DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
Claims 1-20 are currently pending and have been examined in this application. This communication is the first action on the merits.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on November 14, 2025 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119 (a)-(d). The certified copy has been filed in parent Application No. JP 2024-210722, filed on December 3, 2024.
Specification Objection
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed. The following title is suggested: “INFORMATION PROCESSING APPARATUS AND NON-TRANSITORY COMPUTER READABLE MEDIUM FOR DETERMINING CANDIDATE ROUTES AND TRANSPORTATION MODES” or another equally descriptive title.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more.
Step 1
Claim 1 is directed to an apparatus (i.e., a machine); claims 2-12 are directed to an apparatus (i.e., a machine); and claims 13-20 are directed to a non-transitory computer readable medium (i.e., a machine). Therefore, claims 1-20 all fall within the one of the four statutory categories of invention.
Step 2A, Prong One
Independent claim 1 substantially recites executing a route search based on route search conditions including a departure point and a destination acquired from a user;
generating at least one route candidate that meets the route search conditions;
when the route candidate includes one or more reservation-based modes of transportation, determining availability of the reservation-based modes of transportation; and
transmitting the route candidate when the availability of all of the reservation-based modes of transportation is equal to or greater than a threshold,
wherein
when the route candidate is output as a result of the route search, the route candidate includes at least one piece of segment information that is a combination of a mode of transportation and a travel route by that mode of transportation, and
the departure point is set based on current location information acquired.
Independent claims 2 and 13 substantially recite executing a route search based on route search conditions including a departure point and a destination acquired from a user;
generating at least one route candidate that meets the route search conditions;
when the route candidate includes one or more reservation-based modes of transportation, determining availability of the reservation-based modes of transportation; and
transmitting the route candidate when the availability of all of the reservation-based modes of transportation is equal to or greater than a threshold,
wherein the route candidate includes at least one piece of segment information that is a combination of a mode of transportation and a travel route by that mode of transportation.
The limitations stated above are processes/functions that under broadest reasonable interpretation covers “certain methods of organizing human activity” (commercial interactions) of providing likely-available proposed route information for routes including reservation-based modes of transportation (See, Specification Para. 8). Therefore, the claim recites an abstract idea.
Step 2A, Prong Two
The judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application. Claims 1, 2, and 13 as a whole amount to: (i) merely invoking generic components as a tool to perform the abstract idea or “apply it” (or an equivalent). The claim recites the additional elements of: (i) an information processing terminal (claims 1, 2, 13), (ii) a controller (claims 1, 2), (iii) a positioner (claim 1), and (iv) a non-transitory computer readable medium storing a program (claim 13).
The additional elements of (i) an information processing terminal, (ii) a controller, (iii) a positioner, and (iv) a non-transitory computer readable medium storing a program are recited at a high level of generality (see [0013] of the Applicant’s Specification discussing the information processing terminal, [0018] discussing the controller, [0025] discussing the positioner, [0019] and [0060] discussing the non-transitory computer readable medium storing a program) such that, when viewed as whole/ordered combination, it amounts to no more than mere instruction to apply the judicial exception using generic computer components or “apply it” (See MPEP 2106.05(f)).
Accordingly, these additional elements, when viewed as a whole/ordered combination [See Figure 3 showing all the additional elements (i) an information processing terminal, (ii) a controller, (iii) a positioner, and (iv) a non-transitory computer readable medium storing a program in combination], do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because it does not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea. Thus, the claim is directed to an abstract idea.
Step 2B
As discussed above with respect to Step 2A Prong Two, the additional elements amount to no more than: (i) “apply it” (or an equivalent), and are not a practical application of the abstract idea. The same analysis applies here in Step 2B, i.e., (i) merely invoking the generic components as a tool to perform the abstract idea or “apply it” (See MPEP 2106.05(f)), does not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application at Step 2A or provide an inventive concept at Step 2B. Thus, even when viewed as a whole/ordered combination, nothing in the claims adds significantly more (i.e., an inventive concept) to the abstract idea. Thus, the claims 1, 2, and 13 are ineligible.
Dependent Claims 3-12 and 14-20 merely narrow the previously recited abstract idea limitations. For reasons described above with respect to claims 2 and 13 these judicial exceptions are not meaningfully integrated into a practical application or significantly more than the abstract idea. Thus, claims 3-12 and 14-20 are also ineligible.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-4, 6-9, 13, 14, 16, and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and (2) as being anticipated by Cope (US 20210063173) (hereafter Cope).
