Response to Amendment
The amendments to the claims filed 9/21/2026 were received and have been entered. Claims 1, 6, 8, 10, 12-14 have been amended. Claim 5 has been canceled. Therefore, claims 1-4 and 6-20 are currently pending.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2-4, 6-7, 10-13 and 15-19 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Roll up the limitation of claim 2 and the limitation of claim 15 in independent form.
The limitation of claim 6 has been allowed in application 18559332, if applicant roll up in independent form would require to file a terminal disclaimer.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to amended claim(s) 1, 8-9 and 14 recite “the drive circuit layer further comprises at least one of a dummy register and a dummy via; the second region is provided with the dummy register or the dummy via” have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument. It was noted that at least limitation “the drive circuit layer further comprises at least one of a dummy register and a dummy via, the second region is provided with the dummy register” was previously NOT cited in the dependent claim of claim 14.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 8-9, 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim et al. (US 2021/0125565) in view of Jung et al. US 2022/0068215.
Regarding claim 1, Kim teaches a display substrate (100, see ¶58-¶80, and Figs 2-8, 15), a base substrate and a drive circuit layer disposed on the base substrate (see ¶58-¶80), a display region (AA1, AA2) and a non-display region (NA1, NA2), the drive circuit layer (see ¶58-¶80); a pixel drive circuit (PXL) located in the display region (AA1, AA2) and a gate drive circuit (220, 210) located in the non-display region (NA1, NA2);
a boundary of the display region (AA1) comprises an arc-shaped boundary (a corner portion has a curve shape, ¶84, ¶87, ¶211, Fig 5), and a non-display region (NA1, NA2) located on an outside of the arc-shaped boundary is referred to as a rounded corner region (the corner portion, ¶84, ¶87, ¶211-¶248, Fig 5), a plurality of first regions (EG1-EG3 have the emission stages EST21-EST23, (320’), see ¶230-¶232, figs 7-8) and at least one second region (one or more dummy scan stage circuits have DSSTs (220’), see ¶ 258-¶261, Figs 7-8);
the gate drive circuit (220, 210) is configured to provide a drive signal to the pixel drive circuit (PXL), and is partially located within a first region (EG1-EG3),
Annotation of Fig 8 shows the second region is located between adjacent first regions (the dummy scan stage circuit DSST is positioned between the scan stage circuits SST25 to SST210, and the scan stage circuit SST24. See ¶ 259); two boundary lines of the second region (See Fig 8) which are used to separate two adjacent first regions are not parallel (See Fig 8), and an area of the second region (DSST) is smaller than that of the first region (SST25 to SST210),
wherein the boundary of the display region further comprises: a straight line boundary connected with the arc-shaped boundary, a non-display region located on an outside of the straight line boundary is referred to as a straight line region, and a part of the gate drive circuit is located in the straight line region (See ¶215-¶296);
the gate drive circuit comprises a plurality of drive circuits (210, 220, 310, 320), wherein an arrangement direction of a plurality of drive circuits located in the rounded corner region (the corner portion) is an extension direction of a boundary of at least one first region (EG1-EG3) close to the second region (DSSTs 220’), and an arrangement direction of a plurality of drive circuits located in the straight line region (Straight line, ¶215) intersects with an extension direction of the straight line boundary; the first region (210, 220, 310, 320), is provided with a partial circuit of each drive circuit (EG1-EG3);
wherein the pixel drive circuit (PXL1, see Figure 15) comprises: a light emitting transistor (T5) and a writing transistor (T2), and the plurality of drive circuits (Fig 3) comprise: a light emitting drive circuit (310) and a scan drive circuit (210), the light emitting drive circuit (310) is electrically connected with the light emitting transistor (T5), the scan drive circuit (210) is electrically connected with the writing transistor (T2), and the scan drive circuit (210) is located on a side of the light emitting drive circuit (310) close to the display region (AA1);
the light emitting drive circuit (320, Fig 4) comprises a plurality of cascaded light emitting shift registers (SST21 to SST2j, Fig 4), and the scan drive circuit (220, fig 4) comprises a plurality of cascaded scan shift registers (See ¶174 to ¶184);
the first region (EG1-EG3) is provided with one light emitting shift register (EST21) and at least one scan shift register (SST21).
