DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
This action is in reply to the application filed on 18 November, 2025.
Claims 1 – 28 are currently pending and have been examined.
Requirement for Information Under 37 C.F.R. § 1.105
Applicant and the assignee of this application are required under 37 CFR 1.105 to provide the following information that the examiner has determined is reasonably necessary to the examination of this application.
The information is required to identify publications embodying the disclosed subject matter of a method for tracking and verifying a drug test using a wearable drug patch. The Examiner, upon conducting a search for prior art, discovered numerous captures of the “courtfacts.com” website dating from 2018 on the Internet Archive Wayback Machine.
The website discloses CourtFact’s substance testing service program allowing a service provider to administer a drug testing program. In particular, the website dated 23 September, 2023, (more than one year prior to the earliest effective filing data of the present application), discloses using the PharmChek™ Sweat Patch, and tracking applications, removals, importing lab results, and reporting.
In response to this requirement please provide any known web pages, publications, brochures, manuals and press releases that describe the CourtFact’s substance testing service program. Please include any material that describes any of the claim limitations dated prior to 18 November, 2023.
The fee and certification requirements of 37 C.F.R. § 1.97 are waived for those documents submitted in reply to this requirement. This waiver extends only to those documents within the scope of this requirement under 37 C.F.R. § 1.105 that are included in the applicant's first complete communication responding to this requirement. Any supplemental replies subsequent to the first communication responding to this requirement and any information disclosures beyond the scope of this requirement under 37 C.F.R. § 1.105 are subject to the fee and certification requirements of 37 C.F.R. § 1.97.
In responding to those requirements that require copies of documents, where the document is a bound text or a single article over 50 pages, the requirement may be met by providing copies of those pages that provide the particular subject matter indicated in the requirement, or where such subject matter is not indicated, the subject matter found in applicant's disclosure.
The applicant is reminded that the reply to this requirement must be made with candor and good faith under 37 CFR 1.56. Where the applicant does not have or cannot readily obtain an item of required information, a statement that the item is unknown or cannot be readily obtained will be accepted as a complete response to the requirement for that item
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1 - 28 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to a judicial exception (i.e. a law of nature, a natural phenomenon, or an abstract idea), and does not include additional elements that either: 1) integrate the abstract idea into a practical application, or 2) that provide an inventive concept – i.e. element that amount to significantly more than the abstract idea. The Claims are directed to an abstract idea because, when considered as a whole, the plain focus of the claims is on an abstract idea.
Claim 1 is independent. Claim 1 recites:
A method for tracking and verification of a periodized drug testing using a wearable drug testing patch, the method comprising:
creating a unique client profile and
storing the unique client profile on a user interface database written on the non-transitory computer readable medium,
wherein the unique client profile is assigned a unique client identifier;
opening a case record associated with the application of the wearable drug testing patch having a patch serial number, and
storing the case record in the user interface database,
wherein the case record is assigned a unique case record identifier;
applying, at a first facility, the wearable drug testing patch to a wearer by a first technician and
logging a patch application event into the user interface database, wherein logging a patch application event into the user interface database further comprises:
requesting the verification of patch application and wearer identity via a first electronic signature from the wearer and assigning a first electronic signature identifier;
requesting the verification of patch application and wearer identity via a second electronic signature from the first technician and assigning a second electronic signature identifier;
linking the unique client identifier, the unique case record identifier, the patch serial number, the first electronic signature identifier, and the second electronic signature identifier in the user interface database; and
compiling an application chain of custody document for the linked unique client profile, the unique case record identifier, the patch serial number, the first electronic signature identifier, and the second electronic signature identifier and
storing the same in the user interface database.
STEP 1
The claims are directed to a method which is included in the statutory categories of invention.
