2. Claims 1-20 are pending.
3. The claims state “change background images of the first display and the second display in an interlocked manner in response to the folding angle”. Interlock, in a hardware definition, comprises when two or more things engage with each other by overlapping or fitting together with projections and recesses. A software definition regards a logical condition or control mechanism that prevents a system, process, or action from executing unless specific conditions are met.
The current application’s originally filed specification describes “interlocked” in regards to figures 7A-7C. Specifically, Figure 7A and paragraph [00132] depicts the first display 230 disposed in first housing 210 and second housing 220 with a common image displayed on first display 230 across the two housings 210+220 in view of the folding angle. This implies interlocking of the software definition such that the condition regarding folding angle and the logical condition/mechanism to change the image across both portions of the first display 230 across the two housing 210+220.
Figure 7B [00138] describes that background images on first display 230 and second display 240 are interlocked, and the first display 230 and second display 240 may not be activated simultaneously (as depicted in figure 7B). This implies a slightly different definition of figure 7A such that the images are not simultaneously displayed across a non-continuous display (front display 230 across housing 210+220 is an example of a continuous display) but still may be considered interlocked in view of the above describing condition regarding folding angle and logical condition/mechanism to change the image across the displays 230+240.
Said figures 7A+7B together form a definition of “interlock” regarding two different non-continuous displays or portions of a continuous display to change in view of a folding angle of a device.
However, the current application’s originally filed specification describes “interlocked” in paragraphs [00151], [00156], [00181], and [00205] describing to display the background image in an interlocked manner on the first display 230 OR second display 240 (of figures 2A and 2C). This adds some confusion to the definition applied above since figure 2C comprises a single non-continuous display 240 (disposed on only one housing) on surface 210 and said paragraph describes to display the interlocked image on display 230 OR display 240 (not both). This implies displaying an image in an “interlocking manner” can be performed by a single non-continuous display in view of the folding angle which is counterintuitive to the definition implied by figures 7A-7C as described above.
It is suggested (not required) if applicant intends interlocking to regard the definition as implied by figures 7A-7C to amend paragraphs [00151], [00156], [00181], and [00205] to remove “or” and replace with “and”. This limits the interlocking definition to two separate non-continuous displays or two portions of a continuous display to each individual or in combination perform the function of “interlocking”. Such an interpretation will be applied and utilized in the rejection below (thereby limiting the scope of interpretation of the claimed “interlocking” to such). However, if applicant intends a different definition/interpretation to be utilized it is requested filed remarks be made in view of the cited figures and paragraphs with a corresponding explanation.
Another issue is raised in view of claim language “detect a change in a folding angle between the first housing and the second housing, based on the identified folding state, change background images of the first display and the second display in an interlocked manner in response to the folding angle”. Utilizing the above elected definition supplied by the current application and in view of the inherent software definition of interlocked: claiming an “interlocked manner” comprises zero patentable weight in view of the language defining the condition (folding angle) and process executed (change background image). The interpretation of the cited claim language would not change in view of removing “interlocked manner”. For example: “detect a change in a folding angle between the first housing and the second housing, based on the identified folding state, change background image of the first display and the second display [ ] in response to the folding angle” is effectively seen to be the same limitation without “interlocked manner”.
Lastly, Claim 2 states “display the background images on the first display and the second display in an interlocked manner” implies interlocked manner to regard that the images somehow relate to one another (such as being a singular object change in a temporal sense). However, no such particular definition is written but may be considered to be implied by the figures 7A (object: soldier) and 7C (object: rocket). However, figure 7B possible related/interlocked object appears to be water/liquid/rain. If “interlocked manner” is to regard a sense of relation between the images such relation should be particularly defined. Otherwise, such an overlay broad, vague, and abstract idea of relating to one another may raise 112 and possible 101 issues if such a definition is applied. For the below rejection, interlocking manner will regard changing an image on two non-continuous displays or a single continuous display with two different portions in view of a detected folding angle.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 11 states to generate a new background image, based on at elast one of the counterpart’s background image, the context image, and the user’s biometric information. Support for said subject matter is found in applicant’s originally filed specification paragraph [0107] which reiterates the claim language list as a list of A, B, and C.
SuperGuide Corp. v. DirecTV Enters., inc, 358 F.3d 870 (Fed. Cir, 2004) Federal Circuit held that the plain mearing of “al least one of A, B and C” means at least one A, at least one B and at least one C. in other words, “at least one of modifies each category in the criteria list when used in conjunction with “and.”
