DETAILED ACTION
Notice of Amendment
In response to the amendment filed on 6/11/2026, amended claims 1, 4, 7-8, 11, 23, and 25, cancelled claims 5-6 and 9, and new claims 31 are acknowledged. Claims 1-4, 7-8, and 10-31 remain pending. The following new and reiterated grounds of rejection are set forth:
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-4, 7-8, and 10-24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites the unclear limitation “before, during, after, or a combination thereof, the implementation of at least one of the therapeutic interventions”. The limitation is its own clause and appear to be missing words either at the start or the end of the limitation. It is unclear what is meant to occur before, during, after, or a combination thereof, the implementation of at least one of the therapeutic interventions.
Claims 2-4, 7-8, and 10-24 are rejected based on their dependence from claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 25-31 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to a judicial exception (i.e., a law of nature, a natural phenomenon, or an abstract idea) without significantly more.
The claims, specifically independent claims 25 and 31 recite an abstract idea, specifically a mental process, for determining a therapeutic plan and adaptively delivering the therapeutic plan that, under the broadest reasonable interpretation, is capable of being performed mentally and/or by a human with the aid of pen and paper. This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application because the limitations “determining a therapeutic plan to be delivered to the individual, wherein the therapeutic plan comprises therapeutic interventions selected from: at least one motor skills intervention, at least one psychological intervention, at least one cognitive intervention, or a combination thereof” and “adaptively delivering the therapeutic plan… and continuing until a predetermined condition is met” amount to an observation, evaluation, or judgement that a therapist would perform mentally in determining how to best treat an individual’s Parkinson’s disease.
The claim(s) does/do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. Regarding claim 31, the limitation “wherein the therapeutic interventions are delivered for interaction by the individual” is merely insignificant extra-solution activity, such as outputting the result of the claimed algorithm, recited at a high level of generality and/or in a well-understood, routine, and conventional way. Similarly, the limitation “tracking the individual’s responses and associated performance metrics” is merely insignificant extra-solution activity, such as mere data gathering, recited at a high level of generality and/or in a well-understood, routine, and conventional way, of the information needed to carry out the claimed algorithm. Regarding claim 25, the claimed “data-input module” and “digital therapy delivery module” are merely generic computer components performing generic computer functions which are well-understood, routine, and conventional in the art; as such, they do not meaningfully limit the claim to be more than just the abstract idea. With the exception of generic computer-implemented steps, there is nothing in the claims themselves that foreclose them from being performed by a human, mentally or with pen and paper. The claimed “data-input module” is not even described structurally in the specification (which does not raise an issue under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) because what is conventional or well known to one of ordinary skill in the art need not be disclosed in detail. See Hybritech Inc. v. Monoclonal Antibodies, Inc., 802 F.2d at 1384, 231 USPQ at 94. See also Capon v. Eshhar, 418 F.3d 1349, 1357, 76 USPQ2d 1078, 1085 (Fed. Cir. 2005)), and the “digital therapy delivery module” is described as software executable on a personal electronic device, a graphical user interface, audio interface, haptic interface, or a combination thereof (see specification as originally filed: [00033] and [00035]), all of which are generic computer components performing generic computer functions which are well-understood, routine, and conventional in the art.
This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application because the claim does not recite any limitations that amount to an improvement in the functioning of a computer, or an improvement to other technology or technical field, apply or use the judicial exception to effect a particular treatment or prophylaxis for a disease or medical condition, implement the judicial exception with, or using a judicial exception in conjunction with, a particular machine or manufacture that is integral to the claim, effect a transformation or reduction of a particular article to a different state or thing, or apply or use the judicial exception in some other meaningful way beyond generally linking the use of the judicial exception to a particular technological environment, such that the claim as a whole is more than a drafting effort designed to monopolize the exception.
Regarding dependent claims 26-30, the limitations of these dependent claim(s) merely add details to the algorithm which forms the abstract idea, but does not contain any further “additional elements”. Thus, the dependent claim(s) are not significantly more than the extended abstract idea.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-4, 7-8, 11-21, and 24-31 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Robison et al. (US Publication No. 2022/0062549 A1) (previously cited).
Regarding claim 1, Robison et al. discloses a method for modulating one or more Parkinson’s disease-related markers, symptoms, or disease progression in an individual in need thereof, the method comprising:
delivering a therapeutic plan comprising therapeutic interventions selected from: at least one motor skills intervention (see [0057] – “The user's activity can be measured before, during, or after application of an actuation to intervene with the symptom. User activity measured before actuation may be used to determine which actuation instruction to enable. User activity measured during or after the application of the actuation may be used to score the applied actuation. The sensors 201 may be one or more of an IMU, EMG sensor, camera, heart rate sensor, pressure sensor bed or foot pressure sensor, force sensor, glucose monitor, or any suitable sensor for measuring movement or body measurements related to movement”), at least one psychological intervention, at least one cognitive intervention, or a combination thereof (see [0060] – “The dosing 202 perform actuation instructions determined by the symptom intervention system 220 for intervening with a symptom of a physical condition. The dosing 202 may perform actuation instructions for various types of actuation such as titration (e.g., of a chemical stimulus), neuromodulation, biofeedback, and FES. The dosing 202 may be located at various locations on the user's body. For example, electrodes for neuromodulation may be located at the user's brain and electrodes for FES are located at the user's limbs”);
wherein the therapeutic interventions are delivered for interaction by the individual (see [0061] – “To apply biofeedback, the dosing 202 may include a speaker, vibrating mechanism, display, LEDs, or a combination thereof”, [0067] – “An actuation instruction may specify an actuation type, duration of actuation, location of actuation, any suitable parameter of the actuation, or combination thereof. For example, an actuation instruction for an electrical stimulation signal may include parameters specifying an amplitude (e.g., volts), frequency, and pulse width of the signal, a duration to apply the stimulation to the user, and a location at the user's shank of their left leg to apply the stimulation. An actuation types classifies the actuation into a manner of actuation such as electric, mechanic, haptic, audio, visual, pneumatic, hydraulic, or a combination thereof. Additional examples of actuation types include chemical stimulus administration (e.g., titration), neuromodulation, biofeedback, and FES electrodes”, and [0104] – “The GUI module 226 may display information describing the intervention such as properties of an applied neuromodulation signal and through which electrodes the signal is applied (e.g., the identification numbers of the electrodes serving as the anodes and cathodes)”);
wherein the individual receives at least one medicinal agent selected from: dopaminergic agents, dopamine precursors, dopamine agonists, D1/D5 dopamine receptor partial agonists, COMT inhibitors, MAO-B inhibitors, peripheral DOPA decarboxylase inhibitors, glutamatergic modulators, anticholinergic agents, muscarinic receptor modulators, antidepressant agents, anxiolytic agents, antipsychotic agents, cognitive enhancing agents, alpha- synuclein targeting agents, lysosomal pathway modulators, autophagy pathway modulators, GCase modulators, LRRK2 inhibitors, mitochondrial function modulators, adenosine A2A receptor antagonists, GLP-1 receptor agonists, incretin-based therapies, gene therapy agents, viral-vector-mediated gene therapies, neurotrophic factor modulators, sigma-1 receptor modulators, neuroprotective or neuronal-homeostasis-restoring agents, inflammasome modulators, neuro-inflammation modulators, immunomodulators, immunosuppressants, G-protein-coupled receptor modulators, GPR6 inverse agonists, mucolytic agents, anticonvulsants, beta-blockers, vitamins and cofactor supplements, cannabinoids, symptom-managing adjunct agents, cell- based dopaminergic neuron replacement therapies, tavapadon, prasinezumab, BIIB122, DNL151, lixisenatide, exenatide, blarcamesine, NLRP3 inhibitors, solengepras, and stem-cell-derived dopaminergic neuron replacement therapies (see [0021] – “The physical condition can be Parkinson's disease and the symptom is either a gait freeze, or freeze of gait (FOG), or a tremor. The chemical stimulus can be one of levodopa, carbidopa, or baclofen” and [0091] – “The dosing control module 225 may determine one or more actuation instructions to apply, where each instruction has a corresponding type. For example, the module 225 may determine to apply a biofeedback actuation instruction and determine an actuation instruction for adjusting a chemical stimulus administration (e.g., titration of levodopa). The dosing control module 225 may determine which actuation instruction of the instructions within the actuation instruction database 221 to apply depending on the identified onset of the symptom (e.g., the symptom and characteristics thereof)”);
