DETAILED ACTION
This is a first Office Action on the merits and is responsive to the originally filed application papers. Claims filed on 11/11/2025 are being examined. Claims 1-8 are being considered and further pending examination.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement(s) (IDS(s)) submitted on 11/11/2025 is/are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 1 and 7-8 recite “in response to determining that the first command cannot be accepted, determine whether the first command can be accepted within a predetermined upper limit processing duration based on the resource information; and wait until the first command can be accepted…” However, this limitation is unclear as it claims determination that the first command cannot be accepted followed by determining that it can/waiting until the command can be accepted which indicates the command could be accepted all along. For the purpose of compact prosecution the examiner will interpret the limitation of “determining that the first command cannot be accepted” as a determination that the command cannot be accepted only for a certain time or equivalent.
Claims 2-6 are dependent on claim 1 and do not cure the deficiencies thereof , therefore they are rejected for the same reason.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more.
101 Analysis - Step 1: Applicant’s independent claim 6 is directed toward a method. Therefore, it can be seen that it/they fall(s) within one of the four statutory categories of invention.
101 Analysis - Step 2A, Prong I: Regarding Prong I of the Step 2A analysis in the 2019 PEG, the claims are to be analyzed to determine whether they recite subject matter that falls within one of the following groups of abstract ideas: a) mathematical concepts, b) certain methods of organizing human activity, and/or c) mental processes.
Independent claim 1 includes limitations that recite and abstract idea (emphasized below) and will be used as a representative claim for the remainder of the 101 rejection. Claim 1 recites :
A vehicle control system mounted on a vehicle, the vehicle control system comprising:
at least one vehicle control device; and
an operation control device,
wherein
the at least one vehicle control device includes at least one processor with a memory storing computer program code, and the at least one processor with the memory is configured to:
in response to a first command being input from an application of the at least one vehicle control device, determine whether the first command can be accepted based on resource information, the resource information being related to a processing capacity of resource to be used by the first command;
output, in response to determining that the first command can be accepted, a second command, which is generated based on the first command, to an operation control program that is installed in the operation control device for controlling a control target;
in response to determining that the first command cannot be accepted, determine whether the first command can be accepted within a predetermined upper limit processing duration based on the resource information; and
wait until the first command can be accepted and then output the second command to the operation control program in response to determining that the first command can be accepted within the predetermined upper limit processing duration.
The examiner submits that the foregoing bolded limitation(s) constitute a “mental process” because under its broadest reasonable interpretation, the claim covers performance of the limitation in the human mind. Specifically, the step “determining” encompasses a user making an observation, evaluation, or judgement, based on a received command a determination of if an command can be run as well a determination in response to the previous determination if the command can be run in the future. Accordingly, the claim recites at least one abstract idea.
101 Analysis - Step 2A, Prong II: Regarding Prong II of the Step 2A analysis in the 2019 PEG, the claims are to be analyzed to determine whether the claim, as a whole, integrates the abstract idea into a practical application. As noted in the 2019 PEG, it must be determined whether any additional elements in the claim beyond the abstract idea integrate the exception into a practical application in a manner that imposes a meaningful limit on the judicial exception. The courts have indicated that additional elements merely using a computer to implement an abstract idea, adding insignificant extra solution activity, or generally linking use of a judicial exception to a particular technological environment or field of use do not integrate a judicial exception into a “practical application.”
In the present case, the additional limitations beyond the above-noted abstract idea are as follows (where the underlined portions are the “additional limitations” while the bolded portions continue to represent the “abstract idea”):
A vehicle control system mounted on a vehicle, the vehicle control system comprising:
at least one vehicle control device; and
an operation control device,
wherein
the at least one vehicle control device includes at least one processor with a memory storing computer program code, and the at least one processor with the memory is configured to:
in response to a first command being input from an application of the at least one vehicle control device, determine whether the first command can be accepted based on resource information, the resource information being related to a processing capacity of resource to be used by the first command;
output, in response to determining that the first command can be accepted, a second command, which is generated based on the first command, to an operation control program that is installed in the operation control device for controlling a control target;
in response to determining that the first command cannot be accepted, determine whether the first command can be accepted within a predetermined upper limit processing duration based on the resource information; and
wait until the first command can be accepted and then output the second command to the operation control program in response to determining that the first command can be accepted within the predetermined upper limit processing duration.
