DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The IDS document submitted 11/10/2025 is acknowledged and has been considered.
Drawings
The drawings submitted 11/10/2025 are acknowledged and acceptable.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 3-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. Claim 3 appear to be redundant, since “at least one means for detecting said tree to be harvested and said base station for communication with said first and/or second UAV” was required in the base claim (1). In claims 4-6, the use of the term “may” does not definitively describe what is intended in the claim. The claim does not provide a clear limitation, since the term appears to suggest that the subject matter is possible, but not necessarily required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bajc et al. (European Patent Document EP 3175700) in view of Maor et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication 2019/0166765) and further in view of Bhavani et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication 2017/0094909).
In regards to claim 1, Bajc et al (henceforth referred to as Bajc) disclose a system for remote and/or autonomous harvesting at least a portion of a tree. Bajc teaches a tree cutting and UAV transport remotely controlled system as described in col. 2, lines 5-32, said system comprising:
a first remotely and/or autonomously controlled Unmanned Aerial Vehicle, UAV (note that Bajc teaches that the device is connected to a UAV), comprising, at least one means for holding said harvested portion of said tree and being configured for transporting said harvested portion of said tree away from the original location of the tree. Bajc teaches a tree cutting device that grabs samples including tree limbs and carries them away (see gripping means, item 6), Bajc does not disclose a second remotely and/or autonomously controlled Unmanned Aerial Vehicle, UAV. However,
it is common to utilize UAV systems that comprise a plurality of UAVs and Maor et al (henceforth referred to as Maor) teaches a tree harvesting UAV system comprised of multiple UAVs. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of Applicant’s invention to provide multiple of the Bajc UAVs in the remote/autonomous system as taught by Maor, to increase the capacity of the system;
As modified, the additional UAV in the Bajc system comprising, at least one means for harvesting at least a portion of a tree, but does not explicitly disclose at least one means for detecting said tree to be harvested, or a base station for communication with said first and/or second UAV. However, Bhavani et al (henceforth referred to as Bhavani) teaches a UAV system that incorporates a camera utilized for operation of the UAV and a base command station (camera mounted on laser module, par. 42 and control station, item 102) and it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of Applicant’s invention to provide a camera (means for detecting) and base station with the system of Bajc as taught by Bhavani, to allow the drone or operator to view its surroundings and to provide a central command to direct the drone or drones.
In regards to claim 2, Bajc discloses the second UAV comprising at least one means for harvesting at least a portion of a tree. As modified, the UAVs include a means for harvesting a portion of the tree.
In regards to claim 3, Bajc as modified discloses at least one means for detecting said tree to be harvested and said base station for communication with said first and/or second UAV. The Bajc invention as modified with the Bhavani teaching incorporates the claimed subject matter.
In regards to claim 4, Bajc as modified discloses the means for detecting said tree to be harvested may be arranged on said first UAV, said second UAV and/or a third UAV and/or a remotely and/or autonomously controlled land-based vehicle. As modified, the means for detecting (camera) is present on each of the system UAVs.
In regards to claim 5, Bajc as modified discloses multiple UAVs including that a third UAV and/or said autonomously controlled land-based vehicle may be in direct communication with said base station and/or indirect communication with said base station. Note that the included UAVs of the modified Bajc invention are in communication with the base station.
Claim(s) 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bajc et al. (European Patent Document EP 3175700) and Maor et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication 2019/0166765) and Bhavani et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication 2017/0094909) as applied to claim 5 above, and further in view of Witchey et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication 2019/0030475).
In regards to claim 6, Bajc as modified does not explicitly disclose that the indirect communication may be via said first and/or said second UAV. However, Witchey et al (henceforth referred to as Witchey) teaches a plurality of drones/UAVs that incorporate a communication system that allows communication between the drones (par. 31) and it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of Applicant’s invention to provide a communication system allowing communication between the drones of the modified Bajc system as taught by Witchey, to allow for a more coordinated process.
Summary/Conclusion
Claims 1-6 are rejected.
If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Troy Chambers can be reached on 571-272-6874. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of an application may be obtained from the Patent Application Information Retrieval (PAIR) system. Status information for published applications may be obtained from either Private PAIR or Public PAIR. Status information for unpublished applications is available through Private PAIR only. For more information about the PAIR system, see http://pair-direct.uspto.gov. Should you have questions on access to the Private PAIR system, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free).
/BENJAMIN P LEE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3641