before, during, after, or a combination thereof, the implementation of at least one of the therapeutic interventions;
adaptively delivering the therapeutic plan, tracking the responses of the individual and associated performance metrics, and continuing until a predetermined condition is met (see [0049] – “The remote symptom intervention system 120 may maintain models that are generalized to movement across a population or customized to a particular user, activity type, any suitable phenotypic trait, or a combination thereof”, [0105]-[0106], [0113] – “The relevant data indicative of the user's symptom progress may include a change in frequency of identifying the symptom, a change in severity of the symptom (e.g., the amplitude of the movement signals of a user's tremors are increasing), the appearance of a symptom previously not affecting the user, the disappearance of a symptom affecting the user, the appearance of an existing symptom under conditions previously not associated with the existing symptom (e.g., the user is experiencing FOG at a time of day when they had previously not experienced it), or any suitable characteristic of a change in the user's symptoms. In some embodiments, the dosing control module 225 may apply the modification determined by the machine-learned model using the dosing 202. For example, the determined modification includes a change to the titration timing and dosage of levodopa, which the dosing control module 225 may implement by controlling a portable pump that administers levodopa or a similar stimulus to the user”, and [0117] – “FIG. 3 is a block diagram of a feedback loop 300 for optimizing symptom intervention by a symptom intervention assembly, in accordance with at least one embodiment. The feedback loop 300 is a closed-loop system that minimizes a difference between user movement assisted by the symptom intervention assembly and a target movement (e.g., a neurotypical movement). The feedback loop 300 may be performed by a symptom intervention system 320 of a symptom intervention assembly. For example, the symptom intervention system 320 monitors activity data, determines an actuation for symptom intervention based on the monitored activity data, monitors activity data capturing the user's movement assisted by applying the determined actuation (i.e., the monitored data serves as feedback), and adjusts a subsequently applied actuation based on the feedback”).
Regarding claim 2, Robison et al. discloses obtaining a plurality of attributes associated with the individual from a plurality of data acquisition sources to generate an initial profile for the individual (see [0068] – “The user profile database 222 stores information regarding one or more users. The users may be users of the symptom intervention assembly 110, which includes memory to store the user profile database 222. In some embodiments, information of users of the wearable stimulation arrays transmitted to the user profile database 222, which is located at a remote server such as the remote symptom intervention system 120. The user profile database 222 may include user information such as body measurements, movement measurements, and chemical stimulus administration information. Examples of body measurements include height, weight, body mass index, body temperature, heart rate, galvanic skin response, hormone activity, or any suitable measurement of a natural activity the user's body undergoes. Examples of movement measures may include a walking pace, a number of steps taken, an elevation gain, exercises performed, or any suitable measurement of physical movement that the user takes. In some embodiments, chemical stimulus administration is a medical prescription, and the administration information includes when the user takes a medicine, how much medicine the user takes per dose, the type of medicine, or any suitable characteristic of the prescription”; see also [0069]-[0071]), wherein the determining of the therapeutic plan further comprises adapting the therapeutic plan based on the initial profile (see [0112] – “The model training engine 227 may create training data based on historical modifications to stimulus administrations, which may include prescription or titration changes that medical professionals have made, an anonymized profile of a patient's symptom history and physical characteristics, or any suitable information correlating a modification to a change in symptoms experienced over time. The model training engine 227 may train the dosing model 230 using the training data to output a recommended modification to a chemical stimulus administration based on a user's symptom progress over time. The symptom identifier module 224 may track the user's symptom progress and store relevant data in the user profile database 222” and [0130] – “The user-provided feedback through the GUIs depicted in FIGS. 5 and 6 can be stored in a user profile database (e.g., the user profile database 222) of the symptom intervention system. The user profile database 222 may store the user's chosen actuation modification and link the modification to the identified symptom or the user activity that predicated the applied actuation such that subsequent interventions are optimized to the user's modification (e.g., the actuation instruction is not applied for the identified symptom going forward)”).
Regarding claim 3, Robison et al. discloses the therapeutic plan comprises performing the at least one motor skill intervention concurrently with the at least one cognitive intervention or the at least one psychological intervention (see [0057] – “The user's activity can be measured before, during, or after application of an actuation to intervene with the symptom. User activity measured before actuation may be used to determine which actuation instruction to enable. User activity measured during or after the application of the actuation may be used to score the applied actuation”).
Regarding claim 4, Robison et al. discloses the adaptively delivering of the therapeutic plan further comprises selecting and implementing therapeutic intervention parameters based on at least one attribute of the individual selected from: age, hobbies, music preferences, spoken language, caregiver involvement preferences, disease characteristics, disease severity, symptoms, educational background, professional background, and individual-defined goals (see [0068] – “The user profile database 222 stores information regarding one or more users. The users may be users of the symptom intervention assembly 110, which includes memory to store the user profile database 222. In some embodiments, information of users of the wearable stimulation arrays transmitted to the user profile database 222, which is located at a remote server such as the remote symptom intervention system 120. The user profile database 222 may include user information such as body measurements, movement measurements, and chemical stimulus administration information. Examples of body measurements include height, weight, body mass index, body temperature, heart rate, galvanic skin response, hormone activity, or any suitable measurement of a natural activity the user's body undergoes. Examples of movement measures may include a walking pace, a number of steps taken, an elevation gain, exercises performed, or any suitable measurement of physical movement that the user takes. In some embodiments, chemical stimulus administration is a medical prescription, and the administration information includes when the user takes a medicine, how much medicine the user takes per dose, the type of medicine, or any suitable characteristic of the prescription” and [0113] – “The relevant data indicative of the user's symptom progress may include a change in frequency of identifying the symptom, a change in severity of the symptom (e.g., the amplitude of the movement signals of a user's tremors are increasing), the appearance of a symptom previously not affecting the user, the disappearance of a symptom affecting the user, the appearance of an existing symptom under conditions previously not associated with the existing symptom (e.g., the user is experiencing FOG at a time of day when they had previously not experienced it), or any suitable characteristic of a change in the user's symptoms”).
Regarding claim 7, Robison et al. discloses the at least one medicinal agent is selected from: levodopa, levodopa/carbidopa, levodopa/benserazide, or combinations thereof (see [0021] – “The physical condition can be Parkinson's disease and the symptom is either a gait freeze, or freeze of gait (FOG), or a tremor. The chemical stimulus can be one of levodopa, carbidopa, or baclofen”).
Regarding claim 8, Robison et al. discloses the therapeutic plan is further adapted to a dopaminergic state of the individual selected from an ON state or an OFF state, wherein a selection, intensity, and scheduling of the therapeutic interventions are optimized based on whether the individual is in the ON state or the OFF state (see [0081] – “Accordingly, using the machine-learned model, the symptom identifier module 224 may determine that an “off” period is occurring and that an actuation instruction should be applied to intervene with a symptom of Parkinson's. For example, the module 224 may determine that an onset of a Parkinson's disease symptom is likely occurring or will occur due to the detected “off” period of the chemical stimulus. The module 224 may then trigger the dosing control module 225 to determine a modification to the titration of levodopa-carbidopa (e.g., time between doses or amount administered at a particular dose). In some embodiments, the module 225 may also determine an actuation instruction that includes generating a notification for the user (e.g., at the user device 150) to take their dose of the chemical stimulus (e.g., a pill) so that dose can metabolize and intervene with the symptom in a timely manner”; see also [0093]-[0094]).
