DETAILED ACTION
1. The present application, filed on or after March 13, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA .
This is a CIP application with a claim of priority to an abandoned parent application, 18/187,205, filed March 21, 2023.
The IDS filed in this Application on November 10, 2025, has been considered.
NOTE: Interviews are encouraged. Please use the AIR form, the link for which is found at the end of this Action, for scheduling an interview if such is desired.
Claims 1 - 20 are pending and examined as follows:
Claim Rejections – 35 USC § 101
2. 35 USC § 101 reads as follows:
A. Rejection Based on Abstract Idea
Claims 1 – 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 101 because the claimed invention is directed to a judicial exception (i.e., an abstract idea) without significantly more. Furthermore, this rejection is based on the 2019 Revised Patent Subject Matter Eligibility Guidance (2019 PEG).
B. Statutory Categories
Independent Claim 1 is a method claim and therefore falls into the statutory category of a “process.” Claim 8 is a non-transitory CRM claim and it therefore falls into the statutory category of “machine/manufacture.” Claim 15 is a computing device claim which also recites various computer components such as a processor and memory and therefore falls into the statutory category of a “machine/manufacture.”
C. The Claim Recites an Abstract Idea
Claim 1 is illustrative of the rejection of all claims on the grounds of abstract idea.
Claim 1 recites the limitation:
“determining, using a machine learning model on a first server trained to predict whether a transaction received at a server and for an electronic payment method is a subscription transaction, one or more subscription transactions previously received at the first server and for a first electronic payment method of a first user;,”
This limitation, as drafted, is a process that, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, constitutes a method of organizing human activity, specifically, fundamental economic principles or practices. That is, analyzing this limitation in the context of the claim as a whole, it recites a process that falls within the grouping of abstract ideas comprising certain methods of organizing human activity. Fundamental economic principles or practices are examples of such methods. In this case, the fundamental economic principle or practice is the common practice of using machine learning to predict whether a payment card charge is a recurring charge, such as a subscription charge. This is an extremely common function. Computers programmed to execute ML algorithms make these and similar predictions on a daily basis. This practice occurs millions of times every day, if not every second.
Furthermore, the mere nominal recitation of a “processor” or “memory” does not remove the claim from the category of common or abstract methods of organizing human activity. These terms are recited at such a high level of generality as to not alter the designation of reciting an abstract idea.
Thus, Claim 1 recites a judicial exception, namely, an abstract idea.
D. The Claim Does Not Integrate the Abstract Idea into a Practical Application
Moreover, this judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application. The possible “additional limitations” recited in the Claim that must be considered are as follows:
determining, using the machine learning model and based on the one or more subscription transactions, that the first user has a first subscription at a first merchant,
wherein the one or more subscription transactions correspond to one or more payments from the first electronic payment method to the first merchant for the first subscription;
causing display of, by the first server and on a user device associated with the first user, an option to cancel the first subscription:
receiving, based on first user input to the user device and at the first server, an indication to cancel the first subscription;
sending, from the first server to a second server associated with the first merchant, a request to cancel the first subscription;
instituting a first block, wherein the first block is configured to stop incoming transactions for the first subscription,
wherein stopping a first incoming transaction comprises: receiving, at the first server, the first incoming transaction for the first electronic payment method;
determining, using the machine learning model, whether the first incoming transaction is from the first merchant;
determining, using the machine learning model and based on the one or more subscription transactions corresponding to one or more payments for the first subscription, whether the first incoming transaction is for the first subscription;
based on the first block and based on determining that the first incoming transaction is for the first subscription, preventing the first incoming transaction from being applied to the first electronic payment method;
receiving, at the first server and from the second server, an indication that the first subscription has been canceled by the first merchant; and removing the first block.
1. Lack of Computer Components and Interaction Among Same
No additional computerized components are mentioned in these limitations. The Claims are virtually devoid of computer components. No other particular computer functions or computer component interactions within this system are recited. The few computer-related limitations are wholly generic in nature and are recited at such a high level of generality as to not provide any meaningful limitations on the claim.
The Claim merely recites a series of “determining” and “displaying” and “blocking” steps. The context is a recurring charge, e.g. a subscription charge. The ML model predicts if the new charge is a recurring charge and identifies – e.g. “determines” or “predicts” – who the merchant is. This is what models engines do. This is what they are good at.
