DETAILED ACTION
Priority
2. Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119 (a)-(d). The certified copy has been filed in parent Application No. KR 10-2023-0131158, filed on 27th, Sep. 2023.
Drawings
3. The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the
“the second voltage line includes a first portion and a second portion, and the first voltage line extends between the first portion and the second portion, and the connection electrode connects the first portion and the second portion across the first voltage line” (Claim 3),
“the first voltage line has a first sub-voltage line disposed on a first bridge portion of the bridge portions and a second sub-voltage line disposed on a second bridge portion of the bridge portions, and a width of the first sub-voltage line in a direction perpendicular to an extension direction of the first sub-voltage line is different from a width of the second sub-voltage line in a direction perpendicular to an extension direction of the second sub-voltage line” (Claim 7), and
“the second voltage line has a first sub-voltage line disposed on a first bridge portion of the bridge portions and a second sub-voltage line disposed on a second bridge portion, and the third voltage line extends between the first sub-voltage line and the second sub-voltage line on the island portion” (Claim 8)
must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Double Patenting
4. Claim(s) 1 is/are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over Claim(s) 1 of U.S. Patent No. 12,513,992. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the instant application’s claims are essentially broader than the patent’s recited claims.
Instant Application 19/391206
U.S. Patent No. 12,513,992
1. A display device comprising:
a substrate including an island portion, and bridge portions extending from the island portion;
a first conductive layer disposed on the substrate and including a first voltage line extending from the island portion to the bridge portions;
a second conductive layer disposed on the first conductive layer and including signal lines extending from the island portion to the bridge portions and a data line extending from the island portion to the bridge portions; and
a third conductive layer disposed on the second conductive layer and including a second voltage line and a third voltage line, wherein the second voltage line and the third voltage line extend from the island portion to the bridge portions.
1. A display device comprising:
a substrate including an island portion, a first bridge portion extending from the island portion in a first direction, and a second bridge portion extending from the island portion in a second direction crossing the first direction;
a first conductive layer disposed on the substrate and including a first voltage line extending from the island portion to the first bridge portion and the second bridge portion;
a second conductive layer disposed on the first conductive layer and including signal lines extending from the island portion to the first bridge portion and a data line extending from the island portion to the second bridge portion; and
a third conductive layer disposed on the second conductive layer and including a second voltage line and a third voltage line, wherein the second voltage line extends from the island portion to the first bridge portion and wherein the third voltage line extends from the island portion to the second bridge portion.
5. Claim(s) 19 is/are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim(s) 1 of U.S. Patent No. 12,513,992 in view of Kim et al. (U.S. PGPub/Patent 20250107300).
19. An electronic device comprising a stretchable display device, wherein the stretchable display device comprises:
a substrate including an island portion, and bridge portions extending from the island portion;
a first conductive layer disposed on the substrate and including a first voltage line extending from the island portion to the bridge portions;
a second conductive layer disposed on the first conductive layer and including signal lines extending from the island portion to the bridge portions and a data line extending from the island portion to the bridge portions; and
a third conductive layer disposed on the second conductive layer and including a second voltage line and a third voltage line, wherein the second voltage line and the third voltage line extend from the island portion to the bridge portions.
1. A display device comprising:
a substrate including an island portion, a first bridge portion extending from the island portion in a first direction, and a second bridge portion extending from the island portion in a second direction crossing the first direction;
a first conductive layer disposed on the substrate and including a first voltage line extending from the island portion to the first bridge portion and the second bridge portion;
a second conductive layer disposed on the first conductive layer and including signal lines extending from the island portion to the first bridge portion and a data line extending from the island portion to the second bridge portion; and
a third conductive layer disposed on the second conductive layer and including a second voltage line and a third voltage line, wherein the second voltage line extends from the island portion to the first bridge portion and wherein the third voltage line extends from the island portion to the second bridge portion.
Regarding Claim 19, U.S. Patent No. 12,513,992 recites all of the limitations as shown above.
However, U.S. Patent No. 12,513,992 does not recite that the electronic device comprises a stretchable display.
In the same field of endeavor, Kim et al. teach
the electronic device comprising a stretchable display ([0028], FIG. 1, i.e. a stretchable display device).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention’s effective date was filed to modify U.S. Patent No. 12,513,992 teaching of an electronic device comprising a first conductive layer including a first voltage line, a second conductive layer including signal lines and a data line, and a third conductive layer including a second voltage line and a third voltage line with Kim et al. teaching of an electronic device comprising a stretchable device to effectively provide pertinent voltages to a stretchable display utilizing plurality of conductive layers including specific voltages for each layer (Kim et al.’s Abstract).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
6. Claim(s) 1 and 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Cheng et al. (U.S. Patent/PGPub. No. 20230154936).
