DETAILED ACTION
Status of the Claims
The filing dated 11/12/25 is entered. Claims 1-21 are pending.
Foreign Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statements
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 11/12/25 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1 and 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Li, CN-106773039.
In regards to claim 1, Li discloses a wearable electronic device (Par. 1, head-mounted display), comprising: a display (Fig. 1, 5 display module); a lens by which visual information displayed on the display is transmitted (Fig. 1, 4 lens); a plurality of lamps spaced apart from each other along a circumferential direction of the lens (Fig. 1, 1 infrared lamp; Par. 44 “light emitting direction of the infrared light 1 is perpendicular to the horizontal plane of the transparent cover 3”); a substrate electrically connected to the plurality of lamps and extending along the circumferential direction of the lens (Fig. 1, 2 circuit board; Par. 13-20 circuit board for infrared lamp); and a heat dissipation member, at least a portion of the heat dissipation member contacting the substrate and extending in a direction in which the substrate extends (Par. 16, 51, thermal/heat paste extending across the substrate).
In regards to claim 16, Li discloses a wearable electronic device (Par. 1, head-mounted display), comprising: a display (Fig. 1, 5 display module); a lens by which visual information displayed on the display is transmitted (Fig. 1, 4 lens); lamps spaced apart from each other along a circumference of the lens (Fig. 1, 1 infrared lamp; Par. 44 “light emitting direction of the infrared light 1 is perpendicular to the horizontal plane of the transparent cover 3”); a substrate electrically connected to the lamps and extending along the circumference of the lens (Fig. 1, 2 circuit board; Par. 13-20 circuit board for infrared lamp); and a heat dissipation member contacting the substrate and extending in a direction in which the substrate extends (Par. 16, 51, thermal/heat paste extending across the substrate).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 6 and 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li, CN-106773039, in view of Wang, CN-112824954.
In regards to claim 6, Li does not disclose expressly a lens barrel disposed to surround the heat dissipation member, wherein the lens barrel includes a hole opened toward an outside of the lens barrel and facing the heat dissipation member.
Wang discloses a lens barrel disposed to surround the heat dissipation member, wherein the lens barrel includes a hole opened toward an outside of the lens barrel and facing the heat dissipation member (Fig. 1-3, 1 frame components, i.e. lens barrel, with 151 vents which release heat).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art that vents can be utilized in the lens barrel of Li in the manner of Wang. The motivation for doing so would have been to dissipate heat.
In regards to claim 17, Li does not disclose expressly a lens barrel disposed to surround the heat dissipation member, wherein the lens barrel includes a hole opened toward an outside of the lens barrel and facing the heat dissipation member.
Wang discloses a lens barrel disposed to surround the heat dissipation member, wherein the lens barrel includes a hole opened toward an outside of the lens barrel and facing the heat dissipation member (Fig. 1-3, 1 frame components, i.e. lens barrel, with 151 vents which release heat).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art that vents can be utilized in the lens barrel of Li in the manner of Wang. The motivation for doing so would have been to dissipate heat.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2-5, 7-15, and 18-21 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
In regards to claim 2, the prior art of record fails to disclose, teach or fairly suggest to one of ordinary skill in the art, in conjunction with all the other claimed limitations: a wearable electronic device and specifically including “the heat dissipation member includes: an outer circumferential wall disposed to surround the lens; and a support wall extending along a circumference of the outer circumferential wall, wherein the substrate is seated on the support wall.”
In regards to claim 7, the prior art of record fails to disclose, teach or fairly suggest to one of ordinary skill in the art, in conjunction with all the other claimed limitations: a wearable electronic device and specifically including “the heat dissipation member includes a heat dissipation fin protruding toward the hole of the lens barrel.”
In regards to claim 8, the prior art of record fails to disclose, teach or fairly suggest to one of ordinary skill in the art, in conjunction with all the other claimed limitations: a wearable electronic device and specifically including “a lens barrel surrounding the heat dissipation member, wherein the lens barrel includes: a first lens barrel surrounding the heat dissipation member and having a first hole facing the heat dissipation member; and a second lens barrel coupled to the first lens barrel and having a second hole at least partially facing the heat dissipation member, and wherein the first hole and the second hole extend in directions crossing each other.”
