Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the insulation cover/ insulation surrounding the metal recited in claims 10-11, 19-20, and 22 must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 4, 7-10, and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claims 4 and 18: claims 4 and 18 recites “wherein the first section is of sufficient length to ensure a steady-state temperature of the workstring is within a temperature limits of workstring material in each section of the workstring”. The claim defines the length of the first section sorely in functional terms, I.e., a length that is “sufficient” to achieve a particular result (ensuring a steady state temperature of the workstring remains within the temperature limits of the workstring material in each section of the workstring). The claim provides no objective boundaries, numeric valves, or ranges by which a person of ordinary skill in the art could determine the metes and bounds of the claimed “sufficient length”. Also, the phrase “within a temperature limits of workstring material” is also unclear. The use of the singular “a” with the plural “limits” further contributes to this ambiguity. For these reasons, claims 4 and 18 are indefinite under 35 U.S.C. 112(b).
For examination purposes, any length will be considered a “sufficient length”.
Regarding claim 7: claim 7 depends from claim 1 and further requires a third section “configured to operate up to a third temperature greater than the first temperature and less than the second temperature”. Claim 1 defines the first temperature as the higher operating temperature of the downhole (first) section and the second temperature as a lower temperature of the uphole (second) section. As a result, claim 7 requires the third temperature to be simultaneously greater than the higher of the higher of the two temperatures and less than the lower of the two temperatures. No temperature valve can satisfy both conditions at the same time. This inconsistency renders the metes and bounds of claim 7 unclear.
Claims 8-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being dependent from rejected claim 7.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2, 4, and 6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Khochberov (U.S. 2016/0168982A1).
Regarding claim 1, Khochberov discloses a workstring (102, fig. 1 and para 0015) comprising:
a first section (122, fig. 1 and para 0016) defining a waveguide (“fiber optic cable 128” functions as an optical waveguide that carries data signal) therethrough (see fig. 1), the first section (122) being configured to operate up to a first temperature (para 0018: first section 122 is located in HTHP zone 142 and operates at temperatures up to 500oF);
a second section (120, fig. 1) further defining the waveguide therethrough (as shown in fig. 1, “128” extends into 120), the second section (120) being at an uphole end of the workstring (102),
the second section (120) being configured to operate up to a second temperature lower than the first temperature (para 0018: second section 120 is in zone 140 and operates up to a temperature of 350oF which is lower than 500oF).
Regarding claim 2, Khochberov discloses a bottomhole assembly (130, fig. 1) at a downhole end of the first section (122; see fig. 1).
Regarding claim 4, Khochberov discloses wherein the first section is of sufficient length to ensure a steady-state temperature of the workstring is within a temperature limits of workstring material in each section of the workstring (as stated in the 122b rejection above, any length of the first section is considered “sufficient length to ensure a steady-state temperature of the workstring is within a temperature limits of workstring material in each section of the workstring).
Regarding claim 6, Khochberov discloses wherein the second section (120, fig. 1) comprises a conduit defining the portion of the waveguide (“fiber optic cable 128”) therethrough (see fig. 1).
Claims 11, 16-19, and 23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Phan et al. (U.S. 2023/0008455A1).
Regarding claim 11, Phan et al. discloses method comprising: directing an electromagnetic wave (240, fig. 2 and para 0069; 515, fig. 5 and para 0086) in a downhole direction (see figs. 1, 2, and 5) by a workstring (220, fig. 2), the workstring (220) comprising:
a first section (lowermost section close to the bottom of the wellbore) defining a first section of a waveguide therethrough (as shown in fig. 2; para 0068:”multiple waveguide assemblies can be inserted into the borehole. For example, multiple waveguide assemblies can be stacked upon one another”);
a second section (the uppermost section or section that is closest to the gyrotron/surface equipment as shown in fig. 1) further defining the waveguide therethrough (refer to para 0068); and
a third section between the first section and the second section (intermediate waveguide assemblies/pieces that are stacked between the uppermost and lowermost sections; refer to para 0068), the third section further defining the waveguide therethrough (refer to para 0068), wherein the third section comprises (for the detailed structure of the sections, examiner will be using fig. 6):
a metal housing (“coil spring 610”, fig. 6; para 0070: the wire is formed from metal; para 0114: the coil is formed from metal; also refer to para 0081-0082) defining a corrugated waveguide therethrough (refer to para 0065, 0068-0070, and 0092);
insulation (615; para 0092) surrounding the metal housing (610, see fig. 6); and
a metallic jacket (“tube 605”, fig. 6; para 0070, 0114, and 0081-0082) surrounding the insulation (615, see fig. 6); and
forming a borehole by the electromagnetic wave (para 0065: “wave drilling”); and
advancing the workstring through the borehole (as shown in figs. 1-2; also refer to para 0068).
