DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
Applicant’s response of 7/17/2026 is received. Claims 1-9 are pending and were not amended in the response. This Office Action revises the rejection of claim 6 and is a second non-final rejection.
Specification
The specification is objected to as failing to provide proper antecedent basis for the claimed subject matter. See 37 CFR 1.75(d)(1) and MPEP § 608.01(o). Correction of the following is required: Claim 6 depends from claim 5 and recites: “The sock of claim 5, wherein the lateral sleeve is wider than the medial and adjacent sleeves.” The specification discloses the lateral sleeve as “larger” than the first and third compartments.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1 and 5-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yokoyama (U.S. 2009/0288451) in view of Chenciner (U.S. 8,991,075). Yokoyama discloses the invention substantially as claimed. Yokoyama teaches a sock A comprising: a foot portion (combined 2,2u,4,7,9) having a toe end divided into two toe compartments which are a first toe compartment 2A configured to receive only a big toe of a wearer and a second toe compartment 2B configured to receive the four remaining toes of the wearer. The first and second toe compartments are separated by a divider extending from the toe end rearward as shown in Fig.1, with the divider formed by the walls of the adjacent first and second compartments during the knitting process. However, Yokoyama doesn't teach the sock with the second toe compartment configured to receive only a second toe of the wearer, and a third toe compartment configured to receive the third, fourth, and fifth toes of the wearer together. Chenciner teaches analogous footwear 1 with a first toe compartment 29 configured to receive only a big toe 32 of the wearer, a second toe compartment 30 configured to receive only a second toe 33 of the wearer, and a third toe compartment 31 configured to receive the third, fourth, and fifth toes 34,35,36 of the wearer together. Chenciner teaches that the big toe moves independently from the other toes due to the flexor hallucis longus muscle and isolating the second toe accommodates the natural prehensility or grasping capability of the second toe in conjunction with the opposed movement of the big toe separate of the remaining three toes. Chenciner also teaches that providing a toe compartment for the third, fourth, and fifth toes facilitates movement of those toes as a group inside the footwear consistent with the shared musculature and tendons between those toes. Under KSR Rationale, one of ordinary skill could have looked to the teachings of Chenciner's analogous footwear to improve Yokoyama's sock in the same manner- to allow independent articulation of the big toe and the adjacent second toe while maintaining common movement among the remaining three toes consistent with shared musculature and tendons to provide a sock that supports the biomechanics of the wearer’s foot. Modifying Yokoyama's sock would result in the second and third toe compartments separated by a divider extending from the toe end rearward, as the divider is formed by the respective walls of the second and third toe compartments during the knitting process, and the respective walls of each compartment include portions extending from a toe end in a direction toward a heel portion of the sock. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Yokoyama's second toe compartment such that it is configured to receive only a second toe of the wearer and form a third toe compartment configured to receive the third, fourth, and fifth toes of the wearer together to accommodate the biomechanics of the wearer's toes and foot and allow for improved flexion of the toes and foot when the sock is worn, as taught by Chenciner, with said modified structure achieved simply by modifying the knitting process of the sock to include the three compartments. It also would have been obvious to provide a second divider extending from the toe rearward to separate the second and third toe compartments, as the divider is formed during the knitting process of the modified sock including the first, second, and third toe compartments as claimed.
For claim 5, the modified Yokoyama teaches a sock comprising a toe portion having exactly three independent toe sleeves: a medial sleeve for the hallux, an adjacent sleeve for the index toe, and a lateral sleeve for the remaining three lesser toes as described in the rejection of claim 1 reciting first, second, and third toe compartments.
