DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102a2 as being anticipated by Todaro et al (US
2022/0248775 A1)..
In regard to claim 1, Todaro et al discloses a brassiere 10 in fig. 7, comprising:
an inner layer 48 and an outer layer 50, wherein the outer layer 50 is superposed on the inner
layer 48, and the outer layer 50 and the inner layer 48 are bonded to each other in at least a partial
region, while the outer layer and the inner layer are separated from each other in at least another
partial region to form an accommodating space between the outer layer and the inner layer; a cup
disposed between the inner layer and the outer layer and Iocated within the accommodating space,
wherein the outer layer comprises a cup region corresponding to a position of the cup; and space,
wherein the outer layer comprises a cup region corresponding to a position of the cup; and at least one
support strip disposed on the cup region of the outer layer and bonded to a surface of the outer layer
facing the cup wherein a first end of the support strip terminates at a side edge of the outer layer facing
the cup wherein a first end of the support strip terminates at a side edge of the cup region, and a second
end of the support strip terminates at a lower edge of the cup region. (See Todaro et al, fig. 7 and paras.
(0043-0049).
In regard to claim 2 Todaro et al discloses a brassiere 10 in fig. 7, as claimed in claim 1 and
further wherein a support frame 40 is disposed between the inner layer and the outer layer, wherein
the support frame is arranged around the cup.
In regard to claim 3, Todaro et al discloses the brassiere as claimed in claim 2 and further
wherein the support frame 40 comprises a lower support portion and a side support portion, the lower
support portion being located below the cup ,and the side support portion being located beside the cup.
In regard to claim 4, Todaro et al discloses the brassiere as claimed in claim 3 and further
wherein the first end of the support strip 42 is connected to the side support portion and the second
end of the support strip is connected to the lower support portion.
In regard to claim 5, Todaro et al discloses the brassiere as claimed in claim 4 and further
wherein the support strip 42, the lower support portion, and the side support portion are integrally
connected.
In claim 6, Todaro et al discloses the brassiere as claimed in claim 2 and further wherein the
support frame 40 comprises a lower support portion, a side support portion and an upper support
portion, the lower support portion being located below the cup, the side support portion being located
beside the cup and the upper support portion being located above the cup.
In regard to claim 7 Todaro et al discloses the brassiere as claimed in claim 6 and further
wherein the first end of the support strip 42 is connected to the side support portion and the second
end of the support strip is connected to the lower support portion.
In regard to claim 8 Todaro et al discloses the brassiere as claimed in claim 8 and further
wherein the support strip , the lower support potion and the upper support portion as well as the side
support portion are integrally connected.
In regard to claim 9, Todaro et al discloses the brassiere 10 as claimed in claim 1, and further
wherein the number of support strips 42 corresponding to the cup region of the one cup 16 is at least
two and the two support strips 42 are spaced apart from each other in fig. 7,.
In regard to claim 10, Todaro et al discloses the brassiere 10 as claimed in claim 1 and further
wherein the outer layer and the inner layer are adhered to each other in at least a partial region.
In regard to claim 11, Todaro et al discloses the brassiere 10 as claimed in claim 2 and further
wherein the support frame 42 is adhered to both the inner layer 48 and the outer layer 50 in fig. 7.
In regard to claim 12, Todaro et al discloses the brassiere 10 comprising : an inner layer and an
outer layer, wherein the outer layer is superposed on the inner layer, and the outer layer and the inner
layer are adhered to each other in at least a partial region, while the outer layer and the inner layer are
separated from each other in at least a a partial region, while the outer layer and the inner layer are
separated from each other in at least another partial region to form an accommodating space between
the outer layer and the inner layer;
a cup disposed between the inner layer and the outer layer and located within the
accommodating space, wherein the outer layer an comprises a cup region corresponding to a position of
the cup; and at least twos support straps 42 disposed on the cup region of the outer layer and bonded to
a surface of the outer layer facing the cup, wherein a first end of each support strip terminates at a Iower
edge of the cup region, and wherein the at least two support strips 42 are spaced part from each other.
In regard to claim 13, Todaro et al discloses the brassiere 10 as claimed in claim 12 and further
comprising a support frame 40 disposed between the inner layer 48 and the outer layer 50 in fig. 7, ,
wherein the support frame 40 is arranged around the cup 16.
In regard to claim 14, Todaro et al discloses the brassiere 10 as claimed in claim 13, wherein the
support frame 12 comprises a lower support portion and a side support portion, the lower support
portion being located below the cup 16, and the side support portion 42 being located beside the cup
16 in fig. 7.
In regard to claim 15, Todaro et al discloses the brassiere 10 as claimed in claim 14 and wherein
the first end of each support strip 42 is connected to the side support portion, and the second end of
the support strip is connected to the lower support portion.
In regard to claim 16, Todaro et al discloses the brassiere 10 as claimed in claim 15, wherein
the support strips 42, the lower support portion (not numbered) , and the side support portion (not
numbered) in fig. 7, are integrally connected.
In regard to claim 17, Todaro et al discloses the brassiere 10 as claimed in claim 13, wherein
the support frame 40 comprises a lower support portion (not numbered in fig. 7), a side support portion
(40a,40b) and an upper support portion (not numbered) the lower support portion being located
below the cups, the side support portion(40a,40b) being located beside the cup 16 and the upper
support portion being located above the cup.
In regard to claim 18, Todaro et al discloses the brassiere 10 as claimed in claim 17 wherein the
first end (above 14 in fig. 7) of each support strip 42 is connected to the side support portion near 14 in
fig. 7, and the second end of each support strip 42 is connected to the lower support portion( near 42
in fig. 7).
In regard to claim 19, Todaro et al discloses the brassiere 10 as claimed in claim 17 and further
wherein the support strips 42, the lower support portion (near 42 in fig. 7), the upper support portion
(near 14 in fig. 7),. and the side support portion ( above 14 in fig. 7) are integrally connected as in fig. 7
and paras. (0043-0049).
In regard to claim 20, Todaro et al discloses the brassiere 10 as claimed in" claim 13, and further
wherein the support frame 40 is adhered to both the inner layer48 and the outer layer 50 in figure 7
paras. (0043-0049 and figs 1,2 and 7).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 8-6-26 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant’s representative is arguing more than what being claimed. The underwire of Todaro et al are still support members since they a re members that support the wearer’s breasts. Also the support strips include the termination of the support strips located as claimed where in one end of the support strips end or terminate at a “side edge” as broadly claimed and the other end terminates at the lower edge wherein anything on the bottom half of the cup is considered a “lower end” and the side edge is located to end along a side edge that for example in figure 5 of Todaro et al is at 40b and wherein the side edge is along the side upper edge at 44 and along the side edge of the portion 30 in figure 3 that lies in the armpit area of the wearer. Applicant needs to better claim the support member as having both ends on the side edge and in somewhat of a vertical alignment as in figure 2 and that is on the left side of a vertical axis of the cup as seen in figure 2 of Applicant’s figures.
Therefore, the same rejection stands.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
should be directed to GLORIA M HALE whose telephone number is (571)272-4984. The examiner can
normally be reached MON.-THURS..
USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use
the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice
Alissa Tompkins can be reached at 1-571-272-3425. The fax phone number for the organization where
this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300.
Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To
file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit
https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and
https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional
questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like
assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or
571-272-1000.
/GLORIA M HALE/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3732