DETAILED ACTION
Status of the Application
Claims 21-40 have been examined in this application. Claims 1-20 were canceled via preliminary amendment on 2/12/2026. This communication is the first action on merits. The Information Disclosure Statement (IDS) filed on 2/12/2026 has been acknowledged by the Office.
Claim Interpretation
Claim 36 recites: “wherein the crossover joint comprises means for distribution of stress exerted on the fitted sheet…” which will be generally interpreted as the joined middle section 328 as explained in paragraph [00113] and Figs. 14-15 of Applicant’s Specification.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 24 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 24, the limitations of: from about 0.5 centimeter (about 0.2 inches) to about 7.5 cm (about 3 inches) are recited. There is a lack of clarity as to the scope and metes and bounds of the claim. Particularly because it is unclear what the scale a person of ordinary skill in the art would attribute to ‘about’ and particularly alongside a range. It’s unclear if ‘about’ is intended to include values less than 0.5 centimeter or greater than 7.5 centimeters as applicant does not establish a scale for what the measure of ‘about’ should incorporate and such scale is left up to a broad and open-ended interpretation. For the purposes of examination, the limitations are construed as “between 0.5 centimeter and 7.5 centimeters.”
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 21-37 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by French Patent FR 2618660 A1 to Hacot (hereinafter Hacot).
Regarding claim 21, Hacot teaches: A fitted sheet for a bed (see Abstract: “cover sheet for twin bed with two adjacent mattresses”), the fitted sheet comprising:
a top member (see Fig. 1, horizontal rectangular part 1) defining first and second upper sections (see Fig. 1, two upper portions as shown bifurcated by slit 6) with a slit between the first and second upper sections (see Fig. 1, slit 6), wherein the slit terminates at a junction (see Fig. 1, fold 8) where the first upper section meets the second upper section (see Fig. 1 as shown);
one or more side members (see Fig. 1, vertical bands 2 on both sides of 1); and
one or more additional members (see Fig. 1, vertical rectangular strips 7) comprising fabric sewn at the junction and configured to reinforce the junction (see translation: “We then add two vertical rectangular strips 7, cut apart and folded each in half, with its fold 8 located at the bottom of the corresponding slot 6, and its upper edges joined by a seam 9 to the horizontal part 1 on the edges of the corresponding slots 6”).
Regarding claim 22, Hacot teaches all the limitations as described in the rejection of claim 21, and additionally teaches: wherein the one or more additional members is configured to distribute stress across the one or more additional members (see translation: “In addition, the lifting of the head and / or the feet of both of the slatted bases can be done in a completely free and independent manner, thanks to the slots 6 and the additional bands 7 which constitute kinds of bellows and which can be bordered easily since they are in accessible areas”).
Regarding claim 23, Hacot teaches all the limitations as described in the rejection of claim 21, and additionally teaches: wherein the one or more additional members are positioned at least partially on both sides of the slit (see Fig. 1, strips 7 are shown on both sides of slit 6).
Regarding claim 24, Hacot teaches all the limitations as described in the rejection of claim 21, and additionally teaches: wherein the one or more additional members has a width of from about 0.5 centimeter (about 0.2 inches) to about 7.5 cm (about 3 inches) (see translation: “The assembly can naturally be made in all the dimensions appropriate to those of the box springs”).
Regarding claim 25, Hacot teaches all the limitations as described in the rejection of claim 21, and additionally teaches: wherein the one or more additional members comprises two additional members (see Fig. 1, two strips 7 are shown on as one each on both sides of slit 6).
Regarding claim 26, Hacot teaches all the limitations as described in the rejection of claim 21, and additionally teaches: and further comprising an interior side surface sewn to the top member at the slit (see Fig. 2, an interior surface of strips as shown between the mattress halves, and joined by seam 9 or at 5).
Regarding claim 27, Hacot teaches all the limitations as described in the rejection of claim 26, and additionally teaches: wherein the one or more additional members is sewn to the top member and to the interior side surface (see Fig. 1 and translation: “We then add two vertical rectangular strips 7, cut apart and folded each in half, with its fold 8 located at the bottom of the corresponding slot 6, and its upper edges joined by a seam 9 to the horizontal part 1 on the edges of the corresponding slots 6”).
