DETAILED ACTION
This is in response to application filed on November 13th, 2025 in which claims 1-40 were presented for examination, wherein preliminary amendment on 6/22/26 are presenting Claims 1-12, 41-50 for examination.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I (Claims 1-12) and Species B (Figs. 7-15) in the reply filed on 6/22/26 is acknowledged.
Priority
Provisional 63/720,666 filed 11/14/24 only supports the generic claims in the application herein. Provisional 63/814,904 filed 5/30/25 supports all claims, including that of the elected embodiment.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement(s) filed 7/1/26 and 4/21/26 fails to comply with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97, 1.98 and MPEP § 609 because of the following:
Multiple non-patent literature (NPL) documents and foreign reference documents have not been provided in the file wrapper, as indicated by the annotated strikethroughs. Examiner notes that multiple NPL documents were submitted without proper labels to correspond to the documents in the information disclosure statements; for example, some NPLs were missing exhibit labels and/or case #s, some NPLs were missing the website address or other clear identifying labels to correspond to the information disclosure statements
The statement(s) has been placed in the application file, but the information referred to therein has not been considered as to the merits. Applicant is advised that the date of any re-submission of any item of information contained in this information disclosure statement or the submission of any missing element(s) will be the date of submission for purposes of determining compliance with the requirements based on the time of filing the statement, including all certification requirements for statements under 37 CFR 1.97(e). See MPEP § 609.05(a).
Specification
The abstract of the disclosure is objected to because of the following:
Abstract should be considered to be amended to reflect the elected embodiment of Figs. 7-15, such as pertaining to the different number of stitches differentiating first/second knitted raised structures; otherwise, abstract is currently the same as related case 19/388,891
Correction is required. See MPEP § 608.01(b).
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities:
[0077] bottom of page 30 sentence beginning with “When compared to portions” is an incomplete sentence and needs review
[00120] “high-tenacity yarns may comprise a PET or recycled PET yarn” needs review as to whether it should read “higher-melting yarns may comprise a PET or recycled PET yarn” in light of at least [0075], [00141] pertaining to PET or recycled PET; examiner notes that specific materials for the high-tenacity yarns have not been disclosed in the original disclosure, other than [0075] yarns having a tenacity greater than or equal to 5 g/D ([0075])
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Objections
Claim(s) 46, 48 is/are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 46 Lines 1-2 “wherein the yarn comprises a core yarn and a coating” is recommended to read “core component” to better differentiate with “the yarn”
Claim 48 Line 2 delete “Styrene Ethylene/Butylene Styrene” and substitute –styrene ethylene/butylene styrene” without the capitalization
Disagreement with any of the aforementioned may warrant at least a 112(b) indefiniteness rejection without constituting a new rejection
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim(s) 46 is/are rejected under U.S.C. 112(b).
The term “interlooped yarns” in Claim 46 Lines 3-4 is unclear and therefore renders the claim indefinite. It is unclear to what plurality of yarns the term refers to. For the purposes of applying art and providing rejections, the term will be considered met inasmuch as the thermoformed network is of a knit.
Claim Interpretation
Regarding Claim(s) 42-- the recitations are being treated as a product-by-process limitation. It is noted that the determination of patentability in a product-by-process claim is based on the product itself, even though the claim may be limited and defined by the process. That is, the product in such a claim is unpatentable if it is the same as or obvious from the product of the prior art, even if the prior product was made by a different process. In re Thorpe, 777 F.2d 695, 697, 227 USPQ 964, 966 (Fed. Cir. 1985). A product-by-process limitation adds no patentable distinction to the claim, and is unpatentable if the claimed product is the same as a product of the prior art; more specifically, the structure of Claim(s) 42 is inner knit component and outer knit component secured together in a layered assembly.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-9, 11, 12, 41, 42, 44-47, 49, 50 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by McFarland II, et al (US Publication 2020/0048800), herein McFarland.