Regarding claim 11, Robison et al. discloses dynamically monitoring one or more monitored parameters of the individual during delivery of the therapeutic plan (see [0112] – “The model training engine 227 may create training data based on historical modifications to stimulus administrations, which may include prescription or titration changes that medical professionals have made, an anonymized profile of a patient's symptom history and physical characteristics, or any suitable information correlating a modification to a change in symptoms experienced over time. The model training engine 227 may train the dosing model 230 using the training data to output a recommended modification to a chemical stimulus administration based on a user's symptom progress over time. The symptom identifier module 224 may track the user's symptom progress and store relevant data in the user profile database 222” and [0130] – “The user-provided feedback through the GUIs depicted in FIGS. 5 and 6 can be stored in a user profile database (e.g., the user profile database 222) of the symptom intervention system. The user profile database 222 may store the user's chosen actuation modification and link the modification to the identified symptom or the user activity that predicated the applied actuation such that subsequent interventions are optimized to the user's modification (e.g., the actuation instruction is not applied for the identified symptom going forward)”);
generating a dynamic user profile based on the one or more parameters of the individual, wherein the one or more parameters are selected from: the initial profile, Electronic Medical Records (EMR) data, motor attributes, psychological attributes, cognitive attributes, pharmacological attributes, feedback of the individual, feedback of a medical practitioner, drug intake parameters, or a combination thereof (see [0069] – “The information stored within the database 222 may be edited. For example, a medical doctor at the remote therapy system 140 may update the chemical stimulus administration of the user, and the updates may be transmitted from the remote therapy system 140 to the symptom intervention assembly 110 through the network 160”, [0112] – “The model training engine 227 may create training data based on historical modifications to stimulus administrations, which may include prescription or titration changes that medical professionals have made, an anonymized profile of a patient's symptom history and physical characteristics, or any suitable information correlating a modification to a change in symptoms experienced over time. The model training engine 227 may train the dosing model 230 using the training data to output a recommended modification to a chemical stimulus administration based on a user's symptom progress over time. The symptom identifier module 224 may track the user's symptom progress and store relevant data in the user profile database 222”, [0127] – “A user of the symptom intervention assembly may select one of the user feedback buttons 530 to approve of the modification to their titration or deny the modification. In response to the user selecting one of the user feedback buttons 530, the user device 150 may provide the selection to the symptom intervention system to serve as instructions to either apply or not apply the modification through actuators or serve as feedback to retrain or update a model used to determine an onset of the symptom (e.g., the symptom identification models 228 or 229) or actuation instructions to apply (e.g., the dosing model 230)”, and [0137] – “The module 225 may update the administration time of levodopa to be earlier than the time at which the “off” period will begin by the stimulus metabolism period. For example, if the original upcoming time to take levodopa was 14:00, the module 225 determines that an “off” period will start at 13:55 and the stimulus metabolism period is 15 minutes long, the module 225 may automatically administer, or notify the user to take their next dose of levodopa, at 13:40 instead of at 14:00”); and
adapting the therapeutic plan based on the dynamic user profile (see [0106] – “The model training engine 227 then re-trains the machine learning model using the second training set such that the machine learning model is customized to the user's activity. For example, the model training engine 227 may re-train the general symptom identification model 228 such that the re-trained model is the user-specific symptom identification model 229. The dosing model 230 may also be trained by the model training engine 227 similarly in stages. A first stage may use dosing data from a general population of users and the second stage may use user feedback to create a second training set for retraining the dosing model 230”, [0119] – “The monitored assisted movement may be used as feedback to retrain the user-specific symptom identification model 329. The input of this feedback is depicted as an arrow between the sensors 310 and the model training engine 323. The user may also provide feedback of the assisted movement, which is provided to the symptom intervention system 320. For example, a user provides an approval rating of the assisted movement using a GUI generated on a user device that is communicatively coupled to the symptom intervention assembly and thus, to the symptom intervention system 320. The user feedback is used by the model training engine 323 of the symptom intervention system 320 to retrain the model 329”, [0127] – “A user of the symptom intervention assembly may select one of the user feedback buttons 530 to approve of the modification to their titration or deny the modification. In response to the user selecting one of the user feedback buttons 530, the user device 150 may provide the selection to the symptom intervention system to serve as instructions to either apply or not apply the modification through actuators or serve as feedback to retrain or update a model used to determine an onset of the symptom (e.g., the symptom identification models 228 or 229) or actuation instructions to apply (e.g., the dosing model 230)”, and [0137] – “The module 225 may update the administration time of levodopa to be earlier than the time at which the “off” period will begin by the stimulus metabolism period. For example, if the original upcoming time to take levodopa was 14:00, the module 225 determines that an “off” period will start at 13:55 and the stimulus metabolism period is 15 minutes long, the module 225 may automatically administer, or notify the user to take their next dose of levodopa, at 13:40 instead of at 14:00”).
Regarding claim 12, Robison et al. discloses recursively adapting the therapeutic plan based on updates to the dynamic user profile, the performance metrics, and the individual’s responses (see [0106] – “The model training engine 227 then re-trains the machine learning model using the second training set such that the machine learning model is customized to the user's activity. For example, the model training engine 227 may re-train the general symptom identification model 228 such that the re-trained model is the user-specific symptom identification model 229. The dosing model 230 may also be trained by the model training engine 227 similarly in stages. A first stage may use dosing data from a general population of users and the second stage may use user feedback to create a second training set for retraining the dosing model 230”, [0119] – “The monitored assisted movement may be used as feedback to retrain the user-specific symptom identification model 329. The input of this feedback is depicted as an arrow between the sensors 310 and the model training engine 323. The user may also provide feedback of the assisted movement, which is provided to the symptom intervention system 320. For example, a user provides an approval rating of the assisted movement using a GUI generated on a user device that is communicatively coupled to the symptom intervention assembly and thus, to the symptom intervention system 320. The user feedback is used by the model training engine 323 of the symptom intervention system 320 to retrain the model 329”, and [0127] – “A user of the symptom intervention assembly may select one of the user feedback buttons 530 to approve of the modification to their titration or deny the modification. In response to the user selecting one of the user feedback buttons 530, the user device 150 may provide the selection to the symptom intervention system to serve as instructions to either apply or not apply the modification through actuators or serve as feedback to retrain or update a model used to determine an onset of the symptom (e.g., the symptom identification models 228 or 229) or actuation instructions to apply (e.g., the dosing model 230)”).
Regarding claim 13, Robison et al. discloses the recursive adapting of the therapeutic plan comprises dynamically identifying and modifying intervention parameters to implement optimized therapeutic outcomes towards a predetermined therapeutic goal (see [0042] – “That is, the assembly 110 can optimize actuation to address not only the symptom but the symptom as experienced by the user at the current moment, as not all patients of physical conditions experience their symptoms similarly. The assembly 110 can achieve this optimization through a feedback process”, [0046] – “The assembly 110 may optimize symptom intervention by measuring the effectiveness of the actuation instructions in real time and varying subsequently applied actuation instructions based on the measurement. Achieving personalization and optimization using a symptom intervention system is described in further detail throughout the description FIGS. 2 and 3”, [0117] – “FIG. 3 is a block diagram of a feedback loop 300 for optimizing symptom intervention by a symptom intervention assembly, in accordance with at least one embodiment. The feedback loop 300 is a closed-loop system that minimizes a difference between user movement assisted by the symptom intervention assembly and a target movement (e.g., a neurotypical movement)”, and [0130] – “The user profile database 222 may store the user's chosen actuation modification and link the modification to the identified symptom or the user activity that predicated the applied actuation such that subsequent interventions are optimized to the user's modification (e.g., the actuation instruction is not applied for the identified symptom going forward)”).
