DETAILED ACTION
Application No. 19/389,714 filed on 11/14/2025 has been examined. In this Office Action, claims 1-20 are pending.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-20 of U.S. Patent No. 12524398 B1 (hereinafter '398) in view of Chang et al (US 20170177660 A1).
Present Application 19/389714
US PAT. 12524398 B1
1. A method comprising: receiving, by a processing device, a natural language input including a query related to an external data set; determining, by the processing device, an additional query by reusing parts of the query and redefining other parts of the query based on a context of the query; querying, by the processing device, the external data set based on the query and the additional query to obtain quantitative results; receiving, by the processing device from a machine-learning model, a natural language output based on the quantitative results including a quantitative answer to the query, an additional answer based on the additional query, and an explanation of how the machine-learning model generated the quantitative answer or the additional answer based on the quantitative results; and presenting, by the processing device, the natural language output for display in a user interface.
11. A system comprising: a data storage configured to maintain a data set; and a processing device communicatively coupled to the data storage to perform operations that include: receiving a natural language input including a query related to the data set; determining an additional query by reusing parts of the query and redefining other parts of the query based on a context of the query; querying the data set based on the query and the additional query to obtain quantitative results; receiving, from a machine-learning model, a natural language output based on the quantitative results including a quantitative answer to the query, an additional answer based on the additional query, and an explanation of how the machine-learning model generated the quantitative answer or the additional answer based on the quantitative results; and presenting the natural language output for display in a user interface.
20. A non-transitory computer-readable medium storing executable instructions, which when executed by a processing device, cause the processing device to perform operations comprising: receiving a natural language input including a query related to an external data set; determining an additional query by reusing parts of the query and redefining other parts of the query based on a context of the query; querying the external data based on the query and the additional query to obtain quantitative results; receiving, from a machine-learning model, a natural language output based on the quantitative results including a quantitative answer to the query, an additional answer based on the additional query, and an explanation of how the machine-learning model generated the quantitative answer or the additional answer based on the quantitative results; and presenting the natural language output for display in a user interface.
1. A method comprising: receiving, by a processing device, a natural language input from a first interface to a machine-learning model including a query related to an external data set; determining, by the processing device, an additional query based on a context of the query; querying, by the processing device, the machine-learning model using the query and the additional query to obtain quantitative results from accessing the external data set through a second interface shared with the external data set; receiving, by the processing device from the machine-learning model, a result based on the quantitative results obtained from the second interface including a quantitative answer to the query, an additional answer based on the additional query, and an explanation by the machine-learning model of how the machine-learning model generated the quantitative answer or the additional answer in response to the querying; and presenting, by the processing device, the result for display in a user interface.
13. A system comprising: a data storage configured to maintain external data set; and a processing device communicatively coupled to the data storage to perform operations that include: receiving a natural language input from a first interface to a machine-learning model including a query based on the external data set; determining an additional query based on a context of the query; querying the machine-learning model using the query and the additional query to obtain quantitative results from accessing the external data set through a second interface shared with the external data set; responsive to querying the external data set, receiving, from the machine-learning model, a result based on the quantitative results obtained from the second interface including a quantitative answer to the query, an additional answer based on the additional query, and an explanation by the machine-learning model of how the machine-learning model generated the quantitative answer or the additional answer; and output the result for display in a user interface.
17. A non-transitory computer-readable medium storing executable instructions, which when executed by a processing device, cause the processing device to perform operations comprising: receiving a natural language input from a first interface to a machine-learning model including a query for quantitative information computed from an external data set; determining an additional query based on a context of the query; querying the machine-learning model using the query and the additional query to obtain quantitative results from accessing the external data set through a second interface shared with the external data set; receiving, from the machine-learning model, a result based on the quantitative results obtained from the second interface including a quantitative answer to the query, an additional answer based on the additional query, and an explanation by the machine-learning model of how the machine-learning model generated the quantitative answer or the additional answer in response to the querying; and presenting the result for display in a user interface.
