DETAILED ACTION
It would be of great assistance to the Office if all incoming papers pertaining to a filed application carried the following items:
1. Application number (checked for accuracy, including series code and serial no.).
2. Group art unit number (copied from most recent Office communication).
3. Filing date.
4. Name of the examiner who prepared the most recent Office action.
5. Title of invention.
6. Confirmation number (See MPEP § 503).
Status of Claims
Claims 1, 3, 15, 16, 18 and 19 have been amended, claim 2 has been canceled and claims 1 and 3 – 20 are now pending.
Double Patenting
Claims 1 – 20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1 – 19 of U.S. Patent No. 12,493,345. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because:
Claim 1 of Instant Application
Claim 1 of U.S. Patent No. 12,493,345
A head mounted display (HMD) apparatus comprising: a display;
an optical lens adjacent to a first side of the display;
at least one light source configured to emit light; and at least one eye-tracking sensor adjacent to a second side of the display and configured to obtain gaze information about a user
based on the light emitted from the at least one light source, wherein
the display comprises a second display region comprising second pixels, corresponding to a position of the at least one eye-tracking sensor, and
a first display region comprising first pixels, other than the second display region, and
wherein a number of the first pixels per unit area is greater than a number of the second pixels per unit area,
wherein the first display region corresponds to a region of interest in which the user observes an image displayed on the display with central vision, and wherein the second display region is outside the region of interest.
A head mounted display (HMD) apparatus comprising: a display;
an optical lens adjacent to a first side of the display;
at least one light source configured to emit light; and at least one eye-tracking sensor adjacent to a second side of the display and configured to obtain gaze information about a user
by receiving reflected light, the reflected light being at least a portion of the light emitted from the at least one light source and reflected from an eye of the user, wherein
the display comprises a second display region corresponding to a position of the at least one eye-tracking sensor, and
a first display region other than the second display region, and wherein the first display region comprises first pixels and the second display region comprises second pixels, wherein a spacing between two adjacent pixels of the first pixels is less than a spacing between two adjacent pixels of the second pixels, wherein the first display region corresponds to a region of interest that has a reference radius corresponding to a reference angle, which is predetermined based on a center of the optical lens, and a distance between the eye of the user and the optical lens, and wherein the second display region is adjacent to the first display region and is outside the region of interest.
Claim 1 of U.S. Patent No. 12,493,345 differs from that of claim 1 of Instant Application in that it discloses additional limitations and fails to explicitly disclose that a number of the first pixels per unit area is greater than a number of the second pixels per unit area and that the user observes an image displayed on the display with central vision, however claim 1 of U.S. Patent No. 12,493,345 does disclose that a spacing between two adjacent pixels of the first pixels is less than a spacing between two adjacent pixels of the second pixels and that the first display region has a reference radius corresponding to a reference angle, which is predetermined based on a center of the optical lens, and a distance between the eye of the user and the optical lens.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify that teachings of claim 1 of U.S. Patent No. 12,493,345 by removing additional limitations and using the teachings of difference in spacings between adjacent first and second pixels to realize that a number of the first pixels per unit area to be greater than a number of the second pixels per unit area while observing the image displayed on the display with central vision as a simple design choice alternative which would have only required a routine skill.
Claim 3 of Instant Application is similarly rejected over claim 2 of U.S. Patent No. 12,493,345 with the only difference that claim 2 of U.S. Patent No. 12,493,345 does not describe the region of interest as circular. However, claim 2 of U.S. Patent No. 12,493,345 does disclose that the first display region corresponds to a region of interest that has a reference radius. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify that teachings of claim 2 of U.S. Patent No. 12,493,345 such that the region of interest was a circular region, with motivation to alternatively describe the region having a radius, wherein such modification would have only required a routine skill.
Claim 4 of Instant Application is similarly rejected over claim 3 of U.S. Patent No. 12,493,345.
Claim 5 of Instant Application is similarly rejected over claim 4 of U.S. Patent No. 12,493,345.
Claim 6 of Instant Application is similarly rejected over claim 5 of U.S. Patent No. 12,493,345.
Claim 7 of Instant Application is similarly rejected over claim 6 of U.S. Patent No. 12,493,345.
Claim 8 of Instant Application is similarly rejected over claim 7 of U.S. Patent No. 12,493,345.
Claim 9 of Instant Application is similarly rejected over claim 8 of U.S. Patent No. 12,493,345.
