DETAILED ACTION
Claim Interpretation - 35 USC § 112(f)
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation is: “safety-gated clinical decision module” in claim 1.
Because this/these claim limitation(s) is/are being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, it/they is/are being interpreted to cover the corresponding structure described in the specification as performing the claimed function, and equivalents thereof. The specification lacks structure for what this module may be, therefore this limitation causes the independent claim to be rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) and 112(b).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112(a)
Claims 1, 4-6, 8-9, 11-12, 14, 16, and 18-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention. Claim 1 includes a safety-gated clinical decision module which requires a claim interpretation. The specification is devoid of corresponding structure used to perform the functions in the claim, therefore the specification lacks support for this module.
Claims 4-6, 8-9, 11-12, 14, 16, and 18-19 are rejected based on their dependency on claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112(b)
Claims 1, 4-6, 8-9, 11-12, 14, and 16-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites the limitations “the GENISCi platform” in lines 1-2 and “the platform” in line 24. There is insufficient antecedent basis for these limitations in the claim.
Claim 5 recites the limitation “the imaging module” in line 1. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 6 recites the limitation “wherein affect inference” in line 1. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 16 recites the limitation “the digital twin” in line 1. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 17 recites the limitation “the report” in line 1. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 18 recites the limitation “the digital-twin model” in line 1. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim limitation “a safety-gated clinical decision module” invokes 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph. However, the written description fails to disclose the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the entire claimed function and to clearly link the structure, material, or acts to the function. The specification is devoid of any structure that performs the function in the claims. Therefore, the claim is indefinite and is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, second paragraph.
Applicant may:
(a) Amend the claim so that the claim limitation will no longer be interpreted as a limitation under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph;
(b) Amend the written description of the specification such that it expressly recites what structure, material, or acts perform the entire claimed function, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)); or
(c) Amend the written description of the specification such that it clearly links the structure, material, or acts disclosed therein to the function recited in the claim, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)).
If applicant is of the opinion that the written description of the specification already implicitly or inherently discloses the corresponding structure, material, or acts and clearly links them to the function so that one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize what structure, material, or acts perform the claimed function, applicant should clarify the record by either:
(a) Amending the written description of the specification such that it expressly recites the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the claimed function and clearly links or associates the structure, material, or acts to the claimed function, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)); or
(b) Stating on the record what the corresponding structure, material, or acts, which are implicitly or inherently set forth in the written description of the specification, perform the claimed function. For more information, see 37 CFR 1.75(d) and MPEP §§ 608.01(o) and 2181.
Claims 4-6, 8-9, 11-12, 14, 16, and 18-19 are rejected based on their dependency on claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to a judicial exception (i.e., a law of nature, a natural phenomenon, or an abstract idea) without significantly more. Claims 1, 4-6, 8-9, 11-12, 14, 16, and 18-19 are drawn to a system, claims 2, 7, 10, 13, 15, and 17 are drawn to a method, and claims 3 and 20 are drawn to a medium, each of which is within the four statutory categories. Claims 1-20 are further directed to an abstract idea on the grounds set out in detail below. As discussed below, the claims do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the abstract idea because the additional computer elements, which are recited at a high level of generality, provide conventional computer functions that do not add meaningful limits to practicing the abstract idea (Step 1: YES).
Step 2A:
Prong One:
Claim 1 recites a computer-implemented whole-health intelligence system, herein referred to as the GENISCi platform, comprising a) one or more processors and b) memory storing instructions that, when executed, cause the system to:
1) (a) receive multimodal health inputs comprising:
(i) radiologic imaging data,
(ii) audio and speech data,
(iii) lifestyle and behavioral information, and
(iv) physiologic or biomarker data;
2) (b) generate an imaging inference including anomaly classification and an associated confidence score;
3) (c) generate sentiment and affect classification from the audio and speech data and compute a hybrid distress score;
4) (d) perform multimodal fusion of the imaging inference, hybrid distress score, lifestyle and behavioral inputs, and physiologic inputs to compute a unified whole-health risk score;
c) (e) apply a safety-gated clinical decision module configured to 5) evaluate the unified risk score and determine whether to:
5a) (i) deliver personalized lifestyle or wellness guidance to the user;
5b) (ii) transmit an alert to trained support personnel or in-home care assistants; or
5c) (iii) escalate for review by a licensed healthcare professional;
6) (f) update d) a longitudinal digital-twin profile based on historical and incoming multimodal health data; and
7) (g) generate an audit log comprising the multimodal inputs, inferences, safety gate decisions, and resulting actions;
wherein the platform is aligned with clinical practice environments, regulatory safeguards, and patient-centric workflows e) while leveraging multimodal neural architectures, longitudinal digital-twin modeling, and explainable artificial intelligence pipelines.