For claim 6, the modified Yokoyama doesn’t explicitly teach the lateral sleeve is wider than the medial and adjacent sleeves. It is noted that the claim doesn’t provide particulars as to where the width is measured, e.g. at a tip or front end of each sleeve, across a top portion of each sleeve, or using some other boundary points of the sleeves. Chenciner's Figure 1, although not to scale, appears to illustrate that the lateral sleeve is wider than the medial and adjacent sleeves, with Chenciner’s lateral sleeve sized to retain three toes- the third, fourth, and fifth toes- of the wearer, with the medial and adjacent sleeves each sized to retain a single toe. One of ordinary skill in the art would understand that each toe sleeve must accommodate a natural shape and width of the associated toe/toes retained therein. That is, the lateral sleeve for accommodating three toes must span the combined width of those three toes and the spaces between them, the medial sleeve for accommodating one toe/the big toe must span the width of the big toe and the adjacent sleeve for accommodating the adjacent or second toe must span the width of the second toe, the second toe anatomically understood as the longest and narrowest toe as compared to the combined width of the third, fourth, and fifth toes. Considering Chenciner’s illustration of the respective toe sleeves in Figure 1 and a general knowledge and consideration of the anatomy of a foot, one of ordinary skill could have arrived at the claimed limitation- to form the sock’s lateral sleeve wider than the medial and adjacent sleeves, with each sleeve appropriately sized for donning by the wearer as intended and providing a comfortable wearing experience. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Yokoyama’s sock such that the lateral sleeve is wider than the medial and adjacent sleeves, as this structure is expected to comfortably accommodate the comparative widths of the wearer’s toes in each sleeve and assist with donning each sleeve of the sock on the associated toe/toes.
For claim 7, the modified Yokoyama teaches a sock comprising three separate pockets for toes, wherein: the first pocket being configured to receive the big toe, the second pocket configured to receive the second toe, and the third pocket configured to receive the remaining three toes as discussed in the rejection of claim 1 reciting the first, second, and third toe compartment. Yokoyama teaches a first divider extending from a toe end in a direction toward a heel portion of the sock as the first divider is formed by the respective walls of the first and second pockets during the knitting process, and the respective walls include portions extending from a toe end in a direction toward a heel portion of the sock as in Figure 1. Yokoyama’s modified sock including the three separate toe pockets also includes the second divider extending from a toe end in a direction toward a heel portion of the sock formed by the respective walls of the second and third toe pockets during the knitting process, and the respective walls also include portions extending from a toe end in a direction toward a heel portion of the sock.
Claims 2, 4, and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yokoyama '451 in view of Chenciner '075 as applied to claims 1 and 7 above, and further in view of Romay (U.S. 7,069,600). Yokoyama discloses the invention substantially as claimed, including a stretchable fabric (sock material includes rubber thread 1A). However, Yokoyama doesn't teach the sock formed from breathable fabric (claims 2 and 8) and the sock comprising moisture-wicking properties (claim 4). Romay teaches a sock 10 that is breathable as in col.7, lines 14-19 and has moisture wicking properties as in col.7, lines 29-32. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Yokoyama's sock to form from a stretchable, breathable fabric and to have moisture-wicking properties as taught by Romay, to wick moisture from the wearer's foot for improved comfort and allow for airflow into and from the sock.
Claims 3 and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yokoyama '451 in view of Chenciner '075 as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Loven (U.S. 1,452,302). Yokoyama discloses the invention substantially as claimed but doesn't teach the two dividers/first and second dividers are reinforced with stitching or elastic material for enhanced durability. Loven teaches a stocking with a divider 17 reinforced with stitching 18 or elastic material (divider is formed from elastic material) for enhanced durability, as Loven teaches the reinforced stitching or elastic material bounds the walls of adjacent toe compartments 10,11 to maintain the spacing between respective compartments. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Yokoyama's two dividers/first and second dividers by reinforcing with stitching or elastic material for enhanced durability as taught by Loven in order to support the toe separations and maintain the intended spacing between respective toe compartments/pockets