With respect to claims 1, 11, 20, US Patent '398 teaches all the limitations of claims 1, 11, 20, except for the limitation determining, by the processing device, an additional query by reusing parts of the query and redefining other parts of the query based on a context of the query.
However, Chang teaches determining, by the processing device, an additional query by reusing parts of the query and redefining other parts of the query based on a context of the query (paragraphs [0026]–[0028], e.g., generating a follow-up question concerning added subscribers grouped by state and subscription type from an initial question concerning added subscribers grouped by state and product, thereby retaining the subscriber-count subject and state grouping while replacing the product grouping with subscription type, using attributes ranked based on the initial query, its results, and user preferences).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to apply Chang’s contextual retention and modification of query parameters to the additional-query operation recited in claims 1, 13, 17 of US 12524398 B1 in order to generate a related quantitative analysis that preserves the original analytical subject while examining a different grouping (Chang).
Claims 2-10, 12-19 correspond to claims 2-12, 14-16, 18-20 of US Patent '398.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 11 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chang et al (US 2017/0177660 A1) in view of Setlur (US 2024/0362261 A1).
As per claim 1, Chang teaches a method comprising: receiving, by a processing device, a natural language input including a query related to an external data set (paragraphs [0022]–[0023] and [0045]–[0046], Fig. 1, e.g., receiving a natural-language question asking how many subscribers were added, grouped by state and product, through a client application that accesses raw data stored by a remote server, the server-stored data being external to the client processing device); determining, by the processing device, an additional query by reusing parts of the query and redefining other parts of the query based on a context of the query (paragraphs [0026]–[0028], e.g., generating a follow-up question asking for added subscribers by state and subscription type from the initial question asking for added subscribers by state and product, thereby retaining the subscriber-count subject and state grouping while replacing the product grouping with subscription type based on attributes ranked according to the initial query, its results, and user preferences); querying, by the processing device, the external data set based on the query and the additional query to obtain quantitative results (paragraphs [0022]–[0023], [0028], [0043], and [0045]–[0046], Fig. 1, e.g., conducting database queries using extracted parameters to obtain a primary subscriber-count analysis for the original query and a secondary subscriber-count analysis for a selected generated follow-up question, with the client application accessing raw data stored by the remote server); and presenting, by the processing device, the natural language output for display in a user interface (paragraph [0030], Fig. 10, e.g., generating a final data story based on the analytical session's results and providing the story in natural language for display to the user).
Chang does not explicitly teach receiving, by the processing device from a machine-learning model, a natural language output based on the quantitative results including a quantitative answer to the query, an additional answer based on the additional query, and an explanation of how the machine-learning model generated the quantitative answer or the additional answer based on the quantitative results;
However, Setlur teaches receiving, by the processing device from a machine-learning model, a natural language output based on the quantitative results including a quantitative answer to the query, an additional answer based on the additional query, and an explanation of how the machine-learning model generated the quantitative answer or the additional answer based on the quantitative results (paragraph [0080], Fig. 1B, e.g., inputting a data snapshot containing relevant attributes and values to a large language model to obtain a summary containing numerical comparisons of the dataset values and paragraphs [0081] and [0101], Fig. 5, step 506, e.g., processing SQL query results and inputting the reasoning prompts and their outputs to a trained large language model to obtain text summarizing the process, input, and intermediate output);
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to apply Setlur's language-model generation of numerical summaries and explanations to Chang's original and follow-up analytical results in order to provide a combined natural-language data story that reports both answers and explains how at least one answer was generated from the quantitative results (Setlur).
Regarding claims 11, 20, claims 11, 20 are rejected for substantially the same reason as claim 1 above.
Claims 2, 4, 12 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chang et al (US 2017/0177660 A1) in view of Setlur (US 2024/0362261 A1) further in view of Sen et al (US 2021/0149888 A1).
