DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
In view of amendment, a new reference of Kim (US Pub. 2008/0246697 A1) is applied to a new ground of rejection.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3, and 11-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cho et al. (US Pub. 2022/0199750 A1) in view of Kim (US Pub. 2008/0246697 A1, hereinafter referred to as “Kim’697”).
Regarding claim 1; Cho teaches a display device, comprising:
[AltContent: rect][AltContent: textbox (Lower portion of the bending area BA)][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: rect][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (Upper portion of the bending area BA)]
(Fig.2 of Cho reproduced)
a timing controller (a timing controller TC, Fig.2) configured to generate an image data, a data control signal, and a gate control signal (para. [0055 and 0058-0059]);
a data driver (a data driver DD, Fig.2) configured to generate a data signal using the image data and the data control signal (para. [0058], the data driver DD may supply the data signal to the data lines DL in response to a data control signal DCS);
a gate driver (a scan driver SDV, Fig.2) configured to generate a gate signal using the gate control signal (para. [0055]);
a first clock link line (a gate control signal line (e.g., GCS1 and GCS2), Fig.2) transmitting a first clock signal from the timing controller to the gate driver (Fig.2, para. [0059]);
a display panel (a display panel, Fig.2) displaying an image using the data signal and the gate signal (para. [0040]) and having a display area (a display area AA, Fig.2) and a non-display area (a peripheral area PA, Fig.2) surrounding the display area (Fig.2), wherein:
the non-display area includes a bending area as a reference of folding (a bending area BA in the peripheral area PA, Fig.2);
the timing controller and the data driver are disposed in the non-display area at an upper portion of the bending area (Fig.2, the timing controller and the data driver DD are disposed in the peripheral area PA at an upper portion of the bending area. It is understood that the upper portion is determined based on an orientation of the display device, for example, upside down); the gate driver is disposed in the non-display area at a lower portion of the bending area (Fig.2, the scan driver SDV is disposed in the peripheral area at a lower portion of the bending area BA); and
the first clock link line (gate control signal line GCS1/GCS2, Fig.2) extends from the non-display area at the upper portion of the bending area to the non-display area at the lower portion of the bending area through the bending area (Fig.2, the gate signal control line (e.g., GCS1 or GCS2) extends from the peripheral area PA at the upper portion of the bending area BA to the peripheral area PA at the lower portion of the bending area BA through the bending area BA).
Cho does not teach that a first clock line transmitting to generate a gate signal to the gate driver; a second clock line transmitting a second clock signal to the gate driver; an inverter configured to generate a second clock signal by inverting the first clock signal and to transmit the second clock signal to the gate driver; and the inverter are disposed in the non-display area at a lower portion of the bending area; the first clock link line branches at the lower portion of the bending area, one branch being connected to an input terminal of the inverter and another branch extending to a first end of the first clock line; and a first end of the second clock one is connected to an output terminal of the inverter.
Kim’697 teaches a first clock line transmitting to generate a gate signal to the gate driver (Fig. 7 reproduced above, a first clock line transmits a clock signal CLK); a second clock line transmitting a second clock signal to the gate driver (Fig. 7, a second clock line transmits an inverted clock signal CLKB); an inverter (a clock inverter Inv_CLK, Fig. 7)) configured to generate a second clock signal by inverting the first clock signal and to transmit the second clock signal to the gate driver (Fig. 7, para. [0123-0124]); and the inverter are disposed in the non-display area (Figs. 1 and 7, the clock inverter Inv_CLK is included in a scan driver 110 which is disposed in a non-display area); the first clock link line branches at the lower portion of the bending area, one branch being connected to an input terminal of the inverter and another branch extending to a first end of the first clock line; and a first end of the second clock line is connected to an output terminal of the inverter (As shown in Fig. 7 below, in the scan driver 110, a first clock link line splits into two branches: one branch is connected to an input terminal of the clock inverter Inv_CLK and another branch extends to a left end of a first clock line. A left end of a second clock line is connected to an output terminal of the clock inverter Inv_CLK).
[AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (First clock line)][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (Second clock line)][AltContent: textbox (First clock link line)][AltContent: arrow]
(Fig. 7 of Kim reproduced)
Accordingly, a combination of Cho and Kim’697 would render a display device comprising a clock inverter included in a scan driver for inverting a clock signal and supplying the inverted clock signal to a shift register of the scan driver. Therefore, Cho as modified by Kim’697 would teach that the inverter are disposed at a lower portion of the bending area which the first clock link line branches provide at the lower portion of the bending area, .