The limitations are recited at a high level, and only in terms of broad and abstract concepts. These are among the most common and most basic processing functions of computers. Furthermore, the claim lacks concrete assignments of specific functions among these various components. One example of such concrete assignment is to assign, in the claim, certain functions to specific computerized components and recite them as interacting in specific ways. This is not the case with this Claim.
2. No Technical Solution to a Technical Problem
Analyzing these additional limitations individually, and taking the claim as a whole and as an ordered combination, it is clear that these additional limitations do not serve to integrate the abstract idea into a practical application. They do not recite a technological solution to a technological problem. They do not improve the functioning of the computer system itself or represent an improvement to any technology or technical field. In fact, there are very few computerized system components or functions recited.
Thus, these limitations fail to recite with specificity any technical function or any improvement to the functioning of the computer system itself. Therefore, the claim lacks the specificity required to transform the claim from one claiming only an outcome or a result – blocking a future transaction or removing the block of a transaction - to one claiming a specific way of achieving that outcome or result. See MPEP §2106.04(d)(I); 2106.04(d)(1); 2106.05(a)
3. The Claim Recites Mere Instructions to Apply the Abstract Idea
The recitation of these generic components amounts to no more than mere instructions “to apply” the abstract idea exception using generic computer components. It is clear that the claim recites only the idea of a solution or outcome i.e., the claim fails to recite details of how a solution to a problem is accomplished. Furthermore, the claim invokes computers or other machinery merely as a tool to perform an existing process.
As noted above, the only possible computer components are recited at a high level of generality. This means that the abstract idea can be applied to an extremely general field of devices and systems. A claim having broad applicability across many fields of endeavor does not provide meaningful limitations that integrate a judicial exception into a practical application or amount to significantly more. For instance, a claim that generically recites an effect of the abstract idea exception, or claims every mode of accomplishing that idea, amounts to a claim that is merely adding the words "apply it" to the abstract idea. See MPEP §2106.05(f)
Accordingly, the additional elements or limitations listed above do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because they do not impose any meaningful limitations on practicing the abstract idea. That is, the additional elements recited in the claim beyond the judicial exception(s) have been evaluated to determine whether those additional elements, considered individually and in combination, integrate the judicial exception(s) into a practical application. They do not.
F. Step 2B: The Claim Does Not Recite Significantly More than the Abstract Idea
This step involves the search for an “inventive concept.” However, it is clear from the case law and the MPEP that the considerations at issue are the same as those considered above with respect to the analysis of a practical application. See MPEP 2106.05(a) – (c) and (e). In other words, these analyses sharply overlap.
Therefore, based on the above analysis, the identified additional limitations do not provide “significantly more” than the abstract idea. The claim is therefore ineligible under §101. The other independent claims are, likewise, ineligible for the same reasons as they are virtually identical to Claim 1.
G. The Dependent Claims Do Not Recite Meaningful Additional Limitations
Similarly, Claim 2 recites the same abstract idea as Claim 1 by virtue of its dependency on Claim 1. Like Claim 1, this claim does not recite sufficient additional elements to integrate the abstract idea into a practical application. Claim 2 merely recites the abstract concept of a notification.
Claim 3 merely recites the abstract concept of cancelling a second subscription.
Claim 4 merely recites the abstract concept of a block on future charges information.
Claim 5 merely recites the abstract concept of displaying an option to reactivate the subscription.
Claim 6 merely recites the abstract concept of sending a request to reactivate the subscription.
Claim 7 merely recites the abstract concept of updating the ML model.
Claims 8 - 20 are virtually identical or analogous variations to various of the aforementioned claims and are ineligible for the same reasons as set forth above.
None of these claims provide any additional meaningful limitations, non-generic computer components, or specific assignments of functionality among those components. Likewise, if at all, these claims recite only generic, computer-related limitations which are recited at such a high level of generality as to be devoid of any meaningful Limitations. These limitations do not recite improvements in the functioning of the computer or to any other technology or technical field.
Therefore, these claims do not include additional elements that are sufficient to integrate the abstract idea into a practical application, nor do they amount to significantly more than the recited abstract idea because the additional elements, when considered both individually and as an ordered combination, constitute only a mere instruction to “apply” the abstract idea.
Thus, Claims 1 - 20 constitute ineligible subject matter under 35 USC § 101 as being directed to an abstract idea without more.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1 - 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. §103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent Publication No. 2022/0245641 to Wintle et al. (hereinafter “Wintle”) in view of U.S. Patent Publication No. 2020/0058027 to Samitt et al. (hereinafter “Samitt”) and still further in view of U.S. Patent Publication No. 2020/0184434 to Evans et al. (hereinafter “Evans”).