STEP 2A PRONG ONE
The claims, as illustrated by Claim 1, recite limitations that encompass an abstract idea within the “certain methods of organizing human activity” grouping –
commercial or legal interactions including agreements in the form of contracts; legal obligations; advertising, marketing or sales activities or behaviors; business relations;
managing personal behavior or relationships or interactions between people including social activities, teaching, and following rules or instructions, including:
A method for tracking and verification of a periodized drug testing using a wearable drug testing patch, the method comprising:
creating a unique client profile wherein the unique client profile is assigned a unique client identifier;
opening a case record associated with the application of the wearable drug testing patch having a patch serial number, wherein the case record is assigned a unique case record identifier;
applying, at a first facility, the wearable drug testing patch to a wearer by a first technician and
logging a patch application event wherein logging a patch application event further comprises:
requesting the verification of patch application and wearer identity via a first signature from the wearer and assigning a first electronic signature identifier;
requesting the verification of patch application and wearer identity via a second signature from the first technician and assigning a second electronic signature identifier;
linking the unique client identifier, the unique case record identifier, the patch serial number, the first electronic signature identifier, and the second electronic signature identifier; and
compiling an application chain of custody document for the linked unique client profile, the unique case record identifier, the patch serial number, the first electronic signature identifier, and the second electronic signature identifier.
The claims recite compiling a chain of custody document to track and verify the application (and removal) of a periodized drug test patch. The claims log a patch application event by logging (i.e. requesting, linking, compiling and storing) a wearer signature and a technician signature that verifies the patch application, together with the patch serial number, and an application case record number in a unique client profile.
The specification discloses that wearable drug test patches are well-known in the art, and are often used in law enforcement, workplace compliance and medical monitoring. The specification teaches that tracking the application and removal of these patches is “typical”, and has traditionally relied on physical, paper-based chain of custody forms, which the wearer and technician manually fill out at the time of application, and again at the time of removal. (@ 0003, 0004) As such, the claims merely automate the compiling of a chain of custody document by collecting, (i.e. linking), electronic signatures in a case record in an identified client’s profile.
Chain of custody documents are also notoriously well-known in law enforcement and workplace compliance testing. The chain of custody document are used to comply with various legal requirements for evidence – i.e. commercial or legal interactions; legal obligations. Automating the compiling of a chain of custody document merely organizes this well-known activity – i.e. managing personal behavior or relationships or interactions between people.
As such, the claims recite an abstract idea within the certain methods of organizing human activity grouping.
STEP 2A PRONG TWO
The claims recite limitations that include additional elements beyond those that encompass the abstract idea above including:
storing the unique client profile on a user interface database,
storing the case record in the user interface database,
logging a patch application event into the user interface database,
storing the (chain of custody document) in the user interface database.
electronic signature
However, these additional elements do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application of that idea in accordance with the MPEP. (see MPEP 2106.05)
The user interface database is recited at a high level of generality such that it amounts to no more than instructions to apply the abstract idea using a generic computer component. These elements merely add instructions to implement the abstract idea on a computer, and generally link the abstract idea to a particular technological environment. The recited user interface is construed as a conventional computer element. “A graphic user interface so a user can select data merely recites a generic computer component and does not contribute an inventive concept to the claim. Graphical user interfaces that allow a user to select and enter information describe purely conventional features on the disclosed devices.” (Affinity Labs v. DIRECTV).
The claims also recite drug testing using a wearable drug testing patch. Drug testing patches are old and well-known, even according to the specification, - “suitable drug testing patches are commercially available” (@ 0043); Collecting sweat or other substances using these commercially available patches, that are operating in their normal capacity, is an insignificant extra-solution activity – i.e. a data gathering step. Further, recording (i.e. storing), information attesting to the application (and removal) event information for each drug testing patch in a database, using electronic signatures, is not a practical application of the abstract drug testing patch application tracking and verification process identified above.
Nothing in the claim recites specific limitations directed to an improved technology or technological process. Similarly, the specification is silent with respect to these kinds of improvements. For example, the specification teaches that the traditional manual, physical, paper-based chain of custody techniques “is vulnerable to various inefficiencies”; and that automating the chain of custody “reduces human error”, and “improves the overall efficiency and accuracy of the testing process.” (@ 0028). A general purpose computer that applies a judicial exception by use of conventional computer and database functions, as is the case here, does not qualify as a particular machine, nor does the recitation of a generic computer and database impose meaningful limits in the claimed process. (see Ultramercial, Inc. v. Hulu, LLC, 772 F.3d 709, 716-17 (Fed. Cir. 2014)). As such, the additional elements recited in the claim do not integrate the abstract drug testing patch application tracking and verification process into a practical application of that process.
