DETAILED ACTION
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: fixation elements in claims 1 and 3.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Samani, U.S. Patent 5,645,599.
Regarding claim 1, Samani discloses an implantable interspinous device comprising: a body (1) with a longitudinal anterior-posterior axis with a closed U-shaped anterior end (5a) and an open posterior end (5) and a superior arm and an inferior arm (both 6), wherein the superior and inferior arms are able to bend toward each other or away from each other (Fig. 1 and col. 3 line 66-col. 4 line 4); bone fixation elements (9) on either side of the body (via holes 8 in arms 6) (Figs. 1-2); and a removable extension restriction block (15) (Fig. 5 and col. 4 lines 44-51).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2 and 3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Samani, U.S. Patent 5,645,599 in view of Trieu, U.S. PG-Pub 2010/0222820.
Regarding claim 2, Samani discloses wherein the extension restriction block (15) can be inserted in a space (space between 5b) the superior and inferior arms (both 6) to limit extension or can be removed from the body to allow extension (Figs. 2 and 5 and col. 4 lines 44-51).
Samani does not explicitly disclose the extension restriction block prohibiting extension.
Trieu discloses an implantable device having an extension restriction block (50) inserted in a space (46) between superior and inferior arms (32, 34) to provide increasing, variable, constant and/or decreasing resistance and can be configured to prevent closing of an open end (40) (Figs. 1 and 3 and paragraph [0077]) to permit variable stiffness (paragraph [0014]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the extension restriction block of Samani to be configured for prohibiting extension in view of Trieu to permit the device provide or limit movement based on the needs of a specific patient.
Regarding claim 3, Samani discloses a method of performing an orthopedic surgical procedure comprising the steps of: implanting an interspinous device in between two successive interspinous processes (2) of a mammalian subject, wherein the interspinous device comprises a body (1) with a longitudinal anterior-posterior axis with a closed U-shaped anterior end (5a) and an open posterior end (5) and a superior arm and an inferior arm (both 6), wherein the superior and inferior arms are able to bend toward each other or away from each other (Figs. 1-2 and col. 3 line 66-col. 4 line 4), and further comprising bone fixation elements (9) on either side of the body (via holes 8 in arms 6); the interspinous device being dynamic allowing for extension of the successive spinous processes and inserting an extension restriction block (15) into the body to limit extension of the successive spinous processes (Fig. 5, col. 3 line 66-col. 4 line 4, and col. 4 lines 44-51).
Samani does not disclose determining the interspinous device is to be non-dynamic and the extension restriction block prohibiting extension.
Trieu discloses an implantable device having an extension restriction block (50) inserted in a space (46) between superior and inferior arms (32, 34) to provide increasing, variable, constant and/or decreasing resistance and can be configured to prevent closing of an open end (40) (Figs. 1 and 3 and paragraph [0077]) to permit variable stiffness (paragraph [0014]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the extension restriction block of Samani to be configured for prohibiting extension such that the interspinous device is non-dynamic in view of Trieu to permit the device provide or limit movement based on the needs of a specific patient.
Double Patenting
For the below non-statutory double patenting rejection, like elements will be bolded and additional elements will be non-bolded.
Claims 1 and 2 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 3 and 8 of U.S. Patent No. 11,331,199. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because:
Regarding claims 1 and 2 of the application, claim 3 of the patent recites “An interspinous posterior device, comprising: a body; and bone fixation elements on either side of the body, each of said bone fixation elements comprising a ratchet locking mechanism for fixing the body to successive spinous processes of a mammalian body, wherein each of the bone fixation elements is independently adjustable by ratcheting it separately and independently of the other bone fixation elements; wherein the body has a dynamic configuration and a non-dynamic configuration, wherein the dynamic configuration is configured to allow for both extension and flexion of successive spinous processes and the non-dynamic configuration configured to prohibit extension of successive spinous processes; a removable extension restriction block, wherein the extension restriction block can be inserted in the body to prohibit extension or can be removed from the body to allow extension; and wherein the body is a U-shaped implantable component having a longitudinal anterior-posterior axis with a closed rounded anterior end and an open posterior end and a superior arm and an inferior arm and a space in between the superior arm and the inferior arm that receives the removable extension restriction block, and wherein the U-shaped implantable component is non-dynamic when combined with the extension restriction block and is dynamic when not combined with the extension restriction block.”
It is clear that all the elements of claims 1 and 2 of the application are to be found in claim 3 of the patent. The difference between claims 1 and 2 of the application and claim 3 of the patent lies in the fact the patent claim includes more elements and is thus more specific. Thus the invention of claim 3 of the patent is in effect a “species” of the “generic” invention of claims 1 and 2 of the application. It has been held that the generic invention is “anticipated” by the “species.” See In re Goodman, 29 USPQ2d 2010 (Fed. Cir. 1993). Since claims 1 and 2 of the application are anticipated by claim 3 of the patent, they are not patentably distinct from claim 3 of the patent.
Regarding claims 1 and 2 of the application, claim 8 of the patent recites “An interspinous posterior device comprising: a U-shaped body that is implantable in between successive spinous processes, said U-shaped body having a longitudinal anterior-posterior axis with a closed rounded anterior end and an open posterior end and a superior arm and an inferior arm and a space in between the superior arm and the inferior arm capable of receiving a removable extension restriction block, and wherein the U-shaped body is non-dynamic upon receiving the extension restriction block and is dynamic when the extension restriction block is absent from the U-shaped body; a pair of opposing barrels extending in a superior direction from the superior arm, each of said barrels comprising one or more rows of ratchet slots or ratchet teeth; a pair of opposing barrels extending in an inferior direction from the inferior arm, each of said barrels comprising one or more rows of ratchet slots or ratchet teeth; four cylinders, each cylinder sized to fit within one of the barrels, each of said cylinders comprising one or more rows of ratchet teeth that mates with the one or more rows of ratchet slots or ratchet teeth of the barrels, wherein each cylinder has spikes on its medial end for engaging with bone of a spinous process and wherein the rows of ratchet teeth of the cylinders and rows of ratchet slots or teeth of the barrels form a ratchet locking mechanism that locks the cylinders with the barrels preventing movement of the cylinders in a lateral direction; and a removable extension restriction block that fits within the space between the inferior arm and superior arm of the U-shaped body, wherein the extension restriction block mates with the U-shaped body in a lateral movement restricted manner.
It is clear that all the elements of claims 1 and 2 of the application are to be found in claim 8 of the patent. The difference between claims 1 and 2 of the application and claim 8 of the patent lies in the fact the patent claim includes more elements and is thus more specific. Thus the invention of claim 8 of the patent is in effect a “species” of the “generic” invention of claims 1 and 2 of the application. It has been held that the generic invention is “anticipated” by the “species.” See In re Goodman, 29 USPQ2d 2010 (Fed. Cir. 1993). Since claims 1 and 2 of the application are anticipated by claim 8 of the patent, they are not patentably distinct from claim 3 of the patent.
Conclusion
/ERIC S GIBSON/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3775