The Wintle reference is in the same field of endeavor as the claimed invention – using ML models to predict recurring charges or charges relating to a subscription service.
The title is: Intelligent recurring transaction processing and fraud detection
Wintle teaches as follows in the Abstract:
“A system for intelligent recurring transaction processing and fraud detection comprises an artificial intelligence (AI) platform including machine learning (ML) models that are in communication with server computers. The servers access historical payment transaction data from a transaction database to train the ML models to predict future recurring transactions. The servers receive an authorization request from an acquirer for a payment transaction by a cardholder using a payment device, process the authorization request to the issuer and transmit a response. Transaction data from the authorization request is input into the ML models to predict whether the payment transaction comprises a recurring payment transaction and if so, determine a predicted date of a next recurring transaction. An API call is initiated to the issuer with transaction attributes regarding the next recurring payment transaction prior to the predicted date, and the issuer sends an alert message directly to the cardholder.” (Emphasis Added)
The purpose of Wintle is on point with the claimed invention - providing a user a notification of a recurring charge – e.g. for a subscription service – in order to allow the user to determine if the charge is legitimate or whether it should be blocked – e.g. deny the transaction, thereby allowing the user to cancel the subscription.
Thus, Wintle teaches as follows:
“[0009] According to the method and system disclosed herein, the AI platform generating an alert message that includes transactions attributes prior to the date of the next transaction provides both the issuer and the cardholder with additional intelligence to make a better authorization decision. Enabling the cardholder to verify, deny or indicate that the next recurring payment transaction is fraudulent results in a decrease in the number of declined recurring transactions, an increase in detection of fraudulent recurring payment transactions..” (Emphasis Added)
Thus, Fig. 3B of Wintle is as follows:
Wintle is clearly on point with the claimed invention. It provides an alert to the user/consumer of the recurring charge and the identity of the merchant. It provides an option to block/deny the charge and allows the user to cancel the membership or subscription.
The machine learning (ML) platform of Wintle is shown in Fig. 1:
Accordingly, with regard to Claim 1, as outlined above, Wintle in view of Samitt teaches:
Broadest reasonable interpretation:
The Claims of a patent application must be “given their broadest reasonable interpretation consistent with the specification.” See MPEP §2111. Under a broadest reasonable interpretation (BRI), words of the claim must be given their plain meaning, unless such meaning is inconsistent with the specification (e.g. the specification gives the term a special meaning). The plain meaning of a term means the ordinary and customary meaning given to the term by those of ordinary skill in the art at the relevant time.
Here, no specialized meaning is detected from the specification; therefore, the plain and ordinary meaning of the Claim terms will be given.
Discussion of Cited References:
1. A computing method, comprising: determining, using a machine learning model on a first server trained to predict whether a transaction received at a server and for an electronic payment method is a subscription transaction, one or more subscription transactions previously received at the first server and for a first electronic payment method of a first user; (See at least Wintle: Abstract)
determining, using the machine learning model and based on the one or more subscription transactions, that the first user has a first subscription at a first merchant, wherein the one or more subscription transactions correspond to one or more payments from the first electronic payment method to the first merchant for the first subscription; (See at least Wintle: 002 – 0004)
causing display of, by the first server and on a user device associated with the first user, an option to cancel the first subscription: (See at least Wintle: Fig. 3B reproduced above, wherein a person of ordinary skill in the art would readily understand that an option to “deny” the next recurring charge would allow the user the opportunity to cancel any membership or subscription. Indeed, 0047 and 0050 teach that a user can take action if a charge is made without the user’s consent or the user has forgotten the subscription, etc.)
receiving, based on first user input to the user device and at the first server, an indication to cancel the first subscription; (See at least Fig. 3B)
sending, from the first server to a second server associated with the first merchant, a request to cancel the first subscription; (See at least Fig. 3B)
instituting a first block, wherein the first block is configured to stop incoming transactions for the first subscription, and wherein stopping a first incoming transaction comprises: (See at least 0060)
receiving, at the first server, the first incoming transaction for the first electronic payment method; (See at least 0001)
determining, using the machine learning model, whether the first incoming transaction is from the first merchant; (See at least 033 – 0034)
determining, using the machine learning model and based on the one or more subscription transactions corresponding to one or more payments for the first subscription, whether the first incoming transaction is for the first subscription; and (See at least 0030 – 0034)
based on the first block and based on determining that the first incoming transaction is for the first subscription, preventing the first incoming transaction from being applied to the first electronic payment method; (See at least 0042)
receiving, at the first server and from the second server, an indication that the first subscription has been canceled by the first merchant; and removing the first block. (See at least Fig. 3B wherein a person of ordinary skill in the art would understand that to “verify” the next transaction is tantamount to removing the block.)
