DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
[AltContent: connector][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (UP1)][AltContent: connector][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (UP2)]Claims 1-3, 7-9, 11-16 and 18-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Hwang 5,842,394).
Hwang discloses all of the limitations of claim 1, i.e., a pocket bit driver that is configured to use at least a first driver bit, the pocket bit driver comprising:
a driver body 1 including (i) a first active bit receiver 11, Fig. 1 that is configured to selectively receive and retain the first driver bit 2, the first active bit receiver being oriented in a first direction
that is parallel to a body length of the driver body Fig. 1, and (ii) a second active bit receiver 15 that is configured to alternatively, selectively receive and retain the first driver bit Fig. 5, the second active bit receiver 15 being oriented in a second direction that is it an angle relative to the body length of the driver body, the second direction being different than the first direction Figs. 4 and 5 , and (iii) a first stored bit receiver upper portion of the axial bore 11 “UP1”, annotated Fig. 3 that is configured to selectively receive, retain and store at least the first driver bit, the first stored bit receiver UP1 defining a storage cavity that is separated and distinct from the first active bit receiver 14 and the second active bit receiverb15, separated via the slot 14’ and/or spiring 3’, Fig. 3.
Regarding claim 2, PA (prior art, Hwang) meets the limitations, i.e., the pocket bit driver of claim 1 wherein the second direction is substantially perpendicular to the body length of the driver body Fig. 5.
Regarding claim 3, PA meets the limitations, i.e., the pocket bit driver of claim 1 wherein the first driver bit is configured to fit snugly within each of the first active bit receiver and the second active bit receiver; and wherein the first driver bit is alternatively, selectively retained within each of the first active bit receiver and the second active bit receiver by a static friction force Figs. 1 and 5.
[AltContent: connector][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (UP1)][AltContent: connector][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (UP2)]
Regarding claim 7, PA meets the limitations, i.e., the pocket bit driver of claim 1 wherein the first stored bit receiver 2, Fig. 5 is formed as a slot hollow axial bore 11 that extends longitudinally along the body length of the driver body Fig. 3.
Regarding claim 8, PA meets the limitations, i.e., the pocket bit driver of claim 1 wherein the first stored bit receiver UP1, Fig. 3 is configured to selectively receive, retain and store the first driver bit 2 and a second driver bit 2.
Regarding claim 9, PA meets the limitations, i.e., the pocket bit driver of claim 1 wherein the first stored bit receiver UP1 is configured to selectively receive, retain and store the first driver bit 2, Fig. 4; and wherein the driver body 1 further includes a second stored bit receiver UP2, annotated Fig. 3, above that is configured to selectively receive, retain and store a second driver bit 2.
Regarding claim 11, PA meets the limitations, i.e., the pocket bit driver of claim 1 wherein the first stored bit receiver 11 includes a slide inhibitor spring 3, Fig. 1 that is configured to inhibit the first driver bit 2 from sliding within the first stored bit receiver when the first driver bit is stored within the first stored bit receiver Fig. 3.
Regarding claim 12, PA meets the limitations, i.e., the pocket bit driver of claim 11 wherein the slide inhibitor 3 is a laterally oriented rib Fig. 3 that is positioned at a desired longitudinal position within the first stored bit receiver Figs. 1 and 3.
Regarding claim 13, PA meets the limitations, i.e., the pocket bit driver of claim 1 wherein the driver body 1 has a unibody, one-piece design Fig. 1.
Regarding claim 14, PA meets the limitations, i.e., the pocket bit driver of claim 1 further including a body adapter connecting sleeve 21 that can be received within each of the first active bit receiver 11, Fig. 4 and the second active bit receiver 15, Fig. 5 to at least one of extend the body length of the driver body and extend a reach of the pocket bit driver extending the reach as configured in Fig. 5.
Regarding claim 14, PA meets the limitations, i.e., the A bit driver assembly including the pocket bit driver of claim 1 and the first driver bit 2 that is alternatively, selectively received and retained within the first active bit receiver and the second active bit receiver Fig. 1.
CLAIM 16
Hwang discloses all of the limitations of claim 16, i.e., a pocket bit driver that is configured to use at least a first driver bit, the pocket bit driver comprising:
[AltContent: connector][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (UP1)][AltContent: connector][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (UP2)]a driver body 1 including (i) a first active bit receiver 11, Fig. 1 that is configured to selectively receive and retain the first driver bit 2, the first active bit receiver being oriented in a first direction that is parallel to a body length of the driver body Fig. 1, and (ii) a second active bit receiver 15 that is configured to alternatively, selectively receive and retain the first driver bit Fig. 5, the second active bit receiver 15 being oriented in a second direction that is substantially perpendicular to the body length of the driver body Figs. 1 and 5, and (iii) a first stored bit receiver upper portion of the axial bore 11, annotated Fig. 3 that is configured to selectively receive, retain and store at least the first driver bit 2, the first stored bit receiver UP1 being formed as a slot that extends longitudinally along the body length of the driver body Fig. 3;
wherein the first driver bit 2 is configured to fit snugly within each of the first active bit receiver 11, Fig. 4 and the second active bit receiver 15, Fig. 5; and
wherein the first driver bit 2 is alternatively, selectively retained within each of the first active bit receiver and the second active bit receiver solely by a static friction force socket driver 11, 15, Figs. 4 and 5. Please note that Hwang requires resilient spring units that mechanically engage complementary notches formed in the connecting sleeve of the tool bit. The engagement of the spring and the notch is static once the bit is received in the chuck and this static engagement, is considered by the examiner to define the friction force retaining the bit.