Kim fails to teach “the drive circuit layer further comprises at least one of a dummy register and a dummy via; the second region is provided with the dummy register or the dummy via.”
Jung teaches a driver circuit layer having the drive circuit layer further comprises at least one of a dummy register and a dummy via; the second region is provided with the dummy register or the dummy via (See Jung at least ¶80, ¶125, ¶ 337, Fig 3 for the driver circuit layer has multiple dummy registers DSST1-6 and contact holes arranged in the corner driver NDA2).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention (AIA ), to implement the driver circuit layer has multiple dummy registers DSST1-6 and contact holes arranged in the corner driver NDA2 taught by Jung, to modify Kim. The motivation for doing so would have been capable of efficiently using a dead space of the display device.
As to claim 8, Jung teaches a display substrate according to claim 1, wherein when the drive circuit layer comprises the dummy register, a structure of the dummy register is the same as that of a part of the gate drive circuit. (See Jung ¶ 116).
As to claim 9, Jung teaches the display substrate according to claim 8, wherein structures of dummy registers in at least two second regions are different. (See at least Jung ¶115).
As to claim 20, Kim teaches a display apparatus, comprising a display substrate according to claim 1. (See Abstract).
Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim et al. (US 2021/0125565) in view of Jung et al. US 2022/0068215 in view of Na et al. (US 2022/0310013) in view of Toyotaka (US 2012/0287099).
Regarding claim 14, Kim teaches a display substrate (100, see ¶58-¶80, and Figs 2-8, 15), a base substrate and a drive circuit layer disposed on the base substrate (see ¶58-¶80), a display region (AA1, AA2) and a non-display region (NA1, NA2), the drive circuit layer (see ¶58-¶80); a pixel drive circuit (PXL) located in the display region (AA1, AA2) and a gate drive circuit (220, 210) located in the non-display region (NA1, NA2);
a boundary of the display region (AA1) comprises an arc-shaped boundary (a corner portion has a curve shape, ¶84, ¶87, ¶211, Fig 5), and a non-display region (NA1, NA2) located on an outside of the arc-shaped boundary is referred to as a rounded corner region (the corner portion, ¶84, ¶87, ¶211-¶248, Fig 5), a plurality of first regions (EG1-EG3 have the emission stages EST21-EST23, (320’), see ¶230-¶232, figs 7-8) and at least one second region (one or more dummy scan stage circuits have DSSTs (220’), see ¶ 258-¶261, Figs 7-8);
the gate drive circuit (220, 210) is configured to provide a drive signal to the pixel drive circuit (PXL), and is partially located within a first region (EG1-EG3),
Annotation of Fig 8 shows the second region is located between adjacent first regions (the dummy scan stage circuit DSST is positioned between the scan stage circuits SST25 to SST210, and the scan stage circuit SST24. See ¶ 259); two boundary lines of the second region (See Fig 8) which are used to separate two adjacent first regions are not parallel (See Fig 8), and an area of the second region (DSST) is smaller than that of the first region (SST25 to SST210),
wherein the boundary of the display region further comprises: a straight line boundary connected with the arc-shaped boundary, a non-display region located on an outside of the straight line boundary is referred to as a straight line region, and a part of the gate drive circuit is located in the straight line region (See ¶215-¶296);
the gate drive circuit comprises a plurality of drive circuits (210, 220, 310, 320), wherein an arrangement direction of a plurality of drive circuits located in the rounded corner region (the corner portion) is an extension direction of a boundary of at least one first region (EG1-EG3) close to the second region (DSSTs 220’), and an arrangement direction of a plurality of drive circuits located in the straight line region (Straight line, ¶215) intersects with an extension direction of the straight line boundary; the first region (210, 220, 310, 320), is provided with a partial circuit of each drive circuit (EG1-EG3);
wherein the pixel drive circuit (PXL1, see Figure 15) comprises: a light emitting transistor (T5) and a writing transistor (T2), and the plurality of drive circuits (Fig 3) comprise: a light emitting drive circuit (310) and a scan drive circuit (210), the light emitting drive circuit (310) is electrically connected with the light emitting transistor (T5), the scan drive circuit (210) is electrically connected with the writing transistor (T2), and the scan drive circuit (210) is located on a side of the light emitting drive circuit (310) close to the display region (AA1);
the light emitting drive circuit (320, Fig 4) comprises a plurality of cascaded light emitting shift registers (SST21 to SST2j, Fig 4), and the scan drive circuit (220, fig 4) comprises a plurality of cascaded scan shift registers (See ¶174 to ¶184);
the first region (EG1-EG3) is provided with one light emitting shift register (EST21) and at least one scan shift register (SST21).