Therefore, Wintle appears to teach all of the essential limitations of Claim 1; however, out of an abundance of caution, Samitt is cited for its teachings related to blocking subsequent transactions and cancelling subscriptions and Evans is cited for its teachings of interacting with the merchant who is providing the recurring service.
Thus, Samitt is in the same field of endeavor as the claimed invention and Wintle – blocking unauthorized charges due to recurring or subscription type charges. Samitt is Applicant’s own publication and should be very familiar to Applicant. Therefore, no detailed mapping of the reference to the Claims is considered necessary.
The title of Samitt is: Systems and methods for blocking credit card charges
It is directly on point with Wintle and the claimed invention. Thus, Samitt teaches in the Abstract as follows:
“Systems and methods are provided for blocking charges from a merchant to a payment account of a user. An exemplary system may include one or more memory devices storing instructions and one or more processors configured to execute the instructions to perform various operations. The operations may include receiving, from the user, a dispute request to dispute a charge to the payment account applied by the merchant. In response to the dispute request, the operations may include determining whether to block subsequent charges applied by the merchant to the payment account, based on a history of charging activities of the merchant. Responsive to a determination to block subsequent charges, the operations may include adding the merchant to a block-charge list associated with the payment account..” (Emphasis Added)
Furthermore, a person of ordinary skill in the art would readily understand that a “dispute” concerning a payment card charge could arise over an unwarranted recurring or subscription charge. Indeed, Samitt teaches as follows:
“[0054] In some cases, a merchant may initiate a transaction authorization request to charge a user's payment account based on saved or stored payment account information. For example, user 110 may provide payment account information associated with payment card 114 (e.g., credit card number, expiration date, billing address, account holder name, “card verification value (CVV)” number, etc.) to a merchant (e.g., a sports club) to start a free trial of a service (e.g., gym membership). The merchant may then save the payment account information in their system. Toward the end of the trial period or after the end of the trial period, the merchant may charge membership fees using the stored payment account information. User 110 may wish to discontinue the membership. For example, user 110 may inform the merchant to cancel the membership and stop any pending or future payment. For various reasons, the merchant may continue charging user 110's payment account using the stored payment account information. After each charge is made, user 110 may dispute the charge by communicating with the financial service provider, e.g., the card issuer. The financial service provider may then investigate the charge and credit the charged amount back to user 110's payment account if the charge is indeed unauthorized. If the merchant again makes such similar charges to user 110's payment account, user 110 may have to undergo the dispute process again for each of the charges. In other words, the conventional dispute process is an “after-the-fact” remedial method, which is not capable of preventing the merchant from making future or subsequent charges to the payment account, even though in some cases future occurrences of such unauthorized charges are highly probable.” (Emphasis Added)
Samitt furthermore teaches the blocking of future charges to the user’s account. See 0064 and Fig. 7A as follows:
Evans is also in the exact same field as the claimed invention, Wintle, and Samitt – management of recurring/subscription charges. The title is: “System and method for identifying and managing goods and services based on disuse”
The Abstract reads as follows:
“A computing system includes one or more processors and one or more computer-readable storage media communicatively connected to the one or more processors and having instructions stored thereon that, when executed, causes the one or more processors to analyze a plurality of electronic payment transactions from an account associated with a user to identify payments to a merchant on a recurring basis, receive external data associated with the user corresponding to usage of a good or service provided by the merchant, analyze the external data to identify disuse of the good or service, generate a recommended action based on the disuse, present the recommended action on an interactive display on a user device associated with the user, and change a subscription associated with the good or service corresponding to the recommended action.” (Emphasis Added)
Evans, Fig. 1, illustrates notifications/communications with the merchant:
Furthermore, Evans teaches interaction/communication with the merchant re: cancellation:
“[0021] In some arrangements, the provider computing system 104 may communicate (e.g., via API or the like) with the merchant system 106 to configure various options that the provider computing system 104 can provide as one or more recommended actions to the user. For example, in some arrangements, the merchant system 106 may provide configuration information (e.g., form attributes and parameters) to allow the provider computing system 104 to cancel (or end) a subscription or to temporarily suspend the subscription (and thus, to suspend or reduce a payment for the subscription) for a predetermined amount of time (e.g., one month). However, as discussed above, recurring payments of unused subscription services can be a significant source of income for many subscription-based goods or services, and thus, merchants may be reluctant to provide the configuration information to cancel or temporarily suspend the subscription.” (Emphasis Added)
