DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US 20110028942, Saitoh.
In regards to claim 1, in Figures 6-10 and paragraphs detailing said figures, Saitoh discloses a tube connector to connect a medical tube to a medical device, the tube connector comprising: a first member (2) into which the medical tube (8) is inserted; a second member (3) that is screwed into the first member; and an 0-ring (5) that is housed in the first member, deforms with screwing of the second member into the first member, and fixes the medical tube by deformation, wherein one of the first member and the second member comprises an engagement raised portion (see Fig. 7 below), and wherein the other of the first member and the second member comprises a retaining portion (see Fig. 7 below) that mechanically stops the engagement raised portion in a direction of separation of the second member from the first member, wherein the second member comprises a shaft-shaped portion with a second member-side thread portion, wherein the first member comprises a receiving portion that comprises a first member-side thread portion to be threadedly engaged with the second member-side thread portion and receives the shaft-shaped portion, wherein the shaft-shaped portion comprises one of the engagement raised portion and the retaining portion, wherein the receiving portion comprises the other of the engagement raised portion and the retaining portion, and wherein the retaining portion stops the engagement raised portion even when a threaded engagement between the first member-side thread portion and the second member-side thread portion is released.
[AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (Retaining portion)][AltContent: textbox (Engagement raised portion)][AltContent: arrow]
In regards to claim 2, in Figures 6-10 and paragraphs detailing said figures, Saitoh discloses n a stop surface of the retaining portion comprises an inclined surface that is sloped up in the direction of separation.
In regards to claim 3, in Figures 6-10 and paragraphs detailing said figures, Saitoh discloses the second member comprises a shaft-shaped portion with a second member-side thread portion (33), wherein the first member comprises a receiving portion that comprises a first member-side thread portion (23) to be threadedly engaged with the second member-side thread portion and receives the shaft-shaped portion, wherein the shaft-shaped portion comprises one of the engagement raised portion and the retaining portion, and wherein the receiving portion comprises the other of the engagement raised portion and the retaining portion at an open end of the receiving portion.
In regards to claim 4, in Figures 6-10 and paragraphs detailing said figures, Saitoh discloses the second member comprises a shaft-shaped portion with a second member-side thread portion, wherein the first member comprises a receiving portion that comprises a first member-side thread portion to be threadedly engaged with the second member-side thread portion and receives the shaft-shaped portion, wherein the shaft-shaped portion comprises one of the engagement raised portion and the retaining portion, and wherein the receiving portion comprises the other of the engagement raised portion and the retaining portion at an open end of the receiving portion.
In regards to claim 5, in Figures 6-10 and paragraphs detailing said figures, Saitoh discloses a tube with connector, comprising: a medical tube; and a tube connector to connect the medical tube to a medical device, wherein the tube connector comprises a first member into which the medical tube is inserted, a second member that is screwed into the first member, and an O-ring seal ring that is housed in the first member, deforms with screwing of the second member into the first member, and fixes the medical tube by deformation, wherein one of the first member and the second member comprises an engagement raised portion, and wherein the other of the first member and the second member comprises a retaining portion that mechanically stops the engagement raised portion in a direction of separation of the second member from the first member.
In regards to claim 6, in Figures 6-10 and paragraphs detailing said figures, Saitoh discloses the O-ring is a ring- shaped seal ring that is made of synthetic rubber ([0075]) and has a circular cross section, and the tube connector is configured to press the O-ring.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) above have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/AARON M DUNWOODY/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3679