DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119 (a)-(d).
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on 11/12/2025 and 03/05/2026 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statements are being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 5, 7, and 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Murphy (U.S. Pat # 6,114,958).
Consider claim 1. Murphy teaches An electronic apparatus comprising a first chassis; (Fig. 1 and col. 3 lines 41-42, The computer 100 includes a first member or lid 102).
a second chassis; (Fig. 1 and col. 3 lines 44-45, The computer 100 further includes a second member or body 106).
and a controller, (Fig. 1 and col. 3 line 39, computer 100, thus a controller).
wherein the first chassis includes:
a display; (Fig. 1 and col. 3 lines 41-42, The computer 100 includes a first member or lid 102 which provides a display screen 104).
and a touch sensor having a plurality of detection elements to detect touch or approach of an input device on or to the display, (Fig. 1 and col. 1 lines 13-19, Many types of electronic devices such as calculators, personal planners, portable, handheld, or "palm-top," computers, for example, which are manufactured today, often use a stylus, otherwise known as a touch pen, in conjunction with a touch sensitive screen, to implement computer operations. For convenience, such devices will be referred to generically herein as "computers.". Col. 3 lines 2-4, FIG. 1 is a perspective view of a computer having a stylus, a channel for receiving the stylus therein, and a touch-sensitive screen.).
and the controller is configured to:
detect a position where the input device touches or approaches the display based on output signals of the plurality of detection elements when a state of the first chassis relative to the second chassis is an open state; (Fig. 1 and col. 1 lines 13-19, Many types of electronic devices such as calculators, personal planners, portable, handheld, or "palm-top," computers, for example, which are manufactured today, often use a stylus, otherwise known as a touch pen, in conjunction with a touch sensitive screen, to implement computer operations. For convenience, such devices will be referred to generically herein as "computers.". Col. 3 lines 2-4, FIG. 1 is a perspective view of a computer having a stylus, a channel for receiving the stylus therein, and a touch-sensitive screen. Col. 3 lines 47-51, The first member 102 is coupled to the second member 106 by a hinge 110 that allows the first member 102 to swing away from the second member 106 when the computer is "opened" for use by an operator, thus when the computer is opened it operates as touch screen for detecting the stylus).
determine whether or not the input device is housed on the first chassis or the second chassis based on output signals of the plurality of detection elements when the state of the first chassis relative to the second chassis is a closed state; (Figs. 1 and 2 as well as Col. 4 lines 28-33, The system 200 includes a stylus switch 202 for indicating when the stylus 122 (FIG. 1) is positioned within the stylus receiver 124 (FIG. 1) of the computer 100. The system 200 further includes an "open/closed" switch 204 for indicating when the computer 100 is in an open or closed position.).
and output a warning when determining that the input device is not housed on the first chassis or the second chassis. (Col. 4 lines 42-49, Both the stylus switch 202 and the open/closed switch 204 are connected to a detection circuit 206. The detection circuit 206 detects when the computer 100 is in a closed position and when the stylus 122 is not properly positioned within the stylus receiver 124. When such a situation occurs, the detection circuit sends a signal to a circuit 208 which produces a humanly perceptible warning such as a beep or audible alarm and/or a flashing light.).
Consider claim 7. Murphy teaches A control method for an electronic apparatus including a first chassis (Fig. 1 and col. 3 lines 41-42, The computer 100 includes a first member or lid 102).
and a second chassis, (Fig. 1 and col. 3 lines 44-45, The computer 100 further includes a second member or body 106).
comprising:
detecting, when a state of the first chassis relative to the second chassis is an open state, a position where an input device touches or approaches a display placed on the first chassis based on output signals of a plurality of detection elements equipped in a touch sensor placed on the first chassis; (Fig. 1 and col. 1 lines 13-19, Many types of electronic devices such as calculators, personal planners, portable, handheld, or "palm-top," computers, for example, which are manufactured today, often use a stylus, otherwise known as a touch pen, in conjunction with a touch sensitive screen, to implement computer operations. For convenience, such devices will be referred to generically herein as "computers.". Col. 3 lines 2-4, FIG. 1 is a perspective view of a computer having a stylus, a channel for receiving the stylus therein, and a touch-sensitive screen. Col. 3 lines 47-51, The first member 102 is coupled to the second member 106 by a hinge 110 that allows the first member 102 to swing away from the second member 106 when the computer is "opened" for use by an operator, thus when the computer is opened it operates as touch screen for detecting the stylus).