As per claim 2, Chang and Setlur do not explicitly teach identifying, by the processing device, the context of the query as a quantitative intent inferred from a data question based on and not expressly stated in the natural language input.
However, Sen teaches identifying, by the processing device, the context of the query as a quantitative intent inferred from a data question based on and not expressly stated in the natural language input (paragraphs [0177]–[0179], Fig. 14, e.g., classifies a natural-language data question by analytical intent and infers implicit computation parameters, including aggregation and property combinations and paragraphs [0312]–[0319], Fig. 20, e.g., Sen's grocery-country example infers a sum-of-price operation from a question about where most groceries are bought online, although the input does not expressly request summing price).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to apply Sen's inference of unstated quantitative operations to Chang's analytical query processing, as modified by Setlur, in order to determine the quantitative context of a data question without requiring the user to specify the aggregation operation expressly (Sen).
As per claim 4, wherein the quantitative intent is identified from a plurality of valid intents using keyword matching to compare words of the query with the plurality of valid intents (paragraph [0181], Fig. 15, e.g., Sen applies rules that map keywords and patterns in the natural-language query to ranking, pattern, and distribution query classes, Sen).
Regarding claim 12, claim 12 is rejected for substantially the same reason as claim 2 above.
Regarding claim 14, claim 14 is rejected for substantially the same reason as claim 4 above.
Claims 3 and 13 are proposed to be rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chang et al (US 2017/0177660 A1) in view of Setlur (US 2024/0362261 A1) in view of Sen et al (US 2021/0149888 A1) further in view of Sekharan et al (US 2021/0004370 A1).
As per claim 3, Chang, Setlur, and Sen do not explicitly teach wherein the quantitative intent is identified from a plurality of valid intents using the machine-learning model to infer the data question and select the quantitative intent from the plurality of valid intents.
However, Sekharan teaches wherein the quantitative intent is identified from a plurality of valid intents using the machine-learning model to infer the data question and select the quantitative intent from the plurality of valid intents (paragraphs [0047]–[0048], Fig. 3, e.g., the cited teaching supplies intent-and-slot prediction, while use of the same explanatory-output model remains unestablished; Sekharan discloses machine-learning intent determination and a single jointly trained model that determines intent and maps the input entities to the corresponding query template).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to apply Sekharan's trained intent-inference functionality to the machine-learning model in Chang's system, as modified by Setlur and Sen, in order to infer the data question and select the corresponding valid analytical intent through the existing model rather than requiring a separate intent model (Sekharan).
Regarding claim 13, claim 13 is rejected for substantially the same reason as claim 3 above.
Claims 5 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chang et al (US 2017/0177660 A1) in view of Setlur (US 2024/0362261 A1) further in view of Chung et al (US 2024/0256965 A1).
As per claim 5, Chang and Setlur do not explicitly teach training the machine-learning model based on natural language templates to learn to convey the quantitative answer, the additional answer, and the explanation in the natural language output based on the quantitative results.
However, Chung teaches training the machine-learning model based on natural language templates to learn to convey the quantitative answer, the additional answer, and the explanation in the natural language output based on the quantitative results (claims 1 and 3–4, Fig. 7, e.g., populated instruction templates provide training examples for answer and explanation tasks; the original-answer/additional-answer quantitative template is the proposed adaptation, Chung generates training queries from populated instruction templates and identifies explanation generation and question-and-answer generation as training task categories).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to apply Chung's template-based answer-and-explanation training to the machine-learning model in Chang's system, as modified by Setlur, in order to train the model to convey both quantitative answers and the associated explanation in the required natural-language output (Chung).
Regarding claim 15, claim 15 is rejected for substantially the same reason as claim 5 above.
Claims 6–8 and 16–18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chang et al (US 2017/0177660 A1) in view of Setlur (US 2024/0362261 A1) further in view of Kaushal et al (US 2024/0419711 A1).
