DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on the previous combination of references applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument. Therefore, in view of the amendments made to the claims, an updated search was conducted leading to the Solanki reference and a modified 103 Rejection set forth below.
In view of the amendments to the claims, the 112(a) and 112(b) Rejections are withdrawn.
In view of the claim amendments with respect to the newly submitted claims 13-21, the Double Patenting Rejection claim numbering has been modified and repeated below.
Double Patenting
Claims 1, 2, 5-7, 9-11, 13, 14, and 17-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-7, 10, and 12-19 of U.S. Patent No. 12,471,883. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the patented claim 1 is directed to “an intravascular imaging system, comprising: a processor circuit configured for communication with an intravascular imaging catheter positioned inside a blood vessel of a patient, wherein the processor circuit is configured to: receive intravascular image data from the intravascular imaging catheter; output, to a display in communication with the processor circuit, a screen display comprising: an intravascular image generated based on the image data and comprising a first visual appearance; and a user control movable to a plurality of control positions, wherein the plurality of control positions comprises: a first control position associated with the first visual appearance; and a second control position associated with a second visual appearance, wherein the user control is positioned at the first control position; receive a control input moving the user control from the first control position to the second control position such that the control input is associated with simultaneously changing at least two image settings; generate, in response to the user control being positioned at the second control position, an updated intravascular image based on the image data and comprising the second visual appearance; and update the screen display to display the updated intravascular image” (similar to claims 1, 13, and 14 of present application (with some obvious variations) where the present application is directed to display of circumferential cross-sectional images and the positioning of the slider knob to track between a plurality of cross-sectional images with the positioning of the slider knob from a first position to a plurality of positions). Claims 2 and 3 of ‘883 are similar in subject matter to claims 1 and 13 with respect to the screen display to include a slider with control positions to move the knob to a plurality of positions along the track where the positions correspond to the image setting (similar to claims 1 and 13 of present application). Claim 4 of ‘883 is directed to “the screen display comprises a legend, and wherein, for each of the plurality of control position ranges, the legend comprises a graphical representation of a corresponding image setting of the at least two image settings” (similar to claims 11 and 19 of present application). Claim 5 of ‘883 is directed to “the graphical representation comprises at least one of a grayscale gradient or a color gradient” (similar to claim 5 of present application). Claims 6 and 7 of ‘883 have similar subject matter with respect to the slider control and the image settings (as claim 10 of present application). Claim 10 of ‘883 with respect to the controlling the grayscale/color appearance is similar to claims 5, 7, 17, 18, and 20 of present application. Claim 12 of ‘883 with respect to the catheter being configured for IVUS or OCT is similar to claim 2 of present application. Claim 13 of ‘883 with respect to the brightness setting and other image settings is similar to claim 9 of present application. Claims 14-19 are similar to claims 5-7, 17, 18, and 20 of present application with respect to the visual appearance or grayscale/color and warmer color/cooler color and where the different regions of the image are displayed with different colors.
The patented claims (as set forth above) are directed to similar subject matter as above identified claims of present application with respect to the control of the image display by changing image settings on the slider feature on display with some obvious variations with respect to the cross-sectional images of the blood vessel (in the present application). It would be obvious to use the system from ‘883 to apply it to the display of specific cross-sections of the blood vessel by controlling the slider position to change image settings to provide better diagnostics on the plurality of locations along a length of the blood vessel.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-9, 14-18, 20, and 21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Collins et al. (2014/0276036) in view of Solanki et al. (2019/0042828).
With respect to claims 1 and 14, Collins et al. teach of an apparatus comprising an intravascular imaging catheter or data collector 22 configured to be positioned inside a blood vessel of a patient 10 [0023-0025, 0052, 0054] and a processor circuit 18 configured for communication with the intravascular imaging catheter wherein the processor circuit is configured to receive intravascular image data representative of a plurality of locations along a length of the blood vessel during movement of the catheter through the blood vessel and generate cross-sectional images of the blood vessel that is representative of the plurality of locations [0027].
With respect to claims 1 and 14, Collins et al. teach of the display of the circumferential cross-sectional images on display [0037] where the circumferential cross-sectional image is a representative of a location of the plurality of locations [0035, 0037, 0039-0042]. Collins et al. teach of a display 380 with controls including zoom, color, brightness/contrast in the form of sliders to make changes to the images on the display [0076]. Collins et al. however do not teach of the circular image based on the intravascular image data and the plurality of corners regions not including the intravascular image data and positioned outside the circular image region. In a related field of endeavor Solanki et al. teach of an image processing system and method tracking retinal vascular changes [0125, 0418-0422]. Solanki et al. teach of a displaying a circular image region of the eye with a plurality of corner region not including the intravascular image data and positioned outside of the circular image region or the circular region with a dark border surrounding it where the corner regions do not provide useful information of the image itself and therefore desirable to ignore them [0136]. Solanki et al. teach of modifying the display such that the appearance of the circular image region is more enhanced (fig. 4E, 4F, 0134) while the visual appearance of the corner regions remains the same (appearing as a dark border without any useful information regarding the image data) [0136]. Under broadest reasonable interpretation, Solanki et al. teach of user modification to the display such that the visual appearance of the circular image region that gets more enhanced while the corner regions remain dark. It would have therefore been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to use the teaching by Solanki et al. to modify Collins et al. for more improved lesion and vessel visibility [Solanki, 0126].