The current application’s originally filed specification paragraph [00195] exampling context information as location or time, paragraph [0198] examples biometric information/data such as stress index, sleep duration, and heart rate, and paragraph [0209] examples the list to be “or” including generate a new background image based on at least one of the counterpart’s background image, the context data, OR the biometric information.
In other words the claim requires: a generated new background image, based on:
the externally received image,
location or time, and
one of stress index, sleep duration, or heart rate.
However, beyond the statement of paragraph [0107] reiterating the claim language, the specification does not describe how or what an image generated would be considered based on location or time and one of stress index, sleep duration, or heart rate AND still be displayed based on the change in the folding angle. Further, there is no inherent understanding of an image that performs all of the claimed functions. Therefore, the subject matter is considered indefinite.
Figure 13A of the current application specifically describes a selection of ONE of context information OR user’s schedule (location/time) to be used in displaying an image based on the folding angle. The rejection below will assume the list of “at least one of” is in the form of A, B, OR C.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jung et al. (US Patent Application Publication 2020/0225706), herein after referred to as Jung, in view of Yu et al. (US Patent Application Publication 2021/0105356), herein after referred to as Yu.
Regarding independent claim 1, Jung discloses a foldable electronic device (Figures 1-4 electronic device 101 that may be folded based on hinge 235, paragraphs [0037] and [0068]-[0069]) comprising:
a first housing (231) and a second housing (233) disposed on both sides with reference to a folding axis (figure 2 231 on left side of bend axis of hinge 235 and 233 right side of bend axis of hinge 235 (axis represented by dashed line) as oriented in the figure) and configured to be folded with respect to each other (Figure 3);
a first display (240) disposed to face a first direction (+Z) of the first housing (231) and the second housing (233) (Figure 2 interpreted to comprise vertical Y axis, horizontal X axis, and depth Z axis (as oriented by the figure).);
a second display (250) disposed to face a second direction (-Z) opposite to the first direction (+Z) of one of the first housing (231) or the second housing (233);
a sensor module (176 [0046] and 430+440, [0094];);
memory (130 [0040] and 470 [0102]-[0106]), comprising one or more storage media (132 + 134), storing instructions ([0060]); and
at least one processor (120 [0038] and 460 [0101]) operatively connected to the first display (240), the second display (250) ([0039] and [0133]), the sensor module (176) ([0038]), and the memory (130) ([0060]) (additionally, figure 4 depicts said connections),
wherein the instructions ([0060]), when executed ([0038]) by the at least one processor (120+460) individually or collectively, cause the foldable electronic device (101) to:
identify ([0088]-[0089] and [0120]-[0121]) a folding state (601-609) of the foldable electronic device (101) (Figure 5 501 [0119] and Figure 6 depicts various folding states 310/601, 320/603, 605, 330/607, and 340/609 [0073]-[0077] and [0142];),
detect a change ([0088]-[0089] and [0120]-[0121]) in a folding angle between the first housing (231) and the second housing (231), based on the identified folding state ([0120]),
change (501-505) [ ] images (610-651) of the first display (240) and the second display (250) in an interlocked manner (see examiner note above) in response to the folding angle (Figure 5 501-505 [0119]-[0130] describes to change the image based on the folding angle and Figure 6 [0142]-[0148] examples the displayed change in images based on the folding angle over time.), and
display (507) a changed (501-505) [ ] image (610-651) on at least one of the first display (240) or the second display (250) ([0135]-[0136] and [0142]-[0148]).
Jung does not specifically disclose the image to be a background image.
Yu discloses wherein the background image is changed in response to the folding angle ([0171]).
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the current application to enable Jung’s image with the known technique of being a background image yielding the predictable results of modifying the screen according to the individuality of a user of the device as disclosed by Yu ([0004]).
Regarding claim 2, Jung and Yu discloses the foldable electronic device of claim 1, wherein the instructions, when executed by the at least one processor individually or collectively, further cause the foldable electronic device to:
display different background (Yu: [0171]) images (610-651) on at least one of the first display (240) or the second display (250) according to the folding angle, or
display the background (Yu: [0171]) images (610-651) on the first display (240) and the second display (250) in an interlocked manner (see examiner note above) ([0135]-[0136] and [0142]-[0148] describes first and/or second display of image).