Claim 10 of Instant Application is similarly rejected over claim 10 of U.S. Patent No. 12,493,345.
Claim 11 of Instant Application is similarly rejected over claim 11 of U.S. Patent No. 12,493,345.
Claim 12 of Instant Application is similarly rejected over claim 12 of U.S. Patent No. 12,493,345.
Claim 13 of Instant Application is similarly rejected over claim 13 of U.S. Patent No. 12,493,345.
Claim 14 of Instant Application is similarly rejected over claim 9 of U.S. Patent No. 12,493,345.
Claim 15 of Instant Application is similarly rejected over claim 14 of U.S. Patent No. 12,493,345.
Claim 16 of Instant Application is similarly rejected over claim 14 of U.S. Patent No. 12,493,345 with the only difference that claim 14 of U.S. Patent No. 12,493,345 does not describe the region of interest as circular. However, claim 14 of U.S. Patent No. 12,493,345 does disclose that the first display region corresponds to a region of interest that has a reference radius. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify that teachings of claim 14 of U.S. Patent No. 12,493,345 such that the region of interest was a circular region, with motivation to alternatively describe the region having a radius, wherein such modification would have only required a routine skill.
Claim 17 of Instant Application is similarly rejected over claim 16 of U.S. Patent No. 12,493,345.
Claim 18 of Instant Application is similarly rejected over claim 17 of U.S. Patent No. 12,493,345.
Claim 19 of Instant Application is similarly rejected over claim 17 of U.S. Patent No. 12,493,345 with the only difference that claim 17 of U.S. Patent No. 12,493,345 does not describe the region of interest as circular. However, claim 17 of U.S. Patent No. 12,493,345 does disclose that the first display region corresponds to a region of interest that has a reference radius. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify that teachings of claim 17 of U.S. Patent No. 12,493,345 such that the region of interest was a circular region, with motivation to alternatively describe the region having a radius, wherein such modification would have only required a routine skill.
Claim 20 of Instant Application is similarly rejected over claim 19 of U.S. Patent No. 12,493,345.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 4 – 7,10 – 15, 17 – 18 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim et al. (US 2022/0221721).in view of Ouyang et al. (US 20200204715).
As to claim 1, Kim discloses a head mounted display (HMD) apparatus comprising:
a display (DP of fig.1);
an optical lens adjacent to a first side of the display (lenses LS1 and LS2 of fig. 1 adjacent to DP_FS of fig. 5);
at least one light source configured to emit light (plurality of infrared light sources IFR_L1 and IFR_L4 of fig. 5 [0072]);
and at least one eye-tracking sensor (plurality of infrared cameras IFR_C1 and IFR_C4 of fig. 5 [0073]) adjacent to a second side of the display (adjacent to DP_RS of fig. 5) and configured to obtain gaze information about a user based on the light emitted from the at least one light source (The plurality of infrared cameras IFR_C1, IFR_C2, IFR_C3, IFR_C4, IFR_C5, IFR_C6, IFR_C7, and IFR_C8 may sense infrared light IRL emitted from an infrared light source and reflected from the user's pupil PP [0077]), wherein
the display comprises a second display region (regions TR of fig. 5), corresponding to a position of the at least one eye-tracking sensor (infrared cameras IFR_C1 and IFR_C4 of fig. 5), and a first display region other than the second display region (central region of DP corresponding to LS1 and LS2 other than TR of figs. 4 and 5), wherein
the first display region (central region of DP corresponding to LS1 and LS2 other than TR of figs. 4 and 5) corresponds to a region of interest in which the user observes an image displayed on the display with central vision (a portion of DP_FS correspondent to lens LS1 or LS2 not including TRs on which the image and/or the video is displayed [0041 - 0042]), and wherein the second display region (region TR of figs. 1 – 6) is outside the region of interest (figs. 1 – 6),
but fails to disclose that the first display region comprises first pixels and the second display region comprises second pixels, wherein a number of first pixels per unit area is greater than a number of second pixels per unit area.
In the same filed of endeavor, Ouyang discloses a display apparatus comprising a camera element under display [0028 – 0031], wherein the first display region comprises first pixels (second display area [0031]) and the second display region comprises second pixels (first display area [0031]), and wherein a number of first pixels per unit area is greater than a number of second pixels per unit area (A pixel density of the first display area is lower than a pixel density of the second display area [0031]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Kim and the teachings of Ouyang, such that the number of first pixels per unit area was greater than a number of second pixels per unit area as disclosed by Ouyang, with motivation to improve user experience (Ouyang [0004]).
