DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Status of Claims
Claims 1-26 are pending.
Claims 21-26 are new.
Claims 1, 5, 14, 15, 19, 20 are amended.
Response to Amendment
Amendments filed on 4/24/2026 have been entered.
The 103 rejections from previous office action have been withdrawn in view of the amendments.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1,3-5, 7, 13-15, 19, 21-26 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Saunders et al (US 2015/0270584 A1) in view of Tuncer et al (US 2022/0341845 A1).
Regarding Claim 1, Claim 14, and Claim 21-23,
Saunders teaches a battery structure that includes a first electrode (i.e. cathode) and a second electrode (i.e. anode) and a battery cell separator formed of a light transmitting material that has light scattering characteristics (Paragraph 0005). In Figure 1, Element 102 is the separator, and Element 104 is the optical waveguide. Saunders teaches that a light source is in optical communication with a first edge of the battery cell separator (Paragraph 0006; first end of optical waveguide in optical contact with edge of separator). Figure 1 shows that the electromagnetic radiation source and the optical waveguide are separate components, and that the second end of the optical waveguide is integrated into the electromagnetic radiation source. See annotated figure 1 below.
Saunders teaches that the light source is LED which is light-emitting diode (Paragraph 0074). This is the same as the electromagnetic radiation source in the instant specification in Paragraph 0043. Since the light source are the same in both Saunders and the instant invention, hence the light source of Saunders is an electromagnetic radiation source. Saunders teaches the use of an IR light source (Paragraph 0048; IR= infrared), and teaches the use of visible light source (Paragraph 0055, 0057). Figure 1 shows that the light source transmits radiation through the second end of the waveguide, and carries it through the waveguide to be emitted from the first end at the edge of the separator.
Saunders teaches that the optical fibers are coupled to the separator (Paragraph 0026), however Saunders does not specifically teach that the electromagnetic radiation is introduced into the separator at an angle relative to an interface between the anode and the separator such that reflection of the electromagnetic radiation at the interface generates the evanescent field at the anode, and wherein the evanescent field inhibits formation or growth of dendrites at the anode.
However, Tuncer teaches an electrical battery with a structure that provides a source of Terahertz electromagnetic radiation, and a coupling arrangement into the waveguide region (Paragraph 0007). Tuncer also states that the parallel plate waveguide is formed using two flat conducting plates comprising a separator in between (Paragraph 0056). This arrangement is similar to the set up of Saunders. Tuncer teaches that the electromagnetic radiation propagates within the waveguide region as an evanescent wave that is bound to the spatial region adjacent to the surface of the electrode (Paragraph 0065; induce an evanescent field at the anode due to the electromagnetic radiation reflecting off an interface between the anode and the separator). Tuncer also appreciates that an evanescent wave is formed when the radiation is incident at an angle greater than the critical angle, and total internal reflection occurs in the waveguide region. This is a common phenomenon in optical waveguides (and optical fibers). Hence, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the structure in Tuncer related to the introduction of the electromagnetic radiation at an angle into the coupling structure of Saunders in order to form an evanescent field in the structure of Saunders as shown by Tuncer to effectively detect the health of the battery (Paragraph 0065).
Since the combination of Saunders and Tuncer induces an evanescent field, it would naturally flow that the growth of dendrites is inhibited due to the evanescent field formation.
Regarding Claim 3,
Saunders teaches that the battery cell separator includes an electrolyte (Paragraph 0024) but does not specifically teach that the separator comprises a solid electrolyte.
However, Tuncer teaches that the electrical battery includes a solid-state battery type which would include a solid electrolyte (Paragraph 0032). Tuncer also refers to the use of a solid electrolyte in Paragraph 0044. Hence, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a solid electrolyte in the separator in order to identify the formation of dendrites.
Regarding Claim 4,
Saunders teaches that the separators have a porous morphology, and that the electrolyte is an ionic liquid (Paragraph 0029).
