DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of group I (claims 1-17) in the reply filed on 4/15/2026 is acknowledged.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1 and 12-16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kreinbrink (US2021/0179323) in view of Tsujiguchi et al (Tsujiguchi) (2014/0319093).
1. A method of making a polyester resin closure (Fig. 5 at 20) that mounts onto a finish of a container (Fig. 4); the polyester resin closure comprising: at least one layer (20) that comprises: an annular wall (below Fig. 4) configured to seat against a top surface of a rim of the finish (the annular wall and the inner closure sit together against the surface of the rim and alternatively, when the outer closure is removed the annular wall is configured to sit against a rim finish); and an outer cylindrical wall (Fig. 4 at 121) extending downward from the annular wall, wherein an outer layer (120) of the outer cylindrical wall comprises a plurality of knurls (Fig. 7 at 121); a tamper evidence feature (230) configured to engage with a tamper evidence ledge of the finish (Fig. 4); the method comprising injection molding (paragraph 0035) or compression molding the polyester resin into the polyester resin closure, wherein the polyester resin comprises polyethylene terephthalate (paragraph 0033), polyethylene furandicarboxylate, or a copolymer thereof. Kreinbrink DIFFERS in that it does not disclose a plug seal configured to seal against an inner surface of the finish. Attention, however is directed to Tsujiguchi which discloses such a seal (Fig. 2 at 8). Therefore, it would have been obvious, to one of ordinary skill within the art, at the time the invention was made, to modify Kreinbrink, in view of the teachings of Tsujiguchi, by employing a plug seal, in order to use an alternative seal for sealing the container, that a user does not have to peel off.
12. The method of claim 1, wherein the at least one layer of the polyester resin closure comprises: an outer layer that comprises: an outer layer annular wall; and an outer layer outer cylindrical wall that extends downwardly from the outer layer annular wall; and an inner layer that comprises: an inner layer annular wall; and an inner layer outer cylindrical wall that extends downwardly from the inner layer annular wall (Kreinbrink , Fig. 5).
13. The method of claim 12, wherein the outer layer outer cylindrical wall comprises a plurality of knurls (Kreinbrink, Fig. 7 at 121).
14. The method of claim 12, wherein an inner surface of the inner layer outer cylindrical wall comprises internal threads (Kreinbrink , Fig. 4 at 221) configured to engage with the finish.
15. The method of claim 12, wherein the tamper evidence feature comprises a tamper evidence band (Kreinbrink , Fig. 4 at 230).
16. The method of claim 12, wherein the outer layer comprises a different polyester resin than the inner layer (Kreinbrink, paragraph 0033).
Claim(s) 2-5, 11 and 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kreinbrink, in view of Tsujiguch (where Kreinbrink, in view of Tsujiguch are the references).
2. The method of claim 1, the references DIFFER in that they do not disclose wherein the polyester resin is a polyethylene terephthalate copolymer. However, it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious design choice. In re Leshin, 125 USPQ 416. Therefore, it would have been obvious, to one of ordinary skill within the art, to employ such a material, in order to have a material that can be made efficiently and caters to consumers.
3. The method of claim 2, the references DIFFER in that they do not disclose further comprising incorporating a co-monomer into the polyethylene terephthalate copolymer to control crystallization and reduce melt processing temperatures. However, it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious design choice. In re Leshin, 125 USPQ 416. Therefore, it would have been obvious, to one of ordinary skill within the art, to employ such a material, in order to have a material that can be made efficiently and caters to consumers.
4. The method of claim 2, the references DIFFER in that they do not disclose wherein the polyethylene terephthalate copolymer is PETF. However, it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious design choice. In re Leshin, 125 USPQ 416. Therefore, it would have been obvious, to one of ordinary skill within the art, to employ such a material, in order to have a material that can be made efficiently and caters to consumers.
5. The method of claim 1, the references DIFFER in that they do not disclose further comprising combining polyethylene terephthalate with an amount of furandicarboxylic acid (FDCA), diethylene glycol (DEG), or a combination thereof prior to the injection molding or the compression molding to reduce a modulus of the polyester resin and allow the polyester resin closure to be ejected from a cavity of a mold. However, it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious design choice. In re Leshin, 125 USPQ 416. Therefore, it would have been obvious, to one of ordinary skill within the art, to employ such a material, in order to have a material that can be made efficiently and caters to consumers.
11. The method of claim 1, the references DIFFER in that they do not disclose wherein the outer cylindrical wall comprises internal threads configured to engage with the finish. However, Kreinbrink does disclose threads on the closure. Therefore, it would have been obvious, to one of ordinary skill within the art, to employ internal threads, in order to have a more secure connection.
17. The method of claim 11, the references DIFFER in that they do not disclose wherein the polyester resin closure is transparent. However, it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious design choice. In re Leshin, 125 USPQ 416. Therefore, it would have been obvious, to one of ordinary skill within the art, to employ such a material, in order to have a material that can be made efficiently and caters to consumers.
Claim(s) 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kreinbrink, in view of Tsujiguch (where Kreinbrink, in view of Tsujiguch are the references) and in further view of Togawa (20150080544).
7. The method of claim 1, the references DIFFER in that they do not disclose wherein the method is performed while limiting an intrinsic viscosity of the polyester resin. Attention, however is directed to Togawa paragraph 0030, which discloses limiting an intrinsic viscosity. Therefore, it would have been obvious, to one of ordinary skill within the art, to employ such a process, in order to have an alternative effective way of making the closure.
Claim(s) 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kreinbrink, in view of Tsujiguch (where Kreinbrink, in view of Tsujiguch are the references), and in further view of Smith (20050167879).
10. The method of claim 1, the references DIFFER in that they do not disclose wherein the injection molding or the compression molding is performed with a movable core component. Attention, however is directed to Smith paragraph 0011 which discloses injection molding is performed with a movable core component. Therefore, it would have been obvious, to one of ordinary skill within the art, to employ such a process, in order to have an alternative effective way of making the closure.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 6, 8 and 9 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/KAREEN K THOMAS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3736