Regarding Claim 1, McFarland teaches an article of footwear (see Figs. 1-3, 6; [0024] "article of footwear 100 may include an upper 102, where the upper 102 is substantially formed as a textile component. The textile component may be any suitable type of textile, and in some embodiments it may be formed as a knitted component”), comprising:
a sole structure ([0024] " the upper 102 may be secured to a sole structure 106"); and
an upper secured to the sole structure ([0024]),
the upper comprising:
an inner knit component (146) comprising a forefoot region, a midfoot region, and a heel region (see Figs. 1, 3 for regions; [0027] "at least a portion of the upper 102 may be formed by a knitted component 104"; see Fig. 4; [0035] "The first layer 144 may include the above-described fused area, such that it can be considered to have formed a “shell” for providing protection and other desirable properties for the outer surface 130, and the second layer 146 may be formed of a material (e.g., elastane, cotton, or polyester) having desirable comfort-related characteristics for contacting a foot or sock of a wearer, such as a desirable elasticity, absorption and/or anti-abrasiveness"), and
an outer knit component (144) positioned overtop at least a portion of the inner knit component (see Figs. 1, 3 for overtop; [0030] “As shown in FIG. 3, the knitted component 104 may substantially form the pods 132 and the surrounding edge regions 134. When thermoplastic polymer material is included and configured to be fused during a heat-processing step, the thermoplastic polymer material may be exposed on the outer surface 130 of the knitted component 104 only at the pods 132, and other materials may be used to form the outer surface 130 at the edge regions 134"; [0035]),
the outer knit component comprising at least an instep region, a lateral forefoot region, and a medial forefoot region (see Figs. 1, 2),
the outer knit component comprising at least a first knitted raised structure extending outwardly from a knitted base area (see Fig. 6 for outer knit component extending outwardly from an area of the inner component, which is knit and a base relative to the outer knit component, and therefore the outer knit component being a first knitted raised structure relative to the inner component, at least for its existence/thickness),
wherein an outer-facing surface of the first knitted raised structure comprises a higher concentration of a thermoplastic elastomer than an outer-facing surface of at least a portion of the knitted base area ([0036] "fused material forming the first layer 144"; [0038] "knitted component 104 forming the upper 102…has a first pod 158, a second pod 160, and a third pod 162"; [0037] "four yarns…first yarn 168, a second yarn 170, a third yarn 172, and a fourth yarn 174"; [0038] "first yarn 168...at least partially formed with a thermoplastic polymer material having a suitable melting point that is substantially lower than...second yarn 170...third yarn 172 and fourth yarn 174"; [0038] "thermoplastic polymer materials include polyurethanes, polyamides, polyolefins, and nylons"; [0038] "first yarn 168 may be a yarn with a thermoplastic polymer sheath with a relatively low melting point surrounded by a core"; wherein it is known in the art that thermoplastic polyurethane is a thermoplastic elastomer, see at least applicant specification [0049]; for outer-facing-- [0034] "first layer 144 is an outer layer and the second layer 146 is an inner layer nearer the void when incorporated into the article of footwear 100"; [0043] "second surface 156...of the second yarn 170"; "second yarn 170 is a polyester yarn 170"; " the second surface 156 may have relative softness and/or other comfort-related characteristics that are suitable and desirable for contacting the foot or sock of a wearer"; as such, outer-facing surface 144 having the thermoplastic polyurethane sheath/core has greater concentration of thermoplastic elastomer/thermoplastic polyurethane than outer-facing surface of inner component of polyester which does not contain thermoplastic polyurethane).
Regarding Claim 2, McFarland teaches the article of footwear of claim 1, wherein at least a portion of the heel region of the inner knit component is exposed on the article of footwear (see Fig. 1 for [0025] “heel area 126” being without the pods).
Regarding Claim 3, McFarland teaches the article of footwear of claim 2, wherein at least the forefoot region of the inner knit component is covered on the article of footwear (see Figs. 1, 2).
