Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election with traverse of Group I in the reply filed on 7/6/2026 is acknowledged. Applicant’s traversal is on the basis that there would be no undue burden to search the groups together. Applicant’s arguments are not found persuasive because there would be an undue search burden for the reasons set forth in the restriction requirement which applicant has not addressed. The restriction requirement is therefore still deemed proper and is made FINAL.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 20-39 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. The term “characterized in that” that appears in claim 20 and the dependent claims is indefinite because it’s unclear how or in what way the phrase limits the claim. The phrase divides a claim into a pre-characterizing part and a post-characterizing part, and it’s unclear how the partition of pre-characterizing part and a post-characterizing limits the claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 20-39 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over WO 01/39815 A2 to Szoka (document already in record) in view of Stefanick (ACS Nano, 2013; document already in record) in further view of Takayama (Am J Cardiol, 2016; document already n record). Szoka teaches a method of treating comprises: a nanocarrier delivery system is administered to a subject in need thereof comprising liposome nanocarrier delivery system (a medicament comprising the nanocarrier delivery system and pharmaceutically acceptable carriers; a diagnostic preparation characterized in that the diagnostic preparation comprises the nanocarrier delivery system) comprising an agent for the treatment of disease (abstract) characterized in that the surface of the nanocarrier is partially modified by a targeting ligand, and the targeting ligand is a ligand capable of specifically binding to an activated CD44 molecule (page 7, lines 8-17; page 8, lines 6-27; page 12, line 13). The system may comprise 125I (an iodine-based nanoscale contrast agent) page 16, line 25) or MRI contrast agent (an MRI tracer; MRI contrast agents work by longitudinal relaxation, transverse relaxation, or a combination thereof (page 4, lines 26-27). The liposomes may be small unilamellar, large unilammellar, or multi-lamellar vesciles (page 7, lines 15-17). The substance may be a regulator of CD44 (a CD44 activator) (page 6, lines 4-20). The targeting ligand may be hyaluronic acid (page 5, line 4). The hyaluronic acid may have a molecular weight of less than about 5,000 (less than 5Kda) (page 7, lines 8-12). The substance may be a drug or polypeptide (page 3, line 32; page 21, lines 28-32). The liposome nanocarrier delivery system may comprise a hyaluronan ligand with an affinity for CD44 receptors (abstract). The system may comprise anti-inflammatory agents (an active pharmaceutical ingredient for treating vulnerable plaques) (page 8, lines 25-27). The system may be a diagnostic preparation (page 3, lines 32-33). The system is part of a medicament comprising water (a pharmaceutically acceptable carrier) (page 3, lines 32-33; page 24, lines 19-29). The composition may comprise PEG (page 23, lines 4-32).
Szoka fails to teach incorporation of a targeting ligand such as hyaluronic acid, and further fails to teach a molecular weight a hyaluronic acid in the range of 2-20 kDa (claim 45) or 2-10 KDA (claim 60), and further fails to teach “wherein the surface comprises PEG.”
Takayama teaches that rosuvastatin is a well-established therapeutic agent for treating vulnerable plaques (Title; Abstract; pages 1207-1209).
Sefanick teaches that modifying the surface of liposomal delivery vehicles with PEG provides the advantage of imparting stealth to the particles for longer circulation times and to act as a linker connecting targeting ligands to the particle (abstract; page 2936, left column, first paragraph).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to incorporate rosuvastatin into the composition for the treatment of vulnerable plaques. The motivation for this would be that rosuvastatin is well known for the treatment of vulnerable plaques, and by incorporating rosuvastatin into the composition, vulnerable plaques may be treated. It would have been further obvious to incorporate a targeting ligand such as or similar to hyaluronic acid into the formulation for treatment of vulnerable plaques, with the motivation being that vulnerable plaques may be treated. It would have been further obvious to incorporate a mAb into the nano carrier delivery system. The motivation for this is that mAb is effective at treating disease. It would have been further obvious to optimize the molecular weight of hyaluronic acid in the nanocarrier delivery system of Szoka, and in this way, find 1-20 KDa, 2-10 kDa, and 2-20 kDA through routine experimentation. The prior art provides sufficient guidance to this end, as Szoka teaches a hyaluronic acid molecular weight range of less than 5kDa, which overlaps with the present ranges. It would have been further obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to modify the formulation of Szoka to provide wherein the surface comprises PEG. The motivation for this is that doing so would provide the advantage of improved circulation times and a means to connect targeting ligands to the particle.
Double Patenting
Effective January 1, 1994, a registered attorney or agent of record may sign a terminal disclaimer. A terminal disclaimer signed by the assignee must fully comply with 37 CFR 3.73(b).
Effective January 1, 1994, a registered attorney or agent of record may sign a terminal disclaimer. A terminal disclaimer signed by the assignee must fully comply with 37 CFR 3.73(b).
Claims 20-39 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory obviousness-type double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-19 of Patent US 12642875. Although the conflicting claims are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the patent claims recite liposome nanocarrier delivery system wherein the surface of the nanocarrier is partially modified by a targeting ligand; wherein the targeting ligand is a hyaluronic acid, a pharmaceutically acceptable salt of the hyaluronic acid, or a Cl to C6 alkyl ester of the hyaluronic acid; wherein the hyaluronic acid, pharmaceutically acceptable salt of the hyaluronic acid, or Cl to C6 alkyl ester of the hyaluronic acid has a molecular weight in the range of 1-20 KDa; wherein the nanocarrier further comprises a long-chain phospholipid and cholesterol; and wherein the nanocarrier is loaded with rosuvastatin, or a pharmaceutically acceptable salt. This anticipates the present claims.
Conclusion
/PAUL W DICKINSON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1618
August 19, 2026