Claim 1 recites, in part, performing the steps of 1) (a) receive multimodal health inputs comprising: (i) radiologic imaging data, (ii) audio and speech data, (iii) lifestyle and behavioral information, and (iv) physiologic or biomarker data, 2) (b) generate an imaging inference including anomaly classification and an associated confidence score, 3) (c) generate sentiment and affect classification from the audio and speech data and compute a hybrid distress score, 4) (d) perform multimodal fusion of the imaging inference, hybrid distress score, lifestyle and behavioral inputs, and physiologic inputs to compute a unified whole-health risk score, 5) (e) evaluate the unified risk score and determine whether to: 5a) (i) deliver personalized lifestyle or wellness guidance to the user, 5b) (ii) transmit an alert to trained support personnel or in-home care assistants, or 5c) (iii) escalate for review by a licensed healthcare professional, 6) (f) update a longitudinal profile based on historical and incoming multimodal health data, and 7) (g) generate an audit log comprising the multimodal inputs, inferences, safety gate decisions, and resulting actions, wherein the workflow is aligned with clinical practice environments, regulatory safeguards, and patient-centric workflows. These steps correspond to Certain Methods of Organizing Human Activity, more particularly, managing personal behavior or relationships or interactions between people (including following rules or instructions). For example, people can evaluate data, make a determination based on that data, and track the whole process via auditing methods. Independent claim 2 recites similar limitations and is also directed to an abstract idea under the same analysis.
Claim 1 also recites, in part, performing the steps of 2) (b) generate an imaging inference including anomaly classification and an associated confidence score, 3) (c) generate sentiment and affect classification from the audio and speech data and compute a hybrid distress score, and 4) (d) perform multimodal fusion of the imaging inference, hybrid distress score, lifestyle and behavioral inputs, and physiologic inputs to compute a unified whole-health risk score. These steps correspond to Mathematical Concepts.
Going forward, the above abstract concepts will be considered as a singular abstract idea for further analysis.
Depending claims 3-20 include all of the limitations of claims 1 and 2, and therefore likewise incorporate the above described abstract idea. Depending claims 3 and 20 convert the statutory basis from a system to a medium and claims 4, 6-9, 11-13, 15-16, and 18-19 add additional functional steps which are an extension of the abstract idea. Additionally, the limitations of depending claims 5, 10, 14, and 17 further specify elements from the claims from which they depend on without adding any additional steps. These additional limitations only further serve to limit the abstract idea. Claims 4, 8, and 11 recite additional elements which are further assessed in Prong Two below. Thus, depending claims 3-20 are nonetheless directed towards fundamentally the same abstract idea as independent claims 1 and 2 (Step 2A (Prong One): YES).
Prong Two:
This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application. In particular, the claims recite the additional elements of – using a GENISCi platform, comprising a) one or more processors and b) memory storing instructions, c) (e) apply a safety-gated clinical decision module, d) a longitudinal digital-twin profile, e) while leveraging multimodal neural architectures, longitudinal digital-twin modeling, and explainable artificial intelligence pipelines, f) a bus-style data layer aggregating modality-specific embeddings (in claim 4), g) a clinician co-pilot interface (in claim 8), and h) executes on-device or at an edge appliance (in claim 11) to perform the claimed steps.
The GENISCi platform, comprising a) one or more processors and b) memory storing instructions, c) (e) apply a safety-gated clinical decision module, g) a clinician co-pilot interface, and h) executes on-device or at an edge appliance in these steps are recited at a high-level of generality (i.e., as generic components performing generic computer functions) such that they amount to no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using generic computer components (see: Applicant’s specification where there is a lack of description for anything but what may be considered as generic computing components for these elements, see MPEP 2106.05(f)).
The d) longitudinal digital-twin profile, e) while leveraging multimodal neural architectures, longitudinal digital-twin modeling, and explainable artificial intelligence pipelines, and f) bus-style data layer aggregating modality-specific embeddings in these steps generally links the abstract idea to a particular technological environment or field of use (such as digital twins, see MPEP 2106.05(h)).