In regards to claim 1, Cope discloses an information processing apparatus comprising a controller configured to: execute a route search based on route search conditions including a departure point and a destination acquired from an information processing terminal of a user; (Para. 51, 92-93, 234) (“The back-end components 4 may include one or more servers (i.e. an information processing apparatus comprising a controller) 40 configured to implement part or all of the transportation management, monitoring, and assessment processes described herein. Each server 40 may include one or more computer processors (i.e. an information processing apparatus comprising a controller) adapted and configured to execute various software applications and components of the multimodal transportation data system 100” “The exemplary transportation option generation method 500 may begin with obtaining a user's current location and destination location of a trip (block 501). Transportation mode options (block 502) and, in some embodiments, route options (block 503) may be identified for travel between the current location and the destination location (i.e. execute a route search based on route search conditions including a departure point and a destination). … the server 40 may receive or acquire a user-selected destination location for an upcoming trip. The server 40 may then acquire a starting location for the user trip, which may be the current location of the user obtained from the GPS sensor 250 of the mobile computing device 110 (i.e. a departure point and a destination acquired from an information processing terminal of a user).” “The particular features, structures, or characteristics of any specific embodiment may be combined in any suitable manner and in any suitable combination with one or more other embodiments, including the use of selected features without corresponding use of other features. In addition, many modifications may be made to adapt a particular application, situation or material to the essential scope and spirit of the present invention. It is to be understood that other variations and modifications of the embodiments of the present invention described and illustrated herein are possible in light of the teachings herein and are to be considered part of the spirit and scope of the present invention.”)
Cope discloses generate at least one route candidate that meets the route search conditions; (Para. 92, 99) (“route options (block 503) may be identified (i.e. generate at least one route candidate that meets the route search conditions) for travel between the current location and the destination location.” “the server 40 may identify route options between the starting location and the user destination location. For example, multiple route options may be identified between a user current location and a user destination location. Route options may include one or more transportation options associated with a route between the starting location (e.g., the current location of the user) and the destination location. Route options may also include information regarding a comprehensive path between the current location and the destination location. Such routes may comprise a plurality of segments, with each segment being associated with transportation via a transportation option along a portion of the route.”)
Cope discloses when the route candidate includes one or more reservation-based modes of transportation, determine availability of the reservation-based modes of transportation; and (Para. 9, 121-124) (“the selection of the transportation option selector associated with one of the plurality of transportation option indicators may cause the user interface to display at least one reservation option indicator (i.e. the route candidate includes one or more reservation-based modes of transportation) associated with the transportation option associated with the transportation option indicator. The reservation option indicator may indicate the availability of the transportation option (i.e. determine availability of the reservation-based modes of transportation)” “Such transportation option selectors may likewise include reservation option indicators associated with reserving access to an associated transportation option, such as reserving a shared vehicle for a particular period of time … schedule information associated with the transportation options selected by the user may be presented to the user via the display 202 of the mobile computing device 110. … such schedule information may include information regarding times associated with estimated availability”)
Cope discloses transmit the route candidate to the information processing terminal when the availability of all of the reservation-based modes of transportation is equal to or greater than a threshold, wherein (Para. 79-81, 99) (“a map of an exemplary geographic area 300, showing locations corresponding to transportation modes of a local portion of a multimodal transportation network. The transportation modes may include both scheduled and on demand options, as well as personal vehicles available to the user. The scheduled options may include indications of the route or path … On demand options may include indications of pick-up, drop-off, or access points of the vehicle (i.e., rental car lot 330 and bike share station 340). On demand options may additionally include ride share options, such as taxi services or autonomous vehicles, … Indications of available transportation modes (including, for example, access points, routes, and schedules) may be stored in the transit server 44. The exemplary geographic area 300 may be determined by some threshold distance around a selected location (i.e. transmit the route candidate to the information processing terminal when the availability of all of the reservation-based modes of transportation is equal to or greater than a threshold), which may be manually selected by the user or may be automatically selected by a server 40 or a mobile computing device 110 associated with the user. The selected location may be a user's current location, a user's future starting location for future travel, or a user's destination location. The selected location may also be a location between the user's current location and destination location, such as an end-point of a transit route along which the user is currently traveling.” “Route options may also include information regarding a comprehensive path between the current location and the destination location. Such routes may comprise a plurality of segments, with each segment being associated with transportation via a transportation option along a portion of the route. (i.e. transmit the route candidate to the information processing terminal)” That is, the multi-modal route options made up of only transportation modes determined to be available transportation that provide service within a threshold distance of start location, destination location, or waypoint location (i.e. transmit the route candidate to the information processing terminal when the availability of all of the reservation-based modes of transportation is equal to or greater than a threshold) or else they are not included as part of a route option.)