At the time of invention was effectively filed, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the display system of Cho to include the teaching of Kim’697 of providing a clock inverter in a scan driver for inverting a clock signal and supplying the inverted clock signal to a plurality of shift registers of the scan driver. The motivation would have been in order to simplify the driving circuit.
Regarding claim 3; Cho in view of Kim’697 teaches the display device of claim 1 as discussed above. Cho does not teach the inverter is disposed between the bending area and the gate driver.
Kim’697 discloses that the inverter is disposed between an upper edge of a display panel and the gate driver (Fig. 9, the clock inverter Inv_CLK is located between an upper edge of a display panel and the scan driver 110). The motivation is the same as the rejection of claim 1.
In the display device of Cho, the bending area BA is located above an upper edge of the display panel. Therefore, in the display device of Cho as modified by Kim’697, the clock inverter would be located between the bending area BA and the scan driver 110.
Regarding claim 11; Cho in view of Kim’697 teaches the display device of claim 1 as discussed above. Cho further teaches the first clock link line extends through the bending area to the lower portion of the bending area (Fig. 2, the gate control signal line GCS1 extends through the bending area BA to the lower portion of the bending area BA. The bending area BA is above an upper edge of the display panel).
Cho does not teach the first clock link line branches at the lower portion of the bending area.
Kim’697 discloses that the first clock link line branches at an upper edge of the display panel (see Fig. 7 and referred to the analysis of claim 1). Therefore, in the display device of Cho as modified by Kim’697, the gate control signal line GCS1 would split into two branches at the upper edge of the display panel. Accordingly, the combination of Cho and Kim’697 would teach the first clock link line branches at the lower portion of the bending area. The motivation is the same as the rejection of claim 1.
Regarding claim 12; Cho in view of Kim’697 teaches the display device of claim 1 as discussed above. Cho does not teach the gate driver includes a shift register having a plurality of stages; and each of the plurality of stages is connected to the first clock line and the second clock line to receive the first clock signal and the second clock signal.
Kim’697 teaches the gate driver includes a shift register having a plurality of stages (Fig. 7, the scan driver 110 comprises a shift register including a plurality of stages SR1, SR2, …); and each of the plurality of stages is connected to the first clock line and the second clock line to receive the first clock signal and the second clock signal (Fig. 7, each stage (e.g., SR1) is connected to the first clock line and the second clock line).
The motivation is the same as the rejection of claim 1.
Regarding claim 13; Cho in view of Kim’697 teaches the display device of claim 1 as discussed above. Cho does not teach the first clock line is connected to the input terminal of the inverter; and the second clock line is connected to the output terminal of the inverter.
Kim’697 teaches the first clock line is connected to the input terminal of the inverter; and the second clock line is connected to the output terminal of the inverter (Fig. 7, the first clock line is connected to the input terminal of the clock inverter Inv_CLK. The second clock line is connected to the output terminal of the clock inverter Inv_CLK).
The motivation is the same as the rejection of claim 1.
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cho et al. (US Pub. 2022/0199750 A1) in view of Kim (US Pub. 2008/0246697 A1, referred to as “Kim’697”) as applied to claim 1 above; further in view of Choo et al. (US Pub. 2025/0231580 A1).
Regarding claim 4; Cho in view of Kim’697 teaches the display device of claim 1 as discussed above. Cho does not teach the inverter is disposed at a lower portion of the gate driver.
Choo teaches the inverter is disposed at a lower portion of the gate driver (Fig. 7, the inverter (e.g., 62-2) is disposed at a lower portion of a gate driver circuitry including a plurality of gate driver circuits 50-1 to 50-4).
At the time of invention was effectively filed, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the display device of Cho in view of Kim’697 to include the teaching of Choo of placing an inverter at a lower portion of a gate driver circuitry. The motivation would have been in order to obtain a preferred design.
Claims 5-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cho et al. (US Pub. 2022/0199750 A1) in view of Kim (US Pub. 2008/0246697 A1, referred to as “Kim’697”) as applied to claim 1 above; further in view of Zhang et al. (US Pub. 2018/0374912 A1).
Regarding claim 5; Cho in view of Kim’697 teaches the display device of claim 1 as discussed above. Cho further teaches a second clock link line transmitting the clock signal from the timing controller to the gate driver (Fig.2, para. [0060], the gate control signals may include clock signals. The gate control signals (e.g., GCS1 and GCS2) are transmitted from the timing controller TC to the scan driver SDV), wherein the second clock link line extends from an upper portion of the bending area to the non-display area at a lower portion of the bending area through the bending area (see Fig.2).
