93938DETAILED ACTION
Status of the Claims
This is in response to a letter for a patent filed 02/14/2024 in which claims 1-21 were presented for examination. Claims 1-21 are currently pending.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDSs) submitted on 04/02/2026 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the Examiner
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention recites an abstract idea without significantly more.
Step 1
Claims 1-7 are directed to a method (i.e., a process); Claims 8-14 are directed to a system (i.e., a machine); and Claims 15-20 are directed to a computer program product (i.e., a manufacture). Therefore, Claims 1-20 all fall within the one of the four statutory categories of invention.
Step 2A Prong 1
Independent claims 1, 8, and 15 substantially recite:
receiving, from a user [ ], a request to reserve a resource;
transmitting a request to the user [ ] to access calendars associated with the user;
scanning online [ ], one or more suppliers for availability for the resource;
identifying instances where availability in the [ ] calendars matches supplier availability for the resource;
transmitting a notice to the user [ ] of the matched resource;
receiving an acceptance of the matched resource by the user;
generating a reservation with supplier [ ] for the matched resource; and
transmitting a booked reservation notice to the user.
The aforementioned limitations may be interpreted as at least as a “Mental Process” (concepts performed in the human mind) which includes observations, evaluations, judgments, and opinions and/or “Managing Personal Behavior or Relationships or Interactions Between People” which includes social activities, teaching, and following rules or instructions and/or “Commercial Interactions” which includes agreements in the form of contracts, legal obligations, advertising, marketing or sales activities or behaviors, and business relations. That is, nothing in the claim elements preclude the step from practically being performed by the human mind (identifying); managing personal behavior or relationships or interactions between people (receiving, transmitting, scanning, identifying, transmitting, receiving, generating, and transmitting); and commercial interactions (receiving, transmitting, scanning, identifying, transmitting, receiving, generating, and transmitting).
Step 2A Prong 2
This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application. In particular, claim 1 recites the additional elements (e.g. “one or more computing devices,” “a user device,” “digital calendars,” “online systems,” and “supplier system); claim 8 recites the additional element (e.g. “a system,” “a storage device,” “a processor,” “application code instructions,” “a user device,” “digital calendars,” “online systems,” and “supplier system); and Claim 15 recites “a computer program product,” “a non-transitory computer-readable storage device,” “program instructions,” “a computer,” “a user device,” “digital calendars,” “online systems,” and “supplier system)– using the one or more computing devices, processor, and computer, respectively) to perform the “receiving,” “transmitting,” “scanning,” “identifying,” transmitting,” “receiving,” “generating,” and “transmitting” in claims 1, 8, and 15. The “one or more computing devices,” “processor,” and “computer in the steps are recited at a high-level of generality performing a generic computer function of “receiving,” “transmitting,” “scanning,” “identifying,” transmitting,” “receiving,” “generating,” and “transmitting” in claims 1, 8, and 15) such that it amounts no more than mere instructions to “apply” the exception using a generic computer component. That is, the aforementioned limitations merely invoke the generic components as a tool to perform the abstract idea, e.g. see MPEP 2106.05(f). Accordingly, this additional element does not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because it does not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea. The claim is directed to an abstract idea.
Step 2B
Independent claims 1, 8, and 15 do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. As discussed above with respect to integration of the abstract idea into a practical application, the additional element of using the “one or more computing devices,” “user device,” “digital calendars,” “online systems,” and “supplier system in claim 1; the additional element of using the “system,” “storage device,” “processor,” “application code instructions,” “user device,” “digital calendars,” “online systems,” and “supplier system” in claim 8; and the additional element of using the “computer program product,” “non-transitory computer-readable storage device,” “program instructions,” “computer,” “user device,” “digital calendars,” “online systems,” and “supplier system” in claim 15 to perform the “receiving,” “transmitting,” “scanning,” “identifying,” transmitting,” “receiving,” “generating,” and “transmitting steps amount to no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using a generic computer component. Mere instructions to apply an exception using a generic computer component cannot provide an inventive concept. Thus, even when viewed as a whole, nothing in the claims add significantly more (i.e. inventive concept) to the abstract idea. The claims are ineligible.