For the following reason(s), the examiner submits that the above identified additional limitations do not integrate the above-noted abstract idea into a practical application.
Regarding the additional limitation of “A vehicle control system mounted on a vehicle, the vehicle control system comprising” the examiner submits that this limitation constitute generally linking to the technological field of vehicles control systems.
Regarding the additional limitations of “at least one vehicle control device; and
an operation control device, wherein the at least one vehicle control device includes at least one processor with a memory storing computer program code, and the at least one processor with the memory is configured to:” the examiner submits these limitations amount to no more than reciting of a generic computing device at a high level of generality acting in its typical capacity to carry out the abstract idea..
Regarding the additional limitation of “in response to a first command being input from an application of the at least one vehicle control device” the examiner submits that this limitation constitutes the extra solution activity of data gathering.
Regarding the additional limitations of “output, in response to determining that the first command can be accepted, a second command, which is generated based on the first command, to an operation control program that is installed in the operation control device for controlling a control target” and “wait until the first command can be accepted and then output the second command to the operation control program in response to determining that the first command can be accepted within the predetermined upper limit processing duration” they amount to no more than a generic computing device acting in its typical capacity of transmitting data/commands and scheduling.
101 Analysis - Step 2B: Regarding Step 2B of the Revised Guidance, representative independent claim 1 does not include additional elements (considered both individually and as an ordered combination) that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception for the same reasons as those discussed above with respect to determining that the claim does not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application. As discussed above with respect to integration of the abstract idea into a practical application the additional element of “A vehicle control system mounted on a vehicle, the vehicle control system comprising” amounts to no more than generally linking to the technological field of vehicle control. The additional limitation of “at least one vehicle control device; and an operation control device, wherein the at least one vehicle control device includes at least one processor with a memory storing computer program code, and the at least one processor with the memory is configured to:” amount to no more than reciting of a generic computing device at a high level of generality acting in its typical capacity. The additional limitation of “in response to a first command being input from an application of the at least one vehicle control device” constitutes the extra solution activity of data gathering. The additional limitations of “output, in response to determining that the first command can be accepted, a second command, which is generated based on the first command, to an operation control program that is installed in the operation control device for controlling a control target” and “wait until the first command can be accepted and then output the second command to the operation control program in response to determining that the first command can be accepted within the predetermined upper limit processing duration” amount to no more than a generic computing device acting in its typical capacity of transmitting data/commands and scheduling. Therefore, as a whole the claim is directed to an abstract idea implemented on a generic computer generally linked to the technological fields of vehicles with insignificant extra solution activities of data selection and data gathering.
Dependent claim(s) 2-6 do not recite any further limitations that cause the claim(s) to be patent eligible. Rather, the limitations of dependent claims are directed toward additional aspects of the judicial exception and/or well-understood, routine and conventional additional elements that do not integrate the judicial exception into a practical application as discussed below. Therefore, dependent claims 2-6 are not patent eligible under the same rationale as provided for in the rejection of claim 1.
Therefore, claim(s) 2-6 is/are ineligible under 35 USC §101.
Regarding claim 2, which is dependent on claim 1, it merely adds the limitations “wherein the at least one processor with the memory is further configured to transmit, to the application, (i) determination result indicating whether the first command can be accepted and (ii) information indicating a standby duration until the first command can be accepted, in response to determining that the first command can be accepted.” Which is merely recitation of a generic computing device at a high level of generality acting in its typical capacity regarding data transmission.
