Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Species I (FIG. 1-6) in the reply filed on 22 June 2026 is acknowledged.
It is noted no claims are withdrawn as a result of the Election.
DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
This action is in reply to the communications filed on 22 June 2026.
Claims 1-20 are currently pending.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement(s) (IDS) submitted was/were considered by the Examiner.
Claim Interpretation
Examiner note: no 112(f) invocations have been identified by the Office.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 14-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention.
Regarding Claim 14:
The claim language, "where the clamp applies the compressive force to the hanger ball at an un-clamped position," renders the claim indefinite. It is not clear how the clamp applies the compressive force, if not in the clamped position. For purposes of examination the claim language is interpreted to instead be, " where the clamp applies the compressive force to the hanger ball at an [[un-clamped]] clamped position."
Regarding claims 15-20:
Claims 15-20 are rejected by virtue of dependence on rejected claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-7 and 9-13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Ayrton et al (US 20140097315), hereafter referred to as Ayrton.
Regarding Claim 1, Ayrton discloses the following:
A hanger bracket (FIG. 1-3) assembly for mounting a ceiling fan ([0002]) to a structure, the hanger bracket (FIG. 1-3) assembly comprising:
a hanger bracket (FIG. 1-3) having a structure mount (14; FIG. 1) and a ball seat (30 in combination with 52) defined by a portion of the structure mount (14; FIG. 1);
a downrod (20) terminating in a hanger ball (72; see [0054], FIG. 10), which is seated in the ball seat (30 in combination with 52) for pivotal or rotational movement; and
a clamp (16; FIG. 10-14) pivotally coupled to the hanger bracket (FIG. 1-3) and pivotal between an un-clamped position (FIG. 10) and a clamped position (FIG. 13-14), where in the clamped position (FIG. 13-14), the clamp (16; FIG. 10-14) applies a force to the hanger ball (72; see [0054], FIG. 10) to lock the hanger ball (72; see [0054], FIG. 10) in place and restricts the pivotal or rotational movement (see [0054]).
Regarding Claim 2, Ayrton discloses the following:
The hanger bracket (FIG. 1-3) assembly of claim 1,
wherein a tab (64; FIG. 12) on one of the clamp (16; FIG. 10-14) or the hanger bracket (FIG. 1-3) together with a slot (narrow opening where 64 fits; see FIG. 11-13), which receives the tab (64; FIG. 12), on the other of the clamp (16; FIG. 10-14) or the hanger bracket (FIG. 1-3) pivotally couples the clamp (16; FIG. 10-14) to the hanger bracket (FIG. 1-3).
Regarding Claim 3, Ayrton discloses the following:
The hanger bracket (FIG. 1-3) assembly of claim 2,
wherein the slot (narrow opening where 64 fits; see FIG. 11-13) is located on the hanger bracket (FIG. 1-3) and the tab (64; FIG. 12) is located on the clamp (16; FIG. 10-14).
Regarding Claim 4, Ayrton discloses the following:
The hanger bracket (FIG. 1-3) assembly of claim 3,
wherein the hanger bracket (FIG. 1-3) has an arm (as best seen in FIG. 11) defining a portion of the slot (narrow opening where 64 fits; see FIG. 11-13).
Regarding Claim 5, Ayrton discloses the following:
The hanger bracket (FIG. 1-3) assembly of claim 4,
wherein the clamp (16; FIG. 10-14) has an opening (52 forms a portion of the opening receiving the ball, see FIG. 10-14) that receives the hanger ball (72; see [0054], FIG. 10) when the clamp (16; FIG. 10-14) is in the clamped position (FIG. 13-14).
Regarding Claim 6, Ayrton discloses the following:
The hanger bracket (FIG. 1-3) assembly of claim 5,
wherein the clamp (16; FIG. 10-14) further comprises a latch (portion of 16 that holds 70) that is coupled to the hanger bracket (FIG. 1-3) when the clamp (16; FIG. 10-14) is in the clamped position (FIG. 13-14).
Regarding Claim 7, Ayrton discloses the following:
The hanger bracket (FIG. 1-3) assembly of claim 6,
wherein the latch (portion of 16 that holds 70) is a latching finger (portion of 16 that holds 70) overlying a portion of the hanger bracket (FIG. 1-3) and further comprising a fastener (70) passing through the latching finger (portion of 16 that holds 70) and into the hanger bracket (FIG. 1-3).