As per claim 6, Chang and Setlur do not explicitly teach formatting the query and the additional query for querying the external data set through an application program interface and receiving, from the application program interface, the quantitative results in response to querying the external data set based on the query and the additional query.
However, Kaushal teaches formatting the query and the additional query for querying the external data set through an application program interface and receiving, from the application program interface, the quantitative results in response to querying the external data set based on the query and the additional query (paragraphs [0097]–[0099] and [0128]–[0129]; Fig. 9; paragraph [0159], e.g., Kaushal discloses an API and rule-based engine that interpret a natural-language request, identify search parameters, query a database, and return raw results through the API for presentation. Kaushal further describes generating JSON filters used to query a service that returns log data or aggregated data).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to apply Kaushal's API-based query formatting and result-return process to Chang's original and follow-up queries, as modified by Setlur, in order to submit both analyses through a common database-service interface and receive their numerical results for generation of the explanatory output (Kaushal).
As per claim 7, wherein the determining includes: populating attributes of a data structure specified by the application program interface based on the parts of the query that are reused and the other parts of the query that are redefined based on the context (paragraphs [0128]–[0129] and [0159], Fig. 9, e.g., API 544 and rule-based engine 546 process query parameters and database identifiers, and a JSON response supplies filters used to query the service, Kaushal).
As per claim 8, wherein the data structure comprises a JSON type data structure (paragraph [0159], e.g., Kaushal expressly identifies the filter-bearing structure as a JSON response used to query the service for the requested data).
Regarding claims 16-18, claims 16-18 are rejected for substantially the same reason as claims 6-8 above.
Claims 9-10 and 19 are proposed to be rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chang et al (US 20170177660 A1) in view of Setlur (US 20240362261 A1) Kaushal et al (US 2024041971 1A1) further in view of Collins-Thompson et al (US 20120233140 A1).
As per claim 9, Chang, Setlur and Kaushal do not explicitly teach wherein the populating includes: using the machine-learning model to redefine the other parts of the query based on the context.
However, Collins-Thompson teaches wherein the populating includes: using the machine-learning model to redefine the other parts of the query based on the context (paragraphs [0038]–[0041], [0054]–[0056], and [0065], Figs. 5 and 7, e.g., a trained classification model identifies candidate query alterations by matching a query part and a context condition, supplies a replacement part, and scores and selects the resulting alteration while retaining other query terms).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to apply Collins-Thompson's learned contextual query transformations to Chang's query-generation system, as modified by Setlur and Kaushal, in order to populate changed query attributes with terms consistent with the intended contextual meaning of the query (Collins-Thompson).
As per claim 10, wherein the populating includes: executing a rule-based function to redefine the other parts of the query based on the context (paragraphs [0039], [0044]–[0047], and [0054]–[0056], Figs. 2–5, e.g., each feature defines a rule that transforms a query part S1 into a replacement part S2 when a context condition applies, and the context-aware query alteration module executes a matching rule to alter “Caribbean Cruise Cabin” to “Caribbean Cruise (Cabin or Room)” while retaining the other query terms, Collins-Thompson).
Regarding claim 19, claim 19 is rejected for substantially the same reason as claims 9-10 above.
It is noted that any citation [[s]] to specific, pages, columns, lines, or figures in the prior art references and any interpretation of the references should not be considered to be limiting in any wav. A reference is relevant for all it contains and may be relied upon for all that it would have reasonably suggested to one having ordinary skill in the art. [[See, MPEP 2123]].
Pertinent Prior Art
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to
applicant's disclosure.
Baber et al US 20250094433 A1 discloses SYSTEM AND METHOD FOR COMBINATORIAL DATA OUTLIER DETECTION VIA DATABASE QUERY STATEMENT GENERATION.
Park et al US 20220004589 A1 discloses SERVICE PROVIDING APPARATUS AND METHOD FOR PROVIDING SEARCH INTENT.
Conclusion
/Mohammad A Sana/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2166