DETAILED ACTION
Notice of AIA Status
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3, 5, 8-10, 12, 15, 17 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Zimmerman, JR. (US Pub. No. 20160061012).
Regarding claim 1, Zimmerman teaches a plunger assembly (plunger assembly as shown in Figs. 1, 3, pp[0042]), comprising:
a plunger ball (36);
a plunger sleeve (34) comprising a tubular main body having a central bore extending therethrough (34 has a central bore which seats ball 36; Figs. 4, 8); and
a plunger ball retention mechanism (comprising 86, 84 and 80; Figs. 3-7, pp[0049]) coupled to the plunger sleeve (34), wherein the plunger ball retention mechanism comprises an annular ring (ring 86; Fig. 3, pp[0048]) and inwardly projecting prongs (80; Fig. 4) coupled to the annular ring (86), wherein the inwardly projecting prongs engage the plunger ball to retain the plunger ball within the plunger sleeve (a plurality of spring loaded retractable members 80 used to retain the flow restriction device 36 in the sleeve 34; pp[0047], Fig. 4).
Regarding claim 2, Zimmerman teaches wherein the plunger sleeve comprises a retention groove (88; Fig. 3, 4) formed in an outer surface or an inner surface of the plunger sleeve (Figs. 3 ,4), wherein the retention groove receives the plunger ball retention mechanism (86, 84, 80; Fig. 4) such that the plunger ball retention mechanism is installed into the retention groove (Fig. 4) and retained on the outer surface or the inner surface of the plunger sleeve while the inwardly projecting prongs extend into the central bore of the tubular main body (Fig. 4).
Regarding claim 3, Zimmerman teaches the plunger assembly of claim 1, wherein plunger ball retention passages (apertures 82; Fig. 3-5, pp[0049]) are formed in the plunger sleeve (34) and are located adjacent to a concave seat portion of a plunger ball seat (concave seat portion where the ball 36 is sitting inside bore of 34 as shown; Fig. 4), wherein the inwardly projecting prongs (80) extend below central, antipodal points of the plunger ball (80 extends below central antipodal points of ball 36; Fig. 4) to exert a compressive force on the plunger ball to retain the plunger ball (36) in nesting engagement with the concave seat portion of the plunger ball seat (plurality of spring loaded retractable members 80 used to retain the flow restriction device in the sleeve 34; pp[0047], Fig. 4).
Regarding claim 5, Zimmerman teaches wherein the annular ring (86) comprises an outer wall, an inner wall, a top wall, and a bottom wall that delimit an interior space (the ring 86 has an outer, inner, top and bottom walls as shown; Fig. 5), wherein the inwardly projecting prongs (80) are part of a wave spring (84) that is contained in the interior space of the annular ring (84 and 80 are contained in the interior space of 86; Figs. 4,5).
Regarding claim 8, Zimmerman teaches a plunger lift system (plunger lift system; Fig. 1), comprising:
a wellhead (20) disposed on top of a wellbore (10;pp[0041]); and
a plunger assembly disposed within the wellbore, the plunger assembly comprising:
a plunger ball (36);
a plunger sleeve (34) comprising a tubular main body having a central bore extending therethrough (34 has a central bore which seats ball 36; Figs. 4, 8); and
a plunger ball retention mechanism (comprising 86, 84 and 80; Figs. 3-7, pp[0049]) coupled to the plunger sleeve (34), wherein the plunger ball retention mechanism comprises an annular ring (ring 86; Fig. 3, pp[0048]) and inwardly projecting prongs (80; Fig. 4) coupled to the annular ring (86), wherein the inwardly projecting prongs engage the plunger ball to retain the plunger ball within the plunger sleeve (a plurality of spring loaded retractable members 80 used to retain the flow restriction device 36 in the sleeve 34; pp[0047], Fig. 4).
Regarding claim 9, Zimmerman teaches wherein the plunger sleeve comprises a retention groove (88; Fig. 3, 4) formed in an outer surface or an inner surface of the plunger sleeve (Figs. 3 ,4), wherein the retention groove receives the plunger ball retention mechanism (86, 84, 80; Fig. 4) such that the plunger ball retention mechanism is installed into the retention groove (Fig. 4) and retained on the outer surface or the inner surface of the plunger sleeve while the inwardly projecting prongs extend into the central bore of the tubular main body (Fig. 4).
Regarding claim 10, Zimmerman teaches wherein plunger ball retention passages (apertures 82; Fig. 3-5, pp[0049]) are formed in the plunger sleeve (34) and are located adjacent to a concave seat portion of a plunger ball seat (concave seat portion where the ball 36 is sitting inside bore of 34 as shown; Fig. 4), wherein the inwardly projecting prongs (80) extend below central, antipodal points of the plunger ball (80 extends below central antipodal points of ball 36; Fig. 4) to exert a compressive force on the plunger ball to retain the plunger ball (36) in nesting engagement with the concave seat portion of the plunger ball seat (plurality of spring loaded retractable members 80 used to retain the flow restriction device in the sleeve 34; pp[0047], Fig. 4).
Regarding claim 12, Zimmerman teaches wherein the annular ring (86) comprises an outer wall, an inner wall, a top wall, and a bottom wall that delimit an interior space (the ring 86 has an outer, inner, top and bottom walls as shown; Fig. 5), wherein the inwardly projecting prongs (80) are part of a wave spring (84) that is contained in the interior space of the annular ring (84 and 80 are contained in the interior space of 86; Figs. 4,5).
Regarding claim 15, Zimmerman teaches a plunger ball retention mechanism comprising:
an annular ring (ring 86; Fig. 3, pp[0048]); and
inwardly projecting prongs (80; Fig. 4) coupled to the annular ring (86).
