DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Claims 9-20 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b), as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Applicant timely traversed the restriction (election) requirement in the reply filed on June 8, 2026.
Applicant's election with traverse of Subspecies A-C in the reply filed on June 8, 2026 is acknowledged. The traversal is on the ground(s) that all inventions could be examined without a serious burden. This is not found persuasive because each of Subspecies A-C are patentably distinct from one another and include divergent claimed subject matter that separate the subspecies and such recognized divergent subject matter separating the subspecies is a burden to examination.
The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
1. Claims 1-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites “a fastener coupled to the cooling body configured to attach the cooling body to a headwear body”. The claim limitation is indefinite as it is unclear how a fastener couples the cooling body to the headwear when the elected Species 2: Fig.3A & Subspecies A: Fig.2A-2C shows the cooling body within a sleeve and the fastener is on the sleeve, not the cooling body. Additionally, it appears Claim 1 is directed to an unelected invention. However, in the spirit of compact prosecution, the claim has not been withdrawn and will be interpreted as a fastener being coupled to the cooling body by its insertion into a sleeve comprising the fastener. Applicant must amend the claim to be drawn to the elected Species & Subspecies. Claim 1 is rejected as best understood by examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
1. Claim(s) 1, 3-6, and 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Hujar (US 5,557,807).
Regarding Claim 1, Hujar discloses a wearable cooling device comprising: a cooling body (7; Col.7, lines 23-24); and a fastener (8 on 6) coupled (via insertion into 6) to the cooling body configured to attach the cooling body to a headwear body (3)(as seen in Fig.1; Col.7, lines 26-29).
Regarding Claim 3, Hujar discloses a wearable cooling device of claim 1, further comprising an outer sleeve (6) including the fastener (8) and configured to receive the cooling body (as seen in Fig.1 & 2; Col.7, lines 23-24).
Regarding Claim 4, Hujar discloses a wearable cooling device of claim 3, wherein the outer sleeve (6) is removably attached to the headwear body using the fastener (8)(as seen in Fig.1; Col.7, lines 26-29).
Regarding Claim 5, Hujar discloses a wearable cooling device of claim 3, wherein the outer sleeve (6) is fixedly attached to the headwear body (Col.7, lines 26-29).
Regarding Claim 6, Hujar discloses a wearable cooling device of claim 3, wherein the outer sleeve (6) comprises an opening (i.e. opening seen at 18 in Fig.2) configured to receive the cooling body such that the cooling body is disposed within the outer sleeve (as seen in Fig.2).
Regarding Claim 8, Hujar discloses a wearable cooling device of claim 6, wherein the opening is sealable and configured to retain the cooling body within the outer sleeve using a fastener (18; Col.8, lines 16-18) disposed about the opening (as seen in Fig.2).
2. Claim(s) 1 and 3-7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Nakamura (US 2022/0256957).
Regarding Claim 1, Nakamura discloses a wearable cooling device comprising: a cooling body (500/501/502); and a fastener (20; para.93) coupled (via insertion into 2) to the cooling body configured to attach the cooling body to a headwear body (1)(as seen in Fig.1, 10 & 11a).
Regarding Claim 3, Nakamura discloses a wearable cooling device of claim 1, further comprising an outer sleeve (2: 30/31/32) including the fastener (20) and configured to receive the cooling body (500/501/502)(as seen in Fig.1, 10 & 11a).
Regarding Claim 4, Nakamura discloses a wearable cooling device of claim 3, wherein the outer sleeve (2: 30/31/32) is removably attached to the headwear body using the fastener (20; para.93).
Regarding Claim 5, Nakamura discloses a wearable cooling device of claim 3, wherein the outer sleeve (2: 30/31/32) is fixedly attached to the headwear body (1)(as seen in Fig.1; para.93, 2 is “fixedly attached” inasmuch as has been claimed by Applicant, in that it is attached in a secure manner to 1).
Regarding Claim 6, Nakamura discloses a wearable cooling device of claim 3, wherein the outer sleeve (2: 30/31/32) comprises an opening (30a/31a/32a) configured to receive the cooling body such that the cooling body is disposed within the outer sleeve (para.102; as seen in Fig.10 & 11a).
Regarding Claim 7, Nakamura discloses a wearable cooling device of claim 6, wherein the opening (30a/31a/32a) is unsealable (i.e. the openings have no fasteners, as seen in Fig.11a) and configured to retain the cooling body within the outer sleeve using tension (para.102; as seen in Fig.10 & 11a).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
3. Claim(s) 2 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hujar (US 5,557,807) in view of Cothran (US 2015/0297397).
Regarding Claim 2, Hujar discloses the invention substantially as claimed above. Hujar does not disclose an indicator coupled to the cooling body and configured to indicate a temperature state of the cooling body. However, Rand teaches a cooling body (40; para.91) having an indicator (98) coupled to the cooling body and configured to indicate a temperature state of the cooling body (para.92; as seen in Fig.9).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the cooling body of Hujar to include an indicator, as taught by Rand, in order to allow a user to assess when the cooling body is cold or hot.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. For example, Bourne (US 4,503,560) teaches a cooling body in a hat; and Karlan (US 5,327,585) teaches a cooling body in a hat.
/MEGAN E LYNCH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3732