Dependent claims recite additional subject matter which amount to limitations consistent with the additional elements in the independent claims. Looking at the limitations as an ordered combination adds nothing that is not already present when looking at the elements taken individually. There is no indication that the combination of elements improves the functioning of a computer or improves any other technology. Their collective functions merely provide conventional computer implementation and do not impose a meaningful limit to integrate the abstract idea into a practical application.
Accordingly, these additional elements do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because they do not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea. The claims are directed to an abstract idea (Step 2A (Prong Two): NO).
Step 2B:
The claims do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. As discussed above with respect to integration of the abstract idea into a practical application, the additional elements of using a) one or more processors and b) memory storing instructions, c) (e) apply a safety-gated clinical decision module, d) a longitudinal digital-twin profile, e) while leveraging multimodal neural architectures, longitudinal digital-twin modeling, and explainable artificial intelligence pipelines, f) a bus-style data layer aggregating modality-specific embeddings, g) a clinician co-pilot interface, and h) executes on-device or at an edge appliance to perform the claimed steps amounts to no more than a general linking to a particular technological field or mere instructions to apply the exception using a generic computer component that does not offer “significantly more” than the abstract idea itself because the claims do not recite an improvement to another technology or technical field, an improvement to the functioning of any computer itself, or provide meaningful limitations beyond generally linking an abstract idea to a particular technological environment. It should be noted that the claims do not include additional elements that amount to significantly more than the judicial exception because the Specification recites mere generic computer components, as discussed above that are being used to apply certain method steps of organizing human activity or certain mathematical steps. Specifically, MPEP 2106.05(f) and MPEP 2106.05(h) recite that the following limitations are not significantly more:
Adding the words "apply it" (or an equivalent) with the judicial exception, or mere instructions to implement an abstract idea on a computer, e.g., a limitation indicating that a particular function such as creating and maintaining electronic records is performed by a computer, as discussed in Alice Corp., 134 S. Ct. at 2360, 110 USPQ2d at 1984 (see MPEP § 2106.05(f)); and
Generally linking the use of the judicial exception to a particular technological environment or field of use, e.g., a claim describing how the abstract idea of hedging could be used in the commodities and energy markets, as discussed in Bilski v. Kappos, 561 U.S. 593, 595, 95 USPQ2d 1001, 1010 (2010) or a claim limiting the use of a mathematical formula to the petrochemical and oil-refining fields, as discussed in Parker v. Flook, 437 U.S. 584, 588-90, 198 USPQ 193, 197-98 (1978) (MPEP § 2106.05(h)).
The current invention updates a twin and generates a log utilizing a GENISCi platform a) one or more processors and b) memory storing instructions, c) (e) apply a safety-gated clinical decision module, g) a clinician co-pilot interface, and h) executes on-device or at an edge appliance, thus these computing devices are adding the words “apply it” with mere instructions to implement the abstract idea on a computer.
Additionally, the d) longitudinal digital-twin profile, e) while leveraging multimodal neural architectures, longitudinal digital-twin modeling, and explainable artificial intelligence pipelines, and f) bus-style data layer aggregating modality-specific embeddings generally links the abstract idea to a particular technological environment or field of use. The following represent an example that courts have identified as generally linking the abstract idea to a particular technological environment (e.g. see MPEP 2106.05(h)): Limiting the abstract idea data to d) longitudinal digital-twin profile, e) while leveraging multimodal neural architectures, longitudinal digital-twin modeling, and explainable artificial intelligence pipelines, and f) bus-style data layer aggregating modality-specific embeddings, because limiting application of the abstract idea to digital twins and bus-style layers is simply an attempt to limit the use of the abstract idea to particular technological environments, e.g. see Electric Power Group, LLC v. Alstom S.A.
Mere instructions to apply an exception using generic computer components and a general linking to particular technological fields cannot provide an inventive concept. The claims are not patent eligible (Step 2B: NO).
Claims 1-20 are therefore rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 as being directed to non-statutory subject matter.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 9, 11, 16, and 18-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S.2023/0114515 to Tee in view of W.O. 2024/233674 to Cella.