Regarding Claim 5,
Tuncer teaches that the electromagnetic radiation propagates within the waveguide region as an evanescent wave that is bound to the spatial region adjacent to the surface of the electrode (Paragraph 0065). Upon incidence of the sinusoidal Terahertz electromagnetic radiation at an angle greater than a critical angle of the waveguide region so as to enable total internal reflection in the spatial region adjacent to the surface of the electrode (typically, from a wall of waveguide region), the sinusoidal Terahertz electromagnetic radiation is converted to evanescent wave (Paragraph 0065). Tuncer does not limit the formation of the evanescent field to a particular electrode. Hence, the evanescent field forms on both cathode and anode. Hence, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention that the electromagnetic radiation also induces an evanescent field at the cathode due to the reflection of the electromagnetic radiation an interface between the cathode and the separator based on Tuncer in order to detect the health of the battery.
Regarding Claim 7,
Saunders does not teach about the optical waveguide being a planar coupler.
However, Tuncer teaches the use of electromagnetic radiation in a battery such that the coupling of the radiation is done with ribbon planar waveguides (Paragraph 0053). This is akin to the use of a planar coupler as claimed. Hence, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use a planar coupler in the waveguide in order to allow confinement of the TEM (transverse electromagnetic) mode and allow propagation with minimal loss and distortion (Paragraph 0053).
Regarding Claim 13,
Saunders teaches that polyethylene PE is also used in optical fibers, and cladding is created by fluorinating the surface of the fibers (Paragraph 0028). This is akin to the waveguide (which is the optical fiber) secured in a casing.
Regarding Claim 15, and Claim 19,
Saunders teaches a battery structure that includes a first electrode (i.e. cathode) and a second electrode (i.e. anode) and a battery cell separator formed of a light transmitting material that has light scattering characteristics (Paragraph 0005). In Figure 1, Element 102 is the separator, and Element 104 is the optical waveguide. Saunders teaches that a light source is in optical communication with a first edge of the battery cell separator (Paragraph 0006; first end of optical waveguide in optical contact with edge of separator). See annotated figure 1 below.
Saunders teaches that the light source is LED which is light-emitting diode (Paragraph 0074). This is the same as the electromagnetic radiation source in the instant specification in Paragraph 0043. Since the light source are the same in both Saunders and the instant invention, hence the light source of Saunders is an electromagnetic radiation source. Saunders teaches that the use of an IR light source (Paragraph 0048; IR= infrared), and teaches the use of visible light source (Paragraph 0055, 0057). Figure 1 shows that the light source transmits radiation through the second end of the waveguide, and carries it through the waveguide to be emitted from the first end at the edge of the separator.
Saunders teaches method steps as shown in Claim 12 of Saunders comprising: forming a battery cell separator between a first electrode and a second electrode having associated electrolyte, the battery cell separator formed of a light transmitting material; transmitting, using a light source in optical communication with a first edge of the battery cell separator, light, having a predetermined wavelength, into the battery cell separator. This is akin to the claimed steps of activating an electromagnetic radiation source and introducing it into the separator.
Saunders does not teach detecting that a battery is in charging mode, however Tuncer teaches that the method applies to battery when the state—of-charge is changing (which implies that the battery is in charging mode).
Saunders teaches that the optical fibers are coupled to the separator (Paragraph 0026), however Saunders does not specifically teach that the electromagnetic radiation is introduced into the separator at an angle relative to an interface between the anode and the separator such that reflection of the electromagnetic radiation at the interface generates the evanescent field at the anode, and wherein the evanescent field inhibits formation or growth of dendrites at the anode.
However, Tuncer teaches an electrical battery with a structure that provides a source of Terahertz electromagnetic radiation, and a coupling arrangement into the waveguide region (Paragraph 0007). Tuncer also states that the parallel plate waveguide is formed using two flat conducting plates comprising a separator in between (Paragraph 0056). This arrangement is similar to the set up of Saunders. Tuncer teaches that the electromagnetic radiation propagates within the waveguide region as an evanescent wave that is bound to the spatial region adjacent to the surface of the electrode (Paragraph 0065; induce an evanescent field at the anode due to the electromagnetic radiation reflecting off an interface between the anode and the separator). Tuncer also appreciates that an evanescent wave is formed when the radiation is incident at an angle greater than the critical angle, and total internal reflection occurs in the waveguide region. This is a common phenomenon in optical waveguides (and optical fibers). Hence, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the structure in Tuncer related to the introduction of the electromagnetic radiation at an angle into the coupling structure of Saunders in order to form an evanescent field in the structure of Saunders as shown by Tuncer to effectively detect the health of the battery (Paragraph 0065).