Regarding claim 3, which is dependent on claim 1, it merely adds the limitations “wherein the at least one processor with the memory is further configured to determine, in addition to a determination based on the resource information, whether the first command can be accepted depending on whether an operation of the operation control device corresponding to the first command conflicts with another operation corresponding to another processing.” Which is merely the addition of the abstract idea of determination if a second command conflicts with the first command.
Regarding claim 4, which is dependent on claim 1, it merely adds the limitations “wherein the at least one processor with the memory is further configured to determine whether same type of the first command is accepted from a second application in a waiting state of the first command, the application that has transmitted the first command is defined as a first application, and the second application is different from the first application that has transmitted the first command, and the at least one processor with the memory is further configured to output, in response to determining that the same type of the first command being accepted from the second application, a single second command to the operation control program based on the first command from the first application and the first command from the second application.” Which is merely the addition of another abstract idea of determination regarding comparison of two commands and their acceptance further defining the commands as coming from two applications along with the further recitation of a computing device acting in its typical capacity regarding data transmission.
Regarding claim 5, which is dependent on claim 1, it merely adds the limitations “wherein the at least one processor with the memory is further configured to: predict a future resource usage state by calculation; and use, as the resource information, current resource information stored in a storage and future resource information, which includes the predicted future resource usage state.” Which is merely the addition of the abstract idea of predicting future data usage along with the extra solution activity of data selection.
Regarding claim 6, which is dependent on claim 1, it merely adds the limitation “wherein the resource information includes characteristic information, and the characteristic information differs depending on a vehicle type or individual vehicle.” Which is merely the extra solution activity of data selection.
Regarding claim 7, it recites a method with limitations substantially the same as claim 1 above, therefore it is rejected for the same reason.
Regarding claim 8, it recites a non-transitory computer readable storage medium with limitations substantially the same as claim 1 above, therefore it is rejected for the same reason.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 3, 5, and 7-8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Wright et al (US 20200272509 A2) henceforth referred to as Wright.
Regarding Claim 1 Wright teaches A vehicle control system mounted on a vehicle, the vehicle control system comprising (para [0039] : “FIG. 1A is a block diagram depicting an example computing environment 100.”, Fig. 1A, Fig. 1A shows a vehicle control system):
at least one vehicle control device; and
an operation control device (para [0049] : “The actuator system 30 includes one or more actuator devices 42a-42n that control one or more vehicle features such as, but not limited to, the propulsion system 20, the transmission system 22, the steering system 24, and the brake system 26. In various embodiments, vehicle 200 may also include interior and/or exterior vehicle features not illustrated in FIG. 1, such as various doors, a trunk, and cabin features such as air, music, lighting, touch-screen display components (such as those used in connection with navigation systems), and the like.”),
wherein the at least one vehicle control device includes at least one processor with a memory storing computer program code, and the at least one processor with the memory is configured to (para [0040] : “The hardware environment includes a plurality of processing modules 108, 109. Each processing module 108 may include multiple computing resources such as a central processing unit (CPU) 110, a graphics processing unit (GPU) 112, and/or other computing resources. The processing modules 108, 109 may be distributed in a distributed network. Some of the processing modules (e.g., processing modules 108) may be local and some (e.g., processing module 109) may be remote. The various processing modules, in addition to being local or remote, may also have different computing capabilities and different access times (e.g., based on the communication network through which they are accessible). In the example of a vehicle, the local processing modules 108 may be located onboard the vehicle, and the remote processing modules 109 may be located off board the vehicle.”):
