DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
Applicant’s Response, filed 06/09/2026, amended claims 1, 22 & 23. New claims 24-26 were added. Therefore, claims 1-26 are pending.
Response to Arguments
Regarding the § 101 rejection, Applicant’s claim amendments and supporting arguments have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn.
Regarding the § 103 rejection, Applicant’s claim amendments and supporting arguments have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn.
However, upon further consideration, a new ground of rejection is made in view of the claim amendments and the Brooks reference, cited in the IDS filed 01/26/2026 (citation # 255 in the 30-page document).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112(b)
Claim 26 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
New claim 26 recites “wherein the interactive element is adapted to enable a user to change at least one value associated with the context information.” The emphasized language renders the limitation optional and without patentable weight. The examiner recommends overcoming this rejection by positively reciting an action. For example, “wherein the interactive element receives, from a user, a [[to]] change to at least one value associated with the context information.”
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112(d)
Claims 2, 3 & 6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(d) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, 4th paragraph, as being of improper dependent form for failing to further limit the subject matter of the claim upon which it depends, or for failing to include all the limitations of the claim upon which it depends.
Claim 2 recites limitations that have been substantively amended into claim 1 without canceling claim 2. Claims 3 & 6 depend on claim 2 and are rejected for their dependency.
Applicant may cancel the claim(s), amend the claim(s) to place the claim(s) in proper dependent form, rewrite the claim(s) in independent form, or present a sufficient showing that the dependent claim(s) complies with the statutory requirements.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-26 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over:
(i) Altaf et al. (US 2018/0225365 A1, hereinafter “Altaf”) in view of
(ii) “Chatbot-Based Natural Language Interfaces for Data Visualisation: A Scoping Review” by Ecem Kavaz, et al. (published 11 June 2023, hereinafter “Kavaz”), and further in view of
(iii) Brooks (US 2023/0214461 A1, cited in the IDS filed 01/26/2026, hereinafter “Brooks”).
Altaf teaches:
1. A non-transitory computer-readable medium containing instructions that when executed by at least one processor cause the at least one processor to perform operations for dynamically displaying, in an interactive messaging interface and based on user input, a graphical depiction of at least a portion of a linked database [Altaf, ¶¶ 0054 & 0056], the operations comprising:
displaying a graphical user interface to the user of the host platform, the graphical user interface including the interactive messaging interface [Altaf, ¶ 0054];
receiving, via the graphical user interface, a first user input from the user [Altaf, ¶ 0054];
accessing at least one database associated with a particular context of the first user input [Altaf, ¶ 0054];
analyzing data within the at least one database to identify context information from the at least one database [Altaf, ¶ 0056].
Altaf does not explicitly teach, but Kavaz teaches:
presenting to the user a graphical depiction of the context information within the interactive messaging interface, wherein the graphical depiction shares at least one graphical characteristic with the format of the context information [Kavaz, page 17, § 4.3 and Figure 9, Interaction Space].
Altaf and Kavaz are analogous art because they are in the same field of endeavor, chatbot query interfaces. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Altaf with the chatbot input and output interaction techniques taught by Kavaz to arrive at a user-friendly interface for information retrieval that is customizable across a variety of applications. See also Kavaz’s section 1 Introduction at pages 1-3 for additional rationale of combining chatbots for iterative refinements in search and retrieval use cases.
The combination of Altaf and Kavaz does not explicitly teach, but Brooks teaches:
wherein the at least one graphical characteristic is extracted from one or more graphical elements corresponding to the context information and is applied to generate, within the interactive messaging interface, at least a portion of the graphical depiction as an interactive element having the at least one graphical characteristic [Brooks, ¶¶ 0061 & 0062].
Altaf, Kavaz, and Brooks are analogous art because they are in the same field of endeavor, chatbot query interfaces. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combination of Altaf and Kavaz with the information retrieval output presentation and interaction techniques taught by Brooks to arrive at a user-friendly interface for information retrieval that is customizable across a variety of applications.
The combination of Altaf, Kavaz, and Brooks teaches:
2. The non-transitory computer-readable medium of claim 1, wherein the graphical depiction is an interactive element [Kavaz, page 17, § 4.3 and Figure 9, Interaction Space].