Since the combination of Saunders and Tuncer induces an evanescent field, it would naturally flow that the growth of dendrites is inhibited due to the evanescent field formation.
Regarding Claim 24,
Saunders teaches a battery structure that includes a first electrode (i.e. cathode) and a second electrode (i.e. anode) and a battery cell separator formed of a light transmitting material that has light scattering characteristics (Paragraph 0005).
Saunders teaches that the light source is LED which is light-emitting diode (Paragraph 0074). This is the same as the electromagnetic radiation source in the instant specification in Paragraph 0043. Since the light source are the same in both Saunders and the instant invention, hence the light source of Saunders is an electromagnetic radiation source. Saunders teaches that the use of an IR light source (Paragraph 0048; IR= infrared), and teaches the use of visible light source (Paragraph 0055, 0057).
Saunders teaches in an embodiment that the light source 808 may be directly coupled with an edge of the separator of the battery cell 800 such that the light source 808 essentially is in contact with the edge of the separator (Paragraph 0068).
Saunders does not specifically teach that the electromagnetic radiation is introduced into the separator at an angle relative to an interface between the anode and the separator such that reflection of the electromagnetic radiation at the interface generates the evanescent field at the anode, and wherein the evanescent field inhibits formation or growth of dendrites at the anode.
However, Tuncer teaches an electrical battery with a structure that provides a source of Terahertz electromagnetic radiation, and a coupling arrangement into the waveguide region (Paragraph 0007). Tuncer also states that the parallel plate waveguide is formed using two flat conducting plates comprising a separator in between (Paragraph 0056). This arrangement is similar to the set up of Saunders. Tuncer teaches that the electromagnetic radiation propagates within the waveguide region as an evanescent wave that is bound to the spatial region adjacent to the surface of the electrode (Paragraph 0065; induce an evanescent field at the anode due to the electromagnetic radiation reflecting off an interface between the anode and the separator). Tuncer also appreciates that an evanescent wave is formed when the radiation is incident at an angle greater than the critical angle, and total internal reflection occurs in the waveguide region. This is a common phenomenon in optical waveguides (and optical fibers). Hence, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the structure in Tuncer related to the introduction of the electromagnetic radiation at an angle into the coupling structure of Saunders in order to form an evanescent field in the structure of Saunders as shown by Tuncer to effectively detect the health of the battery (Paragraph 0065).
Since the combination of Saunders and Tuncer induces an evanescent field, it would naturally flow that the growth of dendrites is inhibited due to the evanescent field formation.
Regarding Claim 25 and 26,
Saunders does not teach that the electromagnetic radiation is transverse magnetic polarized relative to the interface between anode and separator.
However, Tuncer teaches that the electromagnetic field of the electromagnetic wave can propagate om a transverse magnetic mode (Paragraph 0052). In the transverse magnetic mode, a magnetic field is perpendicular to the direction of propagation of the electromagnetic wave (Paragraph 0052).
Saunders teaches that a light source is in optical communication with a first edge of the battery cell separator (Paragraph 0006; first end of optical waveguide in optical contact with edge of separator).
Saunders teaches that the optical fibers are coupled to the separator (Paragraph 0026), and that the light sources can be coupled to the optical fibers 1 through n as required (Paragraph 0026). This is akin to the optical waveguide being integrated with the electromagnetic radiation source.
Claim(s) 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Saunders in view of Tuncer and further in view of Paz et al (US 20200127341 A1).
Saunders teaches a lithium ion battery (Paragraph 0011), but does not specifically teach that the anode comprises lithium.
Paz teaches lithium ion batteries comprising anodes may be based on carbon (e.g., graphite, graphene or other carbon-based materials), metalloid anode material such as Si, Ge, Sn and their combinations and/or metals such as Li-metal (Paragraph 0059). Hence, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to make the anode comprising lithium in order to form a lithium ion type of battery to be utilized in the invention of Saunders.