Regarding claim 18, PA meets the limitations, i.e., the pocket bit driver of claim 16 wherein the first stored bit receiver 11 is configured to selectively receive, retain and store the first driver bit 2, Figs. 3 and 4; and wherein the driver body further includes a second stored bit receiver 15 that is configured to selectively receive, retain and store a second driver bit Figs. 3, 5.
Regarding claim 19, PA meets the limitations, i.e., the pocket bit driver of claim 16 wherein the first stored bit receiver 11 includes a slide inhibitor spring 3 that is configured to inhibit the first driver bit from sliding within the first stored bit receiver when the first driver bit is stored within the first stored bit receiver Figs. 1 and 3.
Regarding claim 20, PA meets the limitations, i.e., a bit driver assembly including the pocket bit driver 1 of claim 16 Fig. 1 and the first driver bit 2, punch that is alternatively, selectively received and retained within the first active bit receiver 11 and the second active bit receiver 2 flat driver.
Regarding claim 21, PA meets the limitations, i.e., the pocket bit driver of claim 16 wherein the drive body 12 ja a unibody one-piece design. Note that limitation from specification are not read into the claims, and a drive body 12 has a one-piece design and the clamping portions 30 are not considered as part of the driver body.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 4 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hwang in view of Huang et al. (2022/0347821).
Hwang meets all of the limitations of claim 4 or claim 17, as applied to claims 1 and 16 above, except for the driver body to further include a third active bit receiver that is configured to alternatively, selectively receive and retain a second driver bit that is different than the first driver bit, the third active bit receiver being oriented in a third direction, the third active bit receiver having at least one of a size and shape that is different than a size and shape of the first active bit receiver and the second active bit receiver.
Huang et al. teaches a screw driver having a body 3 with first socket 10, Fig. 4 and second bit receiver socket 21, wherein the driver body further includes a third active bit receiver socket 22 that is configured to alternatively, selectively receive and retain a second driver bit that is different than the first driver bit bits 70-73 of any geometric shapes, [0032], the third active bit receiver 22 being oriented in a third direction, the third active bit receiver having at least one of a size and shape that is different than a size and shape of the first active bit receiver and the second active bit receiver [0032].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective date of the invention, to modify the invention of Hwang with the third receiver as taught by Haung to adapt the tool for a straight, T or L-shaped handle suited for different tasks.
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over PA as applied to claim 4 above, and further in view of Tsai (9,969,076).
PA (prior art, Hwang modified by Huang) as applied to claim 4 above, meets all of the limitations of claim 5, except for the orientation of the third receiver.
Tsai teaches a hex storage and driver body having a multiple driving receiver 131 in an operation portion that are parallel with the longitudinal direction. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective date of the invention, to further modify the modified invention of PA with the socket being oriented parallel to the body as taught by Tsai in adapting for a particular application.
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hwang.
Hwang meets all of the limitations of claim 10, i.e., the pocket bit driver of claim 6 except for the first stored bit receiver UP1 to be between approximately 52% and 65% generally cylindrical-shaped. The axial bore of the hollow body 1 or 5 is generally rectangular shape, however forming the chamber over half of the length, e.g., 55% of the length) in generally cylindrical shape with the rest of the body forming the rectangular coupling and driving portion, for ease of manufacturing or construction and/or as an alternative means of forming the chamber, would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, requiring routine experimentations with predictable results.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed May 4, 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
The objection of the preamble of claim 14, is withdrawn as agreed in the phone interview of 06242026.
With regards to the rejection of claim 1 as now amended, Applicant argues that prior art, Hwang, does not disclose the driver body further including a first stored bit receiver that is configured to selectively receive, retain and store at least the first driver bit, the first stored bit receiver defines a storage cavity that is separate and distinct from the first active bit receiver and the second active bit receiver. Examiner, respectfully disagrees that Hwang does not disclose this feature. The bit driver is recited to have active first and second bit receivers, which structurally refers to a portion of the driver body configured to receive an “active” bit intended use. The first and second active bit receivers are met by chucks or axial bores 11 and 13, which support a bit (not part of the claimed invention but the ability to drive a bit). The argument that the storage cavity defined by Hwang is not separated and distinct is not persuasive, since the slot 14’ and spring 3’ distinguish and separate the active bit recovers 13 and 15, as clearly shown in Fig. 3. Note that lacking a recitation for structural and physical barrier to separate said bit receives from the storage cavity, e.g., a terminal wall to separate bit receivers from the storage cavity, as shown in instant Figs. 5 and 6, Hwang is considered to meet this narrative/functional langued via the slot spring 14’ and 3’.
With regards to claim 16, Applicant arguers that Hwang fails to disclose an arrangement, wherein the bits are solely retained by a static friction force, since spring, e.g., 3’ or spring 7’ (Fig. 6) retains the bit. Examienr respectfully disagrees. The fact that spring retains the bit, does not exclude the tool of Hwang not to meet the broad and reasonable definition of a static force. This narrative language is met, once a bit is engaged in the receiver or chuck of Hwang, the spring defines the static friction force that retains the bit. Note that while claims are interpreted in view of the specification, limitations (e.g., end and/or side wall sized and transversely slit to frictionally retain the bits) from specification are not read into the claims. Please noted that in every embodiments disclosed in the drawings a transverse slit (not numbered or described) is formed for bit receivers 14 and 16 of the instant application, which appear to resiliently define this static friction force now recited.
The Applicant’s remarks are fully considered, however the arguments regarding the rejections over obviousness and/or of the dependent claims are not persuasive, since the active and stored receiver are met by the tool of Hwang and since the tool fully discloses active and stored bit receivers.
/Hadi Shakeri/
July 29, 2026 Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3723