Regarding claim 16, Phan et al. discloses a system (see figs. 1, 2, and 5) comprising:
an electromagnetic wave generator (“gyrotron 102”, fig. 1 and para 0065) configured to emit an electromagnetic wave (refer to para 0016);
a workstring (220, fig. 2) configured to direct the electromagnetic wave (240, fig. 2) towards a downhole end of a borehole (200; see fig. 2 and refer to para 0068), the workstring (220, fig. 2) comprising:
a first section (lowermost section close to the bottom of the wellbore) defining a waveguide therethrough (as shown in fig. 2; para 0068:”multiple waveguide assemblies can be inserted into the borehole. For example, multiple waveguide assemblies can be stacked upon one another”);
a second section (the uppermost section or section that is closest to the gyrotron/surface equipment as shown in fig. 1) further defining the waveguide therethrough (refer to para 0068), the second section being at an uphole end of the workstring (as mapped above); and
a third section between the first section and the second section (intermediate waveguide assemblies/pieces that are stacked between the uppermost and lowermost sections; refer to para 0068), the third section further defining the waveguide therethrough (refer to para 0068).
Regarding claim 17, Phan et al. discloses a bottomhole assembly (152, see fig. 1) at a downhole end of the first section (as shown in fig. 1 and refer to para 0067. Examiner notes that the “bottomhole assembly can also be the extreme end of the first section).
Regarding claim 18, Phan et al. discloses wherein the first section is of sufficient length to ensure a steady-state temperature of the workstring is within a temperature limits of workstring material in each section of the workstring (as stated in the 122b rejection above, any length of the first section is considered “sufficient length to ensure a steady-state temperature of the workstring is within a temperature limits of workstring material in each section of the workstring).
Regarding claim 19, Phan et al. discloses wherein the third section (intermediate waveguide assemblies/pieces that are stacked between the uppermost and lowermost sections; refer to para 0068) comprises:
a metal housing (“coil spring 610”, fig. 6; para 0070: the wire is formed from metal; para 0114: the coil is formed from metal; also refer to para 0081-0082) defining a corrugated waveguide therethrough (refer to para 0065, 0068-0070, and 0092);
insulation (615; para 0092) surrounding the metal housing (610, see fig. 6); and
a metallic jacket (“tube 605”, fig. 6; para 0070, 0114, and 0081-0082) surrounding the insulation (615, see fig. 6).
Regarding claim 23, Phan et al. discloses wherein the second section (the uppermost section or section that is closest to the gyrotron/surface equipment as shown in fig. 1) comprises a conduit that defines a corrugated waveguide therethrough (refer to para 0065, 0068-0070, and 0092).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Khochberov (U.S. 2016/0168982A1), in view of Crowley et al. (U.S. 2015/0159437A1).
Regarding claim 3, Khochberov teach all the features of this claim as applied to claim 1 above; however, Khochberov fails to teach a centralizer extending from an outer surface of the workstring towards an inner wall of a borehole.
Crowley et al. generally teach the use of drill string stabilizers (26, fig. 1) extending from an outer surface of a drill string (22) toward an inner wall of a borehole (see 24, fig. 1) for centralizing the drill string within the borehole during the drilling operation (refer to para 0037).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the workstring of Khochberov to include a centralizer extending from an outer surface of the workstring towards an inner wall of a borehole, as taught by Crowley et al. for centralizing the workstring within the borehole during the drilling operation (refer to para 0037).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 5, 12-15, and 20-22 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claims 7-10 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Phan et al. (U.S. 11,613,931).
/YANICK A AKARAGWE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3672