Regarding claim 3, Jung and Yu discloses the foldable electronic device of claim 2,
wherein the instructions, when executed by the at least one processor individually or collectively, further cause the foldable electronic device to:
in case that the folding angle is a first angle (0° fully folded) (310/601 [0074] and [0142] exampled as zero degrees and “fully folded”), display a first background images on the first display or display (601) a second background (Yu: [0171]) images (610) on the second display (250) ([0142]), and
in case that the folding angle is a second angle (45° first folding angle) greater than the first angle (0° fully folded) (320/601 [0075] and [0143]-[0144] examples the angle as below 90 or about 45 degrees, and the folding angle increases from the fully folded state unfolded to the “first folding angle”), display a third background (Yu: [0171]) images (623) on the first display (240) ([0145]) or display a fourth background (Yu: [0171]) images (621) on the second display (250) ([0145]), and
wherein the first background (Yu: [0171]) images (none) and the third background (Yu: [0171]) images (623), and the second background (Yu: [0171]) images (610) and the fourth background (Yu: [0171]) images (621) have different object motion changes ([0145] describes to display an image object of the moon such that each image of the moon (621, 623) refer to “other part[s]” of the moon that each rotatably moves and changes in size based on the folding angle.).
Regarding claim 4, Jung and Yu discloses the foldable electronic device of claim 1, wherein the instructions, when executed by the at least one processor individually or collectively, further cause the foldable electronic device to:
vary a degree of change of an object (moon) motion (rotation and size) included in a background (Yu: [0171]) image (623, 631, 641, 651) displayed on the first display (240) according to a rate of change in the folding angle ([0145] describes to display an image object of the moon such that each image of the moon dynamically changes by rotatably moving and changes in size based on the folding angle.).
Regarding claim 5, Jung and Yu discloses the foldable electronic device of claim 1, wherein the instructions, when executed by the at least one processor individually or collectively, further cause the foldable electronic device to:
acquire acceleration data from the sensor module (440) ([0091] describes posture relative to ground and [0093]-[0094] describes acceleration),
determine a display direction of the background (Yu: [0171]) images (610-651), based on the acceleration data ([0098] describes based on the relation to earth/ground to control display of the image in addition to the folding angle), and
display a changed background (Yu: [0171]) images (610-651) on the first display (240) or the second display (250), based on the folding angle and the display direction ([0098] and [0114] to display the image based on earth/ground).
Regarding claim 6, Jung and Yu disclose the foldable electronic device of claim 5, wherein the instructions, when executed by the at least one processor individually or collectively, further cause the foldable electronic device to:
in case that the folding angle is a first angle and the display direction is a vertical direction (Support is found in the current application’s originally filed specification paragraph [00155] which describes the display direction to regard the folding direction such that folding motion is vertical the background image is correspondingly displayed. In view of support, Jung figure 6 depicts a horizontal folding direction motion (as oriented in the figure) and paragraph [0136] describes to sequentially display images according to the folding angle. Figure 15 depicts the motion in the opposite horizontal direction respective to figure 6. In view of above, the claim simply states “a vertical direction” without defining the orientation. This implies a mental definition. Jung’s figure 6 left to right direction may mentally be considered the vertical direction without definition.), display (501) a first background (Yu: [0171]) images (610-651) on the first display (250) in the vertical direction (Figure 6 left to right orientation) ([0135]-[0136] and [0142]-[0148]).
Regarding claim 7, Jung and Yu disclose the foldable electronic device of claim 6, wherein the instructions, when executed by the at least one processor individually or collectively, further cause the foldable electronic device to:
control an object (moon) included in the first background (Yu: [0171]) images (610-651) to move in the vertical direction (Figure 6 left to right orientation) ([0145] describes to display an image object of the moon such that each image of the moon dynamically changes by rotatably moving and changes in size based on the folding angle.).
Regarding claim 8, Jung and Yu disclose the foldable electronic device of claim 1, wherein the instructions, when executed by the at least one processor individually or collectively, further cause the foldable electronic device to:
change an object motion of the background (Yu: [0171]) images (610-651) in response to a rate of change in the folding angle ([0149] change image dynamically in response to unfolding/folding speed), or calculate the direction of gravity, based on acceleration data acquired from the sensor module (440) ([0098] display an image corresponding to the folding angle and status of the device 101 in relation to the face of the earth/gravity),
change an object (moon) motion of the background (Yu: [0171]) images (610-651) in response to the direction of gravity, and
display the changed object (moon) motion on the first display (240) or the second display (250) ([0140] examples when the device is unfolded with the third display facing earth/gravity the image is dynamically (gradually decreased in size) displayed on the first 250 or second display 240. [0190] generalizes that the image is displayed dynamically in view of the folding angle and status of the device in relation to earth/gravity).
Regarding claim 9, Jung and Yu disclose the foldable electronic device of claim 1, wherein the instructions, when executed by the at least one processor individually or collectively, further cause the foldable electronic device to:
calculate an angle (gaze) between the foldable electronic device (101) and a user (450 [0095] detecting a gaze direction (angle relative to earth/gravity) between the device 101 and the face of the user), and
change and display a background (Yu: [0171]) image (610-651) on the first display (240) or the second display (250), based on the angle (gaze) with the user (figure 18 and [0099]).