Cope discloses when the information processing terminal outputs the route candidate as a result of the route search, the route candidate includes at least one piece of segment information that is a combination of a mode of transportation and a travel route by that mode of transportation, and (Para. 99) (“the server 40 may identify route options between the starting location and the user destination location. For example, multiple route options may be identified between a user current location and a user destination location. Route options may include one or more transportation options associated with a route between the starting location (e.g., the current location of the user) and the destination location. Route options may also include information regarding a comprehensive path between the current location and the destination location. Such routes may comprise a plurality of segments, with each segment being associated with transportation via a transportation option along a portion of the route (i.e. when the information processing terminal outputs the route candidate as a result of the route search, the route candidate includes at least one piece of segment information that is a combination of a mode of transportation and a travel route by that mode of transportation).”)
Cope discloses the departure point is set based on current location information acquired by a positioner provided in the information processing terminal. (Para. 99) (“Route options may include one or more transportation options associated with a route between the starting location (e.g., the current location of the user) (i.e. the departure point is set based on current location information acquired by a positioner provided in the information processing terminal) and the destination location.”)
In regards to claim 2, Cope discloses an information processing apparatus comprising a controller configured to: execute a route search based on route search conditions including a departure point and a destination acquired from an information processing terminal of a user; (Para. 51, 92-93, 234) (“The back-end components 4 may include one or more servers (i.e. an information processing apparatus comprising a controller) 40 configured to implement part or all of the transportation management, monitoring, and assessment processes described herein. Each server 40 may include one or more computer processors (i.e. an information processing apparatus comprising a controller) adapted and configured to execute various software applications and components of the multimodal transportation data system 100” “The exemplary transportation option generation method 500 may begin with obtaining a user's current location and destination location of a trip (block 501). Transportation mode options (block 502) and, in some embodiments, route options (block 503) may be identified for travel between the current location and the destination location (i.e. execute a route search based on route search conditions including a departure point and a destination). … the server 40 may receive or acquire a user-selected destination location for an upcoming trip. The server 40 may then acquire a starting location for the user trip, which may be the current location of the user obtained from the GPS sensor 250 of the mobile computing device 110 (i.e. a departure point and a destination acquired from an information processing terminal of a user).” “The particular features, structures, or characteristics of any specific embodiment may be combined in any suitable manner and in any suitable combination with one or more other embodiments, including the use of selected features without corresponding use of other features. In addition, many modifications may be made to adapt a particular application, situation or material to the essential scope and spirit of the present invention. It is to be understood that other variations and modifications of the embodiments of the present invention described and illustrated herein are possible in light of the teachings herein and are to be considered part of the spirit and scope of the present invention.”)
Cope discloses generate at least one route candidate that meets the route search conditions; (Para. 92, 99) (“route options (block 503) may be identified (i.e. generate at least one route candidate that meets the route search conditions) for travel between the current location and the destination location.” “the server 40 may identify route options between the starting location and the user destination location. For example, multiple route options may be identified between a user current location and a user destination location. Route options may include one or more transportation options associated with a route between the starting location (e.g., the current location of the user) and the destination location. Route options may also include information regarding a comprehensive path between the current location and the destination location. Such routes may comprise a plurality of segments, with each segment being associated with transportation via a transportation option along a portion of the route.”)