Regarding Claim 9, Ayrton discloses the following:
The hanger bracket (FIG. 1-3) assembly of claim 1,
wherein the clamp (16; FIG. 10-14) comprises a body having an opening (32) through which a portion of the hanger ball (72; see [0054], FIG. 10) passes when the clamp (16; FIG. 10-14) is in the clamped position (FIG. 13-14).
Regarding Claim 10, Ayrton discloses the following:
The hanger bracket (FIG. 1-3) assembly of claim 9,
wherein the clamp (16; FIG. 10-14) lies below (at least portions of the clamp 16) an uppermost portion of the hanger ball (72; see [0054], FIG. 10) in the clamped position (FIG. 13-14).
Regarding Claim 11, Ayrton discloses the following:
The hanger bracket (FIG. 1-3) assembly of claim 1,
further comprising a hinged coupling (44 in cooperation with 56 and 64 in cooperation with slot receiving 64; FIG. 12) between the clamp (16; FIG. 10-14) and the hanger bracket (FIG. 1-3), with the clamp (16; FIG. 10-14) pivoting about the hinged coupling (44 in cooperation with 56 and 64 in cooperation with slot receiving 64; FIG. 12).
Regarding Claim 12, Ayrton discloses the following:
The hanger bracket (FIG. 1-3) assembly of claim 11,
wherein the hinged coupling (44 in cooperation with 56 and 64 in cooperation with slot receiving 64; FIG. 12) comprises a portion on the clamp (16; FIG. 10-14) and a portion on the hanger bracket (FIG. 1-3), with the portion on the clamp (16; FIG. 10-14) and the portion on the hanger bracket (FIG. 1-3) in an overlapping relationship.
Regarding Claim 13, Ayrton discloses the following:
The hanger bracket (FIG. 1-3) assembly of claim 12,
wherein the portion on the clamp (16; FIG. 10-14) is a tab (64; FIG. 12) and the portion on the hanger bracket (FIG. 1-3) is a slot (narrow opening where 64 fits; see FIG. 11-13).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ayrton et al (US 20140097315), hereafter referred to as Ayrton.
Regarding Claim 8, Ayrton discloses the following:
The hanger bracket (FIG. 1-3) assembly of claim 7,
Ayrton does not explicitly disclose the following:
wherein an entirety of the clamp lies below an uppermost portion of the hanger ball in the clamped position.
However the Examiner notes the following:
Ayrton discloses a hanger bracket having a clamp and a hanger ball, but is silent on the specific dimensions of the relationship between the uppermost portion of the hanger and the clamp. In other words, Ayrton discloses the same structure as the Applicant, except the relative dimensions claimed. The Instant Application has not disclosed the limitation(s) of: wherein an entirety of the clamp lies below an uppermost portion of the hanger ball in the clamped position (claim 8); provides any criticality. Note that the mere existence of these relative dimensions themselves in the claim cannot impart criticality as any hanger bracket having a clamp and hanger ball could be described in such a way. Therefore without explicit support for the relative dimensions of the claim(s) providing a critical result, it appears Ayrton would perform equally well with the relative values as claimed by Applicant. Since the courts have held that, “where the only difference between the prior art and the claims was a recitation of relative dimensions of the claimed device and a device having the claimed relative dimensions would not perform differently than the prior art device, the claimed device was not patentably distinct from the prior art device,” it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the relative dimensions between the hanger ball and clamp, as disclosed by Ayrton, by utilizing the specific value(s) (relative dimensions) as described above, with the reasonable expectation of successfully providing a hanger ball and clamp combination with specific relative dimensions. (see MPEP 2144.04, IV, A).
Claims 14-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ayrton et al (US 20140097315), hereafter referred to as Ayrton, in view of Botkin et al (US 20210180614), hereafter referred to as Botkin.
