12) configured for attaching to the valve, the mounting sleeve further comprising at least one pinion gear (Standbridge 28) configured (Standbridge [0050, 0058]) for coupling to the ball valve and rotating the ball valve to open and close the passageway,
ii) a rack sleeve (Standbridge 14) circumferentially disposed on the mounting sleeve and configured (Standbridge [0028-0029, 0048-0051]) for slidable movement up and down on the mounting sleeve along the longitudinal axis, the rack sleeve further comprising a rack (Standbridge 36) configured (Standbridge [0020-0023, 0028-0036, 0048-0051]) to rotate the at least one pinion gear when the rack sleeve moves up and down on the mounting sleeve, and
iii) shifting means (Standbridge [0034]; claim 8-10) for slidably moving the rack sleeve on the mounting sleeve, the shifting means rotatably coupled (Standbridge [0034]; claim 8-10) to the mounting sleeve and to the rack sleeve wherein the shifting means is substantially stationary when the drill stem is rotating;
b) attaching (Standbridge [0029]) the actuator to the valve; and
c) moving (Standbridge [0029]) the rack sleeve relative to the mounting sleeve using the shifting base to rotate the ball valve.
Regarding claim 8, Standbridge teaches: The method as set forth in claim 7, wherein the at least one pinion gear comprises a shaft (Standbridge [0020, 0050]) that is configured to engage the ball valve.
Regarding claim 9, Standbridge teaches: The method as set forth in claim 7, wherein the mounting sleeve further comprises one or both of a threaded collar and a plurality of set screws (Standbridge [0049, 0053-0054]; claim 2) configured to engage the valve to attach the mounting sleeve thereto.
Regarding claim 10, Standbridge teaches: The method as set forth in claim 7, wherein the shifting means comprises:
a) first and second end plates (Standbridge [0034, 0048-0049]) rotatably attached to opposing ends of the mounting sleeve;
b) at least one shroud plate (Standbridge 22) operatively connecting (Standbridge [0034, 0048-0049]) the first and second end plates to form at least a partially enclosed or a fully enclosed structure;
c) a shifting base (Standbridge 16) disposed (Standbridge [0048-0049]) between the first and second end plates and circumferentially disposed on the rack sleeve, the rack sleeve and the shifting base, in combination, comprising
means (Standbridge [0034]; claim 7) for enabling the shifting base to engage the rack sleeve and to rotate relative to the rack sleeve about the longitudinal axis; and
d) the first and second end plates and the shifting base, in combination, comprising moving means (Standbridge [0036]; claim 9) for moving the shifting base linearly back and forth between the first and second end plates thereby engaging the rack sleeve to move slidably on the mounting sleeve along the longitudinal axis.
Regarding claim 11, Standbridge teaches: The method as set forth in claim 10, wherein the moving means comprises a plurality of cylinder assemblies (Standbridge [0037, 0052, 0054]) disposed between the first and second end plates and operatively coupled thereto, each of the plurality of cylinder assemblies comprising a cylinder housing (Standbridge 62) slidable disposed on at least one piston rod (Standbridge 30), the cylinder housing operatively coupled (Standbridge [0048-0056]) to the shifting base, wherein the shifting base moves up and down between the first and second end plates as the cylinder housing moves along the at least one piston rod.
Regarding claim 12, Standbridge teaches: The method as set forth in claim 11, wherein each of the plurality of cylinder assemblies comprises a hydraulic piston (Standbridge [0022-0023, 0036-0037, 0048-0056]) and cylinder combination (Standbridge [0022-0023, 0036-0037, 0048-0056]).
Prior Art
The following prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to Applicant's disclosure.
Mott (US 3941348) teaches a safety valve configured to mount between the swivel and Kelley.
Winegeart (US 4650153) teaches a safety valve for a rotatable Kelly or drill string, wherein the valve comprises a ball valve and rack, pinion assembly, and hydraulic actuator.
Conclusion
/David Carroll/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3674