Cope discloses when the route candidate includes one or more reservation-based modes of transportation, determine availability of the reservation-based modes of transportation; and Cope discloses when the route candidate includes one or more reservation-based modes of transportation, determine availability of the reservation-based modes of transportation; and (Para. 9, 121-124) (“the selection of the transportation option selector associated with one of the plurality of transportation option indicators may cause the user interface to display at least one reservation option indicator (i.e. the route candidate includes one or more reservation-based modes of transportation) associated with the transportation option associated with the transportation option indicator. The reservation option indicator may indicate the availability of the transportation option (i.e. determine availability of the reservation-based modes of transportation)” “Such transportation option selectors may likewise include reservation option indicators associated with reserving access to an associated transportation option, such as reserving a shared vehicle for a particular period of time … schedule information associated with the transportation options selected by the user may be presented to the user via the display 202 of the mobile computing device 110. … such schedule information may include information regarding times associated with estimated availability”)
Cope discloses transmit the route candidate to the information processing terminal when the availability of all of the reservation-based modes of transportation is equal to or greater than a threshold, (Para. 79-81, 99) (“a map of an exemplary geographic area 300, showing locations corresponding to transportation modes of a local portion of a multimodal transportation network. The transportation modes may include both scheduled and on demand options, as well as personal vehicles available to the user. The scheduled options may include indications of the route or path … On demand options may include indications of pick-up, drop-off, or access points of the vehicle (i.e., rental car lot 330 and bike share station 340). On demand options may additionally include ride share options, such as taxi services or autonomous vehicles, … Indications of available transportation modes (including, for example, access points, routes, and schedules) may be stored in the transit server 44. The exemplary geographic area 300 may be determined by some threshold distance around a selected location (i.e. transmit the route candidate to the information processing terminal when the availability of all of the reservation-based modes of transportation is equal to or greater than a threshold), which may be manually selected by the user or may be automatically selected by a server 40 or a mobile computing device 110 associated with the user. The selected location may be a user's current location, a user's future starting location for future travel, or a user's destination location. The selected location may also be a location between the user's current location and destination location, such as an end-point of a transit route along which the user is currently traveling.” “Route options may also include information regarding a comprehensive path between the current location and the destination location. Such routes may comprise a plurality of segments, with each segment being associated with transportation via a transportation option along a portion of the route. (i.e. transmit the route candidate to the information processing terminal)” That is, the multi-modal route options made up of only transportation modes determined to be available transportation that provide service within a threshold distance of start location, destination location, or waypoint location (i.e. transmit the route candidate to the information processing terminal when the availability of all of the reservation-based modes of transportation is equal to or greater than a threshold) or else they are not included as part of a route option.)
Cope discloses wherein the route candidate includes at least one piece of segment information that is a combination of a mode of transportation and a travel route by that mode of transportation. (Para. 99) (“the server 40 may identify route options between the starting location and the user destination location. For example, multiple route options may be identified between a user current location and a user destination location. Route options may include one or more transportation options associated with a route between the starting location (e.g., the current location of the user) and the destination location. Route options may also include information regarding a comprehensive path between the current location and the destination location. Such routes may comprise a plurality of segments, with each segment being associated with transportation via a transportation option along a portion of the route (i.e. wherein the route candidate includes at least one piece of segment information that is a combination of a mode of transportation and a travel route by that mode of transportation).”)
In regards to claim 3, Cope discloses the limitations of claim 2. Cope discloses wherein the departure point is a current location of the user. (Para. 99) (“Route options may include one or more transportation options associated with a route between the starting location (e.g., the current location of the user) (i.e. the departure point is a current location of the user) and the destination location.”)
