CTNF 19/388,447 CTNF 86527 DETAILED ACTION Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status 07-03-aia AIA 15-10-aia The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102 07-07-aia AIA 07-07 The following is a quotation of the appropriate paragraphs of 35 U.S.C. 102 that form the basis for the rejections under this section made in this Office action: A person shall be entitled to a patent unless – 07-08-aia AIA (a)(1) the claimed invention was patented, described in a printed publication, or in public use, on sale or otherwise available to the public before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. 07-15 AIA Claim s 1-4 and 8-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102( a)(1 ) as being anticipated by Kashiwabara et al. (JP 4-288560, copy/translation attached) . Regarding claims 1 and 10, Kashiwabara discloses (Figs. 1-14) an image forming apparatus (p. 1, line 4) comprising: a controller configured to output image information (p. 5, lines 35-39; p. 6, lines 9-17); an image forming unit 14 (p. 3, lines 35-36) configured to form an image on paper based on the image information output from the controller (p. 3, lines 35-36; p. 8, line 26–p. 9, line 3); a conveyance unit 31 (p. 12, line 22) configured to convey the paper to the image forming unit 14 (as shown in Fig. 14); and a speed correction unit (p. 8, lines 3-7) configured to correct speed of conveyance of the paper by the conveyance unit 31 (i.e. the paper transport speed: p. 9, lines 19-33) based on information regarding an expansion and contraction amount of the image (i.e. based on the change in magnification: p. 9, lines 19-33). Regarding claim 10, Kashiwabara further discloses a post-processing (i.e. after the image on the first side is formed and fixed) conveyance unit (i.e. the rollers etc. in the reversing unit and guiding the sheet to the intermediate tray and back to the drum 14: p. 4, lines 16-20; Fig. 14) configured to convey the paper conveyed from the image forming unit 14; a post-processing drive unit (i.e. the motors that drive the rollers etc. in the reversing unit and guiding the sheet to the intermediate tray: p. 4, lines 16-20) as a driving source of the post-processing conveyance unit (Fig. 14; p. 4, lines 16-20); and a post-processing control unit configured to control the post-processing drive unit (p. 5, lines 35-37), wherein the post-processing control unit is configured to, when receiving information regarding corrected speed of conveyance of the paper (speed in the duplex mode: p. 6, lines 9-12), the corrected speed being the speed corrected by the speed correction unit (p. 6, lines 13-17), control driving of the post-processing drive unit so that conveyance speed of the post-processing drive unit and conveyance speed of the conveyance unit 31 become equal (i.e. the transport speed: p. 9, lines 19-33). Regarding claim 2, Kashiwabara discloses (Figs. 1-14) the controller includes a designation unit configured to designate the expansion and contraction amount of the image (shrinkage/magnification amount: p. 5, lines 7-16) based on a user instruction (i.e. when duplex mode is selected: p. 5, lines 7-8), and provide a notification about the designated expansion and contraction amount of the image (displaying the operation: p. 6, lines 1-3). Regarding claim 3, Kashiwabara discloses (Figs. 1-14) the controller includes a correction enabling unit configured to designate whether to enable correction to expand and contract the image (based on the lengths of the paper: p. 5, lines 7-12), and wherein, in a case where the correction enabling unit designates enabling of the correction to expand and contract the image (p. 5, lines 7-12), the controller is configured to provide a notification about information regarding the expansion and contraction amount of the image (displaying the operation: p. 6, lines 1-3). Regarding claim 4, Kashiwabara discloses (Figs. 1-14) a paper feed unit 29/30 (p. 3, lines 37-38) configured to feed paper placed on a loading unit 2 (p. 3, lines 37-38) to the image forming unit 14 (as shown in Fig. 14); and a paper feed timing control unit configured to, in a case where the speed correction unit corrects the speed of conveyance of the paper (in duplex mode), change a timing to feed the paper from the paper feed unit (i.e. the paper from tray 27 is not fed in the duplex mode since it is printing on the opposite side of the sheet already fed). Regarding claim 8, Kashiwabara discloses (Figs. 1-14) one or more drive units as driving sources of the conveyance unit 31 (implicit, the rollers 31 are driven by some motor: p. 14, lines 30-31). Regarding claim 9, Kashiwabara discloses (Figs. 1-14) the controller is configured to notify the speed correction unit of image information corresponding to the image (i.e. the shrinkage/magnification amount: p. 5, lines 7-16) . Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 07-20-aia AIA The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 103 which forms the basis for all obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action: A patent for a claimed invention may not be obtained, notwithstanding that the claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made. 07-21-aia AIA Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kashiwabara et al. (JP 4-288560) in view of Yamauchi et al. (U.S. Pub. 2007/0153077) . Regarding claim 5, Kashiwabara is applied as above, and discloses a case where the speed correction unit corrects the speed of conveyance of the paper (i.e. in the duplex mode: p. 9, lines 19-33). Kashiwabara does not disclose an image formation start timing determination unit configured to determine a timing to start image formation to be instructed to the controller so that a distance between a leading end of the paper in a conveyance direction and a leading end position of an image to be formed on the paper becomes a predetermined distance. Yamauchi discloses an image formation start timing determination unit 60 [0069] configured to (in a duplex mode, and in consideration of the magnification: [0062]) determine a timing to start image formation to be instructed to the controller [0069] so that a distance between a leading end of the paper in a conveyance direction (as shown in Fig. 3) and a leading end position of an image to be formed on the paper (as shown in Fig. 3) becomes a predetermined distance (i.e. at a position preset with reference to the leading edge: [0069]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Kashiwabara’s device to include an image formation start timing determination unit configured to determine a timing to start image formation to be instructed to the controller so that a distance between a leading end of the paper in a conveyance direction and a leading end position of an image to be formed on the paper becomes a predetermined distance, as taught by Yamauchi. Such a modification would ensure the image appears at the correct position on the rear side of the duplex print . 07-21-aia AIA Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kashiwabara et al. (JP 4-288560) in view of Matsumoto et al. (JP 2008-037532, copy/translation attached) . Regarding claim 6, Kashiwabara is applied as above, and discloses a detection unit 33/35 (p. 9, lines 11-12) configured to detect presence or absence of the paper conveyed by the conveyance unit (p. 5, lines 1-2); and a paper length calculation unit configured to calculate a length of the paper in a conveyance direction based on a period of time in which the detection unit detects the paper (p. 9, lines 11-12); and a case where the speed correction unit corrects the speed of conveyance of the paper (i.e. in the duplex mode: p. 9, lines 19-33). Kashiwabara does not disclose the paper length calculation unit is configured to change an expression to be used by the paper length calculation unit. Matsumoto discloses the paper length calculation unit is configured to change an expression to be used by the paper length calculation unit (middle p. 8: length is calculated based on L=T*V+S, where V is the velocity/speed of the paper). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Kashiwabara’s so that the paper length calculation unit is configured to change an expression to be used by the paper length calculation unit, as taught by Matsumoto. Such a modification would be the application of a known technique to a known device (method, or product) ready for improvement to yield predictable results – MPEP 2143(I)(D) . 07-21-aia AIA Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kashiwabara et al. (JP 4-288560) in view of Matsuo (JP 9-30682, copy/translation attached) . Regarding claim 7, Kashiwabara is applied as above, and discloses a detection unit 33/35 (p. 9, lines 11-12) configured to detect presence or absence of the paper conveyed by the conveyance unit (p. 5, lines 1-2); and a case where the speed correction unit corrects the speed of conveyance of the paper (i.e. in the duplex mode: p. 9, lines 19-33). Kashiwabara does not disclose a paper jam determination unit configured to determine whether a paper jam has occurred based on a result of the detection of the paper, wherein the paper jam determination unit is configured to change a timing to determine that the paper jam has occurred. Matsuo discloses a paper jam determination unit (see Abstract) configured to determine whether a paper jam has occurred based on a result of the detection of the paper (sensors: see Abstract), wherein the paper jam determination unit is configured to change a timing to determine that the paper jam has occurred (i.e. the time to reach the sensor changes based on the speed: see Abstract). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Kashiwabara’s device to include a paper jam determination unit configured to determine whether a paper jam has occurred based on a result of the detection of the paper, wherein the paper jam determination unit is configured to change a timing to determine that the paper jam has occurred, as taught by Matsuo. Such a modification would ensure a more accurate detection of paper jams. Conclusion Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to Benjamin Schmitt, whose telephone number is (571) 270-7930. The examiner can normally be reached M-F | 8:30-5:00. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Walter Lindsay can be reached at (571) 272-1674. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. /BENJAMIN R SCHMITT/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2852 Application/Control Number: 19/388,447 Page 2 Art Unit: 2852 Application/Control Number: 19/388,447 Page 3 Art Unit: 2852 Application/Control Number: 19/388,447 Page 4 Art Unit: 2852 Application/Control Number: 19/388,447 Page 5 Art Unit: 2852 Application/Control Number: 19/388,447 Page 6 Art Unit: 2852 Application/Control Number: 19/388,447 Page 7 Art Unit: 2852 Application/Control Number: 19/388,447 Page 8 Art Unit: 2852 Application/Control Number: 19/388,447 Page 9 Art Unit: 2852