Regarding claim 14, Robison et al. discloses the intervention parameters comprise any of the following selected from: type, timing, dosage, intensity, sequence, duration, frequency, mode of delivery, level of guidance, feedback modality, language adaptation, complexity level, interface configuration, integration with external systems, or a combination thereof, of one or more of the therapeutic interventions (see [0067] – “An actuation instruction may specify an actuation type, duration of actuation, location of actuation, any suitable parameter of the actuation, or combination thereof. For example, an actuation instruction for an electrical stimulation signal may include parameters specifying an amplitude (e.g., volts), frequency, and pulse width of the signal, a duration to apply the stimulation to the user, and a location at the user's shank of their left leg to apply the stimulation. An actuation types classifies the actuation into a manner of actuation such as electric, mechanic, haptic, audio, visual, pneumatic, hydraulic, or a combination thereof”, [0093] – “Modifications can include increasing or decreasing the amount of a chemical stimulus administered (e.g., titrated) or changing the time at which the chemical stimulus is administered”, and [0097] – “The dosing control module 225 may determine stimulation parameters of the neuromodulation such as a frequency, pulse width, or amplitude of the stimulation signals. The electrodes placed at the user's brain may be configurable such that the dosing control module 225 can determine which electrodes should serve as a cathode, anode, or be disconnected (i.e., not receiving or transmitting electrical stimulation at the brain)”.
Regarding claim 15, Robison et al. discloses the recursive adapting is performed using a feedback control algorithm (see [0117] – “FIG. 3 is a block diagram of a feedback loop 300 for optimizing symptom intervention by a symptom intervention assembly, in accordance with at least one embodiment”), Bayesian inference, or a combination thereof (see [0114] – “Machine learning models of the symptom intervention system 220 may use various machine learning techniques such as linear support vector machine (linear SVM), boosting for other algorithms (e.g., AdaBoost), neural networks, logistic regression, naive Bayes, memory-based learning, random forests, bagged trees, decision trees, boosted trees, boosted stumps, a supervised or unsupervised learning algorithm, or any suitable combination thereof”).
Regarding claim 16, Robison et al. discloses the at least one motor skills intervention is selected from: speech and language therapy, physiotherapy, tremor management (see [0041] – “For example, a user's hand may be still and unmoving, as intended by the user, when the onset of a tremor begins and the user's hand begins to move. Here, stillness is an intended movement that can be monitored by the symptom intervention assembly 110 and the user's monitored movement is transitioning to movement affected by the tremor. The use of “symptom intervention” and “intervene with a symptom” herein may refer to the prevention, reduction in effect, or termination of an occurrence of a physical condition's symptom” and [0072] – “Parkinson's disease may be associated with impairments to movement such as tremors, rigidity (e.g., gait freeze or freeze of gait (FOG)), bradykinesia, and imbalance”), mobility training, freezing and rigidity exercises (see [0072] – “Parkinson's disease may be associated with impairments to movement such as tremors, rigidity (e.g., gait freeze or freeze of gait (FOG)), bradykinesia, and imbalance”), tapping training, limb agility exercises, training for freezing of gait (see [0072] – “Parkinson's disease may be associated with impairments to movement such as tremors, rigidity (e.g., gait freeze or freeze of gait (FOG)), bradykinesia, and imbalance”), motor function therapy, dance therapy, handwriting training, balance exercises (see [0082] – “The module 224 may apply the determined level of symmetry to a machine-learned model trained on symmetry levels representative of an imbalanced gait, which is a symptom of physical conditions such as Parkinson's disease and MS. Using the machine-learned model, the symptom identifier module 224 may determine that an actuation instruction should be applied to intervene with the imbalanced gait”), postural stability training, strength training, stretching exercises, coordination training (see [0102] – “The dosing control module 225 may determine which of the wearable devices to activate vibrations from (e.g., at the leg to help with a user's legs or at the arm to help promote balanced arm swings while walking). In this way, the dosing control module 225 can provide biofeedback to the user that includes sensory cues to promote a neurotypical movement in the user responsive to determining that the user is experiencing a symptom of their physical condition”), metronome training, Tai-chi, physical exercises, walking (see [0102] – “The dosing control module 225 may determine which of the wearable devices to activate vibrations from (e.g., at the leg to help with a user's legs or at the arm to help promote balanced arm swings while walking). In this way, the dosing control module 225 can provide biofeedback to the user that includes sensory cues to promote a neurotypical movement in the user responsive to determining that the user is experiencing a symptom of their physical condition” and [0143] – “The module 225 may determine the appropriate neuromodulation stimulation for each movement within a gait cycle, thus helping the user contract the appropriate muscles while they walk”), dual tasking exercises, and fine motor skills training, or a combination thereof.
Regarding claim 17, Robison et al. discloses the at least one psychological intervention is selected from: guided imagery, psychoeducation, psychotherapy, cognitive behavioral therapy, stress and anxiety management training, mindfulness-based interventions, body scanning training, sleep hygiene, fatigue training (see [0088] – “This comparison or the received EMG signals themselves may be measures of the user's fatigue. The module 224 may also apply a machine-learned model to the results of the comparison to identify the onset of the symptom. In response to determining that the measure of fatigue is indicative of a likely onset of the user's physical condition symptom, the module 224 may notify the dosing control module 225 of the onset of the symptom to determine an appropriate actuation instruction” and [0142] – “Accordingly, when the symptom identifier module 224 determines that the user is or will experience the onset of fatigue that affects their gait, the module 224 triggers the dosing control module 225 to determine an appropriate actuation instruction to stimulate neuromodulation electrodes and contract muscles for the user's gait”), acceptance and commitment therapy (ACT), dialectical behavior therapy (DBT), attention training techniques, psychodynamic therapy, solution-focused brief therapy (SFBT), narrative therapy, pain therapy, addiction therapy, gestalt therapy, behavioral activation therapy, adjustment therapy, grief therapy, motivational therapy, meaning-centered therapy, creative therapy, expressive therapy, logotherapy, telepsychiatry, and teletherapy (see [0051] – “The remote therapy system 140 enables a third party to monitor the user's activity and symptom experiences (e.g., as identified by the symptom intervention assembly 110) and analyze the information to further assist the user with their symptom management. A third party can be a medical professional. For example, a doctor uses the remote therapy system 140 to monitor a user's movement and adjust an actuation instruction upon identifying that the patient's symptoms are not managed properly under the current actuation instruction being applied. The remote therapy system 140 may be a software module that the third party may execute on a computing device (e.g., a smartphone). In some embodiments, the remote therapy system 140 is a standalone device that may be communicatively coupled to the symptom intervention assembly 110 to manually adjust or generate actuation signals used to augment the user's motion (e.g., overriding the symptom intervention assembly 110). The remote therapy system 140 may include an input interface for the third party to specify parameters of an actuation instruction (e.g., the amplitude and frequency of FES signals) and when to apply them”), or a combination thereof.