Regarding claim 28, Hacot teaches all the limitations as described in the rejection of claim 21, and additionally teaches: wherein the one or more additional members comprises fabric that overlaps another fabric and that provides structural support at the junction (see Fig. 1, fabric of strips 7 overlaps the fabric of horizontal rectangular part 1, and supports at fold 8 – the folding of materials at this location inherently would provide greater structural support).
Regarding claim 29, Hacot teaches all the limitations as described in the rejection of claim 21, and additionally teaches: wherein the one or more additional members is substantially rectangular (see Fig. 1, strips 7 are substantially rectangular) and is sewn to the first and second upper sections of the top member (see Fig. 1, strips 7 are shown on both sides of sheet 1 bifurcated by slit 6).
Regarding claim 30, Hacot teaches all the limitations as described in the rejection of claim 21, and additionally teaches: and further comprising a crossover joint (see Fig. 1, fold 8 is considered a cross over joint) that includes the one or more additional members (see Fig. 1, fold 8 is formed by strips 7 being folded at that location).
Regarding claim 31, Hacot teaches all the limitations as described in the rejection of claim 21, and additionally teaches: wherein the junction comprises several pieces of fabric and several seams that come together at the junction (see Fig. 1, fold 8 is formed by strips 7 being folded at that location. see also translation: “We then add two vertical rectangular strips 7, cut apart and folded each in half, with its fold 8 located at the bottom of the corresponding slot 6, and its upper edges joined by a seam 9 to the horizontal part 1 on the edges of the corresponding slots 6”).
Regarding claim 32, Hacot teaches: A fitted sheet for a bed (see Abstract: “cover sheet for twin bed with two adjacent mattresses”), the fitted sheet comprising:
a top member (see Fig. 1, horizontal rectangular part 1) defining first and second upper sections (see Fig. 1, two upper portions as shown bifurcated by slit 6) with a slit between the first and second upper sections (see Fig. 1, slit 6), wherein the slit terminates at a junction (see Fig. 1, fold 8) where the first upper section meets the second upper section (see Fig. 1 as shown);
one or more side members (see Fig. 1, vertical bands 2 on both sides of 1); and
a crossover joint positioned at the junction (see Fig. 1, fold 8 is formed by strips 7 being folded at that location. see also translation: “We then add two vertical rectangular strips 7, cut apart and folded each in half, with its fold 8 located at the bottom of the corresponding slot 6, and its upper edges joined by a seam 9 to the horizontal part 1 on the edges of the corresponding slots 6”).
Regarding claim 33, Hacot teaches all the limitations as described in the rejection of claim 32, and additionally teaches: wherein the crossover joint comprises a first member overlapping a second member at the junction (see Fig. 1, fold 8 is formed of two vertical strips 7 folded in half).
Regarding claim 34, Hacot teaches all the limitations as described in the rejection of claim 32, and additionally teaches: wherein the crossover joint comprises a first fabric sewn to the first upper section of the top member at the slit and a second fabric sewn to the second upper section of the top member at the slit with the first fabric crossing over to overlay the second fabric (see Fig. 1 and translation: “We then add two vertical rectangular strips 7, cut apart and folded each in half, with its fold 8 located at the bottom of the corresponding slot 6, and its upper edges joined by a seam 9 to the horizontal part 1 on the edges of the corresponding slots 6”).
Regarding claim 35, Hacot teaches all the limitations as described in the rejection of claim 34, and additionally teaches: wherein the first fabric extends along a first longitudinal length of the first and second upper sections (see Fig. 1, left side of strip 7) and wherein the second fabric extends along a second longitudinal length of the first and second upper sections (see Fig. 1, right side of strip 7), wherein the first and second longitudinal lengths overlap (see Fig. 1, each strip 7 then overlap sat fold 8).
Regarding claim 36, Hacot teaches all the limitations as described in the rejection of claim 32, and additionally teaches: wherein the crossover joint comprises means for distribution of stress exerted on the fitted sheet at the junction when articulable sections of a mattress are moved (see translation: “In addition, the lifting of the head and / or the feet of both of the slatted bases can be done in a completely free and independent manner, thanks to the slots 6 and the additional bands 7 which constitute kinds of bellows and which can be bordered easily since they are in accessible areas”).
