DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Applicant’s arguments and amendments have been thoroughly reviewed and considered. Claims 1-30 are pending and are examined on the merits herein.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 7/17/2026 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Response to Applicant’s Amendments
Claim Objections
Claim 4 was objected to because of minor informalities. In light of Applicant’s amendments to the claims submitted 7/15/2026, this objection has been withdrawn.
35 USC 112(b) Rejections
Claims 1-15 and 20 were objected to due to various informalities. In light of Applicant’s amendments to the claims submitted 7/15/2026, the rejections for claims 1-15 have been withdrawn. Claim 20 has not been amended, and Applicant has provided no arguments regarding the rejection to the claims, so this rejection has been maintained.
35 USC 102 Rejections
Claims 1, 6-7, 10-12, and 14-15 were rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Farokhzad et al. (WO 2021/243285 A1).
Applicant’s arguments and amendments have been thoroughly reviewed and considered. These rejections have been withdrawn, but see new grounds of rejection and “Response to Applicant’s Arguments” below.
35 USC 103 Rejections
Claims 3, 5, 8-9, 13, 16, 18-19, and 21-30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Farokhzad et al. (WO 2021/243285 A1).
Claims 2 and 17 were rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Farokhzad et al. (WO 2021/243285 A1) in view of Gao et al. (Talanta, 2023).
Claims 4 and 20 were rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Farokhzad et al. (WO 2021/243285 A1) in view of Nong et al. (Nature Protocols, 2013).
Applicant’s arguments and amendments have been thoroughly reviewed and considered. These rejections have been withdrawn, but see new grounds of rejection and “Response to Applicant’s Arguments” below.
Double Patenting Rejections
Claims 1 and 10 were provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 27-28 of copending Application No. 18/269,896 (reference application).
These rejections have been withdrawn as the 896’ application has been issued a Notice of Allowance for claims 30-33 and 36-39, where claims 1-30 were withdrawn without traverse and appear to no longer be pending.
Response to Applicant’s Arguments
Regarding the 35 USC 102 Rejections, Applicant argues that the amendments to claim 1, where the analyte must now be indirectly coupled to the analyte, overcome the anticipation rejection. The Examiner agrees, and this is the basis for the withdrawal of these rejections.
Regarding the 35 USC 103 Rejections, and particularly the 35 USC 103 Rejection related to claim 16, in light of further search and consideration of the instant claims, new prior art has been found that is considered to be closer in subject matter to the instant claims, and is used in the rejections below. Thus, these arguments are considered moot.
Claim Interpretation
In instant claim 19, it is stated that the complex coupled to the surface of the substrate is washed “at most once.” This encompasses washing the complex once, but also encompasses not washing the complex at all (i.e. washing it 0 times).
In the instant claims, the words “coupled” and “bound” are used throughout to indicate that components are attached to one another (e.g. “a first probe coupled to said analyte” and “said second probe is bound to said surface” in instant claim 1). The terms “coupled” and “bound” are not specifically defined in the instant specification, and so will be considered to encompass both direct and indirect (e.g. involving an intermediary) attachment of components.
Additionally, it is noted that Applicant is using the term “probe” in the instant claims to broadly refer to the structures bound to the analytes, and, at least in the case of the independent claims, the probes do not possess an inherent structure other than that needed to accomplish the functions described by the independent claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112(b)
Claim 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 20 is rejected due to the phrase “bound to said surface of said substrate separate from said analyte.”. This claim depends on claim 16, which recites forming an analyte/probe complex, wherein the complex is coupled to the surface of a substrate in step (b), with no indication of which element of the complex must be directly coupled said substrate, if any. As noted above in the “Claim Interpretation” section, “coupled” and “bound” do not have specific definitions in the instant specification, and so overlap in scope, where direct or indirect binding/coupling are encompassed. If the first or second probe was directly bound to the substrate, the analyte would still at least be indirectly coupled to the substrate due to the nature of the complex (though the analyte could also be directly or indirectly attached to the substrate through the use of another binding element). If the first or second probe was indirectly bound to the substrate, the analyte would then still be indirectly coupled to the substrate, but could also be directly coupled. In other words, it is unclear how, in the analyte/probe complex, one element could be bound to the substrate in a manner that is “separate” from the other elements of the complex, as the elements are all connected. It is recommended that Applicant clearly state which elements of the complex are intended to be directly linked to the substrate, and which may be indirectly linked, and by what specific means (e.g. the use of a binding pair).