STEP 2B
The additional elements identified above do not amount to significantly more than the abstract drug testing patch application tracking and verification process. The additional element recite storing information at various points in the process. Storing and retrieving information from memory is a routine and conventional computer function as in Versata and OIP Tech.
The additional structural elements or combination of elements in the claims, other than the abstract idea per se, amount to no more than a recitation of generic computer structure (i.e. a user interface database). Each of the above components are disclosed in the specification as being purely conventional and/or known in the industry. Because the specification describes these additional elements in general terms, without describing particulars, Examiner concludes that the claim limitations may be broadly, but reasonably construed, as reciting well-understood, routine and conventional computer components and techniques. The specification describes the elements in a manner that indicates that they are sufficiently well-known that the specification does not need to describe the particulars in order to satisfy U.S.C. 112. Considered as an ordered combination the limitations recited in the claims add nothing that is not already present when the steps are considered individually. As such, the additional elements recited in the claim do not provide significantly more than the abstract drug testing patch application tracking and verification process, or an inventive concept.
The dependent claims add additional features including:
those that merely serve to further narrow the abstract idea above such as:
further limiting the wearable patch duration (Claim 2, 3);
further limiting the substance tested (Claim 16);
further limiting the facility and technician (Claims 18 - 21);
those that recite additional abstract ideas such as:
selecting and linking a testing protocol; (Claim 15);
verifying removal using electronic signatures and COC (Claim 17);
those that recite well-understood, routine and conventional activity or computer functions such as:
determining wearer location and listing facilities in proximity (Claim 9);
accessing a database of records (Claim 10);
those that recite insignificant extra-solution activities such as:
capturing images (Claim 4 – 6 and 11 - 13);
providing access to the database; (Claim 27);
or those that are an ancillary part of the abstract idea including:
notifying a case manager and wearer of events; (Claim 7, 8, 24, 28);
removing the patch; (Claim 10);
securing the patch in a closed receptacle; (Claim 14);
printing a barcode and sealing the container; (Claim 22);
capturing wet signatures; (Claim 23);
transmitting the container to a lab; (Claim 25);
receiving results from the lab; (Claim 26);
The limitations recited in the dependent claims, in combination with those recited in the independent claims add nothing that integrates the abstract idea into a practical application, or that amounts to significantly more. As such, the additional element do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application, or provide an inventive concept that transforms the claims into a patent eligible invention. Therefore, the claims are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 as being directed to non-statutory subject matter.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1 – 3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Aucoin et al. (US PGPUB 2006/0004524 A1 in view of Applicant’s Admission as to the State of the Prior Art (AOA).
CLAIM 1
Aucoin discloses a system and method for collecting and securing chain of custody information related to a specimen that includes the following limitations:
A method for tracking and verification of a periodized drug testing, using a [drug testing device], (Aucoin 0002, 0006, 0008); the method comprising:
creating a unique client profile and storing the unique client profile on a user interface database written on the non-transitory computer readable medium, wherein the unique client profile is assigned a unique client identifier; (Aucoin 0002, 0036, 0043);
opening a case record associated with the application of the [drug testing device] having a [drug testing device] serial number, and storing the case record in the user interface database, wherein the case record is assigned a unique case record identifier; (Aucoin 0002, 0036, 0042).
Aucoin discloses a method for collecting and securing chain of custody information related to a specimen testing device (@ Abstract). Aucoin electronically collects, (i.e. compiling), and stores complete chain of custody information in a “COC data set”, (i.e. a case record). Each COC data set includes an employer profile with the name, address, site codes and other unique client identifiers (i.e. a unique client profile assigned a unique client identifier). Each COC data set also includes test kit information such as the identifying lot number (i.e. serial number). Each COC data set is stored in memory, which inherently requires assigning a unique record identifier.