Regarding claim 18, Robison et al. discloses the at least one cognitive intervention is selected from: navigation in a maze, navigation in a digital maze, spatial navigation, working memory training, magic-7 training, memory enhancement techniques, executive function training including, problem-solving training, planning training, cognitive flexibility training, inhibition training, attention training, concentration training, processing speed training, sonification exercise, data visualization, geometric puzzles, shape and pattern matching, visual perception tasks, spatial reasoning games, face detection training, drawing game, focus training, reading training, cueing training (see [0102] – “The dosing control module 225 may determine which of the wearable devices to activate vibrations from (e.g., at the leg to help with a user's legs or at the arm to help promote balanced arm swings while walking). In this way, the dosing control module 225 can provide biofeedback to the user that includes sensory cues to promote a neurotypical movement in the user responsive to determining that the user is experiencing a symptom of their physical condition”), metacognition training, memory retrieval training, dual tasking training, or any combination thereof
Regarding claim 19, Robison discloses each of the therapeutic interventions has a duration ranging between 10s to 60mins (see [0067] – “The duration of the actuation may vary based on the actuation type. For example, neuromodulation may last shorter (e.g., ten seconds) than biofeedback (e.g., as long as the user is walking)”).
Regarding claim 20, Robison et al. discloses the predetermined condition is selected from: a predetermined number of iterations, a predetermined duration has elapsed, a predetermined number of therapeutic interventions have been completed, predetermined progress measurement (see [0043] – “Using these monitored signals, the assembly 110 may determine to what extent the user's gait resembles a neurotypical gait or a baseline gait of the user when they are not experiencing their Parkinson's disease symptoms. This determination may serve as feedback for the assembly 110 to determine the efficacy of its applied neuromodulation and whether the neuromodulation should be adjusted for subsequent IMU signals that show a similar slowing gait” and [0117] – “The feedback loop 300 is a closed-loop system that minimizes a difference between user movement assisted by the symptom intervention assembly and a target movement (e.g., a neurotypical movement)”), predetermined regression measurement, target threshold score achieved (see [0120] – “The model training engine 323 may access the actuation instruction associated with the feedback received and score the applied actuation instruction based on the level of approval of the symptom intervention or assisted movement. The engine 323 may access the instruction from the dosing control module 325 as the instruction is determined or from a database storing previously applied actuation instructions (e.g., the actuation instruction database 221). The level of approval may be proportional to an amount by which an assisted movement deviates from a target movement, and the score may be proportional to the level of approval. Using the score, the model training engine 323 may create a training set of labeled data. Activity data can be labeled with an actuation instruction depending on the determined score”), transition to maintenance therapy, and no further improvement is measured, or a combination thereof.
Regarding claim 21, Robison et al. discloses the targeted interaction outputs are selected from: visual, auditory, tactile, or a combination thereof (see [0102] – “The dosing control module may determine a type of biofeedback to apply (e.g., audio, visual, or haptic)”).
Regarding claim 24, Robison et al. discloses the Parkinson’s disease-related markers comprise any of the following selected from: Unified Parkinson’s Disease Rating Scale (UPDRS) score, motor symptoms, tremor amplitude (see [0096] – “For example, the currently monitored movement signals can show that a user is experiencing tremors that have an amplitude or frequency that deviates from those reflected in their symptom profile for their tremors, and the dosing control module 225 may determine an amount by which the current tremors deviates from the profile's. This deviation may represent the severity of the tremors. In response to determining that the severity of the tremors as worsened (e.g., increased amplitude or frequency), the dosing control module 225 may determine to increase the dosage or shorten the time between two consecutive doses of the chemical stimulus. In response to determining that the severity of the tremors as improved (e.g., decreased amplitude or frequency), the dosing control module 225 may determine to decrease the dosage or increase the time between two consecutive doses of the chemical stimulus”), gait symmetry (see [0082] – “Comparison of these monitored movement signals may represent the symmetry of a user's gait. For example, the symptom identifier module 224 may compare kinematic signals representing the swing phase of a user's gait at their left knee joint to the corresponding kinematic signals at the user's right knee joint. In response to determining a high level of symmetry between the two sets of right and left knee joint kinematic signals, the symptom identifier module 224 may determine not to modify the administration of a chemical stimulus taken by the user to treat their physical condition. In response to determining a low level of symmetry between the two sets of kinematic signals, the symptom identifier module 224 may determine to modify the administration of the chemical stimulus. The module 224 may determine whether a symmetry level is high or low using various signal processing techniques such as determining a cross-correlation, time-shifting, and determining a difference between the two signals. The module 224 may apply the determined level of symmetry to a machine-learned model trained on symmetry levels representative of an imbalanced gait, which is a symptom of physical conditions such as Parkinson's disease and MS”), or reaction-time variability, cognitive function, autonomic function, fatigue (see [0088] – “This comparison or the received EMG signals themselves may be measures of the user's fatigue. The module 224 may also apply a machine-learned model to the results of the comparison to identify the onset of the symptom. In response to determining that the measure of fatigue is indicative of a likely onset of the user's physical condition symptom, the module 224 may notify the dosing control module 225 of the onset of the symptom to determine an appropriate actuation instruction”), sleep-related markers, sensory or olfactory function, biochemical markers (see [0080] – “The symptom identifier module 224 may apply hormone activity measured by the sensors 201 to a machine-learned model trained on hormone activity to identify an onset of a symptom of a physical condition. Hormone activity may include measurements for a level of a hormone or a biomolecule affected by the hormone”), molecular markers, dopamine levels, α-synuclein, neuroinflammatory markers, oxidative stress markers, neurotrophic factors, pro-inflammatory cytokines, electrophysiological markers, and imaging-derived measures of dopaminergic function, basal ganglia structure, or functional connectivity, or a combination thereof.
Regarding claim 25, Robison et al. discloses a digital therapeutic system for modulating one or more Parkinson’s disease-related markers, symptoms, or disease progression in an individual in need thereof, the system comprising:
a data-input module (150) configured to onboard the individual and dynamically monitor and store data related to the individual throughout a therapeutic plan (see [0053] – “The user device 150 may be a personal computer (PC), a tablet PC, a smartphone, or any suitable device capable of executing instructions that specify actions to be taken by that device. The user device 150 may include a processor (e.g., a central processing unit (CPU), a graphics processing unit (GPU), a digital signal processor (DSP), one or more application specific integrated circuits (ASICs), one or more radio-frequency integrated circuits (RFICs), or any combination of these), a memory, a user interface to receive user inputs or provide outputs to the user (e.g., a visual display interface including a touch enabled screen, a keyboard, microphone, speakers, etc.). The visual interface may include a software driver that enables displaying user interfaces on a screen (or display). The user device 150 may enable a user to manage the symptom intervention assembly 110. For example, the symptom intervention assembly 110 may cause a GUI to be generated at a screen of the user device 150, where the GUI includes input fields to approve, deny, or modify an actuation instruction to be applied to intervene with a symptom”); and
a digital therapy delivery module (110) comprising a processor (205; see [0064]) configured to deliver the therapeutic plan comprising therapeutic interventions selected from: at least one motor skills intervention (see [0057] – “The user's activity can be measured before, during, or after application of an actuation to intervene with the symptom. User activity measured before actuation may be used to determine which actuation instruction to enable. User activity measured during or after the application of the actuation may be used to score the applied actuation. The sensors 201 may be one or more of an IMU, EMG sensor, camera, heart rate sensor, pressure sensor bed or foot pressure sensor, force sensor, glucose monitor, or any suitable sensor for measuring movement or body measurements related to movement”), at least one psychological intervention, at least one cognitive intervention, or a combination thereof (see [0060] – “The dosing 202 perform actuation instructions determined by the symptom intervention system 220 for intervening with a symptom of a physical condition. The dosing 202 may perform actuation instructions for various types of actuation such as titration (e.g., of a chemical stimulus), neuromodulation, biofeedback, and FES. The dosing 202 may be located at various locations on the user's body. For example, electrodes for neuromodulation may be located at the user's brain and electrodes for FES are located at the user's limbs”);
wherein the digital therapy delivery module is further configured to convert the therapeutic plan into a plurality of targeted interaction outputs for presentation to the individual and track responses of the individual (see [0061] – “To apply biofeedback, the dosing 202 may include a speaker, vibrating mechanism, display, LEDs, or a combination thereof”, [0067] – “An actuation instruction may specify an actuation type, duration of actuation, location of actuation, any suitable parameter of the actuation, or combination thereof. For example, an actuation instruction for an electrical stimulation signal may include parameters specifying an amplitude (e.g., volts), frequency, and pulse width of the signal, a duration to apply the stimulation to the user, and a location at the user's shank of their left leg to apply the stimulation. An actuation types classifies the actuation into a manner of actuation such as electric, mechanic, haptic, audio, visual, pneumatic, hydraulic, or a combination thereof. Additional examples of actuation types include chemical stimulus administration (e.g., titration), neuromodulation, biofeedback, and FES electrodes”, [0104] – “The GUI module 226 may display information describing the intervention such as properties of an applied neuromodulation signal and through which electrodes the signal is applied (e.g., the identification numbers of the electrodes serving as the anodes and cathodes)”, and [0117] – “FIG. 3 is a block diagram of a feedback loop 300 for optimizing symptom intervention by a symptom intervention assembly, in accordance with at least one embodiment. The feedback loop 300 is a closed-loop system that minimizes a difference between user movement assisted by the symptom intervention assembly and a target movement (e.g., a neurotypical movement). The feedback loop 300 may be performed by a symptom intervention system 320 of a symptom intervention assembly. For example, the symptom intervention system 320 monitors activity data, determines an actuation for symptom intervention based on the monitored activity data, monitors activity data capturing the user's movement assisted by applying the determined actuation (i.e., the monitored data serves as feedback), and adjusts a subsequently applied actuation based on the feedback”).).