Regarding claim 10, Jung and Yu disclose the foldable electronic device of claim 1, wherein the instructions, when executed by the at least one processor individually or collectively, further cause the foldable electronic device to:
generate a new background (Yu: [0171]) image (610-651), based on context data (Support for the subject matter is found in the current application’s originally filed specification paragraph [00195] exampling context information as (location, time). Please note that context information includes a much broader scope of interpretation which generally may be regarded as setting information. Prior art Jung discloses in figure 6 displaying an image regarding time (clock 610 [0074] and [0142]).) and a user's biometric information (450 gaze [0099] display an image corresponding to folding angle and gaze direction, said image inherently may regard the clock 610), and
display the new background (Yu: [0171]) image (610) on the first display (240) or the second display (250), based on a change in the folding angle ([0099]).
Regarding claim 11, Jung and Yu disclose the foldable electronic device of claim 10, wherein the instructions, when executed by the at least one processor individually or collectively, further cause the foldable electronic device to:
receive (figure 19 1901) a background (Yu: [0171]) image of a counterpart from a counterpart electronic device ([0237] describes to acquire an image from an external electronic device through communication module 190), and
generate a new background (Yu: [0171]) image, based on at least one of the counterpart's background image ([0243] the image (externally received [0237]), is displayed corresponding to the folding angle), the context data, and (see 112 above, this is interpreted as OR) the user's biometric information.
Regarding independent claim 12, Jung discloses a method (Figures 5, 16, and 18-19) performed by a foldable electronic device (Figures 1-4 electronic device 101 that may be folded based on hinge 235, paragraphs [0037] and [0068]-[0069]) comprising a first housing (231) and a second housing (233) disposed on both sides with reference to a folding axis (figure 2 231 on left side of bend axis of hinge 235 and 233 right side of bend axis of hinge 235 (axis represented by dashed line) as oriented in the figure) and configured to be folded with respect to each other (Figure 3), the method comprising:
identifying ([0088]-[0089] and [0120]-[0121]) a folding state (601-609) of the foldable electronic device (101) (Figure 5 501 [0119] and Figure 6 depicts various folding states 310/601, 320/603, 605, 330/607, and 340/609 [0073]-[0077] and [0142];);
detecting a change ([0088]-[0089] and [0120]-[0121]) in a folding angle between the first housing (231) and the second housing (231), based on the identified folding state ([0120]);
changing (501-505) [ ] images (610-651) of the first display (240) and the second display (250) in an interlocked manner (see examiner note above) in response to the folding angle (Figure 5 501-505 [0119]-[0130] describes to change the image based on the folding angle and Figure 6 [0142]-[0148] examples the displayed change in images based on the folding angle over time.); and
displaying (507) a changed (501-505) [ ] image (610-651) on at least one of the first display (240) or the second display (250) ([0135]-[0136] and [0142]-[0148]),
wherein the first display (240) disposed to face a first direction (+Z) of the first housing (231) and the second housing (233) (Figure 2 interpreted to comprise vertical Y axis, horizontal X axis, and depth Z axis (as oriented by the figure).), and
wherein the second display (250) disposed to face a second direction (-Z) opposite to the first direction (+Z) of one of the first housing (231) or the second housing (233).
Jung does not specifically disclose the image to be a background image.
Yu discloses wherein the background image is changed in response to the folding angle ([0171]).
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the current application to enable Jung’s image with the known technique of being a background image yielding the predictable results of modifying the screen according to the individuality of a user of the device as disclosed by Yu ([0004]).
Regarding claim 13, Jung and Yu discloses the method of claim 12,
wherein the display comprises:
in case that the folding angle is a first angle (0° fully folded) (310/601 [0074] and [0142] exampled as zero degrees and “fully folded”), display a first background images on the first display or display (601) a second background (Yu: [0171]) images (610) on the second display (250) ([0142]), and
in case that the folding angle is a second angle (45° first folding angle) greater than the first angle (0° fully folded) (320/601 [0075] and [0143]-[0144] examples the angle as below 90 or about 45 degrees, and the folding angle increases from the fully folded state unfolded to the “first folding angle”), display a third background (Yu: [0171]) images (623) on the first display (240) ([0145]) or display a fourth background (Yu: [0171]) images (621) on the second display (250) ([0145]), and
wherein the first background (Yu: [0171]) images (none) and the third background (Yu: [0171]) images (623), and the second background (Yu: [0171]) images (610) and the fourth background (Yu: [0171]) images (621) have different object motion changes ([0145] describes to display an image object of the moon such that each image of the moon (621, 623) refer to “other part[s]” of the moon that each rotatably moves and changes in size based on the folding angle.).