Regarding Claim 14, Ayrton discloses the following:
A ceiling fan ([0002]) assembly for mounting to a structure, the ceiling fan ([0002]) assembly comprising:
a hanger bracket (FIG. 1-3) having a structure mount (14; FIG. 1) and a ball seat (30 in combination with 52);
a downrod (20) having a first end and a second end, with the second end coupled to the ceiling fan ([0002]);
a hanger ball (72; see [0054], FIG. 10) couples to the first end of the downrod (20) and is received within the ball seat (30 in combination with 52);
a clamp (16; FIG. 10-14) applying a compressive force to the hanger ball (72; see [0054], FIG. 10) to press the hanger ball (72; see [0054], FIG. 10) against the ball seat (30 in combination with 52); and
a hinged coupling (44 in cooperation with 56 and 64 in cooperation with slot receiving 64; FIG. 12) between the clamp (16; FIG. 10-14) and the hanger bracket (FIG. 1-3), wherein the clamp (16; FIG. 10-14) is pivoted about the hinged coupling (44 in cooperation with 56 and 64 in cooperation with slot receiving 64; FIG. 12) between a clamped position (FIG. 13-14), where the clamp (16; FIG. 10-14) applies the compressive force to the hanger ball (72; see [0054], FIG. 10) at an un-clamped position (FIG. 10).
Ayrton does not explicitly disclose the following:
a ceiling fan having a rotor;
a plurality of blades operably coupled to the rotor;
However Botkin teaches the following:
a ceiling fan (10) having a rotor (26);
a plurality of blades (42) operably coupled to the rotor (26);
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the ceiling fan, as disclosed by Ayrton, wherein the ceiling fan comprises a rotor and a plurality of fan blades coupled to the rotor, as disclosed by Botkin, with the reasonable expectation of successfully cooling areas utilizing air movement (see Botkin, [0012]).
Regarding Claim 15, Ayrton as modified by Botkin teaches the following:
The ceiling fan ([0002]) assembly of claim 14,
Ayrton continues to teach the following:
wherein the clamp (16; FIG. 10-14) comprises an opening (52 forms a portion of the opening receiving the ball, see FIG. 10-14) through which a portion of the hanger ball (72; see [0054], FIG. 10) passes as the clamp (16; FIG. 10-14) is pivoted between the un-clamped position (FIG. 10) and the clamped position (FIG. 13-14).
Regarding Claim 16, Ayrton as modified by Botkin teaches the following:
The ceiling fan ([0002]) assembly of claim 14,
Ayrton continues to teach the following:
wherein the hinged coupling (44 in cooperation with 56 and 64 in cooperation with slot receiving 64; FIG. 12) comprises a portion on the hanger bracket (FIG. 1-3) and a portion on the clamp (16; FIG. 10-14), where the portion on the hanger bracket (FIG. 1-3) and the portion on the clamp (16; FIG. 10-14) cooperate and form the hinged coupling (44 in cooperation with 56 and 64 in cooperation with slot receiving 64; FIG. 12).
Regarding Claim 17, Ayrton as modified by Botkin teaches the following:
The ceiling fan ([0002]) assembly of claim 16,
Ayrton continues to teach the following:
wherein the portion on the hanger bracket (FIG. 1-3) is one of a tab (64; FIG. 12) or a slot (narrow opening where 64 fits; see FIG. 11-13) and the portion on the clamp (16; FIG. 10-14) is the other of the tab (64; FIG. 12) or slot (narrow opening where 64 fits; see FIG. 11-13).
Regarding Claim 18, Ayrton as modified by Botkin teaches the following:
The ceiling fan ([0002]) assembly of claim 17,
Ayrton continues to teach the following:
wherein the clamp (16; FIG. 10-14) is a plate from which the tab (64; FIG. 12) extends and the hanger bracket (FIG. 1-3) has the slot (narrow opening where 64 fits; see FIG. 11-13), the plate overlies the hanger ball (72; see [0054], FIG. 10), and the tab (64; FIG. 12) is received in the slot (narrow opening where 64 fits; see FIG. 11-13) to form the hinge.
Regarding Claim 19, Ayrton as modified by Botkin teaches the following:
The ceiling fan ([0002]) assembly of claim 18,
Ayrton continues to teach the following:
wherein the slot (narrow opening where 64 fits; see FIG. 11-13) is located in the ball seat (30 in combination with 52).
Regarding Claim 20, Ayrton as modified by Botkin teaches the following:
The ceiling fan ([0002]) assembly of claim 19,
Ayrton continues to teach the following:
wherein the plate further comprises a latching finger (portion of 16 that holds 70) that is secured (via 70) to the hanger bracket (FIG. 1-3) to fix the clamp (16; FIG. 10-14) in the clamped position (FIG. 13-14).
Conclusion
See form No. 892 for other references pertinent to the application that may not have been cited within the Office Action.
For references which show similar fan hanger arrangements see pages 1-2.
/BRIAN CHRISTOPHER DELRUE/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3745