Regarding claim 17, Zimmerman teaches wherein the annular ring (86) comprises an outer wall, an inner wall, a top wall, and a bottom wall that delimit an interior space (the ring 86 has an outer, inner, top and bottom walls as shown; Fig. 5), wherein the inwardly projecting prongs (80) are part of a wave spring (84) that is contained in the interior space of the annular ring (84 and 80 are contained in the interior space of 86; Figs. 4,5).
Regarding claim 20, Zimmerman teaches a method comprising: producing a hydrocarbon fluid from a wellbore with a plunger lift system comprising the plunger assembly of claim 1 (pp[0041], [0042], see claim 1); or retaining, by the plunger ball retention mechanism of the plunger assembly of claim 1 while producing a hydrocarbon fluid from a wellbore, the plunger ball in contact with a plunger ball seat of the plunger sleeve.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zimmerman, JR. (US Pub. No. 20160061012) in view of Silva (US Pub. No. 20180119521).
Regarding claim 16, Zimmerman teaches the plunger ball retention mechanism of claim 15.
Zimmerman is silent regarding further comprising: a plurality of resilient legs extending longitudinally from the annular ring, wherein each of the plurality of resilient legs extends from the annular ring in a single direction, wherein the inwardly projecting prongs are disposed at a distal end of the plurality of resilient legs.
Silva, drawn to a ball dropping system including a ball retention feature, discloses a plurality of resilient legs (48) extending longitudinally from the annular ring (66), wherein each of the plurality of resilient legs extends from the annular ring in a single direction (Fig. 2, 3, 5), wherein the inwardly projecting prongs (52) are disposed at a distal end of the plurality of resilient legs (52 are disposed at a distal end of legs 48; Fig. 3).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the retention mechanism of Zimmerman such that the ball retention feature of Silva is substituted for the ball retention means of Zimmerman as it would have required simple substitution of one known ball retention mechanism for another known ball retention mechanism to yield the same predictable results of restricting the movement of the dropped ball. MPEP 2143 (I)(B).
Claims 6, 13 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zimmerman, JR. (US Pub. No. 20160061012) in view of Doane et al. (US Pub. No 20220268130).
Regarding claims 6 and 13, Zimmerman is silent regarding wherein the annular ring comprises alternating band portions and plate portions, wherein the inwardly projecting prongs are connected to the plate portions, wherein the inwardly projecting prongs extend through plunger ball retention passages formed in the plunger sleeve and into the central bore of the tubular main body of the plunger sleeve.
Doane, drawn to a releasing retainer ring, discloses wherein the annular ring (214; Fig. 3b) comprises alternating band portions (302) and plate portions (304), wherein the inwardly projecting prongs are connected to the plate portions (plate portions 304 have inwardly projecting prongs; Fig. 3b).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the retention mechanism of Zimmerman such that the retention feature of Doane is substituted for the ball retention means of Zimmerman as it would have required simple substitution of one known retention mechanism for another known retention mechanism to yield the same predictable results of restricting the movement of the dropped ball. MPEP 2143 (I)(B).
In light of the above modification, the combination of Zimmerman and Doane teaches the inwardly projecting prongs extend through plunger ball retention passages formed in the plunger sleeve and into the central bore of the tubular main body of the plunger sleeve (the prongs at 304 of Doane will extend through plunger ball retention passages 82 of Zimmerman formed in the plunger sleeve 34 and into the central bore (central bore as shown in Fig. 4 of Zimmerman) of the tubular main body of the plunger sleeve 34.)
Regarding claim 18, Zimmerman teaches the plunger ball retention mechanism of claim 15.
Zimmerman is silent regarding the annular ring comprises alternating band portions and plate portions, wherein the inwardly projecting prongs are connected to the plate portions.
Doane, drawn to a releasing retainer ring, discloses wherein the annular ring (214; Fig. 3b) comprises alternating band portions (302) and plate portions (304), wherein the inwardly projecting prongs are connected to the plate portions (plate portions 304 have inwardly projecting prongs; Fig. 3b).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the retention mechanism of Zimmerman such that the retention feature of Doane is substituted for the ball retention means of Zimmerman as it would have required simple substitution of one known retention mechanism for another known retention mechanism to yield the same predictable results of restricting the movement of the dropped ball. MPEP 2143 (I)(B).
Claim 19 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zimmerman, JR. (US Pub. No. 20160061012) in view of Carter et al. (U.S. Publication No. 20130153220).
Regarding claim 19, Zimmerman teaches the plunger ball retention mechanism of claim 15.
Zimmerman is silent regarding a second annular ring, wherein a first end of each of the inwardly projecting prongs is connected to the annular ring, wherein a second end of each of the inwardly projecting prongs is connected to the second annular ring.
Carter, drawn to a frac plug for engaging and temporarily creating a seal when a ball is dropped into a wellbore and landed on the plug seat, discloses a second annular ring (46), wherein a first end of each of the inwardly projecting prongs (projecting prongs comprises 44, 42; upper end of projecting prong 44 is the “first end”; Fig. 6) is connected to the annular ring (53), wherein a second end of each of the inwardly projecting prongs (lower end of projecting prong 42 is the “second end”; Fig. 6) is connected to the second annular ring (46).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the retention mechanism of Zimmerman such that the retention feature of Carter is substituted for the ball retention means of Zimmerman as it would have required simple substitution of one known retention mechanism for another known retention mechanism to yield the same predictable results of restricting the movement of the dropped ball. MPEP 2143 (I)(B).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 4, 7, 11 and 14 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/LAMIA QUAIM/Examiner, Art Unit 3676