DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Claims 13-18 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on June 22, 2026.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
1. Claim(s) 7-10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Hieblinger (US 2016/0338449).
Regarding Claim 7, Hieblinger discloses an article of footwear, comprising: a sole (1); an upper (2), secured with respect to the sole, forming an opening to admit a foot of a wearer (as seen in Fig.1), the opening being adjustable between a first segment of the upper (i.e. medial side of 2) and a second segment of the upper (i.e. lateral side of 2) to secure the article of footwear to the foot of the wearer (para.24); a first fold-over strip (3) extending from a lateral side of the article of footwear to a medial side of the article of footwear over the upper; a second fold-over strip (4) extending from the medial side of the article of footwear to a lateral side of the article of footwear over the upper (as seen in Fig.2), at least one of the first and second fold-over strips at least partially overlapping the other one of the first and second fold-over strips (as seen in Fig.2); at least one lace guide (9), positioned on at least one of the first and second fold-over strips (as seen in Fig.3); a heel lace guide (rear 15) positioned on a heel of the upper (as seen in Fig.1); wherein a lace (6) is configured to extend through the at least one lace guide and the heel lace guide and cinch the first and second fold-over strips down onto the upper when the tension is increased on the lace (para.24; as seen in Fig.1-3).
Regarding Claim 8, Hieblinger further discloses an article of footwear of claim 7, wherein the at least one lace guide (9) includes a first lace guide positioned on the first fold-over strip (3) and a second lace guide (8) positioned on the second fold-over strip (4), wherein the lace (6) is configured to extend through both the first and second lace guides (as seen in Fig.1-3).
Regarding Claim 9, Hieblinger discloses an article of footwear of claim 7, wherein the first and second fold-over strips are secured to and extend from the sole (as seen in Fig.1 & 3).
Regarding Claim 10, Hieblinger discloses an article of footwear of claim 7, wherein the first fold-over strip overlaps the second fold-over strip (as seen in Fig.2).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
2. Claim(s) 1-4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hieblinger (US 2016/0338449) in view of Rushbrook (US 2015/0289595).
Regarding Claim 1, Hieblinger discloses an article of footwear, comprising: a sole (1); an upper (2), secured with respect to the sole, forming an opening to admit a foot of a wearer (as seen in Fig.1), the opening being adjustable between a first segment of the upper (i.e. medial side of 2) and a second segment of the upper (i.e. lateral side of 2) to secure the article of footwear to the foot of the wearer (para.24); a first fold-over strip (3) extending from a lateral side of the article of footwear to a medial side of the article of footwear over the upper; a second fold-over strip (4) extending from the medial side of the article of footwear to a lateral side of the article of footwear over the upper (as seen in Fig.2), at least one of the first and second fold-over strips at least partially overlapping the other one of the first and second fold-over strips (as seen in Fig.2); at least one lace guide (9), positioned on at least one of the first and second fold-over strips (as seen in Fig.3; para.24); a reel lacing system (8), configured to engage with a lace (6) to increase and decrease tension on the lace (para.24), the reel lacing system comprising: a lace spool (para.24), configured to spool and unspool the lace (via 8) to increase and decrease the tension on the lace, respectively (para.24); wherein the lace is configured to extend through the at least one lace guide and cinch the first and second fold-over strips down onto the upper when the tension is increased on the lace (para.24). Hieblinger does not disclose a heel lace guide positioned on a heel of the upper; a motorized lacing system positioned within the sole, the motorized lacing system comprising: a motor; and a lace spool, operatively coupled to the motor. However, Rushbrook teaches footwear having an upper (145), straps (140), and a sole (110,165); a lace (155) which tightens the straps on the medial and lateral sides (para.68 & 117; as seen in Fig.1 & 2); a heel lace guide (aperture in 160 that receives 155) positioned on a heel of the upper (as seen in Fig.3); a motorized lacing system (para.71; 160,505,510,415,420,430,440) positioned within the sole (as seen in Fig.5), the motorized lacing system comprising: a motor; and a lace spool, operatively coupled to the motor (para.71 & 136).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the reel lacing system of Hieblinger to be motorized, as taught by Rushbrook, in order for adjustments may be made without the wearer having to stop the activity in which they are participating, allowing for adjusting tightness according to changes in the fit. Additionally, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have placed the reel lacing system of modified Hieblinger at the heel and sole, as taught by Rushbrook, in order to provide the desired aesthetic appearance for the user. Further, it has been held that rearranging parts of an invention involves only routine skill in the art. See MPEP 2144.04 VI. When in combination, Hieblinger and Rushbrook teach the lace is configured to extend through the at least one lace guide and the heel lace guide and cinch the first and second fold-over strips down onto the upper when the tension is increased on the lace.
Regarding Claim 2, Hieblinger further discloses an article of footwear of claim 1, wherein the at least one lace guide (9) includes a first lace guide positioned on the first fold-over strip (3), including a lace holder (i.e. 8 is a lace holder) on the second fold-over strip (as seen in Fig.1). Hieblinger does not explicitly disclose a second lace guide positioned on the second fold-over strip. However, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the lace holder of Hieblinger to be a second lace guide, the same as the first lace guide, as taught by Hieblinger, in order to provide a lace guide on the second fold-over strip to route the lace to the motorized lacing system of modified Hieblinger. When in combination, Hieblinger and Rushbrook teach wherein the lace is configured to extend through both the first and second lace guides.
Regarding Claim 3, Hieblinger discloses an article of footwear of claim 1, wherein the first and second fold-over strips are secured to and extend from the sole (as seen in Fig.1 & 3).
Regarding Claim 4, Hieblinger discloses an article of footwear of claim 1, wherein the first fold-over strip overlaps the second fold-over strip (as seen in Fig.2).
Double Patenting
3. Claims 1-12 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-12 of U.S. Patent No. 12,471,678. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because instant Claim 1 recites the same subject matter as Claim 1 of US 12,471,678. Instant Claim 2 recites the same subject matter as Claim 2 of US 12,471,678. Instant Claim 3 recites the same subject matter as Claim 3 of US 12,471,678. Instant Claim 4 recites the same subject matter as Claim 4 of US 12,471,678. Instant Claim 5 recites the same subject matter as Claim 5 of US 12,471,678. Instant Claim 6 recites the same subject matter as Claim 6 of US 12,471,678. Instant Claim 7 recites the same subject matter as Claim 7 of US 12,471,678. Instant Claim 8 recites the same subject matter as Claim 8 of US 12,471,678. Instant Claim 9 recites the same subject matter as Claim 9 of US 12,471,678. Instant Claim 10 recites the same subject matter as Claim 10 of US 12,471,678. Instant Claim 11 recites the same subject matter as Claim 11 of US 12,471,678. Instant Claim 22 recites the same subject matter as Claim 2 of US 12,471,678.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 5-6 and 11-12 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims. Claims 5-6 and 11-12 are allowed as none of the prior art, alone or in combination, teach the lace exits the upper through a first aperture, extends through the at least one lace guide, extends through the heel lace guide, and enters the upper through a second aperture different than the first aperture.
As allowable subject matter has been indicated, applicant's reply must either comply with all formal requirements or specifically traverse each requirement not complied with. See 37 CFR 1.111(b) and MPEP § 707.07(a).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. For example, Hatfield (US 2013/0160328) teaches overlapping straps that tighten at the heel.
/MEGAN E LYNCH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3732