As per claim 1, Tee teaches a computer-implemented whole-health intelligence system, herein referred to as the GENISCi platform, comprising one or more processors and memory storing instructions that, when executed, cause the system to:
--(a) receive multimodal health inputs (see: paragraph [0030], [0067], and [0154] where there is reception of physiological sensor data) comprising:
--(iii) lifestyle and behavioral information, (see: paragraphs [0077] and [0080] where there is life style information) and
--(iv) physiologic or biomarker data; (see: paragraph [0030] where there is reception of physiological sensor data)
--(e) apply a safety-gated clinical decision module configured to evaluate the unified risk score (see: paragraphs [0087] and [0111] where there is a certain threshold which is being compared with a score in order to determine what to do with respect to alerts) and determine whether to:
--(i) deliver personalized lifestyle or wellness guidance to the user; (see: paragraphs [0054] and [0092] where there is delivering of alerts to a patient for exercises)
--(ii) transmit an alert to trained support personnel or in-home care assistants; (see: FIG. 4 and paragraph [0051] where there is sending of an alert to care-giver if necessary) or
--(iii) escalate for review by a licensed healthcare professional; (see: paragraph [0032] where there is escalation of an alert to a professional care team when first responders are not effective in improving a patient’s condition) and
--a user is a patient (see: paragraph [0006] where the user is a patient).
Tee may not further, specifically teach:
1) --(a) receive multimodal health inputs comprising:
1a) --(i) radiologic imaging data,
1b) --(ii) audio and speech data,
2) --(b) generate an imaging inference including anomaly classification and an associated confidence score;
3) --(c) generate sentiment and affect classification from the audio and speech data and compute a hybrid distress score;
4) --(d) perform multimodal fusion of the imaging inference, hybrid distress score, lifestyle and behavioral inputs, and physiologic inputs to compute a unified whole-health risk score;
5) --(f) update a longitudinal digital-twin profile based on historical and incoming multimodal health data; and
6) --(g) generate an audit log comprising the multimodal inputs, inferences, safety gate decisions, and resulting actions;
7) --wherein the platform is aligned with environments, regulatory safeguards, and user-centric workflows while leveraging multimodal neural architectures, longitudinal digital-twin modeling, and explainable artificial intelligence pipelines.
Cella teaches:
1) --(a) receive multimodal health inputs (see: paragraph [1751] where there is reception of imaging, audio, etc.) comprising:
1a) --(i) radiologic imaging data, (see: paragraph [1751] where there is reception of radiologic images)
1b) --(ii) audio and speech data, (see: paragraph [1751] where there is reception of audio data)
2) --(b) generate an imaging inference including anomaly classification and an associated confidence score; (see: paragraphs [1175] and [1232] where there is classification of image data and confidence score generation)
3) --(c) generate sentiment and affect classification from the audio and speech data and compute a hybrid distress score; (see: paragraphs [1233] and [1893] where there is analysis on inputted audio, and where there is sentiment analysis on input to generate a sentiment score)
4) --(d) perform multimodal fusion of the imaging inference, hybrid distress score, lifestyle and behavioral inputs, and physiologic inputs to compute a unified whole-health risk score; (see: paragraphs [1180], [1418], and [1737] where there is generation of a composite score to assess a performance/behavior of individuals in an organization)
5) --(f) update a longitudinal digital-twin profile based on historical and incoming multimodal health data; (see: paragraphs [0100], [0443], and [0644] where there is updating of a digital twin based on incoming information and past information) and
6) --(g) generate an audit log comprising the multimodal inputs, inferences, safety gate decisions, and resulting actions; (see: paragraph [1947] where there is an immutable audit trail for each transaction, activity, and/or operation)
7) --wherein the platform is aligned with environments, regulatory safeguards, and user-centric workflows (see: paragraphs [0360] where there is regulatory compliance data, workflow data, and environment data taken into account by the platform) while leveraging multimodal neural architectures, longitudinal digital-twin modeling, and explainable artificial intelligence pipelines (see: paragraphs [0036], [0088], and [0100] where there is leveraging of neural networks, artificial intelligence models, and digital twins).