Regarding claim 14, Jung and Yu discloses the method of claim 12, wherein the displaying comprises varying a degree of change of an object (moon) motion (rotation and size) included in a background (Yu: [0171]) image (623, 631, 641, 651) displayed on the first display (240) according to a rate of change in the folding angle ([0145] describes to display an image object of the moon such that each image of the moon dynamically changes by rotatably moving and changes in size based on the folding angle.).
Regarding claim 15, Jung and Yu discloses the metho of claim 12, wherein the displaying comprises:
acquiring acceleration data from the sensor module (440) of the foldable electronic device (101) ([0091] describes posture relative to ground and [0093]-[0094] describes acceleration),
determining a display direction of the background (Yu: [0171]) images (610-651), based on the acceleration data ([0098] describes based on the relation to earth/ground to control display of the image in addition to the folding angle), and
displaying a changed background (Yu: [0171]) images (610-651) on the first display (240) or the second display (250), based on the folding angle and the display direction ([0098] and [0114] to display the image based on earth/ground).
Regarding claim 16, Jung and Yu discloses the metho of claim 15, further comprising:
in case that the folding angle is a first angle and the display direction is a vertical direction (Support is found in the current application’s originally filed specification paragraph [00155] which describes the display direction to regard the folding direction such that folding motion is vertical the background image is correspondingly displayed. In view of support, Jung figure 6 depicts a horizontal folding direction motion (as oriented in the figure) and paragraph [0136] describes to sequentially display images according to the folding angle. Figure 15 depicts the motion in the opposite horizontal direction respective to figure 6. In view of above, the claim simply states “a vertical direction” without defining the orientation. This implies a mental definition. Jung’s figure 6 left to right direction may mentally be considered the vertical direction without definition.), displaying (501) a first background (Yu: [0171]) images (610-651) on the first display (250) in the vertical direction (Figure 6 left to right orientation) ([0135]-[0136] and [0142]-[0148]).
Regarding claim 17, Jung and Yu disclose the method of claim 16, further comprising:
controlling an object (moon) included in the first background (Yu: [0171]) images (610-651) to move in the vertical direction (Figure 6 left to right orientation) ([0145] describes to display an image object of the moon such that each image of the moon dynamically changes by rotatably moving and changes in size based on the folding angle.).
Regarding claim 18, Jung and Yu disclose the method of claim 16, further comprising:
changing an object motion of the background (Yu: [0171]) images (610-651) in response to a rate of change in the folding angle ([0149] change image dynamically in response to unfolding/folding speed), or
calculating the direction of gravity, based on acceleration data acquired from the sensor module (440) ([0098] display an image corresponding to the folding angle and status of the device 101 in relation to the face of the earth/gravity),
changing an object (moon) motion of the background (Yu: [0171]) images (610-651) in response to the direction of gravity, and
displaying the changed object (moon) motion on the first display (240) or the second display (250) ([0140] examples when the device is unfolded with the third display facing earth/gravity the image is dynamically (gradually decreased in size) displayed on the first 250 or second display 240. [0190] generalizes that the image is displayed dynamically in view of the folding angle and status of the device in relation to earth/gravity).
Regarding claim 19, Jung and Yu disclose the method of claim 12, further comprising:
calculating an angle (gaze) between the foldable electronic device (101) and a user (450 [0095] detecting a gaze direction (angle relative to earth/gravity) between the device 101 and the face of the user), and
changing and display a background (Yu: [0171]) image (610-651) on the first display (240) or the second display (250), based on the angle (gaze) with the user (figure 18 and [0099]).
Regarding claim 20, Jung and Yu disclose the method of claim 12, further comprising:
generating a new background (Yu: [0171]) image (610-651), based on context data (Support for the subject matter is found in the current application’s originally filed specification paragraph [00195] exampling context information as (location, time). Please note that context information includes a much broader scope of interpretation which generally may be regarded as setting information. Prior art Jung discloses in figure 6 displaying an image regarding time (clock 610 [0074] and [0142]).) and a user's biometric information (450 gaze [0099] display an image corresponding to folding angle and gaze direction, said image inherently may regard the clock 610), and
displaying the new background (Yu: [0171]) image (610) on the first display (240) or the second display (250), based on a change in the folding angle ([0099]).
Conclusion
/CHRISTOPHER E LEIBY/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2621