Regarding Claim 4, McFarland teaches the article of footwear of claim 1, wherein the first knitted raised structure comprises a tapered shape (see Fig. 1 wherein the entirety of the pods taper in Fig. 1, as the pods/grids get smaller; [0032] "pods 132 in a first zone 136 may be larger…than the pods 132 in a second zone 138”).
Regarding Claim 5, McFarland teaches the article of footwear of claim 1, wherein the first knitted raised structure is located in a first knit zone of the outer knit component (see Fig. 2 for 132 at first zone/instep being "[0025] "throat area 114").
Regarding Claim 6, McFarland teaches the article of footwear of claim 5, wherein the first knit zone is located at one or more of a lateral side and a medial side of the instep region of the outer knit component (see Fig. 2 for 132 at latera/medial of first zone/instep being "[0025] "throat area 114").
Regarding Claim 7, McFarland teaches the article of footwear of claim 5, further comprising a second knitted raised structure located in a second knit zone of the upper (see Figs. 1-3; first raised structure is of first zone 136; second raised structure is of second zone 138; wherein zones are different via [0032] "pods 132 in a first zone 136 may be larger…than the pods 132 in a second zone 138”; wherein 138 is of the outer knit component and therefore is a knitted structure raised relative to the inner knit component, at least by its existence/thickness),
the second knitted raised structure extending outwardly from the knitted base area (similar to rejection of claim 1, pods 132 of second zone 138 of outer component still extends from inner component),
the second knitted raised structure comprising a different number of knit stitches per unit area compared to the first knitted raised structure (wherein zones are different in size-- [0032] "pods 132 in a first zone 136 may be larger…than the pods 132 in a second zone 138"; see Fig. 6 for knitted stitches [0037] "first pod 158, a second pod 160, and a third pod 162"; as such, there are more stitches based on size).
Regarding Claim 8, McFarland teaches the article of footwear of claim 7, wherein the second knit zone is located in one or more of the lateral forefoot region and the medial forefoot region of the outer knit component (second raised structure is of second zone 138; see Fig. 3 on lateral/medial forefoot).
Regarding Claim 9, McFarland teaches the article of footwear of claim 7, wherein an outer-facing surface of the second knitted raised structure comprises a higher concentration of the thermoplastic elastomer than the outer-facing surface of at least the portion of the knitted base area (see rejection of Claim 1, wherein the same would apply to the second knitted raised structure being of the same material of the first knitted raised structure).
Regarding Claim 11, McFarland teaches the article of footwear of claim 1, wherein at least a first yarn is embedded within the thermoplastic elastomer on the outer-facing surface of the first knitted raised structure ([0038] "first yarn 168 may be a yarn with a thermoplastic polymer sheath with a relatively low melting point surrounded by a core"; wherein first yarn is met by “core”; wherein sheath indicates embedding, if not also in light of [0042] "when heat-process 172...fusible material of the first yarn 168 fuses to form a rigid first surface 154"; see Fig. 6; wherein fusing indicates embedding).
Regarding Claim 12, McFarland teaches the article of footwear of claim 1, wherein the inner knit component is formed without any knitted raised structure (see Figs. 1-3).