Cho does not teach that the second clock link line transmitting the first clock signal from the timing controller to the gate driver.
Zhang teaches a method of connecting two adjacent lines together in order to help prevent damage to signal lines in a bend region (para. [0047], pairs of adjacent lines may be shorted together so that the signal paths of display 14 may be provided with redundancy).
Accordingly, the display device of Cho as modified by Zhang would comprise two adjacent gate control signal lines connected together for transmitting a same clock signal from the timing controller to the gate driver. Therefore, the display device of Cho as modified by Kim’697 and Zhang would comprise a second gate control signal line adjacent to and connected to the first gate control signal line for transmitting the first clock signal from the timing controller to the gate driver.
At the time of invention was effectively filed, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the display system of Cho in view of Kim’697 to include the teaching of Zhang of implementing redundancy connections between adjacent signal lines. Accordingly, a second clock signal line would be provided as a redundant clock signal line which is connected with the first clock signal line. Therefore, a combination of Cho, Kim’697, and Zhang would teach “the first and second clock link lines are connected to an input terminal of the inverter and the first end of the first clock line”. The motivation would have been in order to prevent damage of the clock signal lines in the bending area (Zhang, para. [0047]).
Regarding claim 6; Cho in view of Kim’697 and Zhang teaches the display device of claim 5 as discussed above. Cho does not teach the inverter is disposed between the bending area and the gate driver; the second clock link line is connected to the input terminal of the inverter and the first end of the first clock line.
Kim’697 teaches the inverter is disposed between an upper edge of a display panel and the gate driver (Fig. 9, the clock inverter Inv_CLK is located between an upper edge of a display panel and the scan driver 110); the first clock link line is connected to the input terminal of the inverter and the first end of the first clock line (Fig. 7, the first clock link line is connected to the input terminal of the clock inverter Inv_CLK and the first end of the first clock line). The motivation is the same as the rejection of claim 1.
In the display device of Cho, the bending area BA is located above an upper edge of the display panel. Therefore, in the display device of Cho as modified by Kim’697, the clock inverter would be located between the bending area BA and the scan driver 110. Accordingly, a combination of Cho and Kim’697 would teach the inverter is disposed between the bending area and the gate driver.
Zhang teaches a method of connecting two adjacent lines together in order to help prevent damage to signal lines in a bend region (para. [0047], pairs of adjacent lines may be shorted together so that the signal paths of display 14 may be provided with redundancy).
At the time of invention was effectively filed, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the display system of Cho in view of Kim’697 to include the teaching of Zhang of implementing redundancy connections between adjacent signal lines. Accordingly, a second clock signal line would be provided as a redundant clock signal line which is adjacent to and connected to the first clock signal line. Therefore, a combination of Cho, Kim’697, and Zhang would teach “the second clock link line is connected to the input terminal of the inverter and the first end of the first clock line”. The motivation would have been in order to prevent damage of the clock signal lines in the bending area (Zhang, para. [0047]).
Claims 7-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cho et al. (US Pub. 2022/0199750 A1) in view of Kim (US Pub. 2008/0246697 A1, referred to as “Kim’697”) as applied to claim 1 above; further in view of Kim (US Pub. 2024/0090264 A1, hereinafter referred to as “Kim’264”).
Regarding claim 7; Cho in view of Kim’697 teaches the display device of claim 1 as discussed above. Cho in view of Kim’697 does not teach the display panel includes a plurality of subpixels in the display area; and each of the plurality of subpixels comprises: a first transistor switched according to a voltage of a first node and connected to second and third nodes; a second transistor switched according to a first scan signal and connected to the first and second nodes; a third transistor switched according to a second scan signal and connected to the third node and the data signal; a fourth transistor switched according to a second emission signal and connected to the second node and a high level signal; a fifth transistor switched according to a first emission signal and connected to the third node and a fourth node; a sixth transistor switched according to the first emission signal and connected to the fourth node and an initial signal; a storage capacitor connected to the first and fourth nodes; and a light emitting diode connected to the fourth node and a low level signal.