in response to a first command being input from an application of the at least one vehicle control device, determine whether the first command can be accepted based on resource information, the resource information being related to a processing capacity of resource to be used by the first command (para [0055] : “The example real-time scheduler module 304 is configured to received job specifications and/or requests 306 for the performance of jobs by the computing resources 301, monitor the status of and connectivity to the computing resources 301 using information from the performance monitor 308, identify specific task implementations from the task library 310 and schedule the specific task implementations to the computing resources 301 to satisfy the job requests 306.”, para [0061] : “The example real-time scheduler module 304 is configured to monitor available computing resources 301 and connectivity to the computing resources 301 using the monitor 308, receive a plurality of received job specifications and/or requests 306 wherein the specifications/requests 306 identify tasks requested for performance, prioritize applications to be executed when performing the tasks wherein more critical applications are assigned a higher priority, allocate computing resources 301 to the higher priority applications first, allocate remaining computing resources 301 to other applications, and select specific implementations of applications for assignment to specific computing resources 301 in a way that maximizes an overall utility.”);
output, in response to determining that the first command can be accepted, a second command, which is generated based on the first command, to an operation control program that is installed in the operation control device for controlling a control target (para [0075] : “FIG. 6 is a diagram illustrating example jobs and example job bundles used when scheduling jobs using an example greedy algorithm. Depicted in FIG. 6 is a block diagram illustrating example tasks and application implementations that may be scheduled by a system and the type of computing resource (e.g., CPU or GPU) that can be used to execute the application implementation.”);
in response to determining that the first command cannot be accepted, determine whether the first command can be accepted within a predetermined upper limit processing duration based on the resource information (para [0092] : “The example process 900 includes scheduling specific task implementations to specific computing resources (operation 908). The specific task implementations may be scheduled to specific computing resources to satisfy the task requests based on the static and dynamic data about tasks, available resources, and communication channels and device speed. Scheduling specific task implementations to specific computing resources may involve running scheduling algorithms to assign jobs to devices for execution. The scheduling algorithms may include ILP-based algorithm. The scheduling algorithms may include greedy algorithms.”, the system scheduling the task for any future time is the equivalent of a determination that the first command cannot be accepted for the first scheduled time slot, further as the described computing devices are deterministic there exists at least a predetermined upper limit processing duration which is determined that the task can be accepted within that predetermined upper limit by the act of scheduling the task for execution at any time after any other task.); and
wait until the first command can be accepted and then output the second command to the operation control program in response to determining that the first command can be accepted within the predetermined upper limit processing duration (para [0039] : “The software environment 102 includes multiple software applications 106 that are to execute at various times using hardware from the hardware environment 104.”, para [0086] : “The example real-time scheduler module 802 identifies specific task implementations from the task profiles database 816. The example task profiles database 816 includes static and dynamic data about tasks, including resource use, latency, reliability, etc. Based on the static and dynamic data about tasks, available resources, and communication channels and device speed, the example real-time scheduler module 802 schedules specific task implementations to specific computing resources to satisfy the task requests 804. The example real-time scheduler module 802 runs scheduling algorithms to assign jobs to devices for execution. The scheduling algorithms may include the use of ILP or greedy algorithms.”).
Regarding Claim 3 Wright teaches The vehicle control system according to claim 1, further Wright teaches wherein
the at least one processor with the memory is further configured to determine, in addition to a determination based on the resource information, whether the first command can be accepted depending on whether an operation of the operation control device corresponding to the first command conflicts with another operation corresponding to another processing (para [0076] : “FIG. 6 also illustrates the enumeration of all possible combinations of application implementations (e.g., bundles). As illustrated, in this example a bundle can consist of one application implementation (e.g., (1A), (2A), (2B), (3A), (3B)). A bundle, in this example, can consist of two application implementations (e.g., (1A, 2A), (1A, 2B), (1A, 3A), (1A, 3B), (2A, 3A), (2A, 3B), (2B, 3A), (2B, 3B)). A bundle, in this example, can consist of three application implementations (1A, 2A, 3A), (1A, 2A, 3B), (1A, 2B, 3A), (1A, 2B, 3B). A bundle can only include one implementation of the same application—it cannot include two or more implementation of the same application. As illustrated, example bundle 602 is a proper bundle because it contains no more than one implementation of the same application—it contains one implementation of each of application Jobs 1, 2, and 3 (1A, 2A, 3B). As illustrated, set 604 cannot be a bundle—it includes two implementation of the same application (Job 3.A and Job 3.B).”).