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s remarks submitted in the response of 7/17/2026 have been considered. Applicant traverses the rejections of independent claims 1, 5, and 7 with Yokoyama ‘451 ivo Chenciner ‘075, as the arguments submit Yokoyama demonstrates multi-pouch sock construction generally, but doesn’t disclose the claimed 1-1-3 allocation or a second divider between an isolated second toe and the grouped third through fifth toes. Chenciner expressly discloses the same allocation of toes as set forth in the claims- one pocket for the big toe, one pocket for the second toe, and one pocket for the remaining three toes. Applicant submits that the issue is whether the rejection adequately establishes the structural limitations of the resulting modified sock, as a sock is not a shoe and a shoe with a rubber outsole does not require the structurally different functionality of a sock, or vice versa. Applicant submits that the rejection doesn’t identify a particular teaching in either reference showing the newly added boundary in the modified sock begins at the toe end and extends rearward and forming a second divider in the claimed relationship. Nor does it explain why translating Chenciner’s toe allocation into Yokoyama’s textile construction necessarily or predictably produces the two claimed rearward-extending dividers, as opposed to merely producing three toe-receiving regions through some unspecified construction, motivation or reasoning for converting a rubber-outsole into a sock. Applicant submits that a shoe is not a sock and cannot be “simply” converted into a sock just because one existed prior to the other one, or vice versa. The Examiner disagrees with Applicant’s assessment of the proposed rejections. The Examiner has not proposed converting a rubber-outsole into a sock. The rejections point to the claimed three-pocket structure taught by Chenciner as sufficient motivation for modifying Yokoyama’s analogous sock to improve the sock in the same manner taught by Chenciner, as the three-pocket structure accommodates the natural biomechanics of a foot’s muscles and tendons to allow independent articulation of the big toe and the adjacent second toe while maintaining common movement among the remaining three toes, thereby providing a supportive sock and improved wearing experience. Chenciner also teaches that providing a toe compartment for the third, fourth, and fifth toes facilitates movement of those toes as a group inside the footwear consistent with the shared musculature and tendons between those toes. The Examiner submits that the proposed modification of Yokoyama resulting in the claimed knitted toe pocket structures also produces or results in the claimed dividers formed by the respective compartment walls during the knitting process disclosed by Yokoyama as each of the three compartments are knitted to include portions extending from the toe end and extending rearward toward the heel portion, these portions forming walls of the compartments/sleeves/pockets, with the respective dividers represented by the adjacent walls of the respective compartments. Applicant’s remarks reference the dividers as physical boundaries of the sock toe portion rather than merely an abstract grouping of toes and disclose that claims 1 and 7 require two dividers having a specified relationship to the sock. The Examiner notes that claims 1 and 7 do not recite the dividers as structural elements distinct from the remaining sock structure. Although not imported to the claims, the specification simply discusses the dividers as “preferably formed integrally during knitting, forming, creating or sewing of the sock..” and Figure 1 of the originally filed disclosure includes reference numbers 22,23 representing the dividers and pointing to what appear to be crotch portions between the first compartment/sleeve/pocket and the second compartment/sleeve/pocket and between the second compartment/sleeve/pocket and the third compartment/sleeve pocket. However, the claimed dividers are not interpreted as including crotch portions.
For claim 6, Applicant submits that the limitation to the lateral sleeve as wider than both the medial sleeve and the adjacent sleeve is an express comparative dimensional limitation and Chenciner’s written description and claims do not state that the lateral pocket has the claimed relative width, provide corresponding dimensions or state that Figure 1 is drawn to scale. Note that the rejection of claim 6 is modified to clarify the rejection. The Examiner agrees that the drawings are not to scale; however, the drawings can be relied on for what they reasonably disclose and suggest to one of ordinary skill in the art, particularly as the claims don’t recite dimensional values. See MPEP 2125 and In re Aslanian, 590 F.2d 911,299 USPQ 500 (CCPA 1979).
It is noted that claims 3 and 9 recite the dividers are reinforced with stitching or elastic material for enhanced durability and these claims are addressed by Loven (U.S. 1,452,302).
Conclusion
Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications should be directed to Primary Examiner Katherine Moran at (571) 272-4990 (phone). Please note that any internet communication directed to katherine.moran@uspto.gov requires prior submission of an Authorization for Internet Communications form (PTO/SB/439). The examiner can be reached on Monday-Thursday from 9:00 am to 6:00 pm, and alternating Fridays.If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner's supervisor, Khoa Huynh, may be reached at (571) 272-4888. The official and after final fax number for the organization where this application is assigned is (571) 273-8300. General information regarding this application and
questions directed to matters of form and procedures may be directed to the PTO Contact
Center/Inventors Assistance Center at (800) 786-9199/571-272-1000. Information regarding the status
of an application may be obtained from the Patent Application Information Retrieval (PAIR) system.
Status information for published applications may be obtained from either Private PAIR or Public PAIR.
Status information for unpublished applications is available through Private PAIR only. For questions on
access to the Private PAIR system, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-
free).
/KATHERINE M MORAN/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3732