As to claim 4 (dependent on 1), Kim discloses the HMD apparatus, wherein a cross-sectional area of the display (DP of fig. 5) is smaller than a cross-sectional area of the optical lens (LS1 of fig. 5).
As to claim 5 (dependent on 1), Kim discloses the HMD apparatus, wherein the at least one eye-tracking sensor is further configured to obtain biometric information about the user by receiving reflected light (detecting position of user’s pupil [0075] is interpreted as to obtaining biometric information).
As to claim 6 (dependent on 1), Kim discloses the HMD apparatus, wherein
the display comprises:
a substrate (SUB of fig. 7);
a circuit layer on the substrate (circuit layer 111 – 113 of fig. 7);
and a plurality of pixels on the circuit layer (pixels corresponding to PX of figs. 6 and 7), and wherein
the first side of the display (DP_FS of fig. 1 – 7) is adjacent to the plurality of pixels (PX is adjacent to top side of fig. 7), and the second side of the display is adjacent to the substrate (bottom side is adjacent to SUB of fig. 7), but does not disclose that the plurality of pixel comprising the first pixels and the second pixels.
In the same filed of endeavor, Ouyang discloses a display apparatus comprising a camera element under display [0028 – 0031], wherein the first display region comprises first pixels (second display area [0031]) and the second display region comprises second pixels (first display area [0031]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Kim and the teachings of Ouyang, such that the number of first pixels per unit area was greater than a number of second pixels per unit area as disclosed by Ouyang, with motivation to improve user experience (Ouyang [0004]).
As to claim 7 (dependent on 6), Kim discloses the HMD apparatus, wherein the substrate (SUB of fig. 7) is above the at least one eye-tracking sensor (IFR_C1 of fig. 5), and wherein the at least one eye-tracking sensor overlaps an area of the substrate corresponding to an outside of the first display region (overlapping area TR1 of fig. 5 and 7).
As to claim 10 (dependent on 1), Kim discloses the HMD apparatus, wherein a first distance between an eye of the user (EYE of fig. 5) and the optical lens (lens LS of fig. 5) is less than a second distance between the eyes of the user and the display (the eye of fig. 5 is closer to the lens LC than the display DP of fig. 5).
As to claim 11 (dependent on 1), Kim discloses the HMD apparatus, wherein the display comprises a first display corresponding to a left eye of the user and a second display corresponding to a right eye of the user (left and right portions of the display of figs. 1, 2 and 4), wherein the optical lens comprises a first optical lens corresponding to the first display and a second optical lens corresponding to the second display (lenses LS1 and LS2 of figs. 1, 2 and 5), and wherein the at least one eye-tracking sensor comprises at least one first eye-tracking sensor corresponding to the first display (IFR_C1 of fig. 4) and at least one second eye-tracking sensor corresponding to the second display (IFR_C6 of fig. 4).
As to claim 12 (dependent on 11), Kim discloses the HMD apparatus, wherein the at least one light source comprises at least one first eye-tracking light source corresponding to the first display (IFR_L1 of fig. 2) and at least one second eye-tracking light source corresponding to the second display (IFR_L6 of fig. 2).
As to claim 13 (dependent on 1), Kim discloses the HMD apparatus, wherein a transmittance of the second display region is greater than a transmittance of the first display region (pixels are not disposed in the transmissive region [0099 - 0100]).
As to claim 14 (dependent on 6), Kim discloses the HMD apparatus, wherein each of the plurality of pixels comprises an organic light emitting diode (DP may be an organic light-emitting display panel using an organic light-emitting diode [0046]).