This claim will be interpreted as requiring the analyte to be indirectly coupled to said surface of said substrate, as is stated in instant claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 5-7, 10-14, 16, 19, 21-23, and 26-30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Luo et al. (US 2021/0278398 A1).
Luo teaches immunoassays to detect target biological molecules or molecular complexes (para. 3). In Embodiment 1 in para. 5, an assay is described in which two binding moieties affixed with labels bind to an analyte, forming a complex, the complex is captured on a surface, the surface is washed, a reporter is generated based on proximity between the two labels, and the reporter is then detected, detecting the analyte. Para. 16 notes that the reporter can be a nucleic acid reporter, and para. 364 notes that the nucleic acid reporter can be formed by proximity ligation. Thus, the ligated nucleic acid reporter product is a reaction product between the two labels, where said labels are part of first and second binding moieties, which are analogous to the claimed probes (instant claim 1).
Regarding claim 16, para. 5 of Lou states that the complex is formed before being coupled to the solid surface, and the single washing step does not occur until after the complex is bound to the first solid surface. Thus, the teachings of Lou described above in the rejection of claim 1 also read on instant claim 16.
Regarding claims 5 and 21, para. 5 states that the capturing of the complex on the solid surface occurs through binding between the first presenting and the first receiving groups. Para. 48 states that this binding can be biotin to streptavidin, which would act as the claimed binding pair.
Regarding claims 6-7 and 22-23, the analyte can be a protein, and the binders on the binding moieties can be antibodies that specifically bind to the analyte (para. 78).
Regarding claims 10 and 26, paras. 114-117 note that the first and second labels can be nucleic acid molecules. This, in the method described above in the rejections of claim 1 and 6, two antibodies may be attached to two nucleic acids, where the two nucleic acids are ligated together, joining the antibodies.
Regarding claims 11-12 and 27-28, para. 32 notes that the nucleic acid reporter can be amplified via PCR, which would both generate a complementary nucleic acid to said reporter and would amplify said complementary nucleic acid.
Regarding claims 13 and 29, para. 365 states that qPCR can be performed on the nucleic acid reporters.
Regarding claims 14 and 30, para. 365 notes that the nucleic acid reporter can be detected via next generation sequencing.
Regarding claim 19, as noted above in the rejection of claim 16, para. 5 states that the complex is only washed once during the method.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 8 and 24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Luo et al. (US 2021/0278398 A1).
Regarding claims 8 and 24, Luo teaches the methods of claims 1, 5-7, 10-14, 16, 19, 21-23, and 26-30, as described above. Additionally, para. 942 of Luo states, “Any detection marker known in the art can be included in a system of this disclosure. In some embodiments, the detection marker is a colorimetric detection reagent, a fluorescent detection reagent…,” and also teaches the use of FRET dyes (e.g. paras. 598 and 943). Para. 455 also states, “Additional labels suitable for target label and sample label of the present disclosure include other identifiable or correlative information containing molecules, such as fluorescent molecules or the combination or sequences of fluorescent molecules, and/or colorimetric moieties or the combination or sequences of colorimetric moieties,” where a target label is a moiety that facilitates detection and identification of a target.
As the reporter of Luo is detected in order to detect the analyte in the rejection of claims 1 and 16 above, the detection means described by Luo would be relevant to said reporter. Thus, it would be prima facie obvious that the reporter could be equipped with fluorescent detection means, and specifically could be equipped with FRET dyes that allow for the detection of the ligation reporter product once it has been formed. This would simply be using a particular type of detection in the method of Luo described above in the rejection of claims 1 and 16 that is already encompassed by the reference generally. Such detection means would also specifically be useful in instances where reaction product is analyzed with qPCR, as is taught by Luo (e.g. paras. 365, 377, and 551). There would be a reasonable expectation of success as Luo notes that these fluorescent labels are well-known in the art and are commercially available (para. 455).
Thus, claims 8 and 24 are prima facie obvious over Luo.