Regarding claim 26, Robison et al. discloses the digital therapy delivery module comprises software executable on a personal electronic device (see [0065] – “The MCU 205 hosts and executes a symptom intervention system 220, which includes software modules such as a symptom identifier module 224, a dosing control module 225, a graphical user interface (GUI) module 226, and a model training engine 227”).
Regarding claim 27, Robison et al. discloses the data-input module is configured to receive data from a plurality of data acquisition sources in real-time, wherein the data comprises one or more of: Electronic Medical Records (EMR) data, motion sensor data (see [0057] – “The sensors 201 may be one or more of an IMU, EMG sensor, camera, heart rate sensor, pressure sensor bed or foot pressure sensor, force sensor, glucose monitor, or any suitable sensor for measuring movement or body measurements related to movement”), position sensor data (see [0057] – “The sensors 201 may be one or more of an IMU, EMG sensor, camera, heart rate sensor, pressure sensor bed or foot pressure sensor, force sensor, glucose monitor, or any suitable sensor for measuring movement or body measurements related to movement”), environmental sensors data (see [0089] – “The sensors 201 may provide information insightful to the user's environment”), audio sensors data, location sensors data (see [0089] – “Although not depicted, the symptom intervention assembly 110 may be GPS enabled such that the assembly 110 can determine a location of the user”), audio recording data, speech recognition data, gaze-tracking data, touch interaction data, physiological sensor data (see [0057] – “The sensors 201 may be one or more of an IMU, EMG sensor, camera, heart rate sensor, pressure sensor bed or foot pressure sensor, force sensor, glucose monitor, or any suitable sensor for measuring movement or body measurements related to movement”), optical sensor (see [0059] – “For example, the sensors 201 may include a camera directed at the user and configured to capture image data of the user's movements”), imaging sensors (see [0059] – “For example, the sensors 201 may include a camera directed at the user and configured to capture image data of the user's movements”), self-report data, or a combination thereof.
Regarding claim 28, Robison et al. discloses the digital therapy delivery module comprises any of the following selected from: a personal electronic device, a graphical user interface, audio interface, haptic interface, or a combination thereof (see [0053] – “The user device 150 may be a personal computer (PC), a tablet PC, a smartphone, or any suitable device capable of executing instructions that specify actions to be taken by that device. The user device 150 may include a processor (e.g., a central processing unit (CPU), a graphics processing unit (GPU), a digital signal processor (DSP), one or more application specific integrated circuits (ASICs), one or more radio-frequency integrated circuits (RFICs), or any combination of these), a memory, a user interface to receive user inputs or provide outputs to the user (e.g., a visual display interface including a touch enabled screen, a keyboard, microphone, speakers, etc.)” and [0065] – “The MCU 205 hosts and executes a symptom intervention system 220, which includes software modules such as a symptom identifier module 224, a dosing control module 225, a graphical user interface (GUI) module 226, and a model training engine 227”).
Regarding claim 29, Robison et al. discloses the processor is further configured to:
dynamically monitor any of the following factors of the individual selected from: Electronic Medical Records (EMR) data, motor attributes, psychological attributes, cognitive attributes, pharmacological attributes, and drug intake parameters, or a combination thereof, throughout the implementation of the therapeutic plan (see [0112] – “The model training engine 227 may create training data based on historical modifications to stimulus administrations, which may include prescription or titration changes that medical professionals have made, an anonymized profile of a patient's symptom history and physical characteristics, or any suitable information correlating a modification to a change in symptoms experienced over time. The model training engine 227 may train the dosing model 230 using the training data to output a recommended modification to a chemical stimulus administration based on a user's symptom progress over time. The symptom identifier module 224 may track the user's symptom progress and store relevant data in the user profile database 222” and [0130] – “The user-provided feedback through the GUIs depicted in FIGS. 5 and 6 can be stored in a user profile database (e.g., the user profile database 222) of the symptom intervention system. The user profile database 222 may store the user's chosen actuation modification and link the modification to the identified symptom or the user activity that predicated the applied actuation such that subsequent interventions are optimized to the user's modification (e.g., the actuation instruction is not applied for the identified symptom going forward)”);
generate a dynamic user profile, and recursively adapt the therapeutic plan based on the dynamic user profile, performance metrics, and the individual’s responses; or a combination thereof (see [0106] – “The model training engine 227 then re-trains the machine learning model using the second training set such that the machine learning model is customized to the user's activity. For example, the model training engine 227 may re-train the general symptom identification model 228 such that the re-trained model is the user-specific symptom identification model 229. The dosing model 230 may also be trained by the model training engine 227 similarly in stages. A first stage may use dosing data from a general population of users and the second stage may use user feedback to create a second training set for retraining the dosing model 230”, [0119] – “The monitored assisted movement may be used as feedback to retrain the user-specific symptom identification model 329. The input of this feedback is depicted as an arrow between the sensors 310 and the model training engine 323. The user may also provide feedback of the assisted movement, which is provided to the symptom intervention system 320. For example, a user provides an approval rating of the assisted movement using a GUI generated on a user device that is communicatively coupled to the symptom intervention assembly and thus, to the symptom intervention system 320. The user feedback is used by the model training engine 323 of the symptom intervention system 320 to retrain the model 329”, and [0127] – “A user of the symptom intervention assembly may select one of the user feedback buttons 530 to approve of the modification to their titration or deny the modification. In response to the user selecting one of the user feedback buttons 530, the user device 150 may provide the selection to the symptom intervention system to serve as instructions to either apply or not apply the modification through actuators or serve as feedback to retrain or update a model used to determine an onset of the symptom (e.g., the symptom identification models 228 or 229) or actuation instructions to apply (e.g., the dosing model 230)”).