As per dependent claims 2, 9, and 16, the recitation, “providing payment of the user in an obfuscated form to the supplier after generating the reservation” is further directed to a method of organizing human activity and/or a mental process as described in claims 1, 8, and 15, respectively. Therefore, this judicial exception is not meaningfully integrated into a practical application, or significantly more than the abstract idea.
As per dependent claims 3, 10, and 17, the recitation, “adding the matched resource to the user’s calendars” is further directed to a method of organizing human activity and/or a mental process as described in claims 1, 8, and 15, respectively. Therefore, this judicial exception is not meaningfully integrated into a practical application, or significantly more than the abstract idea.
As per dependent claims 4, 11, and 18, the limitations merely narrow the previously recited abstract idea limitations. Dependent claims 4, 11, and 18 recite the resource comprises at least one of a recreational activity, travel itinerary, lodging, dining, transportation, excursion, event, or sports facility reservation. For the reasons described above with respect to claims 4, 11, and 48, this judicial exception is not meaningfully integrated into a practical application, or significantly more than the abstract idea.
As per dependent claims 5, 12, and 19, the recitation, “scanning and identifying are performed continuously or asynchronously to monitor supplier data streams and user calendar updates in real time” is further directed to a method of organizing human activity as described in claims 1, 8, and 15, respectively. Therefore, this judicial exception is not meaningfully integrated into a practical application, or significantly more than the abstract idea. Further, the recitation “data streams” is another computer component recited at a high-level of generality and is merely invoked as a tool to perform the abstract idea. Similar to claims 1, 8, and 15, the recitation does not provide a practical application of the abstract idea, or significantly more than the abstract idea.
As per dependent claims 6, 13, and 20, the recitation, “generating predictive notifications to the user based on prior reservation history or stored user preferences” is further directed to a method of organizing human activity as described in claims 1, 8, and 15, respectively. Therefore, this judicial exception is not meaningfully integrated into a practical application, or significantly more than the abstract idea.
Dependent Claims 2-7, 9-14, and 16-20 have been given the full two part analysis including analyzing the additional limitations both individually and in combination. Dependent Claims 2-7, 9-14, and 16-20, when analyzed individually, and in combination, are also held to be patent ineligible under 35 U.S.C. 101. The dependent claims fail to establish that the claims do not recite an abstract idea because the additional recited limitations of the dependent claims merely further narrow the abstract idea of the independent claims. The dependent claims recite no additional elements that would integrate the judicial exception into a practical application or amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. Simply implementing the abstract idea on generic computer components is not a practical application of the judicial exception and does not amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. The claims are not patent eligible.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 3-5, 8, 10-12, 15, and 17-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Saint-Just et al. (US PG Pub. 20150371155 A1).