determining, when the state of the first chassis relative to the second chassis is a closed state, whether or not the input device is housed on the first chassis or the second chassis based on output signals of the plurality of detection elements; (Figs. 1 and 2 as well as Col. 4 lines 28-33, The system 200 includes a stylus switch 202 for indicating when the stylus 122 (FIG. 1) is positioned within the stylus receiver 124 (FIG. 1) of the computer 100. The system 200 further includes an "open/closed" switch 204 for indicating when the computer 100 is in an open or closed position.).
and outputting, when determining that the input device is not housed on the first chassis or the second chassis, a warning. (Col. 4 lines 42-49, Both the stylus switch 202 and the open/closed switch 204 are connected to a detection circuit 206. The detection circuit 206 detects when the computer 100 is in a closed position and when the stylus 122 is not properly positioned within the stylus receiver 124. When such a situation occurs, the detection circuit sends a signal to a circuit 208 which produces a humanly perceptible warning such as a beep or audible alarm and/or a flashing light.).
Consider claim 8. Murphy teaches A non-transitory computer-readable medium for an electronic apparatus including a first chassis (Fig. 1 and col. 3 lines 41-42, The computer 100 includes a first member or lid 102).
and a second chassis, (Fig. 1 and col. 3 lines 44-45, The computer 100 further includes a second member or body 106).
comprising programs to cause the electronic apparatus to:
detect, when a state of the first chassis relative to the second chassis is an open state, a position where an input device touches or approaches a display placed on the first chassis based on output signals of a plurality of detection elements equipped in a touch sensor placed on the first chassis; (Fig. 1 and col. 1 lines 13-19, Many types of electronic devices such as calculators, personal planners, portable, handheld, or "palm-top," computers, for example, which are manufactured today, often use a stylus, otherwise known as a touch pen, in conjunction with a touch sensitive screen, to implement computer operations. For convenience, such devices will be referred to generically herein as "computers.". Col. 3 lines 2-4, FIG. 1 is a perspective view of a computer having a stylus, a channel for receiving the stylus therein, and a touch-sensitive screen. Col. 3 lines 47-51, The first member 102 is coupled to the second member 106 by a hinge 110 that allows the first member 102 to swing away from the second member 106 when the computer is "opened" for use by an operator, thus when the computer is opened it operates as touch screen for detecting the stylus).
determine, when the state of the first chassis relative to the second chassis is a closed state, whether or not the input device is housed on the first chassis or the second chassis based on output signals of the plurality of detection elements; (Figs. 1 and 2 as well as Col. 4 lines 28-33, The system 200 includes a stylus switch 202 for indicating when the stylus 122 (FIG. 1) is positioned within the stylus receiver 124 (FIG. 1) of the computer 100. The system 200 further includes an "open/closed" switch 204 for indicating when the computer 100 is in an open or closed position.).
and output, when determining that the input device is not housed on the first chassis or the second chassis, a warning. (Col. 4 lines 42-49, Both the stylus switch 202 and the open/closed switch 204 are connected to a detection circuit 206. The detection circuit 206 detects when the computer 100 is in a closed position and when the stylus 122 is not properly positioned within the stylus receiver 124. When such a situation occurs, the detection circuit sends a signal to a circuit 208 which produces a humanly perceptible warning such as a beep or audible alarm and/or a flashing light.).