Aucoin further discloses
applying, at a first facility, the [drug testing device to a patient] by a first technician and logging a [drug testing device] application event into the user interface database; (Aucoin 0003, 0007, 0031, 0033);
wherein logging a [drug testing device] application event into the user interface database further comprises: requesting the verification of [drug testing device] application and [patient] identity via a first electronic signature from the [patient] and assigning a first electronic signature identifier; requesting the verification of [drug testing device] application and [patient] identity via a second electronic signature from the first technician and assigning a second electronic signature identifier; linking the unique client identifier, the unique case record identifier, the [drug testing device] serial number, the first electronic signature identifier, and the second electronic signature identifier in the user interface database; and compiling an application chain of custody document for the linked unique client profile, the unique case record identifier, the [drug testing device] serial number, the first electronic signature identifier, and the second electronic signature identifier and storing the same in the user interface database; (Aucoin 0004, 0007, 0009, 0013, 0021, 0036 – 0039, 0042, 0044, 0049).
Aucoin further discloses collecting and storing (i.e. compile) complete COC data set at the time a drug test is applied to the patient by prompting (i.e. requesting) verification of the patient’s identity from both the patient and the collector (i.e. the first technician) by soliciting digital signatures. The complete COC data set is logged/stored in memory and linked to the client profile, including the patient identifier, the drug test lot number and the patient and the collector signatures.
Aucoin discloses specimen collection devices including devices for collecting sweat; but does not expressly disclose a wearable patch. Nonetheless, Applicant discloses that such drug test patches are old and well known. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing data of the claimed invention, to have modified the COC data collection method of Aucoin so as to have included collecting and storing a COC data set for the application of a drug test patch, in accordance with the teaching of AOA, in order to ensure that COC data set is collected, stored and secured.
CLAIMS 2 and 3
Aucoin/AOA discloses the limitations above relative to Claim 1. Additionally, AOA discloses the following limitations:
wherein the wearable drug testing patch is worn by the wearer for a predetermined duration following the application of the wearable drug testing patch to the wearer at the first location by the first technician; and wherein the predetermined duration is from about three (3) days to about fourteen (14) days; wherein the predetermined duration is about seven (7) days; (AOA 0003).
Applicant discloses known drug testing patches that are worn for 3 to 14 days, and it would be obvious to use these known patches in a chain of custody operation.
Claims 4 - 6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Aucoin et al. (US PGPUB 2006/0004524 A1 in view of Applicant’s Admission as to the State of the Prior Art (AOA) and in view of Sarcinelli et al.: (US PGPUB 2021/0128060 A1).
CLAIMS 4 - 6
Aucoin/AOA discloses the limitations above relative to Claim 1. With respect to the following limitations:
wherein the step of applying, at a first facility, the drug testing [device] to the wearer by the first technician further comprises: capturing, via a capture device, at least one image of the drug testing [device] as applied to the wearer at the time of application; and storing the at least one image in the user interface database, such that the at least one image is configured to confirm the location of placement of the drug testing [device] at the time of application and the patch serial number; wherein the at least one image includes a face of the wearer such that the identity of the wearer may be visually verified; (Sarcinelli 0016, 0018 - 0028, 0034, 0037, 0044, 0048, 0078, 0102, 0115, 0116, 0194 – 0196);
wherein the at least one image is date stamped and time stamped; (Sarcinelli 0104, 0114, 0186, 0218, 0237, 0394).
Sarcinelli discloses a method for “activating” a drug measuring device – i.e. releasing the device to an authorized user for subsequent use - including capturing an image of the drug testing device that includes the face of the user in order to recognize the user and confirm their identity. The drug testing device includes a device identification code that is shown in the image. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing data of the claimed invention, to have modified the COC data collection method of Aucoin/AOA so as to have included collecting and storing a COC data set for the application of a drug test patch, in accordance with the teaching of AOA, in order to ensure that COC data set is collected, stored and secured.
Claims 7 - 22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Aucoin et al. (US PGPUB 2006/0004524 A1 in view of Applicant’s Admission as to the State of the Prior Art (AOA) and in view of Sarcinelli et al.: (US PGPUB 2021/0128060 A1) and in view of CourtFacts.com website dated 23 September, 2023.