In regards to claim 4, Cope discloses the limitations of claim 2. Cope discloses wherein the route search conditions include a departure date and time from the departure point. (Para. 121) (“Such transportation option selectors may likewise include reservation option indicators associated with reserving access to an associated transportation option, such as reserving a shared vehicle for a particular period of time (either beginning upon reservation or at some future time) (i.e. the route search conditions include a departure date and time from the departure point). Such purchase option indicators or reservation option indicators may be presented to the user along with options or information regarding details of options associated with the purchase or reservation (e.g., timing”)
In regards to claim 6, Cope discloses the limitations of claim 2. Cope discloses wherein the route search conditions further include a usage condition and attribute information on the user, the usage condition includes a usage location, a usage time period, weather at a usage area, or a usage distance, and the attribute information on the user includes a number of persons, a preference of the user, or a purpose of use. (Para. 81, 90, 101, 168) (“Indications of available transportation modes (including, for example, access points, routes, and schedules) (i.e. the usage condition includes a usage location, a usage time period or a usage distance) may be stored in the transit server 44.The exemplary geographic area 300 may be determined by some threshold distance around a selected location, which may be manually selected by the user or may be automatically selected by a server 40 or a mobile computing device 110 associated with the user. The selected location (i.e. the usage condition includes a usage location) may be a user's current location, a user's future starting location for future travel, or a user's destination location. The selected location may also be a location between the user's current location and destination location, such as an end-point of a transit route along which the user is currently traveling.” “identifying transportation options in multimodal transportation systems by identifying and presenting transportation options based upon location, time, and current or relevant future availability of specific transportation modes. Additional considerations, such as user preferences, cost, or risk, may also be included (i.e. the attribute information on the user includes a preference of the user)” “the server 40 may determine risk levels associated with the identified transportation options, which may include transportation mode options and route options. … The risk-related data may be associated with specific environmental conditions in which transportation is to occur, such as geographic area, weather conditions … time of day (i.e. the usage condition includes a usage location, a usage time period, weather at a usage area)” “The transportation environments may include categorization of information relevant to transportation option choices, such as a time of day associated with transportation or a geographic area associated with transportation (both of which may indicate a purpose of transportation, such as commuting to or from work). … duration or distance of transportation (e.g., whether the trip is a short trip to the store or a week-long vacation), or a user physical condition (e.g., user health condition). Such transportation environments may be used to determine purposes … of transportation for identification of transportation scenarios (i.e. the attribute information on the user includes a purpose of use).)
In regards to claim 7, Cope discloses the limitations of claim 2. Cope discloses wherein the controller is configured to determine the availability based on trends in use of the modes of transportation. (Para. 127, 158, 169, 198) (“The method 700 may be performed by server 40 to identify transportation modes taken by a user either upon receipt of a specific request or periodically. The user transportation modes may be identified using telematics, transaction, transit system, fleet management, or other data stored in databases or third-party servers communicatively connected to the server 40. User movement data collected by the GPS sensor, accelerometer, gyroscope, and clock routine at the mobile computing device may also be used to identify the transportation mode. Once identified, the user transportation mode may be recorded to predict user transportation preferences, assess user transportation mode choices, or for similar purposes.” “user transportation profiles may be generated to indicate typical characteristics of transportation mode usage by users based upon information collected regarding user transportation mode usage, including telematics data or user transit purchase history data. Such transportation profiles may indicate typical characteristics of user transportation for various transportation scenarios, such as typical commuting routes or typical modes used during various weather conditions, times of day, etc.” “identify a plurality of transportation scenarios combining transportation modes and transportation environments from the user transportation data. The transportation scenarios may be associated with typical conditions under which the user or users travel via certain transportation modes or combinations of transportation modes. The transportation scenarios may be associated with particular routes, particular combinations of origin and destination locations, particular combinations of locations and times, or combinations of locations and times indicative of purposes or types of travel. For example, the transportation scenarios may be determined to include a commuting scenario, a shopping scenario, an entertainment scenario during fair weather, an entertainment scenario during inclement weather, an entertainment scenario during holiday periods, etc., each of which may be associated with characteristic transportation mode usage patterns.” “The presented options may be configured to facilitate identification of such user preferences for or against particular transportation modes (i.e. determine the availability based on trends in use of the modes of transportation).”)
In regards to claim 8, Cope discloses the limitations of claim 2. Cope discloses wherein when there is a plurality of route candidates in which the availability of all of the reservation-based modes of transportation is equal to or greater than the threshold, the controller is configured to set priority to the route candidates to be displayed on the information processing terminal, based on a predetermined condition. (Para. 95-99) (“From the set of transportation modes in proximity to relevant locations, one or more transportation options may be identified. Transportation mode options may include indications of transportation mode type and transportation mode access point (e.g., the CTA Blue Line's Damen station or O'Hare station). Transportation mode options may be identified by proximity of transportation mode access points to the user current location or the destination location. Transportation modes may also be identified based upon transportation modes access points' proximity to locations between the current location and the destination location. Such transportation options may be identified based upon additional factors beyond proximity. In some embodiments, user preferences regarding transportation modes or characteristics (e.g., speed, cost, congestion, or frequency of delays) may be considered in identifying or ranking transportation options for the user. … the server 40 may identify route options between the starting location and the user destination location. For example, multiple route options may be identified between a user current location and a user destination location. Route options may include one or more transportation options associated with a route between the starting location (e.g., the current location of the user) and the destination location. Route options may also include information regarding a comprehensive path between the current location and the destination location.”)