Regarding claim 37, Hacot teaches all the limitations as described in the rejection of claim 32, and additionally teaches: wherein the crossover joint comprises two overlapping pieces of fabric (see Fig. 1, fold 8 is formed by strips 7 being folded at that location. see also translation: “We then add two vertical rectangular strips 7, cut apart and folded each in half, with its fold 8 located at the bottom of the corresponding slot 6, and its upper edges joined by a seam 9 to the horizontal part 1 on the edges of the corresponding slots 6”).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 38-40 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over French Patent FR 2618660 A1 to Hacot in view of U.S. Patent 6,643,871 to Robke.
Regarding claim 38, Hacot teaches: A fitted sheet for a bed (see Abstract: “cover sheet for twin bed with two adjacent mattresses”), the fitted sheet comprising:
a top member (see Fig. 1, horizontal rectangular part 1) defining first and second upper sections (see Fig. 1, two upper portions as shown bifurcated by slit 6) with a slit between the first and second upper sections (see Fig. 1, slit 6), wherein the slit terminates at a junction (see Fig. 1, fold 8) where the first upper section meets the second upper section (see Fig. 1 as shown), wherein the top member comprises a first fabric (fitted sheets for beds are commonly formed of fabric);
one or more side members (see Fig. 1, vertical bands 2 on both sides of 1); and
one or more panels (see Fig. 1, strips 7) sewn to the first and second upper sections of the top member at the slit (see Fig. 1 as shown), wherein the one more panels comprise a second fabric (see Fig. 1, fold 8 is formed by strips 7 being folded at that location. see also translation: “We then add two vertical rectangular strips 7, cut apart and folded each in half, with its fold 8 located at the bottom of the corresponding slot 6, and its upper edges joined by a seam 9 to the horizontal part 1 on the edges of the corresponding slots 6”).
Hacot does not explicitly teach the following: [wherein the one more panels comprise a second fabric] that is different material than the first fabric.
Robke teaches: [wherein the one more panels comprise a second fabric] that is different material than the first fabric (see col. 2, lines [59-67] thru col. 3, lines [1-14]: describes that each section of panel be made of different materials, as desired).
Hacot and Robke are both considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are the same field of mattress/bed sheets and coverings. Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified the teachings of Hacot with these aforementioned teachings of Robke in order to have formed portions of the panels of Hacot of differing materials as taught by Robke with a reasonable expectation of success in order to apply different design, such that kids, adults and/or elderly people can share a bed and have their own separate space and identity (see Robke, col. 3, lines [12-14]).
Further it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious design choice. In re Leshin, 125 USPQ 416. See also Ballas Liquidating Co. v. Allied industries of Kansas, Inc. (DC Kans) 205 USPQ 331.
Regarding claim 39, Hacot as modified teaches all the limitations described in the rejection of claim 38, however does not teach: wherein the first fabric has a first coefficient of friction and the second fabric has a second coefficient of friction that is different than the first coefficient of friction of the first fabric.
Robke teaches: wherein the first fabric has a first coefficient of friction and the second fabric has a second coefficient of friction that is different than the first coefficient of friction of the first fabric (see col. 2, lines [59-67] thru col. 3, lines [1-14]: describes that each section of panel be made of different materials, as desired. The examiner notes that different fabrics/materials inherently may have different corresponding coefficients of friction).
Regarding claim 40, Hacot as modified teaches all the limitations described in the rejection of claim 38, however it does not teach: wherein the second fabric is a friction-reducing material.
Robke teaches: wherein the second fabric is a friction-reducing material (see col. 2, lines [59-64]: “Suitable materials include cotton, silk, hemp, linen, flannel, polyester, or other materials…” Some of such materials described above, for example silk, have inherent friction reducing properties).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. The cited patents show bifurcated bed sheets/coverings with similar properties to the claimed invention. They show the general state of the art and are of general relevance with respect to the claimed subject matter.
Sincerely,
/DAVID R HARE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3673
9/29/2026