One of ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have found it obvious to 1) (a) receive multimodal health inputs comprising: (i) radiologic imaging data, and 1b) (ii) audio and speech data, 2) (b) generate an imaging inference including anomaly classification and an associated confidence score, 3) (c) generate sentiment and affect classification from the audio and speech data and compute a hybrid distress score, 4) (d) perform multimodal fusion of the imaging inference, hybrid distress score, lifestyle and behavioral inputs, and physiologic inputs to compute a unified whole-health risk score, 5) (f) update a longitudinal digital-twin profile based on historical and incoming multimodal health data, 6) (g) generate an audit log comprising the multimodal inputs, inferences, safety gate decisions, and resulting actions, and have 7) wherein the platform is aligned with environments, regulatory safeguards, and user-centric workflows while leveraging multimodal neural architectures, longitudinal digital-twin modeling, and explainable artificial intelligence pipelines as taught by Cella in the method as taught by Tee with the motivation(s) of improving the efficiency of the selection involved in demand and supply (see: paragraphs [0340] and [0343] of Cella).
As per claim 2, claim 2 is similar to claim 1 and is therefore rejected in a similar manner.
As per claim 3, claim 3 is similar to claim 1 and is therefore rejected in a similar manner. Cella further teaches a non-transitory computer-readable medium storing instructions that, when executed by one or more processors, cause performance of the method of claim 2 (see: paragraph [1286] where there is such a non-transitory medium).
The motivations to combine the above-mentioned references are discussed in the rejection of claim 1, and incorporated herein.
As per claim 9, Tee and Cella in combination teaches the system of claim 1, see discussion of claim 1. Cella further teaches wherein explainability outputs identify salient image and audio features contributing to the risk score (see: paragraph [0941] where there are outputs in the form of a model which can be used to identify salient characteristics of received data. The received data being audio and image data was already taught in claim 1).
The motivations to combine the above-mentioned references are discussed in the rejection of claim 1, and incorporated herein.
As per claim 11, Tee and Cella in combination teaches the system of claim 1, see discussion of claim 1. Cella further teaches wherein at least one inference executes on-device or at an edge appliance (see: paragraph [1821] where there is inference on edge devices).
The motivations to combine the above-mentioned references are discussed in the rejection of claim 1, and incorporated herein.
As per claim 16, Tee and Cella in combination teaches the system of claim 1, see discussion of claim 1. Cella further teaches wherein the digital twin generates an annual precision-health report (see: paragraph [0970] where there is a digital twin which helps generate an annual report. The report being health related in taught in Tee).
The motivations to combine the above-mentioned references are discussed in the rejection of claim 1, and incorporated herein.
As per claim 18, Tee and Cella in combination teaches the system of claim 1, see discussion of claim 1. Cella further teaches wherein the digital-twin model adapts based on user feedback (see: paragraphs [1003] and [1073] where there is a digital twin which adapts based on feedback).
The motivations to combine the above-mentioned references are discussed in the rejection of claim 1, and incorporated herein.
As per claim 19, Tee and Cella in combination teaches the system of claim 1, see discussion of claim 1. Tee further teaches wherein the platform produces educational content or lifestyle guidance messages (see: paragraph [0091] where there are life style suggestion messages which are being displayed).
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S.2023/0114515 to Tee in view of W.O. 2024/233674 to Cella as applied to claim 1, and further in view of U.S. 2025/0181718 to Saqib et al.
As per claim 4, Tee and Cella in combination teaches the system of claim 1, see discussion of claim 1. The combination may not further, specifically teach wherein multimodal fusion is performed via a bus-style data layer aggregating modality-specific embeddings.
Saqib et al. teaches:
--wherein multimodal fusion is performed via a bus-style data layer aggregating modality-specific embeddings (see: paragraph [0122] where there is pooling of data using a layer, and also see paragraph [0140] where there is a bus layer).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include wherein multimodal fusion is performed via a bus-style data layer aggregating modality-specific embeddings as taught by Saqib et al. in the system of Tee and Cella in combination since the claimed invention is only a combination of these old and well known elements which would have performed the same function in combination as each did separately. In the present case the combination of Tee and Cella teaches of combining data to make an analysis and adding wherein the combining is performed via a bus-style later aggregating embeddings would maintain the same functionality of the combination of Tee and Cella, making the results predictable to one of ordinary skill in the art (MPEP 2143).
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S.2023/0114515 to Tee in view of W.O. 2024/233674 to Cella as applied to claim 1, and further in view of U.S. 2008/0069477 to Engels et al.
As per claim 5, Tee and Cella in combination teaches the system of claim 1, see discussion of claim 1. The combination may not further, specifically teach wherein the imaging module classifies lung normality, viral pneumonia, COVID-19 pneumonia, kidney stones, or medullary sponge kidney.
