Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of species I (footwear as shown in figures 1A-2A and 2C-3B) in the reply filed on 5/27/2026 is acknowledged.
Claims 5,6 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 5/27/2026.
To the extent that the withdrawn claims get rejoined, applicant should amend them during prosecution. Accordingly, if the independent claim is no longer generic then applicant is encourage to cancel the withdrawn claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-4,7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US 2016/0249706 (Leary).
Regarding claims 1-4 and 7, Leary discloses a footwear upper (300), comprising:
a footwear upper base (upper 300 including parts 320,330,340 which extend to all parts of the footwear around the user’s foot) formed from one or more component parts and including: (i) an instep region, (ii) a heel-containing region, and (iii) a foot-receiving opening; and
a bladder (340; see figure 6 annotated below) including: (i) a first instep chamber (1IC) engaged with the instep region of the footwear upper base, the first instep chamber including a first major surface located at the instep region, (ii) a first heel and/or ankle support chamber (1H&AC) engaged with the heel-containing region of the footwear upper base, and (iii) a first fluid line (1FL) connecting the first instep chamber and the first heel and/or ankle support chamber, wherein the first fluid line (1FL) extends along and proximate to a first side edge of the foot-receiving opening (the fluid line (1FL) as shown below are on the top portion of the bladder and therefore extend along and proximate a first side edge of the opening).
Regarding claim 2, Leary teaches the footwear upper according to claim 1, wherein the bladder further includes a second heel and/or ankle support chamber (2H&AC) and a second fluid line (2FL) connecting the first heel and/or ankle support chamber and the second heel and/or ankle support chamber.
Regarding claim 3, the second fluid line (2FL) as shown in the figures extends around a rear heel and/or ankle portion of the footwear upper base. The rear and/or ankle portion would include a majority of the foot-receiving opening.
Regarding claim 4, Leary teaches the footwear upper according to claim 1, wherein the bladder further includes a second instep chamber (2IC) engaged with the instep region of the footwear upper base, and wherein the second instep chamber includes a second major surface located at the instep region and is in fluid communication with at least one of the first fluid line (1FL) and the first instep chamber (1IC).
Regarding claim 7, Leary teaches the footwear upper according to claim 4, wherein a portion of the first instep chamber (1IC) is separated from a portion of the second instep chamber (2IC) by an exposed portion of at least one of the one or more component parts of the footwear upper base (see figure 6 showing separation between 1IC and 2IC).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 8-9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Leary ‘706 in view of US 2018/0317594 (Brinkman).
Regarding claims 8-9, Leary discloses a footwear upper (see the rejection above for details) except for one or more components of the footwear upper base includes a first knit component. Leary teaches at least a portion of the footwear base is engaged to the bladder; for example see ¶0049 of Leary.
Brinkman teaches constructing footwear upper with one or more components of the footwear includes a first knit component to provide advantages such as elasticity, breathability, bendability, etc. (see ¶0014). Therefore, It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the footwear upper base to include a first knit component, as taught by Leary, to provide advantages such as elasticity, breathability and bendability.
Regarding claim 9, see ¶0050 of Leary which teaches engaging of the upper and the bladder in an adhesive-free manner (e.g. RF welding, etc.). RF welding was taught in the instant application (see ¶0024) as being an adhesive-free manner.
Double Patenting
Claims 10,11,14 and 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 as claiming the same invention as that of claims 1,2,3 and 4 of prior U.S. Patent No. 12,053,053. This is a statutory double patenting rejection.
Claims 1-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over the claims of U.S. Patent No. 12,053,053. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the application claims are merely broader than the patent claim. In essence, once the applicant has received a patent for a species or a more specific embodiment, he is not entitled to a patent for the generic or broader invention without maintaining common ownership and ensuring that the term of the latter issued patent will expire at the end of the original term of the earlier issued patent. This is because the more specific “anticipates” the broader. Drawing a helpful analogy, if you have a broad claim to examine, and you find a reference, which discloses every element of the claim, you have a reference that anticipates. The same is true in an obviousness-type double patenting analysis where the claim being examined is merely broader than the claim patented before. The patented claim “anticipates” the application claim. That is, in a nutshell, the rationale for why the two claims are not patentably distinct. It has been held that the generic invention is “anticipated” by the “species”. See In re Goodman, 29 USPQ2d 2010 (Fed. Cir. 1993).
Note: Claims 10,11,14 and 15 has been give a rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 as claiming the same invention as that of claims 1,2,3 and 4 of prior U.S. Patent No. 12,053,053 (see the rejection above) and this is a statutory double patenting rejection can’t be overcome with a terminal disclaimer.
Claims 1-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over the claims of U.S. Patent No. 12,495,867. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the application claims are merely broader than the patent claim. In essence, once the applicant has received a patent for a species or a more specific embodiment, he is not entitled to a patent for the generic or broader invention without maintaining common ownership and ensuring that the term of the latter issued patent will expire at the end of the original term of the earlier issued patent. This is because the more specific “anticipates” the broader. Drawing a helpful analogy, if you have a broad claim to examine, and you find a reference, which discloses every element of the claim, you have a reference that anticipates. The same is true in an obviousness-type double patenting analysis where the claim being examined is merely broader than the claim patented before. The patented claim “anticipates” the application claim. That is, in a nutshell, the rationale for why the two claims are not patentably distinct. It has been held that the generic invention is “anticipated” by the “species”. See In re Goodman, 29 USPQ2d 2010 (Fed. Cir. 1993).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. The prior art cited and not relied upon by the Examiner for the above rejections are considered to be pertinent in that the references cited are considered to be the nearest prior art to the subject matter defined in the claims as required by MPEP707.05.
Applicant is duly reminded that a complete response must satisfy the requirements of 37 C.F. R. 1.111, including:
-“The reply must present arguments pointing out the specific distinctions believed to render the claims, including any newly presented claims, patentable over any applied references.”
--“A general allegation that the claims define a patentable invention without specifically pointing out how the language of the claims patentably distinguishes them from the references does not comply with the requirements of this section.”
-Moreover, “The prompt development of a clear issue requires that the replies of the applicant meet the objections to and rejections of the claims. Applicant should also specifically point out the support for any amendments made to the disclosure. See MPEP 2163.06” MPEP 714.02. The “disclosure” includes the claims, the specification and the drawings.
/Ted Kavanaugh/
Primary Patent Examiner
Art Unit 3732
Tel: (571) 272-4556