Regarding claim 30, Robison et al. discloses at least one additional device operatively coupled to the digital therapy delivery module, selected from: health monitoring systems, medical devices, haptic devices, external speakers, headphones, virtual reality headsets, augmented reality glasses or devices, biofeedback sensors, wearable activity trackers (see [0069] – “User information stored in the user profile database 222 may be provided by the user manually (e.g., the user entering their height), tracked by a wearable device such as the stimulation array described herein or a wearable fitness tracker (e.g., a smartwatch)”), smartphones (see [0053] – “The user device 150 may be a personal computer (PC), a tablet PC, a smartphone, or any suitable device capable of executing instructions that specify actions to be taken by that device”), tablets (see [0053] – “The user device 150 may be a personal computer (PC), a tablet PC, a smartphone, or any suitable device capable of executing instructions that specify actions to be taken by that device”), smartwatches (see [0069] – “User information stored in the user profile database 222 may be provided by the user manually (e.g., the user entering their height), tracked by a wearable device such as the stimulation array described herein or a wearable fitness tracker (e.g., a smartwatch)”), personal computational devices (see [0053] – “The user device 150 may be a personal computer (PC), a tablet PC, a smartphone, or any suitable device capable of executing instructions that specify actions to be taken by that device”), smart speakers, voice assistants, motion tracking sensors (see [0057] – “The sensors 201 may be one or more of an IMU, EMG sensor, camera, heart rate sensor, pressure sensor bed or foot pressure sensor, force sensor, glucose monitor, or any suitable sensor for measuring movement or body measurements related to movement”), virtual assistant systems, internet hubs, gait sensors (see [0057] – “The sensors 201 may be one or more of an IMU, EMG sensor, camera, heart rate sensor, pressure sensor bed or foot pressure sensor, force sensor, glucose monitor, or any suitable sensor for measuring movement or body measurements related to movement”), eye-tracking devices, voice recording devices, and wearable devices (see [0047] – “The symptom intervention assembly 110 may have various, wearable form factors such as exoskeletons, modular electrode straps, leggings, any wearable form factor suitable for targeting a particular muscle group on a user's body, or a combination thereof”), or combinations thereof.
Regarding claim 31, Robison et al. discloses a method for modulating one or more Parkinson's disease-related markers, symptoms, or disease progression in an individual in need thereof, the method comprising:
delivering a therapeutic plan comprising therapeutic interventions selected from: at least one motor skills intervention (see [0057] – “The user's activity can be measured before, during, or after application of an actuation to intervene with the symptom. User activity measured before actuation may be used to determine which actuation instruction to enable. User activity measured during or after the application of the actuation may be used to score the applied actuation. The sensors 201 may be one or more of an IMU, EMG sensor, camera, heart rate sensor, pressure sensor bed or foot pressure sensor, force sensor, glucose monitor, or any suitable sensor for measuring movement or body measurements related to movement”), at least one psychological intervention and at least one cognitive intervention (see [0060] – “The dosing 202 perform actuation instructions determined by the symptom intervention system 220 for intervening with a symptom of a physical condition. The dosing 202 may perform actuation instructions for various types of actuation such as titration (e.g., of a chemical stimulus), neuromodulation, biofeedback, and FES. The dosing 202 may be located at various locations on the user's body. For example, electrodes for neuromodulation may be located at the user's brain and electrodes for FES are located at the user's limbs”);
wherein the therapeutic interventions are delivered for interaction by the individual (see [0061] – “To apply biofeedback, the dosing 202 may include a speaker, vibrating mechanism, display, LEDs, or a combination thereof”, [0067] – “An actuation instruction may specify an actuation type, duration of actuation, location of actuation, any suitable parameter of the actuation, or combination thereof. For example, an actuation instruction for an electrical stimulation signal may include parameters specifying an amplitude (e.g., volts), frequency, and pulse width of the signal, a duration to apply the stimulation to the user, and a location at the user's shank of their left leg to apply the stimulation. An actuation types classifies the actuation into a manner of actuation such as electric, mechanic, haptic, audio, visual, pneumatic, hydraulic, or a combination thereof. Additional examples of actuation types include chemical stimulus administration (e.g., titration), neuromodulation, biofeedback, and FES electrodes”, and [0104] – “The GUI module 226 may display information describing the intervention such as properties of an applied neuromodulation signal and through which electrodes the signal is applied (e.g., the identification numbers of the electrodes serving as the anodes and cathodes)”); and
adaptively delivering the therapeutic plan, tracking responses of the individual and associated performance metrics, and continuing until a predetermined condition is met (see [0049] – “The remote symptom intervention system 120 may maintain models that are generalized to movement across a population or customized to a particular user, activity type, any suitable phenotypic trait, or a combination thereof”, [0105]-[0106], [0113] – “The relevant data indicative of the user's symptom progress may include a change in frequency of identifying the symptom, a change in severity of the symptom (e.g., the amplitude of the movement signals of a user's tremors are increasing), the appearance of a symptom previously not affecting the user, the disappearance of a symptom affecting the user, the appearance of an existing symptom under conditions previously not associated with the existing symptom (e.g., the user is experiencing FOG at a time of day when they had previously not experienced it), or any suitable characteristic of a change in the user's symptoms. In some embodiments, the dosing control module 225 may apply the modification determined by the machine-learned model using the dosing 202. For example, the determined modification includes a change to the titration timing and dosage of levodopa, which the dosing control module 225 may implement by controlling a portable pump that administers levodopa or a similar stimulus to the user”, and [0117] – “FIG. 3 is a block diagram of a feedback loop 300 for optimizing symptom intervention by a symptom intervention assembly, in accordance with at least one embodiment. The feedback loop 300 is a closed-loop system that minimizes a difference between user movement assisted by the symptom intervention assembly and a target movement (e.g., a neurotypical movement). The feedback loop 300 may be performed by a symptom intervention system 320 of a symptom intervention assembly. For example, the symptom intervention system 320 monitors activity data, determines an actuation for symptom intervention based on the monitored activity data, monitors activity data capturing the user's movement assisted by applying the determined actuation (i.e., the monitored data serves as feedback), and adjusts a subsequently applied actuation based on the feedback”).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Robison et al., further in view of Ghaffari et al. (US Patent No. 10,532,211 B2) (previously cited).
Regarding claim 10, it is noted Robison et al. does not specifically teach administering light therapy before, during, after, or a combination thereof, at least one of the therapeutic interventions. However, Ghaffari et al. teaches administering light therapy before, during, after, or a combination thereof, at least one of the therapeutic interventions (see col. 7, lines 25-30 – “The sensing device 110 can contain actuators to deliver electric current (electric fields) to transdermally direct nanoparticles through skin (e.g. pharmacological agents), LED arrays (e.g., UV, blue, near infrared light, or infrared) to deliver photo-activation therapy to skin” and col. 9, lines 55-65 – “In some embodiments, the therapeutic device 170 can apply electric pulses, e.g., for neurostimulation or pain management. In some embodiments, the therapeutic device 170 can apply ultrasound, e.g., for neurostimulation. In some embodiments, the therapeutic device 170 can deliver one or more drugs, for example, wherein the one or more drugs are enclosed in the therapeutic device 170. In some embodiments, the therapeutic device 170 can provide thermal stimulation. In some embodiments, the therapeutic device 170 can provide photostimulation (e.g., light based therapies)”). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Robison et al. to include administering light therapy before, during, after, or a combination thereof, at least one of the therapeutic interventions, as disclosed in Ghaffari et al., so as to increase dopamine production and help reset the body’s internal clock, improving sleep-wake cycles disrupted by Parkinson’s disease.
Claim(s) 22 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Robison et al., further in view of Slepian et al. (US Patent No. 10,551,910 B2) (previously cited).