CLAIMS 7 and 8
Aucoin/AOA/Sarcinelli discloses the limitations above relative to Claim 6. With respect to the following limitations:
notifying a case manager, via a push notification generated from the user interface database and transmitted to an agent mobile electronic device, that the wearable drug testing patch has been applied to the wearer and the predetermined duration for which the wearable drug testing patch will be affixed to the wearer; (CourtFacts entire document);
notifying the wearer, via a push notification generated from the user interface database and transmitted to a wearer mobile electronic device, that the predetermined duration has lapsed and that the wearable drug testing patch is due for removal; (CourtFacts entire document).
The combination of Aucoin/AOA/Sarcinelli teaches tracking, verifying and logging the application of a drug testing patch, and compiles and stores an electronic chain of custody document. Aucoin/AOA/Sarcinelli does not disclose notifications; however, CourtFacts does. For example, CourtFacts discloses using the Pharmchek Drugs of Abuse Patch, including tracking the application (and removal) of the patch related to an individual client ID. CourtFacts provides push notifications including reminders for clients of scheduled removals and notifying a case manager of applications and removals transmitted to mobile devices. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing data of the claimed invention, to have modified the COC data collection method of Aucoin/AOA/Sarcinelli so as to have included notification to a wearer and case manager, in accordance with the teaching of CourtFacts, in order to provide automated event notifications and reminders.
CLAIM 9
Aucoin/AOA/Sarcinelli/CourtFacts discloses the limitations above relative to Claim 8. With respect to the following limitations:
determining a current location of the wearer via a set of Global Positioning System (GPS) coordinates associated with the wearer mobile electronic device; populating a list of removal locations that are geographically proximate to the wearer; and identifying and selecting a second facility for removal of the wearable drug testing patch from the list of removal locations that are geographically proximate to the wearer; (CourtFacts entire document);
The combination of Aucoin/AOA/Sarcinelli teaches tracking, verifying and logging the application of a drug testing patch, and compiles and stores an electronic chain of custody document. Aucoin/AOA/Sarcinelli does not disclose list of removal facilities; however, CourtFacts does. For example, CourtFacts discloses providing a display of acceptable facilities for application or removal of a testing patch, as well as turn-by-turn directions to an acceptable facility. This feature inherently includes determining the location of the wearer. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing data of the claimed invention, to have modified the COC data collection method of Aucoin/AOA/Sarcinelli so as to have included testing location proximate to the wearer, in accordance with the teaching of CourtFacts, in order to provide convenient identification of locations.
CLAIM 10
Aucoin/AOA/Sarcinelli/CourtFacts discloses the limitations above relative to Claim 8. Additionally, Aucoin discloses the following limitations:
accessing the case record associated with the application of the wearable drug testing patch in the user interface database via the unique case record identifier; (Aucoin 0002, 0036, 0038, 0041, 0044, 0050).
Aucoin discloses accessing the chain of custody data set for selective access. With respect to the following limitations:
removing, at a second facility, the wearable drug testing patch from the wearer by a second technician, after the predetermined duration has elapsed; (CourtFacts entire document).
The combination of Aucoin/AOA/Sarcinelli teaches tracking, verifying and logging the application of a drug testing patch, and compiles, stores and provides access to an electronic chain of custody document including test results. In particular, AOA discloses removing the testing patch after the testing duration has elapsed, but not that removal may be at a second facility. CourtFacts discloses displaying any number of acceptable facilities. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing data of the claimed invention, to have modified the COC data collection method of Aucoin/AOA/Sarcinelli so as to have included removing the patch at a second facility, in accordance with the teaching of CourtFacts, in order to provide convenient locations.
CLAIMS 11 - 13
Aucoin/AOA/Sarcinelli/CourtFacts discloses the limitations above relative to Claim 10. Additionally, Sarcinelli discloses the following limitations:
wherein the step of removing, at a second facility, the wearable drug testing patch from the wearer by a second technician, after the predetermined duration has elapsed further comprises: capturing, via a capture device, at least one image of the wearable drug testing patch as applied to the wearer at the time of removal; and storing the at least one image in the user interface database, such that the at least one image is configured to confirm the location of placement of the wearable drug testing patch upon the wearer at the time of removal and the patch serial number; wherein the at least one image includes a face of the wearer such that the identity of the wearer may be visually verified; (Sarcinelli 0016, 0018 - 0028, 0034, 0037, 0044, 0048, 0078, 0102, 0115, 0116, 0194 – 0196);
wherein the at least one image is date stamped and time stamped; (Sarcinelli 0104, 0114, 0186, 0218, 0237, 0394).