Kim fails to teach “the drive circuit layer further comprises at least one of a dummy register and a dummy via; the second region is provided with the dummy register or the dummy via.”
Jung teaches a driver circuit layer having the drive circuit layer further comprises at least one of a dummy register and a dummy via; the second region is provided with the dummy register or the dummy via (See Jung at least ¶80, ¶125, ¶ 337, Fig 3 for the driver circuit layer has multiple dummy registers DSST1-6 and contact holes arranged in the corner driver NDA2).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention (AIA ), to implement the driver circuit layer has multiple dummy registers DSST1-6 and contact holes arranged in the corner driver NDA2 taught by Jung, to modify Kim. The motivation for doing so would have been capable of efficiently using a dead space of the display device.
Kim and Jung fail to teach
wherein the pixel drive circuit comprises: a light emitting transistor, a writing transistor, and a control transistor, the plurality of drive circuits comprise a light emitting drive circuit, a control drive circuit, and a scan drive circuit, the light emitting drive circuit is electrically connected with the light emitting transistor, the scan drive circuit is electrically connected with the writing transistor, and the control drive circuit is electrically connected with the control transistor, transistor types of the writing transistor and the control transistor are opposite, the control drive circuit is located on a side of the light emitting drive circuit close to the display region, and the scan drive circuit is located on a side of the control drive circuit close to the display region;
one light emitting shift register, at least one control shift register, and at least one scan shift register.
Figures 2-3 and 6 of Na teaches the pixel drive circuit (SP) comprises: a light emitting transistor (ST5), a writing transistor (ST2), and a control transistor (ST3, ¶ 148), a light emitting drive circuit (450), a control drive circuit (410), and a scan drive circuit (420), the light emitting drive circuit (450) is electrically connected with the light emitting transistor (ST5), the scan drive circuit (420) is electrically connected with the writing transistor (ST5), and the control drive circuit (410) is electrically connected with the control transistor (ST3), transistor types of the writing transistor and the control transistor are opposite (p-channel and n-channel, ¶17-¶18), the control drive circuit (420) is located on a side of the light emitting drive circuit (450) close to the display region (DA), and the scan drive circuit (420) is located on a side of the control drive circuit (410) close to the display region (DA); one light emitting shift register (EMn), at least one control shift register (GLn), and at least one scan shift register (GWn).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention (AIA ), to combine the teaching of Na with the teaching of Kim and Jung. The motivation for doing so would improve the high quality of the image being displayed (Na ¶4-¶5);
Kim, Jung and Na fail to teach the control drive circuit comprises a plurality of cascaded control shift registers.
Toyotaka teaches a plurality of cascaded control shift registers (20_1 to 20_m) (See ¶35-¶36, Fig 6A).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention (AIA ), to combine the teaching of Toyotaka with the teaching of Kim, Jung and Na. The motivation for doing so would improve the high quality of driving circuitry (Toyotaka ¶3-¶5).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
KEVIN M NGUYEN
Examiner, Art Unit 2628
/Kevin M Nguyen/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2628