In regards to claim 9, the prior art of record fails to disclose, teach or fairly suggest to one of ordinary skill in the art, in conjunction with all the other claimed limitations: a wearable electronic device and specifically including “a lens support portion disposed to surround the lens; and a lens barrel disposed to surround the heat dissipation member, wherein the heat dissipation member is disposed between the lens support portion and the lens barrel.”
In regards to claim 10, the prior art of record fails to disclose, teach or fairly suggest to one of ordinary skill in the art, in conjunction with all the other claimed limitations: a wearable electronic device and specifically including “the substrate includes: a first substrate portion on which the plurality of lamps are disposed and extending in a direction in which the plurality of lamps are spaced apart from each other; and a second substrate portion extending in a direction crossing an extending direction of the first substrate portion, and wherein the heat dissipation member includes an opening portion in which the second substrate portion is disposed.”
In regards to claim 11, the prior art of record fails to disclose, teach or fairly suggest to one of ordinary skill in the art, in conjunction with all the other claimed limitations: a wearable electronic device and specifically including “a lens barrel surrounding the heat dissipation member and positioned farther from the plurality of lamps than the heat dissipation member, wherein a thermal conductivity of the lens barrel is exceeded by a thermal conductivity of the heat dissipation member.”
In regards to claim 12, the prior art of record fails to disclose, teach or fairly suggest to one of ordinary skill in the art, in conjunction with all the other claimed limitations: a wearable electronic device and specifically including “a lens assembly including the lens, the plurality of lamps, the substrate, and the heat dissipation member, wherein the lens assembly includes a lens barrel forming at least a portion of an outer circumferential surface of the lens assembly, and wherein the heat dissipation member surrounds at least a portion of the lens barrel and is exposed to an outside of the lens assembly.”
In regards to claim 13, the prior art of record fails to disclose, teach or fairly suggest to one of ordinary skill in the art, in conjunction with all the other claimed limitations: a wearable electronic device and specifically including “a lens assembly including the lens, the plurality of lamps, the substrate, and the heat dissipation member; a housing coupled to the lens assembly and accommodating the display; and a fan forming air flow inside the lens assembly.”
In regards to claim 18, the prior art of record fails to disclose, teach or fairly suggest to one of ordinary skill in the art, in conjunction with all the other claimed limitations: a wearable electronic device and specifically including “a lens barrel surrounding the heat dissipation member, wherein the lens barrel includes: a first lens barrel surrounding the heat dissipation member and having a first hole facing the heat dissipation member; and a second lens barrel coupled to the first lens barrel and having a second hole at least partially facing the heat dissipation member, and wherein the first hole and the second hole extend in directions crossing each other.”
In regards to claim 19, the prior art of record fails to disclose, teach or fairly suggest to one of ordinary skill in the art, in conjunction with all the other claimed limitations: a wearable electronic device and specifically including “a lens support portion disposed to surround the lens; and a lens barrel disposed to surround the heat dissipation member, wherein the heat dissipation member is disposed between the lens support portion and the lens barrel.”
In regards to claim 20, the prior art of record fails to disclose, teach or fairly suggest to one of ordinary skill in the art, in conjunction with all the other claimed limitations: a wearable electronic device and specifically including “the substrate includes: a first substrate portion on which the plurality of lamps are disposed and extending in a direction in which the plurality of lamps are spaced apart from each other; and a second substrate portion extending in a direction crossing an extending direction of the first substrate portion, and wherein the heat dissipation member includes an opening portion in which the second substrate portion is disposed.”
In regards to claim 21, the prior art of record fails to disclose, teach or fairly suggest to one of ordinary skill in the art, in conjunction with all the other claimed limitations: a wearable electronic device and specifically including “a lens barrel surrounding the heat dissipation member and positioned farther from the plurality of lamps than the heat dissipation member, wherein a thermal conductivity of the lens barrel is exceeded by a thermal conductivity of the heat dissipation member.”
Conclusion
/CORY A ALMEIDA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2628 8/14/26