Sarcinelli discloses a method for “activating” a drug measuring device – i.e. releasing the device to an authorized user for subsequent use - including capturing an image of the drug testing device that includes the face of the user in order to recognize the user and confirm their identity. The drug testing device includes a device identification code that is shown in the image. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing data of the claimed invention, to have modified the COC data collection method of Aucoin/AOA so as to have included collecting and storing a COC data set for the application of a drug test patch, in accordance with the teaching of AOA, in order to ensure that COC data set is collected, stored and secured.
CLAIM 14
Aucoin/AOA/Sarcinelli/CourtFacts discloses the limitations above relative to Claim 10. Additionally, Aucoin discloses the following limitations:
securing the drug testing [device] in a closed receptacle; (Aucoin Abstract, 0002, 0005, 0010, 0013).
Aucoin discloses securing the specimen sample in a secure container. Aucoin does not disclose a wearable patch, however AOA does, and it would be obvious to secure the patch in a container.
CLAIM 15
Aucoin/AOA/Sarcinelli/CourtFacts discloses the limitations above relative to Claim 10. Additionally, Aucoin discloses the following limitations:
selecting the testing protocol for the wearable drug testing patch; and linking the selected testing protocol to the unique case record identifier in the user interface database; (CourtFacts entire document).
The combination of Aucoin/AOA/Sarcinelli/CourtFacts teaches tracking, verifying and logging the application of a drug testing patch, and compiles, stores and provides access to an electronic chain of custody document including test results. In particular, CourtFacts discloses the ability to select from any number of testing protocols. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing data of the claimed invention, to have modified the COC data collection method of Aucoin/AOA/Sarcinelli so as to have included selecting a testing protocol linked to an individualized client ID, in accordance with the teaching of CourtFacts, in order to provide a broad range of testing protocols.
CLAIM 16
Aucoin/AOA/Sarcinelli/CourtFacts discloses the limitations above relative to Claim 15. Additionally, Aucoin discloses the following limitations:
wherein: the wearable drug testing patch is configured to detect at least one drug metabolite selected from the group consisting of amphetamine, methamphetamine, cocaine, opiates, marijuana, fentanyl, norfentanyl, phencyclidine, hydrocodone, oxymorphone, oxycodone, benzodiazepines, methadone, buprenorphine, and norbuprenorphine; and the testing protocol is configured to include groupings of tests associated with at least one of amphetamine, methamphetamine, cocaine, opiates, marijuana, fentanyl, norfentanyl, phencyclidine, hydrocodone, oxymorphone, oxycodone, benzodiazepines, methadone, buprenorphine, and norbuprenorphine; (Aucoin 0003, 0034).
Aucoin teaches testing for a number of recited drug metabolites.
CLAIM 17
Aucoin/AOA/Sarcinelli/CourtFacts discloses the limitations above relative to Claim 16. Additionally, the cited art discloses the following limitations:
requesting the verification of patch removal and wearer identity via a third electronic signature from the wearer and assigning a third electronic signature identifier; requesting the verification of patch removal and wearer identity via a fourth electronic signature from a second technician and assigning a fourth electronic signature identifier; linking the third electronic signature identifier and the fourth electronic signature identifier to the case record in the user interface database; and compiling a completed chain of custody document for the case record, wherein the chain of custody document comprises a unique barcode associated with each of unique client identifier, the unique case record identifier, the wearable drug testing patch serial number, the first electronic signature identifier, the second electronic signature identifier, the third electronic signature identifier, and the fourth electronic signature identifier.
Claim 1 recites compiling a chain of custody document using electronic signatures. AOA discloses that such verification steps are also required at the time of removal. As such Claim 17 is further rejected as in Claim 1 for the known removal event.
