Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on 11/12/2025, 03/13/2026, 06/04/2026, and 07/01/2026 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statements are being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 5 recites “A tube with connector, comprising: a medical tube; and a tube connector to connect the medical tube to a medical device, wherein the tube connector comprises…” which is unclear if the invention is a tube, a tube connector, or a tube system. For examination purposes, the limitation will be interpreted as “A tube connector system, the tube connector system comprising: a medical tube; and a tube connector to connect the medical tube to a medical device, wherein the tube connector comprises…” such that it is a tube connector system having a medical tube and a tube connector.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Top KK (JP 5902899 B2) in view of Solomon et al. (US 2010/0049170 A1, hereinafter “Solomon”).
In regard to claim 1, Top KK discloses a tube connector (Fig. 1 shows a tube connector) to connect a medical tube to a medical device (Fig. 1, 11 defines at least a medical tube and in [0003] of the English translation discloses 11 is a catheter tube which is at least a medical tube that is connected to a medical device), the tube connector comprising:
a first member into which the medical tube is inserted (Fig. 1, 12 defines a first member in which 11 inserts into);
a second member that is screwed into the first member (Fig. 1, 13 defines a second member that is screwed into 12); and
a seal ring that is housed in the first member (Figs. 1 and 2, seal ring 14), deforms with screwing of the second member into the first member (Figs. 1 and 2 shows how 14 deforms when screwing 12 and 13 together), and fixes the medical tube by deformation (Fig. 2 shows the deformation of 14 that at least fixes the medical tube by deformation of 14 over 11),
wherein screwing grip portions for screwing the second member into the first member are formed an outer circumferential surface of the second member (Fig. 1, fins 50 define screwing grip portions for screwing 13 into 12 which are formed on an outer circumferential surface of 13) at positions away from ends on a side close to each other (Fig. 1, 50 are at positions away from an end of 13 on a side close to 12).
Top KK does not expressly disclose wherein screwing grip portions for screwing the second member into the first member are formed on an outer circumferential surface of the first member at positions away from ends on the side close to each other.
In the related field of pipe couplings being screwed together, Solomon teaches both a first member and a second member (Fig. 1, first and second members at 104 and 102) having screwing grip portions for screwing the second member into the first member are formed on an outer circumferential surface of the first member and are formed an outer circumferential surface of the second member at positions away from ends on the side close to each other (Figs. 1A-1B shows both 102 and 104 have screw grip portions at 108 and 107 formed an outer circumferential surfaces of each 102 and 104 at positions away from ends on the side close to each other similar to applicant’s invention) in order to have at least the advantage of having uneven surfaces that allow an easy grip by fingertips of a medical practitioner (In [0079] discloses the advantages of the gripping portions of two members).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have substituted the outer circumferential surfaces of the first member and the second member of Top KK for the screwing grip portions of Solomon with a reasonable expectation of success in order to have the advantage of uneven surfaces that allow an easy grip by fingertips of a medical practitioner as taught by Solomon. See MPEP 2143(I)(B) with regard to simple substitution of one known element for another to obtain predictable results.
In regard to claim 2, Top KK and Solomon disclose the tube connector according to claim 1, and Solomon further discloses wherein the outer circumferential surface of the first member and the outer circumferential surface of the second member are tapered on the side close to each other (Figs. 1-1B, grooves 107 are part of the outer circumferential surface of 102 and 104 which 107 are tapered on the side that 102 and 104 are close to each other. See claim 1 above for the same reasons to combine Top KK and Solomon.).
In regard to claim 3, Top KK and Solomon disclose the tube connector according to claim 1, and Solomon further discloses wherein the screwing grip portion comprises a plurality of recessed portions aligned in a circumferential direction (Figs. 1A-1B, plurality of recesses at 107 which are aligned in a circumferential direction. See claim 1 above for the same reasons to combine Top KK and Solomon).
In regard to claim 4, Top KK and Solomon disclose the tube connector according to claim 2, and Solomon further discloses wherein the screwing grip portion comprises a plurality of recessed portions aligned in a circumferential direction (See claim 3 above for the same reasons).
In regard to claim 5, Top KK discloses a tube connector system (Fig. 1 shows a tube connector system), the tube connector system comprising:
a medical tube (Fig. 1, medical tube 11 and see claim 1 above for the same reasons); and
a tube connector to connect the medical tube to a medical device,
wherein the tube connector comprises a first member into which the medical tube is inserted, a second member that is screwed into the first member, and a seal ring that is housed in the first member, deforms with screwing of the second member into the first member, and fixes the medical tube by deformation (See claim 1 above for the same reasons that Top KK discloses “a tube connector…by deformation”),
and Top KK in view of Solomon disclose wherein screwing grip portions for screwing the second member into the first member are formed on an outer circumferential surface of the first member and an outer circumferential surface of the second member at positions away from ends on a side close to each other (See claim above for the same reasons to combine Top KK and Solomon to disclose “wherein screwing grip portions…to each other”).
Conclusion
The following prior arts made of record and not relied upon are considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
Yamamoto et al. (US 5,059,186), Lampropoulos et al. (US 6,402,723 B1), and Vetter et al. (US 5,269,764) disclose first and second members that screw together to at least deform a seal ring over an inserted tube similar to applicant’s claimed invention.
/WILLIAM S. CHOI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3679