(Fig.2 of Kim reproduced)
Kim’264 teaches the display panel includes a plurality of subpixels in the display area; and each of the plurality of subpixels comprises: a first transistor (a driving transistor DTa, Fig.2) switched according to a voltage of a first node (a second node N2) and connected to second and third nodes (the driving transistor DTa is switched according to a gate-source voltage between the second node N2 and a third node N3); a second transistor (a compensation transistor T2a) switched according to a first scan signal (a first scan signal SCAN1[n]) and connected to the first and second nodes (see Fig.2, first node N1 and second node N2); a third transistor (a switching transistor T1a) switched according to a second scan signal (a second scan signal SCAN2[n]) and connected to the third node (node N3) and the data signal (data line 22, Fig.2); a fourth transistor (an operation control transistor T3a) switched according to a second emission signal (a second emission signal EM2[n]) and connected to the second node (first node N1) and a high level signal (VDDEL); a fifth transistor (a light emission control transistor T4a) switched according to a first emission signal (a first emission signal EM1[n]) and connected to the third node (third node N3) and a fourth node (a fourth node N4); a sixth transistor (an initialization transistor T5a) switched according to the first emission signal (the first emission signal EM1[n]) and connected to the fourth node (a fourth node N4) and an initial signal (an initialization voltage VAR); a storage capacitor (a storage capacitor Cst) connected to the first and fourth nodes (Fig.2, second node N2 and fourth node N4); and a light emitting diode (a light emitting element EL) connected to the fourth node (the fourth node N4) and a low level signal (VSSEL).
At the time of invention was effectively filed, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the display system of Cho in view of Kim’697 to include the pixel circuit of Kim’264. The motivation would have been in order to reduce leakage current (Kim’264, para. [0061]).
Regarding claim 8; Cho in view of Kim’697 and Kim’264 teaches the display device of claim 7 as discussed above. Cho and Kim’697 do not teach a gate electrode of the first transistor, a source electrode of the second transistor, and a first capacitor electrode of the storage capacitor constitute the first node; a drain electrode of the first transistor, a drain electrode of the second transistor, and a drain electrode of the fourth transistor constitute the second node; a source electrode of the first transistor, a source electrode of the third transistor, and a source electrode of the fifth transistor constitute the third node; and a drain electrode of the fifth transistor, a drain electrode of the sixth transistor, and a second capacitor electrode of the storage capacitor constitute the fourth node.
Kim’264 teaches a gate electrode of the first transistor, a source electrode of the second transistor, and a first capacitor electrode of the storage capacitor constitute the first node (Fig.2, a gate electrode of the driving transistor DTa, a source electrode of the compensation transistor T2a, and a first capacitor electrode of the storage capacitor Cst constitute the second node N2); a drain electrode of the first transistor, a drain electrode of the second transistor, and a drain electrode of the fourth transistor constitute the second node (Fig.2, a drain electrode of the driving transistor DTa, a drain electrode of the compensation transistor T2a, and a drain electrode of the operation control transistor T3a constitute the first node N1); a source electrode of the first transistor, a source electrode of the third transistor, and a source electrode of the fifth transistor constitute the third node (Fig.2, a source electrode of the driving transistor DTa, a source electrode of the switching transistor T1a, and a source electrode of the light emission control transistor T4a constitute the third node N3); and a drain electrode of the fifth transistor, a drain electrode of the sixth transistor, and a second capacitor electrode of the storage capacitor constitute the fourth node (Fig.2, a drain electrode of the light emission control transistor T4a, a drain electrode of the initialization transistor T5a, and a second capacitor electrode of the storage capacitor Cst constitute the fourth node N4).
The motivation is the same as the rejection of claim 7.
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cho et al. (US Pub. 2022/0199750 A1) in view of Kim (US Pub. 2008/0246697 A1, referred to as “Kim’697”) as applied to claim 1 above; further in view of Park et al. (US Pub. 2023/0209964 A1).
Regarding claim 9; Cho in view of Kim’697 teaches the display device of claim 1 as discussed above. Cho and Kim’697 do not teach the gate signal includes a first scan signal, a second scan signal, a first emission signal, and a second emission signal; the gate driver includes first and second gate drivers at both side portions of the display panel; the first gate driver includes a second scan block configured to generate the second scan signal and a second emission block configured to generate the second emission signal; and the second gate driver includes a first scan block configured to generate the first scan signal and a first emission block configured to generate the first emission signal.