Regarding Claim 1,
Cheng et al. teach
a display device ([0047], FIG. 1-3, i.e. display device) comprising:
a substrate ([0052], FIG. 4-5, i.e. base substrate 201) including an island portion ([0047], FIG. 1-3, i.e. pixel island region 20), and bridge portions ([0049], FIG. 3, i.e. connecting hinge regions 21) extending from the island portion ([0049], FIG. 3, i.e. connect adjacent pixel island regions 20 to each other);
a first conductive layer ([0056], FIG. 4, i.e. fourth metal layer 214) disposed on the substrate (FIG. 4, i.e. as shown by the figure(s) 214 disposed on 101) and including a first voltage line ([0056], FIG. 4, i.e. “first gate 214a” (gate/scan voltage line)) extending from the island portion (FIG. 4, i.e. as shown by the figure(s) 214a extending from 20) to the bridge portions ([0057], FIG. 4, i.e. connecting hinge region 21 includes … a first scan line Sn);
a second conductive layer ([0052], FIG. 4, i.e. second metal layer 211) disposed on the first conductive layer (FIG. 4, i.e. as shown by the figure(s) 211 disposed on 214) and including signal lines ([0053], FIG. 4, i.e. at least one metal trace 211b; [0015], FIG. 4, i.e. the at least one metal trace includes part or all of a first driving power line…) extending from the island portion to the bridge portions (FIG. 4, i.e. as shown by the figure(s) 211b extending from 20 to 21) and a data line ([0052], FIG. 4, i.e. first source/drain 211a; [0057], FIG. 4, i.e. the data lines (R, G, and B) are formed in … the second metal layer 211 (where data line is connected to source/drain of a transistor)) extending from the island portion (FIG. 4, i.e. as shown by the figure(s) 211a extending from 20) to the bridge portions ([0057], FIG. 4, i.e. connecting hinge region 21 includes … and data lines (R, G, and B)); and
a third conductive layer ([0052], FIG. 4, i.e. third metal layer 212) disposed on the second conductive layer (FIG. 4, i.e. as shown by the figure(s) 212 disposed on 211) and including a second voltage line ([0053], FIG. 4, i.e. second source/drain 212a; [0057], FIG. 4, i.e. third metal layer 212 is patterned to form the first driving power line VSS) and a third voltage line ([0053], FIG. 4, i.e. at least one metal trace 212b ; [0057], FIG. 4, i.e. third metal layer 212 is patterned to form … and the second driving power line VDD), wherein the second voltage line and the third voltage line extend from the island portion (FIG. 4, i.e. as shown by the figure(s) 212a/212b extending from 20) to the bridge portions ([0057], FIG. 4, i.e. connecting hinge region 21 includes … a first driving power line VSS, a second driving power line VDD).
Regarding Claim 19,
Cheng et al. teach
an electronic device ([0047], FIG. 1-3, i.e. display device) comprising a stretchable display device ([0047], FIG. 1-3, i.e. stretchable display panel), wherein the stretchable display device (i.e. please see above citation(s)) comprises:
a substrate ([0052], FIG. 4-5, i.e. base substrate 201) including an island portion ([0047], FIG. 1-3, i.e. pixel island region 20), and bridge portions ([0049], FIG. 3, i.e. connecting hinge regions 21) extending from the island portion ([0049], FIG. 3, i.e. connect adjacent pixel island regions 20 to each other);
a first conductive layer ([0056], FIG. 4, i.e. fourth metal layer 214) disposed on the substrate (FIG. 4, i.e. as shown by the figure(s) 214 disposed on 101) and including a first voltage line ([0056], FIG. 4, i.e. “first gate 214a” (gate/scan voltage line)) extending from the island portion (FIG. 4, i.e. as shown by the figure(s) 214a extending from 20) to the bridge portions ([0057], FIG. 4, i.e. connecting hinge region 21 includes … a first scan line Sn);
a second conductive layer ([0052], FIG. 4, i.e. second metal layer 211) disposed on the first conductive layer (FIG. 4, i.e. as shown by the figure(s) 211 disposed on 214) and including signal lines ([0053], FIG. 4, i.e. at least one metal trace 211b; [0015], FIG. 4, i.e. the at least one metal trace includes part or all of a first driving power line…) extending from the island portion to the bridge portions (FIG. 4, i.e. as shown by the figure(s) 211b extending from 20 to 21) and a data line ([0052], FIG. 4, i.e. first source/drain 211a; [0057], FIG. 4, i.e. the data lines (R, G, and B) are formed in … the second metal layer 211 (where data line is connected to source/drain of a transistor)) extending from the island portion (FIG. 4, i.e. as shown by the figure(s) 211a extending from 20) to the bridge portions ([0057], FIG. 4, i.e. connecting hinge region 21 includes … and data lines (R, G, and B)); and
a third conductive layer ([0052], FIG. 4, i.e. third metal layer 212) disposed on the second conductive layer (FIG. 4, i.e. as shown by the figure(s) 212 disposed on 211) and including a second voltage line ([0053], FIG. 4, i.e. second source/drain 212a; [0057], FIG. 4, i.e. third metal layer 212 is patterned to form the first driving power line VSS) and a third voltage line ([0053], FIG. 4, i.e. at least one metal trace 212b ; [0057], FIG. 4, i.e. third metal layer 212 is patterned to form … and the second driving power line VDD), wherein the second voltage line and the third voltage line extend from the island portion (FIG. 4, i.e. as shown by the figure(s) 212a/212b extending from 20) to the bridge portions ([0057], FIG. 4, i.e. connecting hinge region 21 includes … a first driving power line VSS, a second driving power line VDD).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
7. Claim(s) 2 and 10-12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cheng et al. (U.S. Patent/PGPub. No. 20230154936) in view of Kim et al. (U.S. PGPub/Patent 20250107300).