In regards to claim 9, Cope discloses the limitations of claim 8. Cope discloses wherein the predetermined condition includes a condition inferred based on a usage condition, or a usage history of the user or attribute information on the user, the usage condition includes a usage location, a usage time period, weather at a usage area, or a usage distance, and the attribute information on the user includes a number of persons, a preference of the user, or a purpose of use. (Para. 151-159) (“multiple sets of such typical characteristics may be indicated by the user profile, which may depend upon environmental conditions. For example, the user may utilize different modes of transportation during commuting, relative to transportation at other times (i.e. attribute information). The user profile may further note user preferences (i.e. attribute information), for example public transportation, private vehicle, or walking. … user transportation profiles may be generated to indicate typical characteristics of transportation mode usage by users based upon information collected regarding user transportation mode usage, including telematics data or user transit purchase history data. Such transportation profiles may indicate typical characteristics of user transportation for various transportation scenarios, such as typical commuting routes or typical modes used during various weather conditions (i.e. usage condition), times of day (i.e. usage condition), etc. … The user-specific transportation assessment methods described below solve these problems by automatically generating user transportation profiles with limited user input to facilitate automated analysis, comparison, and identification of recommendations for transportation usage.”)
In regards to claim 13, Cope discloses a non-transitory computer readable medium storing a program configured to cause a computer to execute operations, the operations comprising: executing a route search based on route search conditions including a departure point and a destination acquired from an information processing terminal of a user; (Para. 51, 92-93, 120, 234) (“The back-end components 4 may include one or more servers (i.e. a computer) 40 configured to implement part or all of the transportation management, monitoring, and assessment processes described herein. Each server 40 may include one or more computer processors (i.e. a computer) adapted and configured to execute various software applications and components of the multimodal transportation data system 100” “The exemplary transportation option generation method 500 may begin with obtaining a user's current location and destination location of a trip (block 501). Transportation mode options (block 502) and, in some embodiments, route options (block 503) may be identified for travel between the current location and the destination location (i.e. executing a route search based on route search conditions including a departure point and a destination). … the server 40 may receive or acquire a user-selected destination location for an upcoming trip. The server 40 may then acquire a starting location for the user trip, which may be the current location of the user obtained from the GPS sensor 250 of the mobile computing device 110 (i.e. a departure point and a destination acquired from an information processing terminal of a user).” “The techniques that we have described can be implemented in digital electronic circuitry, or in computer hardware, firmware, software, or in combinations of them. The techniques can be implemented as a computer program product, i.e., a computer program tangibly embodied in an information carrier, e.g., in a machine-readable storage device (i.e. a non-transitory computer readable medium storing a program configured to cause a computer to execute operations)” “The particular features, structures, or characteristics of any specific embodiment may be combined in any suitable manner and in any suitable combination with one or more other embodiments, including the use of selected features without corresponding use of other features. In addition, many modifications may be made to adapt a particular application, situation or material to the essential scope and spirit of the present invention. It is to be understood that other variations and modifications of the embodiments of the present invention described and illustrated herein are possible in light of the teachings herein and are to be considered part of the spirit and scope of the present invention.”)
Cope discloses generating at least one route candidate that meets the route search conditions; (Para. 92, 99) (“route options (block 503) may be identified (i.e. generating at least one route candidate that meets the route search conditions) for travel between the current location and the destination location.” “the server 40 may identify route options between the starting location and the user destination location. For example, multiple route options may be identified between a user current location and a user destination location. Route options may include one or more transportation options associated with a route between the starting location (e.g., the current location of the user) and the destination location. Route options may also include information regarding a comprehensive path between the current location and the destination location. Such routes may comprise a plurality of segments, with each segment being associated with transportation via a transportation option along a portion of the route.”)