Moreover, from the teachings of Evans, a person of ordinary skill in the art would understand that re-activation would be a possible “option” to entice the user to remain as a customer or to renew membership:
“[0022] In this case, in some arrangements, the provider computing system 104 allows the merchant to provide additional options to entice the user to remain as a customer of the merchant in lieu of cancelling or suspending the subscription (or membership). For example, the merchant system 106 may configure the provider computing system 104 (e.g., via API or the like) to present various options to the user via the user device 102, for example, to allow the provider computing system 104 to change or modify a subscription plan on the user's behalf in lieu of cancelling or temporarily suspending the subscription. For example, the merchant may configure the provider computing system 104 to present other plan options, promotions, discounts, and/or the like, in addition to the options for cancelling or suspending the subscription. Accordingly, in some arrangements, the merchant may be encouraged to provide the configuration information by enabling the merchant to configure the provider computing system 104 to present, in addition to the options for cancelling and/or suspending the subscription, other options in an attempt to retain the user as a customer.” (Emphasis Added)
Thus, a person of ordinary skill in the art would readily understand from Evans that any reasonable option is available to the user and communicated/negotiated with the merchant, such as cancellation, suspension, and “reactivation.” Fig. 3B is as follows:
Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the machine learning platform of Wintle, wherein recurring charges from a merchant can be identified and the user is given the option to verify or deny future charges, to add the blocking and cancellation teachings of Samitt. The motivation to make this modification comes from Wintle. It teaches, as quoted and illustrated above, that early notification or alerts gives the user an opportunity to take action to prevent future charges. It would greatly enhance the efficiency and security of the system of Wintle to add the membership cancellation features of Samitt.
Furthermore, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the combined machine learning platform of Wintle in view of Samitt, to add the merchant communication features of Evans. The motivation to make this modification comes from Wintle. It teaches, as quoted and illustrated above, that early notification or alerts gives the user an opportunity to take action – i.e. interact with the merchant - to prevent future charges. It would greatly enhance the efficiency and security of the system of Wintle to add the merchant communication features of Evans.
With regard to Claims 2 –7 , Wintle in view of Samitt teaches:
2. The method of claim 2. The computing method of claim 1, wherein stopping the first incoming transaction further comprises: notifying the first user that the first incoming transaction, based on the first block, was prevented from being applied to the first electronic payment method. (See at least Wintle: Fig. 3B. See also 0066)
3. The computing method of claim 1, further comprising: receiving, based on second user input to the user device and at the first server, an indication to cancel a second subscription of the one or more subscriptions, wherein the second subscription is associated with a second merchant; sending, from the first server to a third server associated with the second merchant, a request to cancel the second subscription; instituting a second block, wherein the second block is configured to stop incoming transactions for the second subscription; receiving, at the first server and for the first electronic payment method, a second incoming transaction; applying the second incoming transaction to the first electronic payment method; detecting, using the machine learning model, that the second incoming transaction is a subscription transaction for the second subscription and was not blocked; reversing the second incoming transaction from being applied to the first electronic payment method; and updating, based on the second incoming transaction, the machine learning model. (See at least Samitt: 0054 and 0064 regarding the merchant continuing to charge the user’s card despite cancellation of the membership. See also Evans: the sections and figures reproduced above.)
4. The method of claim 3, further comprising: notifying, by the first server and on the user device, the first user that the second block failed to block transactions for the second subscription; and causing display of, by the first server and on the user device, an option to remove the second block. (See at least Samitt: 0054 and 0064 regarding the merchant continuing to charge the user’s card despite cancellation of the membership.)
5. The computing method of claim 1, further comprising: causing display of, on the user device and by the first server, an option to reactivate the first subscription. (See at least Samitt: Fig. 7D as follows which indicates that after 3 months charges will be accepted which indicates reactivation of the membership.)
See also the figures from Evans and associated teachings relating to interacting with the merchant to maintain membership.
6. The computing method of claim 5, further comprising: receiving, based on third user input to the user device and on the first server, an indication to reactivate the first subscription; and sending, from the first server to the second server, a request to reactivate the first subscription. (See at least Samitt: Fig. 7D as follows which indicates that after 3 months charges will be accepted which indicates reactivation of the membership. See also the figures from Evans and associated teachings relating to interacting with the merchant to maintain membership.)