As to claim 15, Kim discloses a head mounted display (HMD) apparatus (fig. 1 and 5) comprising:
a display (DP of fig. 5);
an optical lens (lens LS1 and LS2 of figs. 1 and 5) adjacent to a first side of the display (DP_FS of fig. 5);
at least one light source configured to emit light (plurality of infrared light sources IFR_L1 and IFR_L4 of fig. 5 [0072]);
at least one eye-tracking sensor (plurality of infrared cameras IFR_C1 and IFR_C4 of fig. 5 [0073]) adjacent to a second side of the display (DP_RS of fig. 5)
a memory storing at least one instruction (a control unit for controlling an overall operation of the display device 1 [0052 – 0053], inherently comprises a memory);
and at least one processor configured to execute the at least one instruction to obtain gaze information about the user (a processor [0052 - 0053], identifying gaze direction [0175]) based on the light emitted from the at least one light source (The plurality of infrared cameras IFR_C1, IFR_C2, IFR_C3, IFR_C4, IFR_C5, IFR_C6, IFR_C7, and IFR_C8 may sense infrared light IRL emitted from an infrared light source and reflected from the user's pupil PP [0077]), wherein
the display comprises a second display region (regions TR of fig. 5) corresponding to a position of the at least one eye-tracking sensor (infrared cameras IFR_C1 and IFR_C4 of fig. 5), and a first display region other than the second display region (central region of DP corresponding to LS1 and LS2 other than TR of figs. 4 and 5), wherein the first display region (central region of DP corresponding to LS1 and LS2 other than TR of figs. 4 and 5) corresponds to a region of interest in which the user observes an image displayed on the display with central vision (a portion of DP_FS correspondent to lens LS1 or LS2 not including TRs on which the image and/or the video is displayed [0041 - 0042]), and wherein the second display region (region TR of figs. 1 – 6) is outside the region of interest (figs. 1 – 6),
but fails to disclose that the first display region comprises first pixels and the second display region comprises second pixels, wherein a number of first pixels per unit area is greater than a number of second pixels per unit area.
In the same filed of endeavor, Ouyang discloses a display apparatus comprising a camera element under display [0028 – 0031], wherein the first display region comprises first pixels (second display area [0031]) and the second display region comprises second pixels (first display area [0031]), and wherein a number of first pixels per unit area is greater than a number of second pixels per unit area (A pixel density of the first display area is lower than a pixel density of the second display area [0031]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Kim and the teachings of Ouyang, such that the number of first pixels per unit area was greater than a number of second pixels per unit area as disclosed by Ouyang, with motivation to improve user experience (Ouyang [0004]).
As to claim 17 (dependent on 15), Kim discloses the HMD apparatus, wherein the display comprises a first display corresponding to a left eye of the user and a second display corresponding to a right eye of the user (left and right portions of the display of figs. 1, 2 and 4), wherein the optical lens comprises a first optical lens corresponding to the first display and a second optical lens corresponding to the second display (lenses LS1 and LS2 of figs. 1, 2 and 5), wherein the at least one eye-tracking sensor comprises at least one first eye-tracking sensor corresponding to the first display (IFR_C1 of fig. 4) and at least one second eye-tracking sensor corresponding to the second display(IFR_C6 of fig. 4), and wherein the at least one light source comprises at least one first eye-tracking light source corresponding to the first display (IFR_L1 of fig. 2) and at least one second eye-tracking light source corresponding to the second display (IFR_L6 of fig. 2).
As to claim 18, Kim discloses an operating method of a head mounted display (HMD) apparatus (fig. 1) comprising a display and an optical lens (lenses LS1 and LS2 of fig. 1 adjacent to DP_FS of fig. 5) adjacent to a first side of the display (DP_FS of figs. 1 – 5), the operating method comprising:
emitting, by at least one light source of the HMD apparatus (plurality of infrared light sources IFR_L1 and IFR_L4 of fig. 5 [0072]), light toward eyes of a user (light toward pupil PP of fig. 5);
obtaining, by at least one eye-tracking sensor of the HMD apparatus (by plurality of infrared cameras IFR_C1 and IFR_C4 of fig. 5 [0073]) adjacent to a second side of the display (DP_RS of figs. 1 – 5), gaze information about the user based on the emitted light (an infrared camera that receives infrared light reflected from the user's pupil PP may be changed depending on the gaze direction of the user and/or the position of the user's pupil PP [0087], obtaining gaze direction [0087 – 0088], [0157]), wherein
the display comprises a second display region (regions TR of fig. 5) corresponding to a position where the at least one eye-tracking sensor (infrared cameras IFR_C1 and IFR_C4 of fig. 5), and a first display region other than the second display region (central region of DP corresponding to LS1 and LS2 other than TR of figs. 4 and 5), wherein
the first display region (central region of DP corresponding to LS1 and LS2 other than TR of figs. 4 and 5) corresponds to a region of interest in which the user observes an image displayed on the display with central vision (a portion of DP_FS correspondent to lens LS1 or LS2 not including TRs on which the image and/or the video is displayed [0041 - 0042]), and wherein the second display region (region TR of figs. 1 – 6) is outside the region of interest (figs. 1 – 6),
but fails to disclose that the first display region comprises first pixels and the second display region comprises second pixels, wherein a number of first pixels per unit area is greater than a number of second pixels per unit area.