[AltContent: textbox (Second gate driver)][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (First gate driver)][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: rect][AltContent: rect]
(Fig.1 of Park reproduced)
Park teaches the gate signal includes a first scan signal, a second scan signal, a first emission signal, and a second emission signal (Fig.1, a display device 100 comprises a driving circuit including a first scan driver SD1 generating first scan signal, a second scan driver SD2 generating second scan signal, a first emission driver ED1 generating first emission signal; and a second emission driver ED2 generating second emission signal); the gate driver includes first and second gate drivers at both side portions of the display panel (Fig.1, the driving circuit include first gate driver and second gate driver at both side of a display panel); the first gate driver includes a second scan block configured to generate the second scan signal and a second emission block configured to generate the second emission signal (Fig.1, the first gate driver comprises the first scan driver SD1 and the first emission driver ED1); and the second gate driver includes a first scan block configured to generate the first scan signal and a first emission block configured to generate the first emission signal (Fig.1, the second gate driver comprises the second driver SD2 and the second emission driver ED2).
At the time of invention was effectively filed, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the display system of Cho in view of Kim’697 to include the teaching of Park of providing driving circuit comprising two scan drivers and two emission drivers disposed on both sides of a display panel. The motivation would have been in order to improve the driving efficiency.
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cho et al. (US Pub. 2022/0199750 A1) in view of Kim (US Pub. 2008/0246697 A1, referred to as “Kim’697”) and Park et al. (US Pub. 2023/0209964 A1) as applied to claim 9 above; further in view of Kim et al. (US Pub. 2023/0206852 A1, hereinafter referred to as “Kim’852”).
Regarding claim 10; Cho in view of Kim’697 and Park teaches the display device of claim 9 as discussed above. Cho in view of Kim’697 and Park does not teach the second scan block comprises: a first stage transistor switched according to a voltage of a Q node and connected to the first clock signal and a second stage transistor; the second stage transistor switched according to a voltage of a QB node and connected to the first stage transistor and a gate high voltage; a third stage transistor switched according to the second clock signal and connected to one of a start signal and an (n-1)th second scan signal and a Q2 node; a fourth stage transistor switched according to the first clock signal and connected to the Q2 node and a fifth stage transistor; the fifth stage transistor switched according to the voltage of the QB node and connected to the fourth stage transistor and the gate high voltage; a sixth stage transistor switched according to the second clock signal and connected to a gate low voltage and the QB node; a seventh stage transistor switched according to a voltage of the Q2 node and connected to the second clock signal and the QB node; and an eighth stage transistor switched according to the gate low voltage and connected to the Q2 node and the Q node.
(Fig.4A of Kim’852 reproduced)
Kim’852 teaches the second scan block (a first stage ST1(n) of a gate driver 120, Figs. 1 and 4A) comprises: a first stage transistor (a first transistor T1) switched according to a voltage of a Q node (Fig.4A) and connected to the first clock signal (a first clock signal CLK1) and a second stage transistor (a second transistor T2); the second stage transistor (the second transistor T2) switched according to a voltage of a QB node (see Fig.4A) and connected to the first stage transistor (first transistor T1) and a gate high voltage (VGH); a third stage transistor (a third transistor T3) switched according to the second clock signal (a second clock signal CLK2) and connected to one of a start signal and an (n-1)th second scan signal (carry(n-1) signal) and a Q2 node (Q2 node, Fig.4A); a fourth stage transistor (a fourth transistor T4) switched according to the first clock signal (first clock signal CLK1) and connected to the Q2 node (Fig.4A) and a fifth stage transistor (a fifth transistor T5); the fifth stage transistor (the fifth transistor T5) switched according to the voltage of the QB node (Fig.4A) and connected to the fourth stage transistor and the gate high voltage (VGH); a sixth stage transistor (a sixth transistor T6) switched according to the second clock signal (second clock signal CLK2) and connected to a gate low voltage (VGL2) and the QB node (QB node, Fig.4A); a seventh stage transistor (a seven transistor T7) switched according to a voltage of the Q2 node (Fig.4A) and connected to the second clock signal (second clock signal CLK2) and the QB node (QB node); and an eighth stage transistor (a first auxiliary transistor Ta1) switched according to the gate low voltage (VGL2) and connected to the Q2 node (Q2 node) and the Q node (Q node).
At the time of invention was effectively filed, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the display system of Cho in view of Kim’697 and Park to include the gate driving circuit as taught by Kim’852. The motivation would have been in order to easily generate a high-level scan signal based on the low-level carry signal with the driving timing which has been verified to be reliable (Kim’852, para. [0013 and 0105]).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Inquiries
/NGUYEN H TRUONG/Examiner, Art Unit 2623
/CHANH D NGUYEN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2623