Regarding claim 22, it is noted Robison et al. does not specifically teach at least one of the therapeutic interventions further comprises: sensory inhibition, sensory substitution, sensory integration, or a combination thereof. However, Slepian et al. teaches at least one of the therapeutic interventions further comprises: sensory inhibition, sensory substitution, sensory integration, or a combination thereof (see col. 5, lines 2-14 – “One mechanism at work may be “sensory substitution.” In this case, patient 108, by virtue of repetitive exposure to experience 110(2), processes and somaticizes the information from the contact and intervention. However, in this case patient 108 substitutes a sensation or feeling derived from this processing with an alternative feeling—one that is pleasurable. For example, a disease game (e.g., game 130, described below) may improve adherence to therapy or a change in lifestyle by allowing the player (i.e., patient 108) to experience this and may associate this with one or more of a positive sound, a pleasant vision, and a pleasurable smell, thereby substituting one type of somaticized response for an alternative sensory feeling”, col. 8, lines 53-62 – “Once the specific virtual reality target is identified a treatment plan and scheme is selected in terms of the types of mind-body connections desired, the sensory shift or substitution that is hoped to be evoked, the response and the range of response is outlined. System 100 then immerses patient 108 in the virtual-reality therapy (experience 110) and monitors patient 108 with identified endpoints outlined a priori to enable efficacy of the treatment to be continuously and/or periodically monitored”, and col. 15, lines 49-54 – “System 100 generates experience 110 to provide a psychosomatic connection between the medical treatment and mental understanding of patient 108. Using somatic substitution, controller 402 controls PEGD driver 410 to drive actuators 424 to make experience 110 more real for patient 108”). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Robison et al. to include at least one of the therapeutic interventions further comprises: sensory inhibition, sensory substitution, sensory integration, or a combination thereof, as disclosed in Slepian et al., so as to improve adherence to therapy or a change in lifestyle by allowing the patient to substitute a feeling associated with the intervention with one that is pleasurable (see Slepian et al.: col. 5, lines 5-14).
Claim(s) 23 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Robison et al., further in view of Tass (US Publication No. 2013/0090519 A1) (previously cited).
Regarding claim 23, it is noted Robison et al. does not specifically teach a conditioning stimulus delivered before, during, after, or a combination thereof, the administering of the at least one medicinal agent, at least one of the therapeutic interventions, or a combination thereof. However, Tass teaches a conditioning stimulus delivered before, during, after, or a combination thereof, the administering of the at least one medicinal agent, at least one of the therapeutic interventions, or a combination thereof (see [0052] – “In a first mode of operation, which is also referred to as learning phase, the non-specific second stimuli 22 are administered to the patient, at least partly, closely coupled in time to the application of the specific first stimuli 21, this means that the first and second stimuli 21,22 are at least partly administered in pairs in the first mode of operation. The nerve system of the patient is hereby conditioned, this means that it learns to react to the non-specific second stimuli 22 in the same way as to the specific first stimuli 21 (or in a slightly attenuated form), also when the specific first stimuli 21 are not administered. This is utilized in that, in the second mode of operation, in the actual stimulation phase, the first and second stimuli 21, 22 are not always administered in pairs; rather also non-specific second stimuli 22 are administered on their own between such pairs of first and second stimuli 21, 22. Since the non-specific second stimuli 22 also achieve therapeutic effects through the conditioning of the nerve system of the patient achieved in the first mode of operation, i.e. in the learning phase, the demand for specific first stimuli 21 is reduced in the second mode of operation” and [0053] – “One can stimulate only with the non-specific second stimuli 22 for longer periods of time for an efficient conditioning, without the first stimulation unit 11, which serves for the administration of the specific first stimuli 21, having to be worn or used by the patient. In contrast to the first stimulation unit 11, the second stimulation unit 12, by means of which the non-specific second stimuli 22 are generated, is generally significantly more comfortable (see e.g. the conditioning clock described in the following)”). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Robison et al. to include a conditioning stimulus delivered before, during, after, or a combination thereof, the administering of the at least one medicinal agent, at least one of the therapeutic interventions, or a combination thereof, as disclosed in Tass, so as to increase comfort in carrying out the therapy, thereby increasing the willingness of the patient to carry out the therapy and thus improving the therapeutic result (see Tass: [0055]).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 6/11/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues the rejection of claims 25-30 under 35 U.S.C. 101, specifically arguing that the “data-input module” and “digital therapy delivery module” are not merely generic computer components performing generic computer functions but rather specific structural components that define a specific digital therapeutic system architecture in which the conversion of therapeutic plans into interaction outputs and the tracking of patient responses are integral to the therapeutic delivery itself, not extra-solution activity. The Examiner respectfully disagrees and notes the claimed “data-input module” is not even described structurally in the specification (which does not raise an issue under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) because what is conventional or well known to one of ordinary skill in the art need not be disclosed in detail. See Hybritech Inc. v. Monoclonal Antibodies, Inc., 802 F.2d at 1384, 231 USPQ at 94. See also Capon v. Eshhar, 418 F.3d 1349, 1357, 76 USPQ2d 1078, 1085 (Fed. Cir. 2005)), and the “digital therapy delivery module” is described as software executable on a personal electronic device, a graphical user interface, audio interface, haptic interface, or a combination thereof (see specification as originally filed: [00033] and [00035]), all of which are generic computer components performing generic computer functions that are well-understood, routine, and conventional in the art.
Applicant argues the rejection of claim 1, specifically arguing that Robison does not disclose “the therapeutic interventions are delivered for interaction by the individual” because the actuations described by Robison are passively applied to the user’s body and therefore the user does not interact with the actuations. The Examiner respectfully disagrees with Applicant’s interpretation of an “interaction by the individual” under the broadest reasonable interpretation. All of the actuations described by Robison actively interact with the individual and have a therapeutic effect in that they reduce or mitigate the individual’s symptoms associated with Parkinson’s disease. The actuations are continuously monitored and modified to optimize the effect of the treatment on the user (see [0043]). Electrical stimulation/neuromodulation helps the user contract the appropriate muscles while they walk if the symptom being experienced is a slowed gait or relax the muscles if the user is experiencing tremor (see [0023]). Similarly, the chemical stimuli, such as administering a dose of levodopa, reverses the chemical imbalance caused by Parkinson’s and restores normal motor function, and Robison describes controlling the dosing and timing of the administered levodopa to optimize the efficacy of a chemical stimulus with respect to the identified symptom.
Applicant argues Robison’s interventions do not constitute “motor skills interventions”, because that term allegedly has a special definition of active therapeutic exercises the individual performs. The Examiner respectfully disagrees with this interpretation of Applicant’s specification. [000118] does not limit “motor skills interventions” to only active therapeutic exercises the individual performs and instead describes a wide variety of things that constitute “motor skills interventions”, including in particular tremor management and walking, which Robison very clearly describes throughout its disclosure. Moreover, it is noted the present scope of the claim doesn’t even require specifically “motor skills interventions”. Instead, the claim recites “therapeutic interventions selected from: at least one motor skills intervention, at least one psychological intervention, at least one cognitive intervention, or a combination thereof”.
Applicant argues the rejection of claim 22, specifically arguing that the “sensory substitution” described by Slepian is fundamentally different from the sensory substitution recited in claim 22. In response to applicant's argument that the references fail to show certain features of the invention, it is noted that the features upon which applicant relies (i.e., that sensory substitution is limited to replacing one sensory modality output with another sensory modality output, for example replacing visual stimuli with auditory ones, or vice versa) are not recited in the rejected claim(s). Although the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from the specification are not read into the claims. See In re Van Geuns, 988 F.2d 1181, 26 USPQ2d 1057 (Fed. Cir. 1993). The “sensory substitution” described by Slepian is sufficient to meet the present language of claim 22 under the broadest reasonable interpretation standard.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/DEVIN B HENSON/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3791