Claim(s) 6, 8-10, 16-18, 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Saunders et al, Tuncer et al, further in view of Raccurt et al (US 20250189384 A1; effective filing date: 12/12/2023).
Regarding Claim 6,
Saunders teaches that the optical waveguide is an optical fiber (Figure 1, Element 104) but does not teach that the optical fiber has a core that is in direct contact with the edge of the separator.
However, Raccurt teaches a fiber optic accumulator that is placed in the separator of a battery (Paragraph 0133), and that the optical fiber is prepared such that there is a region for generating a surface evanescent wave by removing the sheath of the fiber (Paragraph 0050). Removing the sheath of the fiber would allow the core to be exposed, and hence in turn it would be in direct contact with the edge of the separator. Hence, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to employ the optical fiber of Raccurt into the structure of Saunders in order to create a region for generating a surface evanescent wave (Paragraph 0050).
Regarding Claim 8, Claim 16, and Claim 20,
Saunders does not specifically teach that the electromagnetic radiation comprises infrared light and one or both of visible and ultraviolet light, and that the source outputs electromagnetic radiation initially outputting a first wavelength of electromagnetic radiation and subsequently outputting one or more additional wavelengths of electromagnetic radiation.
However, Raccurt teaches a fiber optic accumulator that is placed in the separator of a battery (Paragraph 0133), and is able to emit a light peak at atleast two wavelengths (Paragraph 0070). The wavelength of one of the emission peaks is above 700 nm, preferably between 700 and 1100 nm (i.e. infrared light). The other emissions peal is between 400 and 600 nm (Paragraph 0070; i.e. visible light range). Hence, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the method of Saunders, with the wavelengths stated in Raccurt in order to combine sensing the temperature and state of lithiation of an electrode (Paragraph 0068).
Regarding Claim 9,
Saunders does not teach that the electromagnetic radiation is transverse magnetic polarized relative to the interface between anode and separator.
However, Tuncer teaches that the electromagnetic field of the electromagnetic wave can propagate om a transverse magnetic mode (Paragraph 0052). In the transverse magnetic mode, a magnetic field is perpendicular to the direction of propagation of the electromagnetic wave (Paragraph 0052).
Regarding Claim 10,
Saunders does not specifically teach about a polarizer used for the electromagnetic radiation to be transverse magnetic polarized.
However, Tuncer teaches that the electromagnetic field propoagtes through the waveguide in a transverse magnetic mode (Paragraph 0052), and the waveguide mode is achieved by coupling a linearly polarized electric field which implies the use of polarizer (Paragraph 0054). Hence, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a polarizer used for the electromagnetic radiation to be transverse magnetic polarized in order to enable the propagation of the electromagnetic wave in the waveguide.
Regarding Claim 17,
Saunders does not teach that the first wavelength of electromagnetic radiation comprises infrared light.
Per instant specification, the electromagnetic radiation source emits 808nm wavelength which is in the infrared range (Paragraph 0053). Raccurt teaches the wavelength of one of the emission peaks is above 700 nm (between 700 and 1100 nm). The value in the instant specification is within the range in Raccurt, and hence, the range of Raccurt includes the infrared light wavelength. Hence, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the method of Saunders and Tuncer with the wavelengths stated in Raccurt in order to combine sensing the temperature and state of lithiation of an electrode (Paragraph 0068).
Regarding Claim 18,
Saunders does not teach that the first wavelength of electromagnetic radiation is output until a temperature exceeds a threshold and the one or more additional wavelengths of electromagnetic radiation are output after the temperature exceeds the threshold.
However, Raccurt teaches in Paragraph 0083 that the fiber optic accumulator has thermoluminescent materials which operate in such a way that the first peak (peak 1) remains constant when the temperature changes, while the second peak (peak 2) decreases when the temperature increases (FIG. 10). If the second peak decreases with temperature, then at a certain point the wavelength intensity will be negligible or zero, while peak 1 remains constant. This shows that there is a temperature threshold at which the electromagnetic wavelength is a first wavelength until a temperature exceeds a threshold and one or more additional wavelengths of electromagnetic radiation are output after the temperature exceeds the threshold. Hence, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the method of Saunders and Tuncer with the temperature threshold relationship stated in Raccurt in order to combine sensing the temperature and state of lithiation of an electrode (Paragraph 0068).