Cope discloses when the route candidate includes one or more reservation-based modes of transportation, determining availability of the reservation-based modes of transportation; and (Para. 9, 121-124) (“the selection of the transportation option selector associated with one of the plurality of transportation option indicators may cause the user interface to display at least one reservation option indicator (i.e. the route candidate includes one or more reservation-based modes of transportation) associated with the transportation option associated with the transportation option indicator. The reservation option indicator may indicate the availability of the transportation option (i.e. determining availability of the reservation-based modes of transportation)” “Such transportation option selectors may likewise include reservation option indicators associated with reserving access to an associated transportation option, such as reserving a shared vehicle for a particular period of time … schedule information associated with the transportation options selected by the user may be presented to the user via the display 202 of the mobile computing device 110. … such schedule information may include information regarding times associated with estimated availability”)
Cope discloses transmitting the route candidate to the information processing terminal when the availability of all of the reservation-based modes of transportation is equal to or greater than a threshold, (Para. 79-81, 99) (“a map of an exemplary geographic area 300, showing locations corresponding to transportation modes of a local portion of a multimodal transportation network. The transportation modes may include both scheduled and on demand options, as well as personal vehicles available to the user. The scheduled options may include indications of the route or path … On demand options may include indications of pick-up, drop-off, or access points of the vehicle (i.e., rental car lot 330 and bike share station 340). On demand options may additionally include ride share options, such as taxi services or autonomous vehicles, … Indications of available transportation modes (including, for example, access points, routes, and schedules) may be stored in the transit server 44. The exemplary geographic area 300 may be determined by some threshold distance around a selected location (i.e. transmitting the route candidate to the information processing terminal when the availability of all of the reservation-based modes of transportation is equal to or greater than a threshold), which may be manually selected by the user or may be automatically selected by a server 40 or a mobile computing device 110 associated with the user. The selected location may be a user's current location, a user's future starting location for future travel, or a user's destination location. The selected location may also be a location between the user's current location and destination location, such as an end-point of a transit route along which the user is currently traveling.” “Route options may also include information regarding a comprehensive path between the current location and the destination location. Such routes may comprise a plurality of segments, with each segment being associated with transportation via a transportation option along a portion of the route. (i.e. transmitting the route candidate to the information processing terminal)” That is, the multi-modal route options made up of only transportation modes determined to be available transportation that provide service within a threshold distance of start location, destination location, or waypoint location (i.e. transmitting the route candidate to the information processing terminal when the availability of all of the reservation-based modes of transportation is equal to or greater than a threshold) or else they are not included as part of a route option.)
Cope discloses wherein the route candidate includes at least one piece of segment information that is a combination of a mode of transportation and a travel route by that mode of transportation. (Para. 99) (“the server 40 may identify route options between the starting location and the user destination location. For example, multiple route options may be identified between a user current location and a user destination location. Route options may include one or more transportation options associated with a route between the starting location (e.g., the current location of the user) and the destination location. Route options may also include information regarding a comprehensive path between the current location and the destination location. Such routes may comprise a plurality of segments, with each segment being associated with transportation via a transportation option along a portion of the route (i.e. wherein the route candidate includes at least one piece of segment information that is a combination of a mode of transportation and a travel route by that mode of transportation).”)
In regards to claim 14, Cope discloses the limitations of claim 13. The remainder of the limitations of this claim are rejected using the same rationale as claim 4.
In regards to claim 16, Cope discloses the limitations of claim 13. The remainder of the limitations of this claim are rejected using the same rationale as claim 6.
In regards to claim 17, Cope discloses the limitations of claim 13. The remainder of the limitations of this claim are rejected using the same rationale as claim 7.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 5 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cope in view of Shaam (US 20140351037) (hereafter Shaam).
In regards to claim 5, Cope discloses the limitations of claim 2. Cope does not explicitly disclose, however Shaam, in the same field of endeavor, discloses wherein the route search conditions of Cope further include a setting of whether to include reservation-based modes of transportation. (Para. 81-82) (“The user names the passenger and travel preferences using controls on the travel planning screen 100. … acceptable modes of travel using a travel mode control 118 … An important feature of the interface and of the capabilities of the system is that subsets of modes of travel can be chosen using checkboxes that include a plane mode of travel (i.e. wherein the route search conditions of Cope further include a setting of whether to include reservation-based modes of transportation) control 126, a train mode of travel control 127, a bus mode of travel control 128, and a car mode of travel control 129. … other modes, for example, bicycle, water, and others, could be included or one or more of the modes (i.e. wherein the route search conditions of Cope further include a setting of whether to include reservation-based modes of transportation)”)
Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the multi-modal transport system of Cope with the travel planning of Shaam in order to improve the scheduling and determination of options by the system (Shaam – Para. 7)
In regards to claim 15, Cope discloses the limitations of claim 13. The remainder of the limitations of this claim are rejected using the same rationale as claim 5.