Consider claim 5. Murphy further teaches The electronic apparatus according to claim 1, wherein when the state of the first chassis relative to the second chassis is the open state, the controller sets a detection threshold value to a first value, wherein a value of each of the output signals of the plurality of detection elements is compared with the detection threshold value to determine that the input device is touching or approaching the display, (Fig. 1 and col. 1 lines 13-19, Many types of electronic devices such as calculators, personal planners, portable, handheld, or "palm-top," computers, for example, which are manufactured today, often use a stylus, otherwise known as a touch pen, in conjunction with a touch sensitive screen, to implement computer operations. For convenience, such devices will be referred to generically herein as "computers.". Col. 3 lines 2-4, FIG. 1 is a perspective view of a computer having a stylus, a channel for receiving the stylus therein, and a touch-sensitive screen. Col. 3 lines 47-51, The first member 102 is coupled to the second member 106 by a hinge 110 that allows the first member 102 to swing away from the second member 106 when the computer is "opened" for use by an operator, thus when the computer is opened it operates as touch screen for detecting the stylus and therefore would have a detection threshold for when the stylus contacts the screen).
and when the state of the first chassis relative to the second chassis is the closed state, the controller sets the detection threshold value to a second value lower than the first value. (Col. 4 lines 42-49, Both the stylus switch 202 and the open/closed switch 204 are connected to a detection circuit 206. The detection circuit 206 detects when the computer 100 is in a closed position and when the stylus 122 is not properly positioned within the stylus receiver 124, thus a second threshold).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Murphy (U.S. Pat # 6,114,958) in view Zhang et al (WO 2021/000252 A1).
Consider claim 4. Murphy does not specifically disclose The electronic apparatus according to claim 1, wherein when the state of the first chassis relative to the second chassis is the open state, the controller sets a gain of the plurality of detection elements to a first value, and when the state of the first chassis relative to the second chassis is the closed state, the controller sets the gain to a second value higher than the first value. However Zhang et al in the highlighted section of the attached document discloses an electronic pen detection method wherein when the active pen is far away from the touch screen, or when the active pen is close to the edge of the touch screen, the active pen detects that the amplitude of the sampling signal output by the ADC circuit 203 is less than the first threshold and controls the pre-amplification circuit 201 to amplify Gain, at this time, the active pen is easier to detect useful signals, so the active pen has higher sensitivity, so that the active pen is farther from the touch screen or the active pen is close to the edge of the touch screen. Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the features of Zhang et al with the invention of Murphy so that the pen is easier to detect useful signals, so the active pen has higher sensitivity (Zhang et al highlighted section).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2, 3, and 6 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Consider claim 2. The prior art of record does not teach or render obvious “The electronic apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the plurality of detection elements are arranged in a first area and a second area other than the first area, wherein the first area corresponds to a position where the input device is housed on the first chassis or the second chassis, when the state of the first chassis relative to the second chassis is the open state, the controller detects the position where the input device touches or approaches the display based on output signals of the plurality of detection elements arranged in the first area and the second area, and when the state of the first chassis relative to the second chassis is the closed state, the controller determines whether or not the input device is housed on the first chassis or the second chassis based on output signals of detection elements arranged in the first area among the plurality of detection elements.”
Consider claim 3. The prior art of record does not teach or render obvious “The electronic apparatus according to claim 1, wherein when the state of the first chassis relative to the second chassis is the open state, the controller acquires output signals of the plurality of detection elements at a first rate, and when the state of the first chassis relative to the second chassis is the closed state, the controller acquires output signals of the plurality of detection elements at a second rate lower than the first rate.”
Consider claim 6. The prior art of record does not teach or render obvious “The electronic apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the plurality of detection elements contain: a plurality of first detection elements for detecting a position where the input device touches the display; and a plurality of second detection elements for detecting a position where the input device approaches the display, and when the state of the first chassis relative to the second chassis is the open state, the controller acquires output signals of the plurality of first detection elements and output signals of the plurality of second detection elements, and when the state of the first chassis relative to the second chassis is the closed state, the controller acquires output signals of the plurality of second detection elements.”
Conclusion
/CHAYCE R BIBBEE/Examiner, Art Unit 2624