DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
Acknowledgment is made of information disclosure statement filed 10 November 2025.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1 – 16, 19, and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Vaught et al; (Publication number: US 2013/0021373 A1), hereafter Vaught.
Regarding claim 1:
Vaught discloses an apparatus for imaging (Vaught ABSTRACT; Figure 1), the apparatus comprising:
at least one memory (Vaught Figure 3 344); and
at least one processor coupled to the at least one memory (Vaught Figure 3 310), the at least one processor configured to:
present, at a first time through an interface and according to a presentation setting, first virtual content overlaid over a first environment view, wherein the interface is configured to convey the first environment view at the first time, and wherein the presentation setting affects an appearance of the first virtual content through the interface (Vaught Figure 10 1002; [0055 – 0056]; Figure 3 120 and 320; displaying of augmented reality images including text by display 120 is provided at a presentation setting directed by the display driver 320);
receive feedback associated with the first virtual content (Vaught Figure 10 1004, 1006, 1008);
present, at a second time through the interface and according to an adjusted presentation setting, the first virtual content overlaid over the first environment view, wherein the adjusted presentation setting differs from the presentation setting based on the feedback (Vaught Figure 10 1010; Figure 14 1404; displaying of augmented reality images with an increase in size of graphic element which is gazed upon implies an adjusted presentation setting).
Vaught does not expressly disclose the processor further configured to:
present, at a third time through the interface and according to the adjusted presentation setting, second virtual content overlaid over a second environment view, wherein the interface is configured to convey the second environment view at the third time.
However, in Vaught the process for updating the display is configured to repeat after each display update. Further, Vaught discloses advancing text based on text which is gazed upon (Vaught Figure 14 1402) and changing a user changing an orientation of the HMD device and displaying the image (Vaught [0153]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to present, at a third time through the interface and according to the adjusted presentation setting, second virtual content overlaid over a second environment view, wherein the interface is configured to convey the second environment view at the third time, as claimed. Those skilled in the art would appreciate naturally advance text within the augmented reality environment.
Regarding claim 2:
Vaught as modified above discloses the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the interface includes a material that is at least partially transparent, wherein the interface is configured to pass environmental light through the material to convey the first environment view and to convey the second environment view (Vaught micro display 120 and Figure 3 114; [0056][0072 – 0073]).
Regarding claim 3:
Vaught as modified above discloses the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the at least one processor is configured to: receive image data captured by an image sensor (control circuit including processor receives image data from camera; Vaught Figure 3 113), wherein the interface is configured to display a first subset of image data to convey the first environment, and wherein the interface is configured to display a second subset of the image data to convey the second environment view (Vaught [0056][0153]).
Regarding claim 4:
Vaught as modified above discloses the apparatus of claim 3, wherein the at least one sensor includes the image sensor (Vaught Figure 3 113).
Regarding claim 5:
Vaught as modified above discloses the apparatus of claim 1, wherein, to receive the feedback, the at least one processor is configured to: receive the feedback through a secondary interface (Vaught Figure 10 1004, 1006, or 1008).
Regarding claim 6:
Vaught as modified above does not disclose the apparatus of claim 5, wherein the secondary interface includes a touchscreen.
However, Vaught discloses receiving an input from a mobile device (Figure 13 1312). Further, it is well known a mobile device interface may include a touch screen.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to modify Vaught wherein the secondary interface includes a touchscreen, as claimed. Those skilled in the art would appreciate relying on touchscreen inputs on a mobile device allow for intuitive operation of the interface by the user.
Regarding claim 7:
Vaught as modified above discloses the apparatus of claim 1, wherein, to receive the feedback, the at least one processor configured to: detect a movement based on sensor data from at least one sensor, and wherein the at least one sensor includes an accelerometer (Vaught Figure 11 1124).
Regarding claim 8:
Vaught as modified above discloses the apparatus of claim 1, wherein, to receive the feedback, the at least one processor configured to: detect a pose based on sensor data from at least one sensor, and wherein the at least one sensor includes at least one of a positioning receiver or a gyrometer, and wherein the pose includes at least one of a position or an orientation (Vaught Figure 11 1122 and 1127).