Regarding Claim 5 Wright teaches The vehicle control system according to claim 1, further Wright teaches wherein
the at least one processor with the memory is further configured to:
predict a future resource usage state by calculation (para [0077] : “FIGS. 7A and 7B are diagrams illustrating the sorting and scheduling of bundles to nodes (e.g., computing resources) using the example greedy algorithm.”); and
use, as the resource information, current resource information stored in a storage and future resource information, which includes the predicted future resource usage state (para [0077] : “Depicted in FIG. 7A is a graph 702 that illustrates the potential assignment of bundles to nodes. Although only a few potential bundle to node combinations are shown, the graph may disclose all possible bundle to node combinations. In this example, the graph shows that bundles B1 or B2 could be assigned to node 1 (N1), only bundle B3 could be assigned to node 2 (N2) and bundles B2 and B3 could be assigned to node 3 (N3). In addition to depicting possible bundle to node assignments, depicted are utility scores that are calculated by the example algorithm and assigned to each potential bundle to node assignment.”).
Regarding Claim 7, it recites a method with limitations substantially the same as claim 1 above, therefore it is rejected for the same reason.
Regarding Claim 8, it recites a non-transitory computer readable storage medium with limitations substantially the same as claim 1 above, therefore it is rejected for the same reason.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Buse and further in view of Michalakis et al (US 10816972 B2) henceforth referred to as Michalakis.
Regarding Claim 6 Wright teaches The vehicle control system according to claim 1, further Wright teaches wherein
the resource information includes characteristic information (para [0060] : “Referring back to FIG. 3, the example monitor 308 is configured to track devices and their available computing resources 301”). However, Wright does not explicitly teach the characteristic information differs depending on a vehicle type or individual vehicle.
However, in a similar field of endeavor (vehicle computing resources), Michalakis teaches the characteristic information differs depending on a vehicle type or individual vehicle (col 1 : “In one example, vehicles having more computation resources than other vehicles in the group of vehicles are selected to be the second vehicles.”).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date to modify the system of Wright with the multiple vehicles of different computing resource amount of Michalakis to increase the usability of the system among more vehicles.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2 and 4 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, and 35 U.S.C. 101 set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant’s disclosure.
Moondhra et al (US 20210382814 A1) teaches a method, a device, a system and/or a manufacture of computing hardware and software design testing auditability, including for critical control systems, functional safety, and autonomous vehicle component certification. In one embodiment, a system includes a test recording routine that defines a database relation associating a design version within a design dependency graph and a test version. The system includes a design audit interface that generates a first validation request to validate an isolation testing. An isolation validation engine determines that the design version has completed the isolation testing where each design script of the design fileset was executed in a discrete environment. In addition, a reproduction validation engine may also retrieve the design fileset and the runtime environment data, reassemble a workspace data, execute the test script, and compare the result data to a previous result data to validate reproducibility of the testing.
Cormack et al (US 20210173720 A1) teaches apparatuses, methods and storage medium associated with embedded computing, are disclosed herein. In embodiments, an embedded computing platform includes an orchestration scheduler configured to receive live execution telemetry data of various applications executing at the various local compute clusters of the embedded computing platform, as well as the status (availability) of accelerate compute resources of the local compute clusters, and in response, dynamically map selected tasks of applications to any accelerate resource in any of the local compute clusters. The computing platform further includes orchestration agents to respectively collect and provide live execution telemetry data of the applications executing in corresponding ones of the local compute clusters and their resource needs to the orchestration scheduler. Other embodiments are also described and claimed.
Kochunni et al (US 20160283274 A1) teaches a system according to certain aspects improves the process of managing jobs and allocating resources to those jobs. The system can include a job manager that processes and generates resource allocation requests for a plurality of jobs and a resource allocator that allocates computing resources for the plurality of jobs based on the resource allocation requests. The process of allocating resources may involve locking one or more resource objects before allocating the computing resources for the plurality of jobs and unlocking the locked resource objects after the computing resources have been allocated for the plurality of jobs.
/D.H./Examiner, Art Unit 3668
/JAMES J LEE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3668