As per claim 1, Saint-Just et al. discloses a computer-implemented method for automated reservation and schedule management, the computer-implemented method comprising:
by one or more computing devices (Saint-Just et al.: [0092] As illustrated and revisited in FIG. 10, another aspect of the invention provides systems programmed to implement methods of the disclosure. FIG. 6 shows an example system 700 adapted to automatically make travel arrangements for a traveler, in accordance with an embodiment of the invention. The system 700 includes a central computer server or application server (“server”) 701 that is programmed to implement methods of the disclosure. The server 701 includes a central processing unit (CPU, also “processor” and “computer processor” herein) 705, which can be a single core or multi core processor, or a plurality of processors, such as for parallel processing)
receiving, from a user associated with a user device, a request to reserve a resource (Saint-Just et al.: [0057] The method comprising of (a) receiving a request from a user for a travel option based on an event on user's calendar);
transmitting a request to the user device to access digital calendars associated with the user device (Saint-Just et al.: [0056] As an alternative, the system can access a calendar of the traveler to retrieve details on the travel plan of the traveler or automatically update the calendar with travel booking details. The traveler can provide the system access to the calendar of the traveler by directing the system a meeting invitation);
scanning online systems of one or more suppliers for availability for the resource (Saint-Just et al.: [0057][0087] (b) using a computer processor, searching a database of travel options from a third party trip planning reservation server that matches the location date/time of the events).;
identifying instances where availability in the digital calendars matches supplier availability for the resource (Saint-Just et al.: [0057] (b) using a computer processor, searching a database of travel options from a third party trip planning reservation server that matches the location date/time of the events).;
transmitting a notice to the user device of the matched resource (Saint-Just et al.: [0065] The available travel options are then stored in one or more memory locations. One or more travel options are then selected from the available travel options. The traveler then selects the travel options);
receiving an acceptance of the matched resource by the user (Saint-Just et al.: [0052] (c) presenting one or more travel options from the available travel options to the user; and (d) receiving the selection of a given travel option from the one or more travel options from the user);
generating a reservation with supplier system for the matched resource (Saint-Just et al.: [0060] In one embodiment, the invention provides a method for accepting payments from a traveler for travel options. Such a reservation may after selecting several options, or by selecting the one touch option. Once the reservation is made, the traveler is given a transaction identifier (or record locator) and a payment amount. The payment amount and the transaction identifier are transmitted to a host computer system for validation); and
transmitting a booked reservation notice to the user (Saint-Just et al.: [0152] System displays confirmation information about his booking).
As per claims 3, 10, and 17, Saint-Just et al. discloses the computer-implemented method, system, and computer program product of claims 1, 8, and 15, respectively, further comprising adding the matched resource to the user’s digital calendars (Saint-Just et al.: [0155] the accessing step 801 may comprise synchronizing a user's calendar, the calendar comprising at least one event. The synchronizing step may comprise updating a user's calendar with a third party calendar service, or updating the user's calendar with a user device).
As per claims 4, 11, and 18, Saint-Just et al. discloses the computer-implemented method, system, and computer program product of claims 1, 8, and 15, respectively, wherein the resource comprises at least one of a recreational activity, travel itinerary, lodging, dining, transportation, excursion, event, or sports facility reservation. (Saint-Just et al.: [0013] An object is to provide a method for automating planning, reserving, and purchasing travel accommodations from calendar events for a user to book travel transportation, parking, and lodging based on the events on the user's virtual calendar through an application on a smart phone, smart pad, laptop or desktop computer, allowing the user to attend events based on the location, date and time of the event with the most convenience at the lowest cost).
As per claims 5, 12, and 19, Saint-Just et al. discloses the computer-implemented method, system, and computer program product of claims 1, 8, and 15, respectively, wherein the scanning and identifying are performed continuously or asynchronously to monitor supplier data streams and user calendar updates in real time (Saint-Just et al.: [0045] Initially, under control of an application server, a user's calendar may first be synchronized with the application server in order to retrieve the most recently updated events from a user's calendar. Each event from a user's calendar may comprise details such as the event name, the date and time, and the location. The synchronization of a user's calendar may be triggered upon request by a user, or automatically upon a user's login to the service hosted by the application server, or upon access of the calendar view of the present invention such as represented in FIG. 3 or FIG. 4. The synchronization step may involve creating, updating or modifying, or deleting existing events, based on the most recent time stamp of the modification. In at least one embodiment, if there is a conflict or if the system cannot tell which update was the most recent, a user may be prompted for input.); and (Saint-Just et al.: [0123] 5. System synchronizes the user's calendar by downloading new, updated and deleted events from connected third-party and mobile calendars [0124] a. User has previously identified which third-party and social calendars should be synchronized and provided the credentials to do so. [0125] b. On smartphone devices, the system can connect to the calendar module on the device), also see [0091] The system can collect accommodation inventory information by continuous discovery and learning).