Claims 10, 12, 18, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cope in view of Chua (US 20220290998) (hereafter Chua).
In regards to claim 10, Cope discloses the limitations of claim 2. Cope does not explicitly disclose, however Chua, in the same field of endeavor, discloses wherein the controller is configured to transmit the route candidate to the information processing terminal, after making reservations for the reservation-based modes of transportation included in the route candidate to be transmitted to the information processing terminal. (Para. 71-73) (“transportation manager 230 can determine candidate routes 244 based on information in ride request 232. These candidate routes can also be based on preferences for passenger 234. … In identifying candidate routes 244, transportation manager 230 can also assign resources or place resources on hold for candidate routes 244. … transportation manager 230 can generate tentative reservations or assignments for the ground transportation in candidate routes 244. … Transportation manager 230 can send candidate routes 244 to mobile phone 218 for display to passenger 234.”)
Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the multi-modal transport system of Cope with the multi-modal transport system of Chua in order to improve the scheduling operations of the system (Chua – Para. 7)
In regards to claim 12, Cope discloses the limitations of claim 10. Cope does not explicitly disclose, however Chua, in the same field of endeavor, discloses wherein the controller is configured to cancel the reservations when a route that includes the reserved reservation-based modes of transportation is not selected by the user. (Para. 73) (“Transportation manager 230 can send candidate routes 244 to mobile phone 218 for display to passenger 234. Passenger 234 can return user input in the form of response 238 that identifies candidate route 236 from candidate routes 244 that is to be used for travel by passenger 234. In response to receiving the selection in response 238, transportation manager 230 can plan travel for passenger 234 using the selected candidate route. In this illustrative example, any assignments or holds on resources for candidate routes 244 not selected can be released.”)
Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the multi-modal transport system of Cope with the multi-modal transport system of Chua in order to improve the scheduling operations of the system (Chua – Para. 7)
In regards to claim 18, Cope discloses the limitations of claim 13. The remainder of the limitations of this claim are rejected using the same rationale as claim 10.
In regards to claim 20, Cope discloses the limitations of claim 18. The remainder of the limitations of this claim are rejected using the same rationale as claim 12.
Claims 11 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cope in view of Chua and further in view of Yatra (“Hold flights for free faqs”; March 11, 2023) (hereafter Yatra).
In regards to claim 11, Cope discloses the limitations of claim 2. Cope does not explicitly disclose, however Chua, in the same field of endeavor, discloses wherein the controller is configured to transmit the route candidate to the information processing terminal, after making a reservation for a reservation-based mode of transportation, among the reservation-based modes of transportation included in the route candidate to be transmitted to the information processing terminal. (Para. 71-73) (“transportation manager 230 can determine candidate routes 244 based on information in ride request 232. These candidate routes can also be based on preferences for passenger 234. … In identifying candidate routes 244, transportation manager 230 can also assign resources or place resources on hold for candidate routes 244. … transportation manager 230 can generate tentative reservations or assignments for the ground transportation in candidate routes 244. … Transportation manager 230 can send candidate routes 244 to mobile phone 218 for display to passenger 234.”)
Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the multi-modal transport system of Cope with the multi-modal transport system of Chua in order to improve the scheduling operations of the system (Chua – Para. 7)
Cope in view of Chua does not explicitly disclose, however Yatra, in the same field of endeavor, discloses a reservation for a reservation-based mode of transportation of Chua that incurs no cancellation fee (Pg. 1-2) (“an option of HFF (Hold For Free). The option allows you to place your seat reservation on hold, without any immediate payment. You can then make the payment at a later date, within a specified time-frame. … If you have already held the booking, then you may cancel the itinerary from My Bookings with Zero cancellation penalty.”
Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the multi-modal transport system of Cope in view of Chua with the reservation system of Yatra in order to improve ease and comfort of travel planning within the system. (Yatra – Pg. 1)
In regards to claim 19, Cope discloses the limitations of claim 13. The remainder of the limitations of this claim are rejected using the same rationale as claim 11.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Chen – US 20220114655 – disclosing systems for managing and routing multi-modal travel.
Senly – US 20230196264 - disclosing systems for managing and routing multi-modal travel.
/DAVID G. GODBOLD/Examiner, Art Unit 3628