Claims 11, 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Saunders in view of Tuncer, further in view of Brown et al (US 2024/0186620 A1).
Regarding Claim 11,
Saunders teaches circuitry attached to the light transmitter, and a mixture of conventional electronic structures as well as flexible, printed components (Paragraph 0081). Saunders does not specifically teach a controller that causes the electromagnetic radiation source to output infrared light and visible or ultraviolet light.
However, Brown teaches an electrochemical system that comprises a separator with optical fibers, and an electromagnetic wave generator similar to Saunders. Brown teaches that within an electromagnetic generator, an LC circuit resonant frequency may be adjusted by adjusting the inductance of an inductor or capacitance of a capacitor or that of multiple inductors and/or capacitors connected in the dielectric heating circuit, the adjustment can be mechanically or electronically (Paragraph 0292). An electronic adjustment of the frequency implies the use of a controller type system to adjust the frequency. Brown teaches that the electromagnetic frequency range is 103 to 1012 Hz which includes microwave, radio, infrared (Paragraph 0013, 0297). Brown also teaches that the parameters of the wave may be tuned to specifically heat the embedded dielectrically heatable materials. The frequency of the wave can be tuned to co-resonate the material to achieve maximum absorption (Paragraph 0247). Hence, Brown suggests optimizing the wavelengths used for the battery, thus including the use of both infrared and visible light spectrums. Hence, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a controller that causes the electromagnetic radiation source to output infrared light and visible or ultraviolet light as described in Brown into the system of Saunders.
Regarding Claim 12,
Saunders does not teach that the controller is configured to cause the electromagnetic radiation source to output the infrared light prior to outputting the visible or ultraviolet light.
However, Brown teaches a controller that can adjust the resonant frequency in the electromagnetic generator. The claim recites “controller is configured to” which is a functional limitation that defines the invention by what it does, rather than what it is. See MPEP 2173.05(g). Brown teaches the claimed controller as stated in the above rejection. Brown teaches that the electromagnetic frequency range is 103 to 1012 Hz which includes microwave, radio, infrared (Paragraph 0013, 0297). Brown also teaches that the parameters of the wave may be tuned to specifically heat the embedded dielectrically heatable materials. The frequency of the wave can be tuned to co-resonate the material to achieve maximum absorption (Paragraph 0247). Hence, Brown suggests optimizing the wavelengths used for the battery, thus including the use of both infrared and visible light spectrums. Therefore, the controller can be configured to cause the radiation source to output in the manner claimed. Hence, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a controller is configured to cause the electromagnetic radiation source to output the infrared light prior to outputting the visible or ultraviolet light as shown in Brown into the system of Saunders.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on the combination of references applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Applicant’s arguments, filed 4/24/2026, with respect to prior art reference of Brown have been fully considered and are persuasive. The 103 rejection of Claim 1 has been withdrawn.
Applicant argues that Saunders does not disclose any requirement or mechanism for angle-dependent reflection at an electrode interface, and that Tuncer discloses evanescent waves in a fundamentally different system involving THz radiation propagating within an internal parallel-plate waveguide, rather than via edge-coupled optical injection into a separator. There is no teaching, suggestion, or motivation in the cited references to modify any of the references to achieve this configuration. Examiner disagrees with this argument because both Saunders and Tuncer are in analogous field of art related to utilizing optical inputs through waveguides during operation of batteries. Also, one of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to combine the invention of Saunders in view of Tuncer to introduce the electromagnetic wave at an angle into the separator in order to form an evanescent field in the structure of Saunders as shown by Tuncer to effectively detect the health of the battery (Paragraph 0065).
Conclusion
/SUHANI JITENDRA PATEL/Examiner, Art Unit 1783
/MARIA V EWALD/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1783