DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 20110028942, Saitoh in view of US 20140246616, Fangrow.
In regards to claim 1, in Figures 5-7 and paragraphs detailing said figures, Saitoh discloses a tube connector to connect a medical tube to a medical device, the tube connector comprising: a first member (2) into which the medical tube (8) is inserted ;a second member (3) that is screwed into the first member; and an O-ring (5) that is housed in the first member, deforms with screwing of the second member into the first member, and fixes the medical tube by deformation, wherein the second member comprises a shaft-shaped portion having a second member-side thread portion (33), wherein the first member comprises a receiving portion that has a first member-side thread portion (23) threadedly engageable with the second member-side thread portion and receives the shaft-shaped portion, and a seating portion (27) that is formed at a position different from the first member-side thread portion in an axial direction and seats the O-ring. Saitoh does not disclose the first or second members having light-transmission properties. Fangrow relates generally to medical connectors through which fluids flow. Fangrow teaches “at least a portion of the female connector and/or the male connector can be translucent, such as at least a portion of housings and/or the seal element 460, to permit external visual inspection of the flow of fluid therein” ([0210]). It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to fabricate the first or second member with light-transmission properties to permit external visual inspection of the flow of fluid therein, as taught by Fangrow.
In regards to claim 2, Saitoh further discloses the second member comprises a tube restriction portion (36) against which a tip of the medical tube inserted into the first member butts ([0076]).
In regards to claim 3, Saitoh in view of Fangrow further disclose the first member and the second member have light-transmission properties.
In regards to claim 4, Saitoh in view of Fangrow further disclose the first member and the second member have light-transmission properties.
In regards to claim 5, Saitoh in view of Fangrow disclose a tube connector to connect a medical tube to a medical device, the tube connector comprising: a first member into which the medical tube is inserted; a second member that is screwed into the first member; and an O-ring that is housed in the first member, deforms with screwing of the second member into the first member, and fixes the medical tube by deformation, wherein the second member comprises a shaft-shaped portion having a second member-side thread portion, wherein the first member comprises a receiving portion that has a first member-side thread portion threadedly engageable with the second member-side thread portion and receives the shaft-shaped portion, and a seating portion that is formed at a position different from the first member-side thread portion in an axial direction and seats the O-ring, and wherein the first member has light-transmission properties that allow the medical tube to be visible through the seating portion when the medical tube is inserted through the O- ring, and wherein the second member comprises a light-transmissive portion through which a position of a tip of the medical tube thereinside is visible.
In regards to claim 6, Saitoh in view of Fangrow further disclose a tube with connector, comprising: a medical tube; and a tube connector to connect the medical tube to a medical device, wherein the tube connector comprises a first member into which the medical tube is inserted, a second member that is screwed into the first member, and an O-ring that is housed in the first member, deforms with screwing of the second member into the first member, and fixes the medical tube by deformation, wherein the second member comprises a shaft-shaped portion having a second member-side thread portion, wherein the first member comprises a receiving portion that has a first member- side thread portion threadedly engageable with the second member-side thread portion and receives the shaft-shaped portion, and a seating portion that is formed at a position different from the first member-side thread portion in an axial direction and seats the O-ring, and wherein the first member has light-transmission properties that allow the medical tube to be visible through the seating portion when the medical tube is inserted through the O-ring.
In regards to claim 7, Saitoh in view of Fangrow further disclose tube with connector, comprising: a medical tube; and a tube connector to connect the medical tube to a medical device, wherein the tube connector comprises a first member into which the medical tube is inserted, a second member that is screwed into the first member, and an O-ring that is housed in the first member, deforms with screwing of the second member into the first member, and fixes the medical tube by deformation, wherein the second member comprises a shaft-shaped portion having a second member-side thread portion, wherein the first member comprises a receiving portion that has a first member- side thread portion threadedly engageable with the second member-side thread portion and receives the shaft-shaped portion, and a seating portion that is formed at a position different from the first member-side thread portion in an axial direction and seats the O-ring, and wherein the first member has light-transmission properties that allow the medical tube to be visible through the seating portion when the medical tube is inserted through the O- ring, and wherein the second member comprises a light-transmissive portion through which a position of a tip of the medical tube thereinside is visible.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) above have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/AARON M DUNWOODY/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3679