This action is in response to the documents received on November 10, 2025.
Specification
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
The following title is suggested: DISTAL AND PROXIMAL END COUPLINGS FOR SURGICAL END EFFECTOR.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by BALBIERZ et al. (US 2008/0294179).
In reference to claims 1 and 3, figures 19A-19C of BALBIERZ et al. discloses an end effector comprising: a first jaw 202 defining an anvil face 16a having a first end and a second end along a longitudinal axis (see Diagram I below), the first jaw 202 positionable on a first side of an anatomical structure (paragraph [0085]; figure 19D); a second jaw 200 housing a cartridge including a cartridge face , the cartridge face having a first end and a second end along a longitudinal axis (see Diagram I below), the second jaw 200 positionable on a second side of the anatomical structure (figure 19D); a first (pin) coupling (see Diagram I below) that couples the first end of the first jaw 202 to the first end of the second jaw 200; and a second (slot) coupling (see Diagram I below) that couples the second end of the first jaw 202 to the second end of the second jaw 200; wherein the second coupling includes a master link 204 connected to the first jaw 202 and the second jaw 200 through respective slots in which the master link 204 slidably received.
Diagram I
Regarding claim 2, Diagram I of the end effector disclosed by BALBIERZ et al. further discloses the first coupling including a pin having a pin axis that is transverse to the longitudinal axis of the first jaw 202, wherein the pin pivotally couples (Figures 19A & 19C) the first end of the first jaw 202 to the first end of the second jaw 200.
With respect to the claim 4, Diagram I of the end effector disclosed by BALBIERZ et al. further discloses a plurality of staples retained (paragraph [0085]) in staple pockets in the cartridge face of the cartridge in the second jaw 200.
In reference to claims 5-7, figure 19A of BALBIERZ et al. discloses a lateral arm (see Diagram I above) supporting a blade 206 having a cutting surface (paragraph [0085]); wherein the lateral arm is supported within a channel (see Diagram I above) of the first jaw 202 such that the blade transitions from a first (distal) end of the end effector to a second (proximal) end of the end effector (paragraph [0085]).
Claims 8-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by THOMPSON et al. (US 2017/0095251).
Regarding claims 8 and 15, figure 4 of THOMPSON et al. discloses an end effector 40, 700 comprising: an anvil 42 having an anvil face that extends to a length between a first end 42a and a second end 42b such that the length of the anvil is at least ten times the width of the anvil; a cartridge 44 retaining a plurality of staples within pockets of a cartridge face that extends to a length between a first end 44a and a second end 44b such that the length of the cartridge is at least ten times the width of the cartridge. Figures 45A-45B of THOMPSON et al. further disclose an embodiment of the end effector wherein a pin pivotably/movably couples the first end 702a of the anvil 702 to the first end 704a of the cartridge 704; and a master link 46 received within an elongated slot of the cartridge such that the second end 702b of the anvil 702 is movable coupled to the second end 704b of the cartridge 704.
With respect to claims 9-11, THOMPSON et al. further discloses a control unit (e.g lever or button as shown in figures 4 & 15-19) connected to the end effector, the control unit operable to move the master link 46 in a first direction (distally) such that the anvil and the cartridge are spaced apart (opening) a first distance (paragraphs [0196], [0251] & [0256]; figure 45A); the control unit also operable to move the master link in a second direction (proximally) such that the anvil and the cartridge are spaced apart (closing) a second distance that is less than the first distance (figures 45A-45B).
In reference to claim 12, figure 45A and paragraph [0256] of THOMPSON et al. discloses a distal portion 732 of the master link 46 connected to the end effector and a proximal portion connected to the control unit.
Regarding claim 13, figure 45A-45B of THOMPSON et al. discloses a distal portion 732 of the master link 46 having a ramp surface 736 configured to engage a ramp 738 of the end effector 700.
With respect to claim 14, figures 46-48 of THOMPSON et al. disclose an alternative embodiment of the end effector 700 wherein the master link 46 is coupled to an angled surface 750 that engages an angled surface 760 of a closure tube 752 to transition the end effector between open and closed positions.
In reference to claims 16-20, figures 37-40B and paragraphs [0238-0241] of THOMPSON et al. disclose an I-shaped blade 620 having a cutting surface and a lateral arm 250 that slidably engages staple drivers (figures 30B) and a channel 636 defined by the cartridge as the blade transitions from the first end of the end effector to the second end of the end effector.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Refer to the attached PTO-892 for a notice of references cited and recommended for consideration based on their disclosure of limitations related to the claimed invention. In particular, FARASCIONI et al. (US 2010/0072258) discloses an end effector having opposing ends that are movably coupled to one another in both an open and closed position.
Other helpful telephone numbers are listed for applicant's benefit:
Allowed Files & Publication (888) 786-0101
Assignment Branch (800) 972-6382
Certificates of Correction (703) 305-8309
Fee Questions (571) 272-6400
Inventor Assistance Center (800) PTO-9199
Petitions/special Programs (571) 272-3282
Information Help line 1-800-786-9199
August 22, 2026
/GLORIA R WEEKS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3731