With respect to claim 2, Collins et al. in view of Solanki et al. teach of the intravascular imaging catheter [0052, 0054] to be configured for intravascular ultrasound [0059].
With respect to claim 3, Collins et al. in view of Solanki et al. teach of the monitoring of microvascular disease by mapping functional flow measurements to determine abnormal constriction of blood vessels arising from plaque accumulation or stenosis [0003-0005]. The reference therefore teaches of presentation of cross-sectional images comprising visibility of plaque as the reference is directed to generating images on the function flow through blood vessels as an indicator for stenosis [0027, 0049]. As shown in figure 6, the display may indicate stenosis with plaque buildup and indicated by red while regions in blue might indicate normal flow and no plaque buildup [0049]. Solanki et al. teach of modifying the display such that the appearance of the circular image region is more enhanced (fig. 4E, 4F, 0134) while the visual appearance of the corner regions remains the same (appearing as a dark border without any useful information regarding the image data) [0136]. It would have therefore been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to use the teaching by Solanki et al. to modify Collins et al. for more improved lesion and vessel visibility [Solanki, 0126].
With respect to claims 4-7, 18, 20, and 21, Collins et al. do not explicitly teach of the change in the display of the cross-sectional images from a first time to a second type of appearance. Collins et al. teach of the change in appearance of the circular region from a first type of visual appearance (fig. 4E) to a second type of visual appearance (fig. 4F) where the appearances can be distinguished based on color different from the grayscale [0129, 0169] with different colors such as warmer or cooler colors such as red or bright color mapping for certain regions or entire regions within the circular image and [0168, 0169] . It would have therefore been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to use the teaching by Solanki et al. to modify Collins et al. for more improved lesion and vessel visibility [Solanki, 0126].
With respect to claims 8 and 9, Collins et al. in view of Solanki et al. teach of making adjustments to image settings such as brightness/contrast/color [0076]. Solanki et al. additionally teach of implementing changes in the image setting such as contrast [0184], saturation [0258], luminance [0260].
With respect to claims 15-17, Collins et al. do not teach of the corner regions. Solanki et al. teach of a displaying a circular image region of the eye with a plurality of corner region not including the intravascular image data and positioned outside of the circular image region or the circular region with a dark border surrounding it where the corner regions do not provide useful information of the image itself and therefore desirable to ignore them [0136]. Solanki et al. teach of modifying the display such that the appearance of the circular image region is more enhanced (fig. 4E, 4F, 0134) while the visual appearance of the corner regions remains the same (appearing as a dark border without any useful information regarding the image data) [0136]. It would have therefore been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to use the teaching by Solanki et al. to modify Collins et al. for more improved lesion and vessel visibility [Solanki, 0126].
Claim(s) 10, 11, 13, and 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Collins et al. in view of Solanki et al. and further in view of Ogasawara et al. Collins et al. teach of the display including controls such as sliders, tabs, switches oriented horizontally on the screen display with a visual legend [0076, fig. 4] and Solanki et al. teach of a user input to change an image setting such as transparency using a vertical slider [0336] but do not teach of all the claimed elements with respect to the slider configuration (knob/track). In a similar field of endeavor Ogasawara et al. teach of an image processing apparatus and display that generates cross-sectional images of blood vessel on display [0066]. Ogasawara et al. teach of the GUI display control unit 16a causing display of a slide bar for setting transparency at a moment of composition in each of the blood vessel early phase and late phase as well as the color palette by moving the slide bar [0063] where the first phase of images is different from the second phase of images [0029]. The reference teaches of generating cross-sectional images of the blood vessel with the display including the GUI display-control unit with the slide bar that can be moved to correspond to generate different phases of the blood vessel by changing the image setting parameters such as the transparency or color [0063]. Therefore, under broadest reasonable interpretation, the reference teaches of receiving user input to move the slider knob from first position to a second position such that user input is associated with change to the presentation of the cross-sectional images and modify the display based on the change to the presentation of the cross-sectional images. It would have therefore been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to use the teaching by Ogasawara et al. to modify Collins et al. to more effectively monitor changes in blood-vessel dynamics or changes to tumors along a time sequence and perform diagnostics of malignancy with high precision efficiently [Ogasawara, 0087, 0088].
With respect to claims 10 and 11, Collins et al. teach of the display including controls such as sliders, tabs, switches oriented horizontally on the screen display with a visual legend [0076, fig. 4] but do not explicitly teach of the movement of the slider knob between the plurality of ranges to change the image settings. Ogasawara et al. teach of the movement of the slider track or slide bar between different ranges to change the settings [0063] and as display include a visual legend associated with the slide bar comprises a plurality of graphical representations corresponding to the plurality of ranges (as shown in fig. 3B)and the slide bar is oriented horizontally in the screen display (fig. 3B). It would have therefore been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to use the teaching by Ogasawara et al. to modify Collins et al. to more effectively monitor changes in blood-vessel dynamics or changes to tumors along a time sequence and perform diagnostics of malignancy with high precision efficiently [Ogasawara, 0087, 0088].
With respect to claim 19, Collins et al. in view of Solanki et al. in view of Ogasawara et al. teach of the display to include visual legend extending along the length of the slider track (Collins, fig. 4) where the visual legend comprises a grayscale gradient and wherein portions of the gradient correspond to respective ones of the plurality of visual appearances of the intravascular image (as shown in fig. 4).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
BR
/BAISAKHI ROY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3797