Claims 2 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Luo et al. (US 2021/0278398 A1) in view of Gao et al. (Talanta, 2023).
Luo teaches the methods of claims 1, 5-7, 10-14, 16, 19, 21-23, and 26-30 as described above. However, the reference does not teach that their detection methods have a detection limit of 0.1 fg/ml. It is noted that the reference teaches limits of detection in the fM range however, as shown in para. 412 and Figure 24A. It is noted that in the methods described by the rejections of claims 1, 10, 16, and 26 above, the resulting assay is a proximity ligation assay, as described in paras. 412 and 618 and Figure 3.
Gao teaches various parameters and methods for proximity ligation assays and electrochemical proximity ligation assays (ECPLAs; Abstract). The electrochemical proximity ligation assays mainly differ from PLAs in their detection methods, as the components of the assay are placed on an electrode to generate a signal (Figure 2). Figure 2 shows methods similar to those of Luo, where antibodies with nucleic acid portions attach to target proteins. Table 1 of Gao shows various amplification strategies that can be employed with electrochemical proximity ligation assays (abbreviated as “EC” under the “Method” section of the table), along with the detection limits for each. These detection limits cover a wide range, but some of the smallest detection limits are 0.052 fg/ml and 0.43 fg/ml, with some detection limits being much higher (e.g. 0.04 ng/ml). For the 0.052 fg/ml detection limit, Gao further explains the corresponding method as a DNA-based amplification strategy that is capable of use with antibodies and proximity probes (page 7, column 2, para. 7 through page 8, column 1, para. 1). Gao states that this amplification method enhances sensitivity (page 6, final para. through page 7, column 1, para. 1), and that generally, ECPLAs aim to increase the sensitivity, selectivity, simplicity, and speed of PLA processes (page 10, column 2, para. 5).
Prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been prima facie obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to use the teachings of Gao to inform the PLA and amplification methods of Luo. Luo teaches that the complex of their invention can be detected electrochemically (para. 596), but does not provide many details regarding such detection. This reference also notes that amplification methods can be involved in detection (e. g. paras. 32 and 365). In considering this in light of Gao, who teaches ECPLA, along with the benefits of such methods over typical PLA (e.g. increased sensitivity, selectivity, simplicity, and speed) the ordinary artisan would be capable of and motivated to use such ECPLA methods in the method of Luo. Furthermore, as Gao shows the detection limits of various amplification methods associated with ECPLA, the ordinary artisan would be motivated to use those amplification methods that have very small detection limits, in order to ensure that even small amounts of target in a sample may be detected. This would be particularly useful in light of Luo’s teachings regarding using their methods to identify disease states in a sample (e.g. para. 515), as the lower the detection limit, the more likely a target is to be identified, which could lead to earlier noting of disease indicators and diagnoses, improving patient outcomes. Luo generally does not require a particular type of amplification, nor does the reference state that particular amplification methods would be unsuitable (see the various amplification teachings in paras. 366 and 624). Thus, the ordinary artisan would be motivated to use the amplification method described by Gao that has a detection limit of 0.052 fg/ml, and would have a reasonable expectation of success in doing so, as Gao shows this amplification method works with ECPLA methods, and the amplification method falls within the general amplification teachings of Luo.
Thus, claims 2 and 17 are prima facie obvious over Luo in view of Gao.
Claim 3, 9, 15, 18, and 25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Luo et al. (US 2021/0278398 A1) in view of Farokhzad et al. (WO 2021/243285 A1).
Luo teaches the methods of claims 1, 5-7, 10-14, 16, 19, 21-23, and 26-30 as described above. However, the reference does not specifically mention the overall timing of their assay.
Farokhzad teaches a similar method to that of Luo in that the reference teaches the use of proximity ligation assays, where the general method involves incubating a particle with sample biomolecules, and then further incubating the particle with a probe comprising an affinity reagent, which may be an antibody, and a nucleic acid barcode that is bound to the affinity reagent. The affinity reagent binds to the biomolecules of the sample, and the barcode is used to correspond to the biomolecule. An assay is then performed to assess the presence or absence of the probe, and subsequently the presence or absence of the biomolecule (para. 13). Multiple probes may be used, where first and second probes both bind to the same biomolecule in close proximity. Then, sticky ends of the barcodes may hybridize and be ligated together (para. 13). Thus, Farokhzad teaches that the probes of their invention have a binding moiety (the antibodies) coupled to biomolecules (the nucleic acid barcodes), and teaches the coupling of the first and second biomolecules together via ligation. The assay process for determining the presence or absence of the biomolecule may involve amplification and sequencing of the barcode sequences (para. 13). Farokhzad teaches that their assay methods may be completed, from sample input to analysis completion, in less than 2 hours (para. 108).
Prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been prima facie obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to use the teachings of Farokhzad to guide the timing of the methods of Luo. Specifically, as Luo deals with biological samples (e.g. paras. 4, 439-440, and 515), and particularly deals with samples that can provide disease information (such as cancer information, see para. 515), there is a clear need to analyze samples efficiently and without degradation of desired analytes, so that results will be accurate and re-sampling of patients would not be necessary. Farokhzad provides guidance that PLA assays involving ligation on a substrate can be performed in less than 2 hours, and so this would motivate the ordinary artisan to perform the method of Luo in less than 2 hours as well, to obtain similar efficiency benefits. In Luo, examples of the NULISA process appear to also be done in less than or around 2 hours – see paras. 1087-1090, which recites a time of 95 minutes to produce the ligation product, followed by PCR. Thus, there would be a reasonable expectation of success that the timing described by Farokhzad could be performed with the specific methods of Luo.
It is also noted that in instant claims 3 and 18, the method must be completed in “no more than about 90 minutes.” In the instant specification, “about” can vary by up to 15% of the stated number (para. 108), and so “about 90 minutes” can be up to just under 105 minutes (i.e. just under 1 hour and 45 minutes). MPEP 2144.05 I states, “In the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990)..Similarly, a prima facie case of obviousness exists where the claimed ranges or amounts do not overlap with the prior art but are merely close. Titanium Metals Corp. of America v. Banner, 778 F.2d 775, 783, 227 USPQ 773, 779 (Fed. Cir. 1985).” The range described by Farokhzad (under two hours) overlaps with the range described by the instant claim (no more than about 90 minutes). Furthermore, Applicant does not state that their claimed range is critical or produced unexpected results. In the instant specification, para. 153 states that “no more than 90 minutes” is an example of decreased reaction time, and a variety of reaction time ranges are described in paras. 154, 156, and 158. Para. 155 describes Figure 3 and states that the illustrated process occurs in no more than about 90 minutes, but no specific data regarding reaction time is presented. None of these disclosures describe the “no more than 90 minutes” time range as critical, and so the overlapping nature of the time ranges of Farokhzad and instant claims 3 and 18 render the instant claims obvious in light of the general rationale of Luo in view of Farokhzad provided above.
Thus, claims 3 and 18 are prima facie obvious over Luo in view of Farokhzad.
Regarding claims 9 and 25, Lou does not provide a clear percentage measurement of the specificity of their assay. The reference states that binders that bind to the analyte (e.g., antibodies) may have a high binding affinity (paras. 441-442), and that antibodies can be derived via analysis of their specificities to a particular target (para. 443). Luo also notes that high specificity for assays is generally important (e.g. paras. 421, 632, 796, 890, and 983).
Farokhzad teaches that their probes may have at least 80-99% binding affinity to their target species, which is a measure of specificity (para. 139). Additionally, para. 235 of Farokhzad states that the methods of the invention may distinguish between two biological states with at least 80%-99% specificity. Para. 253 states that probes may have specificity for a single target biomolecule.
Thus, as shown by both references, specificity can be dependent on the specific antibody/analyte pair. However, it would be prima facie obvious to the ordinary artisan that a high specificity for the probes would be desired, to ensure that erroneous antibody binding is limited, which would therefore limit noise or inaccurate results. More specifically, high specificities, such as those described in Farokhzad, would be desired to achieve this increased accuracy outcome. There would be a reasonable expectation of success in achieving such specificity, as Farokhzad teaches that such levels are possible.
Thus, claims 9 and 25 are prima facie obvious over Lou in view of Farokhzad.
Regarding claim 15, Lou teaches that the substrate used in their methods can be a bead (e.g. paras. 425, 513, 516, and 941) and particle surfaces (e.g. paras. 181, 200, 516, and 895), with no particular limit or restriction.