Engels et al. teaches:
--wherein the imaging module classifies lung normality, viral pneumonia, COVID-19 pneumonia, kidney stones, or medullary sponge kidney (see: paragraph [0009] where there is classification using imaging data. Also see: paragraph [0003] where there is classification of kidney stones).
One of ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have found it obvious to have wherein the imaging module classifies lung normality, viral pneumonia, COVID-19 pneumonia, kidney stones, or medullary sponge kidney as taught by Engels et al. in the method as taught by Tee and Cella in combination with the motivation(s) of being a better tool for recognition within imaging (see: paragraph [] of Engels et al.).
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S.2023/0114515 to Tee in view of W.O. 2024/233674 to Cella as applied to claim 1, and further in view of U.S. 2020/0159826 to Tev Lov et al.
As per claim 6, Tee and Cella in combination teaches the system of claim 1, see discussion of claim 1. The combination may not further, specifically teach wherein affect inference comprises sentiment polarity and multi-class emotional state scores combined into a hybrid distress index.
Tev Lov et al. teaches:
--wherein affect inference comprises sentiment polarity and multi-class emotional state scores combined into a hybrid distress index (see: paragraph [0005] where a sentiment score (emotional state scores) and orientation (polarity) is being determined using inference. Also see: paragraph [0079] where there is an overall score (index) being generated).
One of ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have found it obvious to have wherein affect inference comprises sentiment polarity and multi-class emotional state scores combined into a hybrid distress index as taught by Tev Lov et al. in the system as taught by Tee and Cella in combination with the motivation(s) of improving prediction accuracy (see: paragraph [0156] of Tev Lov et al.).
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S.2023/0114515 to Tee in view of W.O. 2024/233674 to Cella as applied to claim 2, and further in view of U.S. 2025/0342582 to Tulsidas et al.
As per claim 7, Tee and Cella in combination teaches the method of claim 2, see discussion of claim 2. The combination may not further, specifically teach wherein escalation occurs when the confidence score falls below a threshold.
Tulsidas et al. teaches:
--wherein escalation occurs when the confidence score falls below a threshold (see: paragraph [0039] where there is an escalation based on the confidence score falling below a threshold).
One of ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have found it obvious to have wherein escalation occurs when the confidence score falls below a threshold as taught by Tulsidas et al. in the method as taught by Tee and Cella in combination with the motivation(s) of optimizing decision making efficiency (see: paragraph [0040] of Tulsidas et al.).
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S.2023/0114515 to Tee in view of W.O. 2024/233674 to Cella as applied to claim 1, and further in view of U.S. 2026/0289502 to Chadwick et al.
As per claim 8, Tee and Cella in combination teaches the system of claim 1, see discussion of claim 1. The combination may not further, specifically teach a clinician co-pilot interface configured to enable licensed healthcare professionals to approve, modify, or reject suggested actions.
Chadwick et al. teaches:
--a clinician co-pilot interface configured to enable licensed healthcare professionals to approve, modify, or reject suggested actions (see: paragraph [0178] where there is such an interface for licensed professionals as discussed in paragraph [0702]).
One of ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have found it obvious to have a clinician co-pilot interface configured to enable licensed healthcare professionals to approve, modify, or reject suggested actions as taught by Chadwick et al. in the method as taught by Tee and Cella in combination with the motivation(s) of efficiency between collaboration between parties (see: paragraph [0017] of Chadwick et al.).
Claims 10 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S.2023/0114515 to Tee in view of W.O. 2024/233674 to Cella as applied to claims 1 and 2, and further in view of U.S. 2025/0140374 to Fortkort et al.
As per claim 10, Tee and Cella in combination teaches the method of claim 2, see discussion of claim 2. The combination may not further, specifically teach wherein the audit log supports HIPAA-compliant traceability.
Fortkort et al. teaches:
--wherein the audit log supports HIPAA-compliant traceability (see: paragraph [0226] where there is HIPAA compliance support for audit logs).
One of ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have found it obvious to have wherein the audit log supports HIPAA-compliant traceability as taught by Fortkort et al. in the method as taught by Tee and Cella in combination with the motivation(s) of complying with regulations (see: paragraph [0270] of Fortkort et al.).
As per claim 13, Tee and Cella in combination teaches the method of claim 2, see discussion of claim 2. The combination may not further, specifically teach scheduling a telehealth review.