As per claim 8, Saint-Just et al. discloses a system for automated reservation and schedule management, comprising:
a storage device (Saint-Just et al [0092] electronic storage unit 715 (e.g., hard disk); (Saint-Just et al.: [0105] Various aspects of the technology may be thought of as “products” or “articles of manufacture” typically in the form of machine (or processor) executable code and/or associated data that is carried on or embodied in a type of machine readable medium. Machine-executable code can be stored on an electronic storage unit, such memory (e.g., read-only memory, random-access memory, flash memory) or a hard disk. “Storage” type media can include any or all of the tangible memory of the computers, processors or the like, or associated modules thereof, such as various semiconductor memories, tape drives, disk drives and the like, which may provide non-transitory storage at any time for the software programming); and
a processor communicatively coupled to the storage device, wherein the processor executes application code instructions that are stored in the storage device ([0102] Methods as described herein can be implemented by way of machine (or computer processor) executable code (or software) stored on an electronic storage location of the server 701, such as, for example, on the memory 710 or electronic storage unit 715. During use, the code can be executed by the processor 705. In some cases, the code can be retrieved from the storage unit 715 and stored on the memory 710 for ready access by the processor 705.) to cause the system to:
receive, from a user associated with a user device, a request to reserve a resource (Saint-Just et al.: [0057] The method comprising of (a) receiving a request from a user for a travel option based on an event on user's calendar);
transmit a request to the user device to access digital calendars associated with the user device (Saint-Just et al.: [0056] As an alternative, the system can access a calendar of the traveler to retrieve details on the travel plan of the traveler or automatically update the calendar with travel booking details. The traveler can provide the system access to the calendar of the traveler by directing the system a meeting invitation);
scan online systems of one or more suppliers for availability for the resource (Saint-Just et al.: [0057],[0087] (b) using a computer processor, searching a database of travel options from a third party trip planning reservation server that matches the location date/time of the events).;
identify instances where availability in the digital calendars matches supplier availability for the resource (Saint-Just et al.: [0057] (b) using a computer processor, searching a database of travel options from a third party trip planning reservation server that matches the location date/time of the events).;
transmit a notice to the user device of the matched resource (Saint-Just et al.: [0065] The available travel options are then stored in one or more memory locations. One or more travel options are then selected from the available travel options. The traveler then selects the travel options);
receive an acceptance of the matched resource by the user (Saint-Just et al.: [0052] (c) presenting one or more travel options from the available travel options to the user; and (d) receiving the selection of a given travel option from the one or more travel options from the user);
generate a reservation with supplier system for the matched resource (Saint-Just et al.: [0060] In one embodiment, the invention provides a method for accepting payments from a traveler for travel options. Such a reservation may after selecting several options, or by selecting the one touch option. Once the reservation is made, the traveler is given a transaction identifier (or record locator) and a payment amount. The payment amount and the transaction identifier are transmitted to a host computer system for validation); and
transmit a booked reservation notice to the user (Saint-Just et al.: [0152] System displays confirmation information about his booking).
As per claim 15, Saint-Just et al. discloses a computer program product, comprising:
a non-transitory computer-readable storage device having computer-executable program instructions embodied thereon that when executed by a computer cause the computer to generate an automated reservation and manage a schedule, the computer-executable program instructions to discloses a system for automated reservation and schedule management (Saint-Just et al.: [0105] Various aspects of the technology may be thought of as “products” or “articles of manufacture” typically in the form of machine (or processor) executable code and/or associated data that is carried on or embodied in a type of machine readable medium. Machine-executable code can be stored on an electronic storage unit, such memory (e.g., read-only memory, random-access memory, flash memory) or a hard disk. “Storage” type media can include any or all of the tangible memory of the computers, processors or the like, or associated modules thereof, such as various semiconductor memories, tape drives, disk drives and the like, which may provide non-transitory storage at any time for the software programming… As used herein, unless restricted to non-transitory, tangible “storage” media, terms such as computer or machine “readable medium” refer to any medium that participates in providing instructions to a processor for execution)., comprising:
receive, from a user associated with a user device, a request to reserve a resource (Saint-Just et al.: [0057] The method comprising of (a) receiving a request from a user for a travel option based on an event on user's calendar);
transmit a request to the user device to access digital calendars associated with the user device (Saint-Just et al.: [0056] As an alternative, the system can access a calendar of the traveler to retrieve details on the travel plan of the traveler or automatically update the calendar with travel booking details. The traveler can provide the system access to the calendar of the traveler by directing the system a meeting invitation);
scan online systems of one or more suppliers for availability for the resource (Saint-Just et al.: [0057],[0087](b) using a computer processor, searching a database of travel options from a third party trip planning reservation server that matches the location date/time of the events).;
identify instances where availability in the digital calendars matches supplier availability for the resource (Saint-Just et al.: [0057] (b) using a computer processor, searching a database of travel options from a third party trip planning reservation server that matches the location date/time of the events).;
transmit a notice to the user device of the matched resource (Saint-Just et al.: [0065] The available travel options are then stored in one or more memory locations. One or more travel options are then selected from the available travel options. The traveler then selects the travel options);
receive an acceptance of the matched resource by the user (Saint-Just et al.: [0052] (c) presenting one or more travel options from the available travel options to the user; and (d) receiving the selection of a given travel option from the one or more travel options from the user);
generate a reservation with supplier system for the matched resource (Saint-Just et al.: [0060] In one embodiment, the invention provides a method for accepting payments from a traveler for travel options. Such a reservation may after selecting several options, or by selecting the one touch option. Once the reservation is made, the traveler is given a transaction identifier (or record locator) and a payment amount. The payment amount and the transaction identifier are transmitted to a host computer system for validation); and
transmit a booked reservation notice to the user (Saint-Just et al.: [0152] System displays confirmation information about his booking).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2, 9, and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Saint-Just et al. (US PG Pub. 20150371155 A1) in view of Praszezalek (US PG Pub. 20210248599 A1).
As per claims 2, 9, and 16, Saint-Just et al. discloses the computer-implemented method, system, and computer program product of claims 1, 8, and 15, respectively. Saint-Just et al. does not explicitly disclose, however, Praszezalek discloses providing payment of the user in an obfuscated form to the supplier system after generating the reservation (Praszezalek [0066] As shown in FIG. 4, in an embodiment, user device 350 includes a banking application 334 configured with a privacy or gift mode interface (“privacy mode” and “gift mode” are used interchangeably herein) configured to obfuscate payment card transactions. The banking application 334 privacy mode is configured to allow a user to set or implement obfuscation criteria for payment card transactions); (Praszezalek [0104],[0013] At block 709, the control interface host 170 tags the transaction for that account as an obfuscated transaction. The control interface host then informs the payment card network or the card issuer 160 that transactions meeting the obfuscation criterion for the payment card account are obfuscated. At block 710, the issuer 160 then obfuscates the transaction on interfaces and reports as described herein. As such, the purchaser buying tickets can surprise their spouse, as notifications and interfaces have been hidden or obfuscated up to the time of flight); (Praszezalek [0088] At block 505, the system is configured to select or implement an obfuscation criterion or criteria for payment card transactions to be obfuscated using the privacy mode. Examples of obfuscation criteria include a time criterion (e.g.: all transactions for a given time period are obfuscated) or a category criterion (e.g.: type of merchant, good or service, SIC code). The system can also be configured to allow a user to select specific transactions for obfuscation). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the system of Saint-Just et al. to include the obfuscated payment information as taught by Praszezalek to enable transaction information to be anonymized for processing and analyses that are denuded of personally identifying cardholder information to keep information confidential and private, and also reduce the risk of fraud associated with payment card transactions (Praszezalek: [0120],[0060]).
Claims 6, 13, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Saint-Just et al. (US PG Pub. 20150371155 A1) in view of Chung et al. (US Patent No. 11928615 B1).
