DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 3, 5, 6 and 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US 20170304999, Broussard.
In regards to claim 1, in Figures 3A-D and paragraphs detailing said figures, Broussard discloses a fitting (UB) for installing screw-in-connectors to a pipe comprising: a tubular member having an outer circumference, an inner wall, a longitudinal axis and a length, the tubular member being configured to receive a pipe; multiple eves (AP) arranged on the outer circumference of the tubular member, each eve extending perpendicular to the longitudinal axis of the tubular member, each eve being a tubular protrusion having a blind hole extending into the protrusion yet spaced from the interior wall of the tubular member, each eve having an outer base providing a flat contact surface configured to receive a sensor; and a raised arcuate rib (R) on the outer circumference of the tubular member running between the eves configured to reinforce the fitting.
In regards to claim 3, in Figures 3A-D and paragraphs detailing said figures, Broussard discloses each eye extends cylindrically or conically along the central axis.
In regards to claim 5, in Figures 3A-D and paragraphs detailing said figures, Broussard discloses more than two eyes are arranged on the fitting.
In regards to claim 6, in Figures 3A-D and paragraphs detailing said figures, Broussard discloses four eyes are arranged on the outer circumference with a regular distribution.
In regards to claim 10, in Figures 3A-D and paragraphs detailing said figures, Broussard discloses the eyes are arranged in the middle of the length of the fitting.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 9 and 11 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) above have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/AARON M DUNWOODY/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3679