In the same filed of endeavor, Ouyang discloses a display apparatus comprising a camera element under display [0028 – 0031], wherein the first display region comprises first pixels (second display area [0031]) and the second display region comprises second pixels (first display area [0031]), and wherein a number of first pixels per unit area is greater than a number of second pixels per unit area (A pixel density of the first display area is lower than a pixel density of the second display area [0031]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Kim and the teachings of Ouyang, such that the number of first pixels per unit area was greater than a number of second pixels per unit area as disclosed by Ouyang, with motivation to improve user experience (Ouyang [0004]).
As to claim 20 (dependent on 18), Kim discloses operating method, wherein the display comprises a first display corresponding to a left eye of the user and a second display corresponding to a right eye of the user (left and right portions of the display of figs. 1, 2 and 4), wherein the optical lens comprises a first optical lens corresponding to the first display and a second optical lens corresponding to the second display (lenses LS1 and LS2 of figs. 1, 2 and 5), wherein the at least one eye-tracking sensor comprises at least one first eye-tracking sensor corresponding to the first display (IFR_C1 of fig. 4) and at least one second eye-tracking sensor corresponding to the second display (IFR_C6 of fig. 4), and wherein the at least one light source comprises at least one first eye-tracking light source corresponding to the first display (IFR_L1 of fig. 2) and at least one second eye-tracking light source corresponding to the second display (IFR_L6 of fig. 2).
Claim(s) 8 and 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim in view of Ouyang and Song et al. (US 2022/0229296).
As to claim 8 (dependent on 6) and claim 9 (dependent on 8), Kim discloses the HMD apparatus, wherein the substrate (SUB of fig. 7) is near the at least one light source (IFR_L1 of fig. 5 in relation to display DP of fig. 5), and wherein the at least one light source overlaps an area of the substrate (IFR_L1 of fig. 5 overlaps DP of fig. 5) , and the second display region is a transparent region (region TP of figs 5 and 6); wherein the second display region comprises a first sub-display region and a second sub-display region (regions TR may be divided into multiple sub-regions TR1 and TR4 of fig. 5) and the at least one eye-tracking sensor (IFR_C1 of fig. 5) is in the first sub-display region (TR1 of fig. 5), but Kim in view of Ouyang fails to disclose the display substrate is above the at least one light source, the overlap corresponds to the transparent region, the at least one light source is in the second sub-display region.
In the same filed of endeavor, Song discloses an HMD apparatus (fig. 12) wherein display device (waveguide 240 of fig. 12) is above the at least one light source (light emission part 250_1 of fig. 12), the overlap corresponds to the transparent region (region TA of fig. 12), the at least one light source is in the second sub-display region (as shown in fig. 12, the light source 250_1 is in a sub-region of TA).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Kim in view of Ouyang and the teachings of Song, such that the light source was disposed below the substrate in a second sub-region of the transparent region, with motivation to provide a simple design choice alternative for the location of illumination source placement which was well know and would have only required a routine skill.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see Remarks, filed 09/11/2026, with respect to claims 1, 15 and 18 have been fully considered and are persuasive. The rejection of claims under 35 USC § 103 of claims 1 and 3 – 20 has been withdrawn.
Applicant's arguments with response to Double Patenting rejection filed 09/11/2026, a Terminal Disclaimer if required to overcome outstanding Double Patenting rejection.
Applicant's arguments filed 09/11/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. As to Applicant’s argument that Kim fails to disclose wherein the first display region corresponds to a region of interest in which the user observes an image displayed on the display with central vision, and wherein the second display region is outside the region of interest, the Examiner respectfully disagrees.
Kim discloses a first display region (region of DP corresponding to LS1 and LS2 other than TR of figs. 4 and 5) corresponds to a region of interest in which the user observes an image displayed on the display with central vision (a portion of DP_FS correspondent to lens LS1 or LS2 not including TRs on which the image and/or the video is displayed [0041 - 0042]), and wherein the second display region (region TR of figs. 1 – 6) is outside the region of interest (regions TR are outside of a portion of DP_FS correspondent to lens LS1 or LS2 not including TRs on which the image and/or the video is displayed, figs. 1 – 6). Only a portion of DP_FS of Kim, in which the user observes an image displayed on the display with central vision is interpreted to correspond to the region of interest.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/DMITRIY BOLOTIN/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2623