Regarding Claim 2,
Cheng et al. teach
the display device of claim 1.
However, Cheng et al. do not explicitly teach
wherein the first conductive layer further includes an initialization voltage line extending from the island portion to the bridge portions.
In the same field of endeavor, Kim et al. teach
wherein the first conductive layer ([0165], FIG. 5 & 8C, i.e. third conductive layer 1400) further includes an initialization voltage line ([0200], FIG. 5 & 8C, i.e. third conductive layer 1400 may include a 1st-1 initialization voltage line VIL1a) extending from the island portion to the bridge portions ([0200], FIG. 5 & 8C, i.e. extending from the main island portion 11 to the first bridge portion).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention’s effective date was filed to combine Cheng et al. teaching of display comprising plurality of conductive layers including specific signals for each layer with Kim et al. teaching of teaching of display comprising plurality of conductive layers including initialization signal on the first conductive layer to effectively initialize a transistor in pixel circuit utilizing initialization signal on the first conductive layer (Kim et al.’s [0136]).
Regarding Claim 10,
Cheng et al. teach
the display device of claim 1.
However, Cheng et al. do not explicitly teach
further comprising a fourth conductive layer disposed on the third conductive layer and including a first electrode pad and a second electrode pad, wherein the third voltage line is electrically connected to the second electrode pad.
In the same field of endeavor, Kim et al. teach
further comprising a fourth conductive layer ([0165], FIG. 5 & 8F, i.e. sixth conductive layer 1700) disposed on the third conductive layer ([0165], FIG. 5 & 8F, i.e. fifth conductive layer 1600 … sequentially stacked on the substrate (see 100 of FIG. 5)) and including a first electrode pad ([0227], FIG. 5 & 8F, i.e. first electrode pad 241) and a second electrode pad ([0227], FIG. 5 & 8F, i.e. second electrode pads 242), wherein the third voltage line ([0229], FIG. 5 & 8F, i.e. common voltage line VSSL) is electrically connected to the second electrode pad ([0229], FIG. 5 & 8F, i.e. 242 may be connected to the common voltage line VSSL).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention’s effective date was filed to combine Cheng et al. teaching of display comprising plurality of conductive layers including specific signals for each layer with Kim et al. teaching of teaching of display comprising plurality of conductive layers including low common voltage level in one of the conductive layers to effectively provide voltages pertinent for driving light-emitting elements utilizing low common voltage level in one of the conductive layers (Kim et al.’s [0229]).
Regarding Claim 11,
Kim et al. teach
the display device of claim 10, further comprising a light-emitting element ([0018], FIG. 6C, 7B, & 8F, i.e. a light-emitting element) including:
a first electrode electrically connected to the first electrode pad ([0018], FIG. 6C, 7B, & 8F, i.e. first electrode pad electrically connected to a first electrode of the light-emitting element);
a second electrode electrically connected to the second electrode pad ([0018], FIG. 6C, 7B, & 8F, i.e. second electrode pad electrically connected to a second electrode of the light-emitting element);
a first semiconductor layer electrically connected to the first electrode ([0154], FIG. 6C, 7B, & 8F, i.e. a first electrode 235 electrically connected to the first semiconductor layer 231);
a second semiconductor layer electrically connected to the second electrode ([0154], FIG. 6C, 7B, & 8F, i.e. second electrode 238 electrically connected to the second semiconductor layer 232); and
an intermediate layer between the first semiconductor layer and the second semiconductor layer ([0154], FIG. 6C, 7B, & 8F, i.e. an intermediate layer 233 between the first semiconductor layer 231 and the second semiconductor layer 232).
Regarding Claim 12,
Cheng et al. teach
the display device of claim 1.