As per claims 6, 13, and 20, Saint-Just et al. discloses the computer-implemented method, system, and computer program product of claims 1, 8, and 15, respectively. Saint-Just et al. does not explicitly disclose, however, Chung et al. discloses:
generating predictive notifications to the user device based on prior reservation history or stored user preferences (Chung et al.: col. 2, lines 15-24, col. 3, lines 35-44; After the itinerary has be constructed, embodiments of the present disclosure can provide predictive alerts, notifications, automated bookings, etc. for services based on the constructed itinerary, the user's preferences, the user's profile, the user's past behavior, tendencies, etc. For example, based on the constructed master itinerary, for one or more elements in the itinerary (e.g., a flight, a restaurant reservation, etc.), a predicted or suggested associated service can be identified, and the user's preferences in connection with the predicted associated service can also be identified). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the system of Saint-Just et al. to include the predictive notifications as taught by Chung et al. to send an alert and/or notification based on a user's profile and/or preferences to anticipate a user’s need or behavior based on historical needs or behaviors since the claimed invention is merely a combination of old elements, and in the combination each element merely would have performed the same function as it did separately, and one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictable.
Claims 7 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Saint-Just et al. (US PG Pub. 20150371155 A1) in view of Naraj (US PG Pub. 20180012195 A1).
As per claims 7 and 14, Saint-Just et al. discloses the computer-implemented method, system, and computer program product of claims 1 and 8, respectively. Saint-Just et al. does not explicitly disclose, however, Naraj discloses further comprising enabling communication between the user and other registered users or suppliers through an integrated community or messaging interface system (Naraj: [0076] A registered user is additionally able to interact with the system through social networking means, wherein a first user is able to “share” his or her appointment online. Other users who are connected to the first user are able to see the first appointment shared by the first user, interact with the appointment to create a second appointment, offer a trade in appointment time, offer financial compensation for purchasing the second appointment, and/or share or invite social connections to interact with the second appointment. For example, if a user has a reservation for a dining location but cannot make the appointment, he or she is able to share the event through the system to social media. Social connections to the user are able to see this post through the social network, and a second user is able to offer to take the reservation from a user). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the system of Saint-Just et al. to include the communication between other registered users as taught by Naraj in order to share and interact with other users or for other users to submit a financial or trade offer when the user cannot make an appointment (Naraj: [0076]).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
1) Pollack (US PG Pub. 20080098313 A1) discloses a system and method for developing and managing group social networks for facilitating the configuration and management of events within a social networking system, wherein members of similar or different geographic locations and/or interests, hobbies, social status, relationship status can interact with the system to view activities, register or participate in those activities and schedule activities.
2) Goldstein (US PG Pub. 20170178259 A1) discloses automatic selection of calendar-based, multiple user options where the system accesses calendar data that describes events a plurality of users are scheduled to attend, and extracts data for each event including location data and time data and groups a subset of the plurality of users into a travel group based on the location data for each user in the travel group indicating locations within a predetermined distance threshold of each other and based on the time data for each user in the travel group indicating times within a predetermined time threshold of each other.
3) Alissia (WO 2016203378 A1) discloses scheduling calendar events across different calendar applications and devices by scheduling calendar events between businesses and customers, or between friends and family members.
4) Daniel Martin, “Smart Reservations: How A.I. is Changing the Game”, May 23, 2004, productiveandfree.com, 11 pages discloses that at the heart of smart reservations lie cutting-edge technologies that enable seamless and intelligent interactions. Machine learning, a subset of AI, Natural language processing (NLP), and Predictive analytics plays a pivotal role in analyzing vast amounts of data, identifying patterns, and making accurate predictions. This technology powers features like real-time availability updates, personalized recommendations, and dynamic pricing. The integration of AI into reservation systems is no longer a far-fetched idea; it's a rapidly growing reality. As the global AI market size is expected to be worth a staggering $407 billion by 2027, the U.S. alone is projected to reach around $594 billion by 2032
5) Adam Stewart, “AI Appointment Scheduling:10 Tools to Optimize in 2024”, May 7, 2024, dialzara.com, 29 pages discloses that AI appointment scheduling tools automate the process of scheduling appointments, meetings, and events, saving time and reducing errors. These tools use artificial intelligence to understand natural language, analyze multiple calendars, consider time zones and preferences, and find the best time for everyone involved.
/F.A.N/Examiner, Art Unit 3628
/SHANNON S CAMPBELL/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3628