7. The computing method of claim 1, wherein instituting the first block further comprises: updating, based on the first incoming transaction, the machine learning model. (See at least Wintle: 0062.)
With regard to Claim 8, this claim is essentially identical to Claim 1 and is obvious for the same reasons as set forth in that claim.
With regard to Claim 9, this claim is essentially identical to Claim 2 and is obvious for the same reasons as set forth in that claim.
With regard to Claim 10, this claim is essentially identical to Claim 3 and is obvious for the same reasons as set forth in that claim.
With regard to Claim 11, this claim is essentially identical to Claim 4 and is obvious for the same reasons as set forth in that claim.
With regard to Claim 12, this claim is essentially identical to Claim 5 and is obvious for the same reasons as set forth in that claim.
With regard to Claim 13, this claim is essentially identical to Claim 6 and is obvious for the same reasons as set forth in that claim.
With regard to Claim 14, this claim is essentially identical to Claim 7 and is obvious for the same reasons as set forth in that claim.
With regard to Claim 15, this claim is essentially identical to Claim 1 and is obvious for the same reasons as set forth in that claim.
With regard to Claim 16, this claim is essentially identical to Claim 2 and is obvious for the same reasons as set forth in that claim.
With regard to Claim 17, this claim is essentially identical to Claim 3 and is obvious for the same reasons as set forth in that claim.
With regard to Claim 18, this claim is essentially identical to Claim 4 and is obvious for the same reasons as set forth in that claim.
With regard to Claim 19, this claim is essentially identical to Claim 5 and is obvious for the same reasons as set forth in that claim.
With regard to Claim 20, this claim is essentially identical to Claim 7 and is obvious for the same reasons as set forth in that claim.
Conclusion
4. Applicant should carefully consider the following in connection with this Office Action:
A. Search and Prior Art
The search conducted in connection with this Office Action, as well as any previous Actions, encompassed the inventive concepts as defined in the Applicant’s specification. That is, the search(es) included concepts and features which are defined by the pending claims but also pertinent to significant although unclaimed subject matter. Accordingly, such search(es) were directed to the defined invention as well as the general state of the art, including references which are in the same field of endeavor as the present application as well as related fields (e.g. using machine learning to predict and then cancel recurring charges such as subscriptions). Indeed, there is a plethora of prior art in these fields.
Therefore, in addition to prior art references cited and applied in connection with this and any previous Office Actions, the following prior art is also made of record but not relied upon in the current rejection:
U.S. Patent Publication No.2013/0124395 to Siminoff. This reference relates to the concept of a user interface for cancellation of a subscription.
U.S. Patent Publication No. 2021/0400147 to Benkreira et al. This reference relates to the concept of unsubscribing and cancellation.
U.S. Patent Publication No. 2021/0406896 to Chaturvedi. This reference relates to the concept of increasing the likelihood of processing a recurring transaction.
B. Responding to this Office Action
In view of the foregoing explanation of the scope of searches conducted in connection with the examination of this application, in preparing any response to this Action, Applicant is encouraged to carefully review the entire disclosures of the above-cited, unapplied references, as well as any previously cited references. It is likely that one or more such references disclose or suggest features which Applicant may seek to claim. Moreover, for the same reasons, Applicant is encouraged to review the entire disclosures of the references applied in the foregoing rejections and not just the sections mentioned.
C. Interviews and Compact Prosecution
The Office strongly encourages interviews as an important aspect of compact prosecution. Statistics and studies have shown that prosecution can be greatly advanced by way of interviews. Indeed, in many instances, during the course of one or more interviews, the Examiner and Applicant may reach an agreement on eligible and allowable subject matter that is supported by the specification.
Interviews are especially welcomed by this examiner at any stage of the prosecution process. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool (e.g. TEAMS). To facilitate the scheduling of an interview, the Examiner requests the use of the AIR form as follows:
USPTO Automated Interview Request http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice.
Other forms of interview requests filed in this application may result in a delay in scheduling the interview because of the time required to appear on the Examiner's docket.
Thus, the use of the AIR form is strongly encouraged.
D. Communicating with the Office
/William (Bill) Bunker/
U.S. Patent Examiner
AU 3691
(571) 272-0017 - office
william.bunker@uspto.gov
September 26, 2026
/ABHISHEK VYAS/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3691