However, Cheng et al. do not explicitly teach
wherein each of the bridge portions has two curved portions and a straight portion connecting the curved portions to each other, and
wherein each of the curved portions has an inner boundary and an outer boundary, and wherein a first distance between the inner boundary and a wiring line disposed closest to the inner boundary is greater than a second distance between the outer boundary and a wiring line disposed closest to the outer boundary.
In the same field of endeavor, Kim et al. teach
wherein each of the bridge portions ([0234], FIG. 9A, i.e. first bridge portion BRh1 and the second bridge portion BRh2) has two curved portions ([0234], FIG. 9A, i.e. first curved portion CNP1, a second curved portion CNP2) and a straight portion ([0234], FIG. 9A, i.e. straight portion SP) connecting the curved portions to each other ([0234], FIG. 9A, i.e. connecting the first curved portion CNP1 to the second curved portion CNP2), and
wherein each of the curved portions has an inner boundary ([0241], FIG. 9B, i.e. inner boundary CIE) and an outer boundary ([0241], FIG. 9B, i.e. outer boundary COE), and wherein a first distance ([0242], FIG. 9B, i.e. first distance d1) between the inner boundary and a wiring line disposed closest to the inner boundary ([0242], FIG. 9B, i.e. wiring closest to the curved inner boundary CIE may be apart from the curved inner boundary CIE) is greater than ([0242], FIG. 9B, i.e. may be greater than) a second distance ([0242], FIG. 9B, i.e. second distance d2) between the outer boundary and a wiring line disposed closest to the outer boundary ([0242], FIG. 9B, i.e. the wiring closest to the curved outer boundary COE).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention’s effective date was filed to combine Cheng et al. teaching of display comprising plurality of conductive layers including specific signals for each layer with Kim et al. teaching of teaching of display comprising plurality of S-like bridges having different distances from wires to boundaries to effectively accommodate stretching of the display panel utilizing S-like bridges having different distances from wires to boundaries (Kim et al.’s [0242]).
Allowable Subject Matter
8. Claim(s) 3-9, 13-18, and 20 is/are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
9. The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance:
Cheng et al. (U.S. Patent/PGPub. No. 20230154936) teach a display device and a manufacturing method of the display device. The display device includes a plurality of pixel island regions separated from each other and a plurality of connecting hinge regions connecting adjacent pixel island regions to each other. The display device further includes a first metal layer. The first metal layer is patterned to form an anode in each of the pixel island regions and is patterned to form at least one metal trace in each of the connecting hinge regions.
Kim et al. (U.S. PGPub/Patent 20250107300) teach a display device includes: a plurality of island portions; first bridge portions connecting island portions adjacent to each other in a first direction, the first bridge portions including a first voltage line, a second voltage line, and a third voltage line; and second bridge portions connecting island portions adjacent to each other in a second direction crossing the first direction, the second bridge portions including a fourth voltage line electrically connected to the first voltage line, a fifth voltage line electrically connected to the second voltage line, and a sixth voltage line electrically connected to the third voltage line. The first voltage line and the fourth voltage line are arranged in a first conductive layer. The second voltage line, the fifth voltage line, the third voltage line, and the sixth voltage line are arranged in a second conductive layer on the first conductive layer.
The subject matter of the claim(s) that could neither be found/suggested nor obviously combinable in the prior arts of record. The subject matter was a device/method including
“…further comprising:
a semiconductor layer disposed on the substrate; and
a fourth conductive layer disposed between the semiconductor layer and the first conductive layer and including a connection electrode;
wherein the first voltage line extends along boundaries of the island portion in a first direction and a second direction that intersects the first direction, the second voltage line includes a first portion and a second portion, and the first voltage line extends between the first portion and the second portion, and the connection electrode connects the first portion and the second portion across the first voltage line.” (Claim 3),
“…wherein the first voltage line has a first sub-voltage line disposed on a first bridge portion of the bridge portions and a second sub-voltage line disposed on a second bridge portion of the bridge portions, and a width of the first sub-voltage line in a direction perpendicular to an extension direction of the first sub-voltage line is different from a width of the second sub-voltage line in a direction perpendicular to an extension direction of the second sub-voltage line.” (Claim 7),
“…wherein the second voltage line has a first sub-voltage line disposed on a first bridge portion of the bridge portions and a second sub-voltage line disposed on a second bridge portion, and the third voltage line extends between the first sub-voltage line and the second sub-voltage line on the island portion.” (Claim 8),
“…further comprising:
a first insulating layer disposed between the first conductive layer and the second conductive layer,
wherein the first insulating layer has a first thickness on the bridge portions and a second thickness on the island portion, and
the first thickness is greater than the second thickness.” (Claim 13; Claim 20 is similar),
in combination with the other elements (or steps) of the device or apparatus and method recited in the claims.
Conclusion
/VINH T LAM/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2628