DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2, 4, 6-9 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Smith et al (10,347,517).
As to claim 1, Smith discloses a gas diffusion apparatus (70), applicable to a semiconductor container (Figure 1, substrate container 30), the gas diffusion apparatus (70) comprising: at least one diffuser body (300, 320, 340, 360) ; a first portion (Figure 13, 306a) disposed on the diffuser body (300) , the first portion having a first airflow rate (316) ; and a second portion disposed on the diffuser body (306b), the second portion having a second airflow rate (316); wherein the first airflow rate is different from the second airflow rate (column 12, lines 20-27).
As to claim 2, Smith further discloses a density of the first portion is less than a density of the second portion (column 13 lines 53-67 teaches the different density of the porosity of the sidewall), and the first airflow rate is greater than the second airflow rate (column 12, lines 20-27 teaches the exit flow velocity profile of 316 delivery higher velocity closest to the bottom portion than at the distal end).
As to claim 4, Smith further discloses the first portion and the second portion are both hollow portions (Figure 14A-14C), a density of the first portion is less than a density of the second portion column 13 lines 53-67 teaches the different density of the porosity of the sidewall), and the first airflow rate is greater than the second airflow rate (column 12, lines 20-27 teaches the exit flow velocity profile of 316 delivery higher velocity closest to the bottom portion than at the distal end).
As to claim 6, Smith further discloses the first portion and the second portion are of the same material (POREX porous polyethylene material).
As to claim 7, Smith further discloses the gas diffusion apparatus further comprises a third portion (306c) having a third airflow rate, wherein the third airflow rate is different from the second airflow rate (as be seen in Figure 13, or Figure 14a-14C).
As to claim 8, Smith further discloses the first portion (306a), the second portion(306b), and the third portion (306c) are sequentially disposed (Figure 13-14C), and the first airflow rate, the second airflow rate, and the third airflow rate are sequentially decreased (column 12, lines 20-27 teaches the exit flow velocity profile of 316 delivery higher velocity closest to the bottom portion than at the distal end).
As to claim 9, Smith further discloses the first portion occupies a first proportion of the diffuser body, and the second portion occupies a second proportion of the diffuser body (Figures 13-14C).
As to claim 12, Smith discloses a semiconductor container (Figure 1, substrate 30), comprising: a container body having an accommodating space (Figure 1, container 30 with a body portion ) ; a support member (66) disposed in the accommodating space and adapted to support a substrate (32); and a gas diffusion apparatus (70) comprising: at least one diffuser body (300, 320, 340, 360) ; a first portion (Figure 13, 306a) disposed on the diffuser body (300) , the first portion having a first airflow rate (316) ; and a second portion disposed on the diffuser body (306b), the second portion having a second airflow rate (316); wherein the first airflow rate is different from the second airflow rate (column 12, lines 20-27).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 3, 5, 10 and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Smith et al (10,347,517).
As to claim 3 and 5, Smith further discloses the first portion and the second portion are hollow portion and the second portion are more solid than the first portion (as shown in Figure 14B which the second portion being the upper most portion have greater solid area in comparison the lower portion) and the first portion and the second portion are made of same material, but does not disclose the second portion is a solid portion, a density of the hollow portion is less than a density of the solid portion, and the first portion and the second portion are of different materials. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify gas diffusion apparatus of Smith with the second portion is form a completely solid portion, with the density of the hollow portion is less than a density of the solid portion, and the first portion and the second portion are of different materials because the selection of the specific material such as the distance as disclosed by Smith or as claimed would have been an obvious matter of design choice inasmuch as the resultant structures will work equally well and inasmuch as applicant's specification does not state that using these specific distance as claimed solves any particular problem or yields any unexpected results.
As to claims 10-11, Smith does not specifically disclose a ratio of the first proportion to the second proportion is variable and the first proportion to the second proportion is 1:3. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the gas diffusion apparatus of Smith so the a ratio of the first proportion to the second proportion is variable and the first proportion to the second proportion is 1:3 because the selection of the specific ratio and proportion such as disclosed by Smith or as claimed would have been an obvious matter of design choice inasmuch as the resultant structures will work equally well .
Conclusion
Examiner has cited particular paragraphs and/or columns and line numbers in the references as applied to the claims above for the convenience of the applicant. Although the specified citations are representative of the teachings of the art and are applied to the specific limitations within the individual claim, other passages and figures may apply as well. It is respectfully requested of the applicant, in preparing responses, to fully consider the references in entirety as potentially teaching all or part of the claimed invention, as well as the context of the passage as taught by the prior art or prior art(s) disclosed by the Examiner (in the attached PTO-892 form).
/CHUN HOI CHEUNG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3736