Fortkort et al. teaches:
--scheduling a telehealth review (see: paragraph [0309] where there is a scheduling and engaging in remote consultations).
One of ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have found it obvious to schedule a telehealth review as taught by Fortkort et al. in the method as taught by Tee and Cella in combination with the motivation(s) of facilitating interventions (see: paragraph [0309] of Fortkort et al.).
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S.2023/0114515 to Tee in view of W.O. 2024/233674 to Cella as applied to claim 1, and further in view of U.S. 2022/0367040 to Sutherland et al.
As per claim 12, Tee and Cella in combination teaches the system of claim 1, see discussion of claim 1. The combination may not further, specifically teach wherein user data is encrypted and de-identified prior to cloud transmission.
Sutherland et al. teaches:
--wherein user data is encrypted and de-identified prior to cloud transmission (see: paragraph [0029] where there is encryption and anonymization before data transmission).
One of ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have found it obvious to have wherein user data is encrypted and de-identified prior to cloud transmission as taught by Sutherland et al. in the method as taught by Tee and Cella in combination with the motivation(s) of improving patient outcomes (see: paragraph [0002] of Sutherland et al.).
Claims 14-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S.2023/0114515 to Tee in view of W.O. 2024/233674 to Cella as applied to claims 1 and 2, and further in view of U.S. 2026/0162792 to Giacometti et al.
As per claim 14, Tee and Cella in combination teaches the system of claim 1, see discussion of claim 1. The combination may not further, specifically teach wherein caregiver notifications include task guidance for in-home support.
Giacometti et al. teaches:
--wherein caregiver notifications include task guidance for in-home support (see: paragraph [0007] where there is notification of guidance for care givers).
One of ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have found it obvious to have wherein caregiver notifications include task guidance for in-home support as taught by Giacometti et al. in the system as taught by Tee and Cella in combination with the motivation(s) of improving patient outcomes (see: paragraph [0073] of Giacometti et al.).
As per claim 15, Tee and Cella in combination teaches the method of claim 2, see discussion of claim 2. The combination may not further, specifically teach generating a caregiver task checklist.
Giacometti et al. teaches:
--generating a caregiver task checklist (see: paragraph [0007] where there is generation of a guidance checklist for care givers).
One of ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have found it obvious to generate a caregiver task checklist as taught by Giacometti et al. in the system as taught by Tee and Cella in combination with the motivation(s) of improving patient outcomes (see: paragraph [0073] of Giacometti et al.).
Claim 17 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S.2023/0114515 to Tee in view of W.O. 2024/233674 to Cella as applied to claim 2, and further in view of U.S. 2024/0242804 to Roots et al.
As per claim 17, Tee and Cella in combination teaches the method of claim 2, see discussion of claim 2. The combination may not further, specifically teach wherein the report includes biomarker trends, lifestyle adherence, and expected physiologic trajectory.
Roots et al. teaches:
--wherein the report includes biomarker trends, lifestyle adherence, and expected physiologic trajectory (see: paragraphs [0007], [0060], and [0076] where there is a report which includes biomarker trends, risk trajectory, and patient reported information).
One of ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have found it obvious to have wherein the report includes biomarker trends, lifestyle adherence, and expected physiologic trajectory as taught by Roots et al. in the system as taught by Tee and Cella in combination with the motivation(s) of improving the overall health of a patient (see: paragraph [0002] of Roots et al.).
Claim 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S.2023/0114515 to Tee in view of W.O. 2024/233674 to Cella as applied to claim 3, and further in view of U.S. 2022/0238228 to Batista et al.
As per claim 20, Tee and Cella in combination teaches the medium of claim 3, see discussion of claim 3. The combination may not further, specifically teach wherein the instructions cause rendering of a whole-health dashboard for the user.
Batista et al. teaches:
--wherein the instructions cause rendering of a whole-health dashboard for the user (see: paragraph [0024] where there is rendering of a dashboard for viewing the overall health of the patient).
One of ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have found it obvious to have wherein the instructions cause rendering of a whole-health dashboard for the user as taught by Batista et al. in the system as taught by Tee and Cella in combination with the motivation(s) of improving the platform’s ability to generate a treatment (see: paragraph [0029] of Batista et al.).
Conclusion
/STEVEN G.S. SANGHERA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3684