CLAIMS 18 - 21
Aucoin/AOA/Sarcinelli/CourtFacts discloses the limitations above relative to Claim 16. Additionally, CourtFacts discloses the following limitations:
wherein the first facility and the second facility are the same.
wherein the first facility and the second facility are different.
wherein the first technician and the second technician are the same.
wherein the first technician and the second technician are different.
The combination of Aucoin/AOA/Sarcinelli/CourtFacts teaches tracking, verifying and logging the application of a drug testing patch, and compiles, stores and provides access to an electronic chain of custody document including test results. In particular, CourtFacts discloses the ability to select from any number of testing locations displayed in a list with turn-by turn directions. Different locations inherently have different technicians. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing data of the claimed invention, to have modified the COC data collection method of Aucoin/AOA/Sarcinelli so as to have included selecting a testing location, in accordance with the teaching of CourtFacts, in order to provide a broad range of testing locations.
CLAIM 22
Aucoin/AOA/Sarcinelli/CourtFacts discloses the limitations above relative to Claim 17. Additionally, Aucoin discloses the following limitations:
printing the completed chain of custody document; removing a barcode sticker comprising the unique barcode thereon from the completed chain of custody document; and sealing the closed receptacle with the bar code sticker in the presence of the wearer and the second technician; (Aucoin Abstract, 0002, 0005, 0010, 0013, 0037, 0047).
Aucoin discloses securing the specimen sample in a secure container using a printed barcode.
Claims 23 - 28 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Aucoin et al. (US PGPUB 2006/0004524 A1 in view of Applicant’s Admission as to the State of the Prior Art (AOA) and in view of Sarcinelli et al.: (US PGPUB 2021/0128060 A1) and in view of CourtFacts.com website dated 23 September, 2023 and in view of Hermann JR. et al.: (US 4,852,560).
CLAIM 23
Aucoin/AOA/Sarcinelli/CourtFacts discloses the limitations above relative to Claim 22. With respect to the following limitations:
capturing a first wet signature from the second technician to verify the sealing of the wearable drug testing patch in the closed receptacle; and capturing a second wet signature from the wearer to verify the sealing of the wearable drug testing patch in the closed receptacle; (Hermann JR. col. 2 line 42 – 60, col. 2 line 15 – 20, and 54 – 66).
Aucoin discloses applying a barcode label to the specimen container, but not wet signatures. Hermann JR. discloses a biological sample collection system that includes a label attached to the specimen container for receiving a signature of the employee and the collector. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing data of the claimed invention, to have modified the COC data collection method of Aucoin/AOA/Sarcinelli/CourtFacts so as to have included wet signatures on a specimen container label, in accordance with the teaching of Hermann JR. in order to insure specimen integrity.
CLAIM 24
Aucoin/AOA/Sarcinelli/CourtFacts/Hermann JR. discloses the limitations above relative to Claim 23. Additionally, CourtFacts discloses the following limitations:
notifying the case manager, via a push notification generated from the user interface database and transmitted to the agent mobile electronic device, that the drug patch has been removed; (CourtFacts entire document).
The combination of Aucoin/AOA/Sarcinelli teaches tracking, verifying and logging the application of a drug testing patch, and compiles and stores an electronic chain of custody document. Aucoin/AOA/Sarcinelli does not disclose notifications; however, CourtFacts does. For example, CourtFacts discloses using the Pharmchek Drugs of Abuse Patch, including tracking the application and removal of the patch related to an individual client ID. CourtFacts provides push notifications including reminders for clients of scheduled removals and notifying a case manager of applications and removals transmitted to mobile devices. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing data of the claimed invention, to have modified the COC data collection method of Aucoin/AOA/Sarcinelli so as to have included notification to a wearer and case manager, in accordance with the teaching of CourtFacts, in order to provide automated event notifications and reminders.