Regarding claim 9:
Vaught as modified above in claim 1, discloses the apparatus of claim 1, wherein, to receive the feedback, the at least one processor configured to: detect a facial characteristic of a face of a user based on sensor data from at least one sensor, wherein the at least one sensor includes an image sensor that faces toward the face of the user (Vaught Figure 11 1100 eye of the user is tracked).
Regarding claim 10:
Vaught as modified above in claim 1, discloses the apparatus of claim 9, wherein the facial characteristic includes a characteristic of a gaze of at least one eye of the user (Vaught Figure 11 1100 eye of the user is tracked).
Regarding claim 11:
Vaught as modified above in claim 1, discloses the apparatus of claim 1, wherein, to receive the feedback, the at least one processor is configured to: receive audio recorded using at least one sensor, wherein the at least one sensor includes a microphone (Vaught Figure 11 1132).
Regarding claim 12:
Vaught as modified above discloses the apparatus of claim 1, wherein, to receive the feedback, the at least one processor configured to: detect an object in the first environment view based on sensor data from at least one sensor, wherein the at least one sensor includes an image sensor that faces toward an environment (Vaught Figure 3 forward facing camera 113).
Regarding claim 13:
Vaught as described above discloses the apparatus of claim 12, wherein the object includes at least a portion of a hand of the user (Vaught [0161]).
Regarding claim 14:
Vaught as modified above discloses the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the adjusted presentation setting differs from the presentation setting based on a change in position of the virtual content (Vaught Figure 10 1006; a change in field of view in the HMD device is used in updating of the display; Figure 14 1404).
Regarding claim 15:
Vaught as modified above in claim 1 discloses the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the adjusted presentation setting differs based on a change in a size of the virtual content (Vaught Figure 14 1404 – implied since presentation setting cause in increase in size of graphic element; Figure 10 1010).
Regarding claim 16:
Vaught as modified above in claim 1 discloses the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the adjusted presentation setting differs from the presentation setting based on a change in a style of virtual content, wherein adjusting the style includes changing at least one of a color, a font, a font size, a language, a position, an orientation, or a layout (Vaught Figure 14 1404 – implied since presentation setting cause in increase in size of graphic element; Figure 10 1010).
Regarding claim 19:
Vaught as modified above discloses the apparatus of claim 1, further comprising: a first device that includes the interface (Vaught Figure 1 HMD device 2); and a second device that is communicatively coupled to the first device, wherein the second device processes sensor data from at least one sensor to receive the feedback (Vaught Figure 1 Hub computing device).
Regarding claim 20:
Claim 20 directed to the method is similarly rejected for those reasons discussed above in claim 1.
Claim(s) 17 and 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Vaught et al; (Publication number: US 2013/0021373 A1), hereafter Vaught, in view of Nouri et al; (Publication number: US 2021/0405741 A1), hereafter Nouri.
Regarding claim 17:
Vaught does not disclose the apparatus of claim 1, wherein, to receive the feedback, the at least one processor configured to: receive sensor data from at least one sensor; and analyze the sensor data using a trained machine learning model to determine the feedback.
However, Nouri discloses a method of and system for evaluation consumption of visual information displayed to a user by analyzing user’s eye tracking and bioresponse data. More particularly, Nouri discloses wherein, to receive the feedback, the at least one processor configured to: receive sensor data from at least one sensor (Nouri Figure 5 502; Figure 2 output of 114); and analyze the sensor data using a trained machine learning model to determine the feedback (Nouri Figure 2 inference module utilizing trained ML model 226).
It would have been obvious to modify Vaught wherein, to receive the feedback, the at least one processor configured to: receive sensor data from at least one sensor; and analyze the sensor data using a trained machine learning model to determine the feedback, as claimed. Those skilled in the art would appreciate a low-cost technique to determine eye-tracking related features (Nouri [0022]).
Regarding claim 18:
Vaught (in view of Nouri) discloses the apparatus of claim 17, wherein the at least one processor is configured to: update the trained machine learning model based on feedback (Nouri [0028]).
Conclusion
/MIHIR K RAYAN/ 18 August 2026Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2622