DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the sensing system; water level monitor, control panel and a limit boss must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites “a potty is disposed outside the toilet housing” in line 2, it is unclear how the potty is disposed outside of the housing. The drawings discloses potty 5 being disposed within housing 1 (see figure 3) thus it is unclear how the portable toilet would work with the potty being disposed outside the toilet housing. Also, the claim recites “a sensing system…controlled to be connected to the clean water delivery system” the claim limitation is unclear.
Claims 2-18 are rejected as depending on a rejected base claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Balada (EP 2801251).
Regarding claim 1, Balada discloses a portable smart pet toilet, comprising: a toilet housing (side walls 2, 3, 4, 5, and base B, para. 0027), wherein a potty is disposed inside the toilet housing (surface 8, para. 0032, fig. 2), and a first communicating hole is formed in a bottom of the potty (opening 10, para. 0032); a clean water tank (first container 6, para. 0037) wherein the clean water tank is disposed inside the toilet housing and configured to store clean water (fig. 3); a clean water delivery system (nozzles 12 and line 21, para. 0040), wherein the clean water delivery system is configured to deliver clean water in the clean water tank into the potty (para.0039 and 0040); a waste water tank (second tank 7), wherein the waste water tank is disposed inside the toilet housing (second tank 7 is located within housing, fig. 3) and is in communication with the potty by using the first communicating hole (para. 0041); and a sensing system (sensors 14), wherein the sensing system is disposed in the toilet housing and controlled to be connected to the clean water delivery system, and the sensing system is configured to sense a pet located in the potty (para. 0034, fig. 3) but fails to teach the potty is disposed outside the toilet housing. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have the potty disposed outside the toilet housing, since it has been held that rearranging parts of an invention involves only routine skill in the art. In re Japikse, 86 USPQ 70.
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Balada in view of Martinez Lema (WO 2005/101962).
Regarding claim 6, Balada teaches the invention substantially as claimed and further teaches wherein a top of the clean water take is open (fig. 2) but fails to teach the water tank is in lap joint with a top cover. However, Martinez Lema teaches a water tank being in lap joint with a top cover (cistern 3, fig.2A). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify Balada’s container with a lid as taught by Martinez Lema to prevent unwanted cross contamination between the containers.
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Balada in view of Brewer (US 2008/0178817).
Regarding claim 10, Balada teaches the invention substantially as claimed but fails to teach wherein a partition plate configured to support a pet is mounted in the potty, a plurality of discharge holes are formed in the partition plate, and sizes of the plurality of discharge holes gradually increase from an outside of the partition plate to a center of the partition plate. However, Brewer teaches a partition plate configured to support a pet is mounted in the potty, a plurality of discharge holes are formed in the partition plate (para. 0090, fig. 13D). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify Balada’s container with a platform as taught by Brewer to allow animals of various sizes to use the waste system.
/EBONY E EVANS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3647