Regarding Claim 41, McFarland teaches an article of footwear (see Figs. 1-3, 6; [0024] "article of footwear 100 may include an upper 102, where the upper 102 is substantially formed as a textile component. The textile component may be any suitable type of textile, and in some embodiments it may be formed as a knitted component”), comprising:
a sole structure ([0024] " the upper 102 may be secured to a sole structure 106"); and
an upper secured to the sole structure ([0024]),
the upper comprising:
an inner knit component (146) (see Figs. 1, 3 for regions; [0027] "at least a portion of the upper 102 may be formed by a knitted component 104"; see Fig. 4; [0035] "The first layer 144 may include the above-described fused area, such that it can be considered to have formed a “shell” for providing protection and other desirable properties for the outer surface 130, and the second layer 146 may be formed of a material (e.g., elastane, cotton, or polyester) having desirable comfort-related characteristics for contacting a foot or sock of a wearer, such as a desirable elasticity, absorption and/or anti-abrasiveness"), and
an outer knit component (144) positioned overtop at least a portion of the inner knit component, such that the outer knit component forms at least part of an outer-facing surface of the upper (see Figs. 1, 3 for overtop and outer-facing surface; [0030] “As shown in FIG. 3, the knitted component 104 may substantially form the pods 132 and the surrounding edge regions 134. When thermoplastic polymer material is included and configured to be fused during a heat-processing step, the thermoplastic polymer material may be exposed on the outer surface 130 of the knitted component 104 only at the pods 132, and other materials may be used to form the outer surface 130 at the edge regions 134"; [0035]),
the outer knit component comprising at least an instep region, a lateral forefoot region, and a medial forefoot region (see Figs. 1, 2),
the outer knit component comprising at least a first knitted raised structure extending outwardly from a knitted base area (see Fig. 6 for outer knit component extending outwardly from an area of the inner component, which is knit and a base relative to the outer knit component, and therefore the outer knit component being a first knitted raised structure relative to the inner component, at least for its existence/thickness),
wherein an outer-facing surface of the first knitted raised structure comprises a higher concentration of a thermoplastic elastomer than an outer-facing surface of at least a portion of the knitted base area (see Fig. 6; [0036] "fused material forming the first layer 144"; [0038] "knitted component 104 forming the upper 102…has a first pod 158, a second pod 160, and a third pod 162"; [0037] "four yarns…first yarn 168, a second yarn 170, a third yarn 172, and a fourth yarn 174"; [0038] "first yarn 168...at least partially formed with a thermoplastic polymer material having a suitable melting point that is substantially lower than...second yarn 170...third yarn 172 and fourth yarn 174"; [0038] "thermoplastic polymer materials include polyurethanes, polyamides, polyolefins, and nylons"; [0038] "first yarn 168 may be a yarn with a thermoplastic polymer sheath with a relatively low melting point surrounded by a core"; wherein it is known in the art that thermoplastic polyurethane is a thermoplastic elastomer, see at least applicant specification [0049]; for outer-facing-- [0034] "first layer 144 is an outer layer and the second layer 146 is an inner layer nearer the void when incorporated into the article of footwear 100"; [0043] "second surface 156...of the second yarn 170"; "second yarn 170 is a polyester yarn 170"; " the second surface 156 may have relative softness and/or other comfort-related characteristics that are suitable and desirable for contacting the foot or sock of a wearer"; as such, outer-facing surface 144 having the thermoplastic polyurethane sheath/core has greater concentration of thermoplastic elastomer/thermoplastic polyurethane than outer-facing surface of inner component of polyester which does not contain thermoplastic polyurethane).
Regarding Claim 42, McFarland teaches the article of footwear of claim 41, wherein the inner knit component and the outer knit component are separately knit components that are secured together in a layered assembly (inasmuch as the inner/outer components are different elements, the elements are separately knit; see Fig. 6 for secured together in layered assembly; furthermore, see claim interpretation; the recitation “separately knit” is being treated as a product-by-process limitation. Therefore, even if McFarland’s method results in different structural characteristics of the end product than other inner/outer component knitting methods, it still would have been prima facie obvious at the time the invention was made to use the McFarland’s method above as claimed since such a process is a well-known technique in the art; in other words, the inner/outer knit components secured together in a layered assembly teaches the structure of Claim 42 because it has the structure of Claim 42).