Farokhzad teaches that the particles used in their invention, which perform a similar function of holding immunocomplexes that undergo proximity ligation reactions, can be quantum dots, and thus would themselves be fluorescent (paras. 73 and 186).
Prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been prima facie obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to substitute the particle substrate described by Luo with the specific quantum dot particle described by Farokhzad. MPEP 2143 I (B) states, “The rationale to support a conclusion that the claim would have been obvious is that the substitution of one known element for another yields predictable results to one of ordinary skill in the art.” Both references teach that particles may be used as substrates, and so the use of one particular particle type (i.e. a quantum dot) would not change the overall method of Luo or how the substrate would function, as the purpose of the substrate is simply to hold the reaction components. As quantum dots are taught by Farokhzad to perform this function, there would be predictable results with the use of such a particle in Luo.
Thus, claim 15 is prima facie obvious over Luo in view of Farokhzad.
Claims 4 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Luo et al. (US 2021/0278398 A1) in view of Nong et al. (Nature Protocols, 2013).
Luo teaches the methods of 1, 5-7, 10-14, 16, 19, 21-23, and 26-30, as described above. Luo also teaches that their methods can involve means of reducing the amount of analyte detected by the assay (e.g. paras. 659-661), and also teaches that the solid support may be beads (paras. 513 and 516). However, the reference does not teach the density of the binding moieties relative to the surface area of the solid support. It is noted that the methods described by the rejections of claims 1, 10, 16, and 26 above, the resulting assay is a proximity ligation assay, as described in paras. 412 and 618 and Figure 3.
Nong teaches methods related to PLAs and subsequent downstream qPCR or sequencing analysis (Abstract). In their PLAs, beads are used, where target proteins and the antibody/nucleic acid complexes are attached to the bead, similar to the PLA structure described by Luo. It is noted that the PLA antibodies and the protein are attached to the bead via a capture antibody (Figure 1). In designing their assay, with regard to antibody density, Nong states, “…antibodies should be immobilized with an empirically adjusted antibody density in order to avoid blocking excessive numbers of epitopes by the capture antibodies. Unspecific background signals tend to be proportional to the total surface area used. It is thus important to maintain a balance between efficient capture and surface area,” (page 1236, column 2, para. 5). Additionally, the reference notes, “When polyclonal antibodies are used as capture agents, signals decrease when the amount of antibody exceeds approximately one-tenth of the bead total capacity stated by the manufacturer. We believe that this is due to excessive epitope occupancy by the immobilized antibody, resulting in reduced epitope availability for the detection antibodies,” (page 1240, “Critical Step” under step 5).
Though these teachings are referring to the antibody directly attached to the bead in Nong, and not the specific PLA antibodies, the ordinary artisan would recognize that these teachings could be generally applied to methods involving antibodies and beads. Thus, prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been prima facie obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to use the teachings of Nong to inform the method of Luo when bead substrates are used. Luo teaches that these bead substrates can be placed in multi-well plates for parallel processing (para. 516), and so the ordinary artisan would be motivated to use such substrates in instances where partitions are required or desired, or in cases where multiplexing is involved. Then, regarding the density of the antibodies on the surface area of the beads specifically, the ordinary artisan would be motivated to not overwhelm the surface area of the particles with the first binding moieties (that contains the first antibody). In particular, because Nong mentions that ill-effects regarding background signal are seen when the amount of a first antibody is approximately 10% of total bead capacity, the ordinary artisan would be motivated to keep the total amount of the first antibody at a level that would result in a density on the bead of 10% or less. This overlaps with the “no more than about 5% occupancy” described in the instant claims. MPEP 2144.05 I states, “In the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976),” and it is noted that the density range in the instant claims is not noted to be critical or to produced unexpected results. There would be a reasonable expectation of success in providing the first binding moieties at this density because this would simply involving providing a particular amount of antibodies, and would not be changing the overall methods of Luo described above.
Thus, claims 4 and 20 are prima facie obvious over Luo in view of Nong.
Conclusion
No claims are currently allowable.
/FRANCESCA FILIPPA GIAMMONA/Examiner, Art Unit 1681