CLAIMS 25 - 27
Aucoin/AOA/Sarcinelli/CourtFacts/Hermann JR. discloses the limitations above relative to Claim 24. Additionally, Aucoin discloses the following limitations:
transmitting the closed receptacle containing the removed wearable drug testing patch to a selected laboratory for analysis consistent with the selected testing protocol; and providing access by the laboratory to the case record, via scanning of the unique barcode; (Aucoin Abstract, 0003, 0005, 0031);
receiving a result of the testing protocol from the laboratory; and linking the result of the testing protocol with the unique client identifier, the unique case record identifier, the patch serial number, and the chain of custody document in the user interface database and storing the results in the user interface database; (Aucoin 0010 – 0013, 0034, 0041, 0050);
providing access to the user interface database by the laboratory, the wearer, and the case manager to display and transmit the result of the testing protocol; (Aucoin 0036).
Aucoin discloses sending the specimen container to a lab for testing and providing access to the record by scanning a barcode on the container and storing results in associating with the specimen.
CLAIM 28
Aucoin/AOA/Sarcinelli/CourtFacts/Hermann JR. discloses the limitations above relative to Claim 27. Additionally, CourtFacts discloses the following limitations:
notifying the case manager, via a push notification generated from the user interface database and transmitted to the agent mobile electronic device, that the result of the testing protocol is available on the user interface database; and notifying the wearer, via a push notification generated from the user interface database and transmitted to the wearer mobile electronic device, that the result of the testing protocol is available on the user interface database; (CourtFacts entire document).
The combination of Aucoin/AOA/Sarcinelli/Hermann JR. teaches tracking, verifying and logging the application of a drug testing patch, and compiles and stores an electronic chain of custody document. Aucoin/AOA/Sarcinelli/Hermann JR. does not disclose notifications; however, CourtFacts does. For example, CourtFacts discloses using the Pharmchek Drugs of Abuse Patch, including tracking the application and removal of the patch related to an individual client ID and includes results notifications. CourtFacts provides push notifications including notifying a client and case manager of results, transmitted to mobile devices. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing data of the claimed invention, to have modified the COC data collection method of Aucoin/AOA/Sarcinelli so as to have included notification to a wearer and case manager, in accordance with the teaching of CourtFacts, in order to provide automated results notifications.
CONCLUSION
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
“Technical Guide” for the Pharmchek Drug of Abuse Sweat Patch; Pharmchek; January, 2024 discloses a drug testing patch worn for 3 – 14 days, removed when the period is complete, sent to the lab for testing and obtaining results. The patch has a unique ID printed thereon that is verified on application and removal. The patch is placed in a specimen bag with a barcode label signed by the collector and the donor together with a COC.
“Chain of Custody in Federally Regulated Workplace Drug Testing Programs”; National Laboratory Certification Program; 2024 describes chain of custody documentation processes.
WO 2006/007505 A2 to Aucoin discloses collecting and securing a chain of custody for a drug test sample.
US 6,535,129 B1 to Petrick discloses a chain of custody form with wireless data logging.
US PGPUB 2007/0048875 A1 to Lappe et al. discloses a drug testing kit that provides an electronic chain of custody using electronic signatures of the collector and donor.
US PGPUB 2020/0384460 A1 to Fairbank JR. et al. discloses a specimen testing kit including a database of donor and client information chain of custody using digital signatures.
Any inquiry of a general nature or relating to the status of this application or concerning this communication or earlier communications from the Examiner should be directed to John A. Pauls whose telephone number is (571) 270-5557. The Examiner can normally be reached on Mon. - Fri. 8:00 - 5:00 Eastern. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the Examiner’s supervisor, Robert Morgan can be reached at (571) 272-6773.
Official replies to this Office action may now be submitted electronically by registered users of the EFS-Web system. Information on EFS-Web tools is available on the Internet at: http://www.uspto.gov/patents/process/file/efs/guidance/index.jsp. An EFS-Web Quick-Start Guide is available at: http://www.uspto.gov/ebc/portal/efs/quick-start.pdf.
Alternatively, official replies to this Office action may still be submitted by any one of fax, mail, or hand delivery. Faxed replies should be directed to the central fax at (571) 273-8300. Mailed replies should be addressed to “Commissioner for Patents, PO Box 1450, Alexandria, VA 22313-1450.” Hand delivered replies should be delivered to the “Customer Service Window, Randolph Building, 401 Dulany Street, Alexandria, VA 22314.”
/JOHN A PAULS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3683
Date: 2 September, 2026