3. The non-transitory computer-readable medium of claim 2, wherein the operations further comprise:
receiving, via the interactive element, a second user input from the user [Altaf, ¶ 0069];
updating context information displayed in the graphical depiction based on content of the second user input [Altaf, ¶ 0069]; and
sending the updated context information to the at least one database and updating the at least one database based on the updated context information [Altaf, ¶ 0066].
4. The non-transitory computer-readable medium of claim 1, wherein the at least database is located on the host platform [Altaf, ¶ 0021].
5. The non-transitory computer-readable medium of claim 1, wherein the at least one database is located on an application external to the host platform or a service external to the host platform [Altaf, ¶ 0036].
6. The non-transitory computer-readable medium of claim 2, wherein the graphical depiction is linked to the at least one database [Kavaz, page 17, § 4.3 and Figure 9, Interaction Space].
7. The non-transitory computer-readable medium of claim 1, wherein the graphical depiction updates in real time as changes to the at least one database are detected [Kavaz, page 17, § 4.3 and Figure 9, Interaction Space].
8. The non-transitory computer-readable medium of claim 1, wherein the graphical depiction is constructed to replicate a design of the at least one database [Kavaz, page 17, § 4.3 and Figure 9, Interaction Space].
9. The non-transitory computer-readable medium of claim 1, wherein the graphical depiction includes graphical elements imported from the at least one database [Kavaz, page 17, § 4.3 and Figure 9, Interaction Space].
10. The non-transitory computer-readable medium of claim 9, wherein the graphical elements are imported from the at least one database via an integration schema [Kavaz, page 17, § 4.3 and Figure 9, Interaction Space].
11. The non-transitory computer-readable medium of claim 1, wherein at least a portion of the at least one database is imported into the graphical depiction via an integration schema [Kavaz, page 17, § 4.3 and Figure 9, Interaction Space].
12. The non-transitory computer-readable medium of claim 1, wherein the graphical depiction is constructed using predefined graphical elements that exist within the host platform [Kavaz, page 17, § 4.3 and Figure 9, Interaction Space].
13. The non-transitory computer-readable medium of claim 1, wherein the at least one database includes a plurality of databases and a portion of the plurality of databases are associated with applications external to the host platform or services external to the host platform [Altaf, ¶¶ 0021 & 0036].
14. The non-transitory computer-readable medium of claim 1, wherein the interactive messaging interface is part of a third-party application separate from the host platform [Kavaz, page 22, § 4.6].
15. The non-transitory computer-readable medium of claim 14, wherein the graphical depiction is constructed using predefined graphical elements that exist within the third-party application [Kavaz, page 17, § 4.3 and Figure 9, Interaction Space].
16. The non-transitory computer-readable medium of claim 1, wherein the accessing of the at least one database is controlled by permissions [Altaf, ¶ 0042].
17. The non-transitory computer-readable medium of claim 1, wherein the analyzing of the data within the at least one database involves extracting metadata from the at least one database [Altaf, ¶ 0066].
18. The non-transitory computer-readable medium of claim 1, wherein the accessing the at least one database, the analyzing the data within the at least one database, and the presenting the graphical depiction within the interactive messaging interface to the user are performed by an artificial intelligence agent [Altaf, ¶¶ 0001 & 0002].
19. The non-transitory computer-readable medium of claim 18, wherein the first user input includes a keyword that activates the artificial intelligence agent [Altaf, ¶ 0053].
20. The non-transitory computer-readable medium of claim 18, wherein the artificial intelligence agent monitors the interactive messaging interface to detect the first user input, the first user input being indicative of a user intent or task requirement [Altaf, ¶ 0057].
21. The non-transitory computer-readable medium of claim 1, wherein the graphical depiction mirrors the format of the context information [Kavaz, page 17, § 4.3 and Figure 9, Interaction Space].
Claims 22 & 23 recite limitations that correspond to those recited in claim 1, and both are rejected for the same reasons discussed above.
24. The non-transitory computer-readable medium of claim 1, wherein the at least one graphical characteristic comprises at least one of color, font, size, or style [Brooks, ¶ 0061].
25. The non-transitory computer-readable medium of claim 1, wherein the one or more graphical elements corresponding to the context information comprise one or more interactive cells of a table structure displayed by the host platform [Brooks, ¶ 0056].
26. The non-transitory computer-readable medium of claim 1, wherein the interactive element is adapted to enable a user to change at least one value associated with the context information [Brooks, ¶ 0056].
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/Scott A. Waldron/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2156