Regarding Claim 44, McFarland teaches the article of footwear of claim 41, wherein the thermoplastic elastomer is fused (see Fig. 6; [0036] "fused material forming the first layer 144"; [0038] "knitted component 104 forming the upper 102…has a first pod 158, a second pod 160, and a third pod 162"; [0037] "four yarns…first yarn 168, a second yarn 170, a third yarn 172, and a fourth yarn 174"; [0038] "first yarn 168...at least partially formed with a thermoplastic polymer material having a suitable melting point that is substantially lower than...second yarn 170...third yarn 172 and fourth yarn 174"; [0038] "thermoplastic polymer materials include polyurethanes, polyamides, polyolefins, and nylons"; [0038] "first yarn 168 may be a yarn with a thermoplastic polymer sheath with a relatively low melting point surrounded by a core"; for fused-- [0042] "when heat-process 172...fusible material of the first yarn 168 fuses to form a rigid first surface 154"; see Fig. 6).
Regarding Claim 45, McFarland teaches the article of footwear of claim 44, wherein the outer knit component comprises a yarn comprising the thermoplastic elastomer (see Fig. 6 for outer component 144 with surface 154 of yarn 168; [0038] "first yarn 168 may be a yarn with a thermoplastic polymer sheath with a relatively low melting point surrounded by a core"; [0038] "thermoplastic polymer materials include polyurethanes, polyamides, polyolefins, and nylons", especially polyurethane).
Regarding Claim 46, McFarland teaches the article of footwear of claim 45, wherein the yarn comprises a core yarn and a coating ([0038] "first yarn 168 may be a yarn with a thermoplastic polymer sheath with a relatively low melting point surrounded by a core"),
the coating comprising the thermoplastic elastomer ([0038] "first yarn 168 may be a yarn with a thermoplastic polymer sheath with a relatively low melting point surrounded by a core"; [0038] "thermoplastic polymer materials include polyurethanes, polyamides, polyolefins, and nylons", especially polyurethane),
wherein the thermoplastic elastomer of the coating that is fused forms a thermoformed network of interlooped yarns (as best understood in light of the 112(b) rejections--wherein the core is of a knit layer of interlooped yarns).
Regarding Claim 47, McFarland teaches the article of footwear of claim 41, wherein the thermoplastic elastomer comprises a thermoplastic polyurethane ([0038] "first yarn 168 may be a yarn with a thermoplastic polymer sheath with a relatively low melting point surrounded by a core"; [0038] "thermoplastic polymer materials include polyurethanes, polyamides, polyolefins, and nylons").
Regarding Claim 49, McFarland teaches the article of footwear of claim 41, wherein the thermoplastic elastomer comprises part of a core-sheath yarn forming at least part of the outer knit component (see Fig. 6 for outer component 144 with surface 154 of yarn 168; [0038] "first yarn 168 may be a yarn with a thermoplastic polymer sheath with a relatively low melting point surrounded by a core"; [0038] "thermoplastic polymer materials include polyurethanes, polyamides, polyolefins, and nylons"; wherein first yarn 168 is of outer knit component).
Regarding Claim 50, McFarland teaches the article of claim 41, wherein the inner knit component and the outer knit component are secured together at the sole structure (see Fig. 1-3; [0024] "area where the sole structure 106 joins the upper 102 may be referred to as a biteline 112").
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over McFarland II, et al (US Publication 2020/0048800), herein McFarland, in view of Danby et al (USPN 12378707), herein Danby ‘707.
Regarding Claim 10, McFarland teaches all the claimed limitations as discussed above in Claim 1.
McFarland does not explicitly teach wherein the knitted base area comprise one or more yarns having a tenacity greater than or equal to about 5 grams per denier (g/D).
However, McFarland does teach that the knitted base area of the upper is of polyester ([0043] "second surface 156...of the second yarn 170"; "second yarn 170 is a polyester yarn 170"; " the second surface 156 may have relative softness and/or other comfort-related characteristics that are suitable and desirable for contacting the foot or sock of a wearer").
Danby ‘707 teaches high-tenacity polyester for a knitted upper (Col. 11 Lines 41-43 "material suited for construction of a knitted component for an upper…of an article of footwear…is a high tenacity polyester yarn”, wherein it is known that high tenacity polyester meets the range of having a tenacity greater than or equal to about 5 g/D, see extrinsic evidence Lida NPL).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify McFarland’s polyester to be of high-tenacity as taught by Danby ‘707 to provide desired structural strength (Col. 11 Lines 59-60).
