DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I and Species A (figure 1A) in the reply filed on August 24, 2026 is acknowledged.
Claims 8-21 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention/species, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on August 24, 2026.
Applicant indicated that claim 8 is readable on elected Species A (figure 1A). Claim 8 recites the limitation “the plunger further comprises tabs…couplable to windows on a plunger housing.” This feature can only be found in non-elected Species E (figure 11), Species F (figure 12), Species H (figure 16), Species I (figure 17) and Species J (figure 19). The specification discloses, in paragraphs 00067-00068, tabs 310 and windows 315.
Applicant indicated that claims 9 and 21 are readable on elected Species A (figure 1A). Claims 9 and 21 recite the limitation “a wire segment” that can only be found in non-elected Species J (figure 19). The specification discloses, in paragraph 00076, the embodiment of figures 19-20 having a wire segment 390. Additionally, the specification does not appear to disclose an embodiment having both the “wire” (of claim 1) and the “wire segment” (of claim 9).
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the “third lumen with a wire disposed therein” recited in claim 1 (paragraph 00036 discloses that, in some embodiments, nozzle extension 150 may include a lumen for securing a wire, but no such lumen or wire is shown in elected Species A) must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-5 and 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Claim 1 recites the limitation “wherein the atomizer nozzle comprises a nozzle extension” in line 9. The specification discloses, in paragraph 00036, that the nozzle component 110 may include a nozzle extension 150 and atomizer nozzle 155. The specification further discloses, in paragraph 00061, that in one or more embodiments, the outlet tube assembly 125 includes nozzle extension 150 and atomizer nozzle 155. The nozzle extension 150 and the atomizer nozzle 155 are disclosed as two separate and distinct elements. The specification does not appear to provide written description where the nozzle extension 150 is an element of the atomizer nozzle 155.
Claims 1-5 and 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites the limitation “a gas” in line 4. It appears to be a double inclusion of the “gas flow” recited in line 3.
Claim 2 recites the limitation "the venturi effect" in lines 1-2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 2 recites the limitation “utilizes the venturi effect” in lines 1-2. The claim fails to recite structure to accomplish the function. The structure recited in claim is not commensurate in scope with the function recited in the claim.
The term “fine” in claim 2 is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term “fine” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. The spray mist limited by the claim is uncertain.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 2 and 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Decker (2016/0023225) in view of Fortier et al. (8,033,483).
Decker discloses an atomizer device, comprising:
a head unit 38, 34, 78 having a proximal end and a distal end, the proximal end configured to receive a plunger 53 and to receive a gas flow (pressurized gas; paragraph 0011, ll. 13-14) through a gas inlet 50, wherein the plunger is configured to actuate a valve (valve; paragraph 0012, l. 5) that opens to allow a gas to flow through a gas channel (channel in handle 28 and member 44) in the head unit;
a container receptacle 76 coupled to the head unit configured to hold a liquid 85; and
an atomizer nozzle 30 coupled to the distal end of the head unit and configured to mix the gas and the liquid together,
wherein the atomizer nozzle comprises a nozzle extension 26, 58, 61, wherein the nozzle extension comprises a gas lumen (space/lumen within tube 26), and a liquid lumen (space/lumen within tube portion 58).
Decker discloses the limitations of the claimed invention with the exception of a third lumen with a wire disposed therein.
Fortier et al. disclose a nozzle extension 30 comprising a first lumen 33, a second lumen 35, and a third lumen (space/lumen housing wire 36) disposed therein.
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have provided a third lumen with a wire disposed therein to the nozzle extension of Decker as taught be Fortier et al. to maintain a bent or flexed configuration (Fortier et al., col. 3, ll. 28-32).
Note: although Decker discloses tube 26 being generally rigid (paragraph 0010), Decker discloses, in paragraph 0013, flexible tube portion 58 supporting movement of wand 22 relative to tank 24.
Decker further discloses
wherein the atomizer nozzle utilizes the venturi effect to draw the liquid from the container receptacle and mix the gas and the liquid together forming a fine spray mist (paragraph 0012 and 0014).
Decker further discloses
wherein the head unit comprises a finger support 52 on a top of the head unit.
Claim(s) 3-5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Decker (2016/0023225) in view of Fortier et al. (8,033,483) as applied to claim1 above, and further in view of Laible (8,177,143).
Regarding claim 3, Decker in view of Fortier et al. discloses the limitations of the claimed invention with the exception of a tapered outer surface of a valve needle and a tapered inner surface of the gas channel.
It is noted that Applicant’s specification purports to show a tapered inner surface 185. Figure 5B shows the tapered inner surface 185 with two parallel lines, i.e., with no convergence or divergence. Any constant diameter passage is tapered as much as Applicant’s tapered inner surface 185.
Laible discloses a valve 54 comprising a tapered outer surface of a valve needle 56 and a tapered inner surface 48 of a fluid channel 42, 62, wherein the tapered inner surface is configured to press against the tapered outer surface when closed to seal the fluid channel.
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have incorporated the tapered outer surface and the tapered inner surface of Laible into the valve of Decker in view of Fortier et al. to reduce cost by utilizing known elements and to improve the seal.
Regarding claim 4, Decker further discloses
wherein the head unit comprises a liquid channel 62 in fluid communication with the container receptacle and the atomizer nozzle.
Regarding claim 5, Liable further discloses
a spring 82 configured to bias the valve to a closed position. It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have incorporated the spring of Liable to the device of Decker in view of Fortier et al. to maintain the valve in the closed position (Liable, col. 5, ll. 9-15).
Conclusion
/CHRISTOPHER S KIM/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3752 CHRISTOPHER S. KIM
Examiner
Art Unit 3752
CK