DETAILED ACTION
Claim Interpretation
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-4, 9-11, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Hirota (US 8,773,684).
Regarding claim 1, Hirota discloses a conveyance device comprising: a conveyance route (see fig. below) that conveys a recording material supplied from a recording material supplier 55 to an image former 25; a multiple feeding detector 52 that detects multiple feeding of the recording material supplied from the recording material supplier; a medium sensor 53 that detects characteristic information corresponding to a characteristic of the recording material; and a branch route (see fig. below) that branches off the conveyance route at a branch portion on the conveyance route and purges the recording material whose characteristic information has been detected by the medium sensor, without causing the recording material to pass through the image former, wherein the recording material about which the multiple feeding has been detected by the multiple feeding detector is purged via the branch route. See col. 6, line 39 – col. 7, line 22.
Regarding claim 2, Hirota discloses the conveyance device according to claim 1, wherein the branch portion is disposed upstream of the image former 25 in a conveyance direction of the recording material. See Fig. 1.
Regarding claim 3, Hirota discloses the conveyance device according to claim 1, wherein the branch route is disposed between the recording material supplier 55 and the image former 25. See Fig. 1.
Regarding claim 4, Hirota discloses the conveyance device according to claim 1, further comprising a tray 54 on which the recording material purged via the branch route is placeable.
Regarding claim 9, Hirota discloses the conveyance device according to claim 1, wherein the medium sensor 53 is disposed upstream of the branch portion in a conveyance direction of the recording material. See Fig. 1.
Regarding claim 10, Hirota discloses the conveyance device according to claim 9, wherein the medium sensor 53 includes a contactless-type sensor that detects the characteristic information without making contact with the recording material. See col. 4, lines 25-29.
Regarding claim 11, Hirota discloses the conveyance device according to claim 9, wherein the medium sensor 53 includes at least one of a sensor that detects the characteristic information corresponding to a basis weight of the recording material, a sensor that detects the characteristic information corresponding to a thickness of the recording material, and a sensor that detects the characteristic information corresponding to a moisture content of the recording material. See col. 4, lines 25-29.
Regarding claim 20, Hirota discloses an image forming system comprising: the conveyance device according to claim 1; the recording material supplier 55; and the image former 25.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 12-15 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hirota in view of Koyama (JP 2021-143069).
Regarding claim 12, the device of Hirota comprises everything claimed, except wherein the multiple feeding detector is disposed upstream of the medium sensor in a conveyance direction of the recording material. Koyama teaches the use of a sheet feeding device having the multiple feeding detector 80 disposed upstream of the medium sensor 90 in a conveyance direction, in order to allow the medium sensor to use the results of the multiple feeding detector to control the medium sensor. See Koyama, par. 53. Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date to have the multiple feeding detector disposed upstream of the medium sensor in a conveyance direction of the recording material, in the device of Hirota, as taught by Koyama, in order to allow the medium sensor to use the results of the multiple feeding detector to control the medium sensor.
Regarding claim 13, the device of Hirota as modified by Koyama comprises the conveyance device according to claim 12, wherein the multiple feeding detector (Hirota, 52) is disposed upstream of the branch portion in a conveyance direction of the recording material. See Hirota, Fig. 1.
Regarding claim 14, the device of Hirota as modified by Koyama comprises the conveyance device according to claim 1, further comprising a controller (Koyama, 96) that controls the medium sensor, based on a detection result of the multiple feeding detector. See Koyama, par. 53.
Regarding claim 15, the device of Hirota as modified by Koyama comprises the conveyance device according to claim 14, wherein a controller (Hirota, 21a) acquires the characteristic information of the recording material about which the multiple feeding has not been detected, and controls the image former, based on the acquired characteristic information. See Hirota, col. 7, line 42 – col. 8, line 27.
Regarding claim 19, the device of Hirota as modified by Koyama comprises the conveyance device according to claim 14, wherein the controller (Koyama, 96) controls conveyance of the recording material, and when the medium sensor 90 detects the characteristic information of the recording material, the controller continues conveyance of the recording material whose characteristic information has been detected. See Koyama, par. 48.
Claim 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hirota in view of Koyama and Naoki (JP 2015-160737).
Regarding claim 16, the device of Hirota as modified by Koyama comprises everything claimed except wherein the controller does not perform detection of the characteristic information by the medium sensor or does not acquire the characteristic information, as to the recording material about which the multiple feeding has been detected. Naoki teaches a sheet feeding device wherein the controller does not perform detection of the characteristic information by the medium sensor or does not acquire the characteristic information, as to the recording material about which the multiple feeding has been detected, because if double feeding occurs, it is not possible to properly detect the type of paper. Naoki, par. 46. Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date to have the controller not perform detection of the characteristic information by the medium sensor or not acquire the characteristic information, as to the recording material about which the multiple feeding has been detected, in the device of Hirota as modified by Koyama, as taught by Naoki, because if double feeding occurs, it is not possible to properly detect the type of paper.
Claim 17 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hirota in view of Koyama and Fukunaga (US 2023/0406011).
Regarding claim 17, the device of Hirota as modified by Koyama comprises everything claimed, except wherein the controller controls conveyance of the recording material, and when the medium sensor detects the characteristic information of the recording material, the controller stops conveyance of the recording material whose characteristic information has been detected. Fukunaga teaches the use of a device wherein the controller controls conveyance of the recording material, and when the medium sensor detects the characteristic information of the recording material, the controller stops conveyance of the recording material whose characteristic information has been detected, in order to improve detection accuracy. Fukunaga, par. 47. Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date to have the controller control conveyance of the recording material, and when the medium sensor detects the characteristic information of the recording material, the controller stop conveyance of the recording material whose characteristic information has been detected, in the device of Hirota as modified by Koyama, as taught by Fukunaga, in order to improve detection accuracy.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 5-8 and 18 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: the nearest prior art does not teach or suggest the claimed subject matter. For example, Hirota does not disclose everything claimed, including the medium sensor being disposed on the branch route, in combination with the rest of the claimed elements.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure: Aikawa (US 11,595,901) discloses a sheet feeding device having a multi feed detector and a sheet storage section.
/JEREMY R SEVERSON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1759