Claim(s) 43 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over McFarland II, et al (US Publication 2020/0048800), herein McFarland, in view of Montgomery et al (USPN 11877605), herein Montgomery.
Regarding Claim 43, McFarland teaches all the claimed limitations as discussed above in Claim 41.
McFarland does not explicitly teach wherein the first knitted raised structure comprises an ottoman rib stitch.
Montgomery teaches apparel with ottoman rib stitch (see Fig. 1; abstract "knit lower-body garment"; Co. 6 Lines 20-26 "knit structure 160...ottoman stitch...other stitch types are contemplated").
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify McFarland’s outer component (and therefore first knitted raised structure) to be an ottoman stitch as taught by Montgomery for aesthetic design choice in the same art of endeavor as apparel, if not also to hide unevenness (see extrinsic evidence Blore USPN 3609999).
Claim(s) 48 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over McFarland II, et al (US Publication 2020/0048800), herein McFarland, in view of Danby et al (US Publication 2023/0087149), herein Danby ‘149.
Regarding Claim 48, McFarland teaches all the claimed limitations as discussed above in Claim 41.
McFarland does not explicitly teach the thermoplastic elastomer comprises a styrene ethylene/butylene styrene.
However, McFarland does teach wherein the thermoplastic elastomer comprises a thermoplastic polyurethane ([0038] "first yarn 168 may be a yarn with a thermoplastic polymer sheath with a relatively low melting point surrounded by a core"; [0038] "thermoplastic polymer materials include polyurethanes, polyamides, polyolefins, and nylons”).
Danby ‘149 teaches wherein the thermoplastic elastomer comprises a thermoplastic polyurethane or a styrene ethylene/butylene styrene ([0020] "coating of a core yarn can be thermoplastic elastomer"; [00127] "thermoplastic elastomer may include…styrene ethylene/butylene styrene (SEBS)...thermoplastic elastomeric polyester polyurethane").
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify McFarland’s thermoplastic polyurethane to be the styrene ethylene/butylene styrene as taught by Danby ‘149 as a simple substitution of one thermoplastic elastomer for another, depending on availability, especially as known in the same art of endeavor as core/sheath arrangements in footwear.
Examiner Notes
Examiner may suggest the following amendments:
Claim 1 Line 10 after “base area” add –of the outer knit component—
Claim 41 Line 11 after “area” add –of the outer knit component—
Courtesy call was not made for examiner’s amendments based on at least the plethora of issues regarding the information disclosure statement(s), and based upon examiner knowledge that applicant prefers written office actions, especially in light of the other various issues herein.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure and can be used to formulate a rejection if necessary: Matsuzaki et al (WO 2016/194763) directed to apparel raised structures of differing heights; Poulsen et al (USPN 11408102), Manz et al (USPN 11197517), Oordt et al (USPN 11168417), Follet et al (US Publication 2017/0071290), Basa et al (US Publication 2020/0329816) directed to inner/outer components with raised structure; Dua et al (USPN 10094053), Fraizer et al (USPN 11564443), Leimer et al (US Publication 2020/0324499), McFarland et al (USPN 10524530) directed to core-sheath fusible yarn; Dojan et al (USPN 8887410), Becker et al (USPN 11324282), Dekovic et al (USPN 11707105), Hipp et al (US Publication 2017/0311672), Klug et al (USPN 11129440) directed to inner/outer components; Lee et al (USPN 12467168), Dua et al (USPN 12532943), Brown et al (USPN 12543814) directed to tenacity greater than 5 g/D; Zhang et al (USPN 10415162), Siegiesmund et al (USPN 12016430), Fraser et al (USPN 11166516) directed to ottoman rib stitch.
/GRACE HUANG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3732