DETAILED ACTION
Double Patenting
Claims 1-20 and 22 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-3, 5, 7, 8, 14, 16-18, and 20 of U.S. Patent No. 11,960,315. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because:
Claim 1 of ‘315 discloses all of the claim limitations of current claim 1 but claim 1 of ‘315 does not explicitly disclose “the base being further configured to contact an automatic locking arm when the safety knob assembly is in a locked configuration” as recited in current claim 1. Claim 1 of ‘315 discloses that the automatic locking arm is engaged with a locking notch, and the locking notch is formed in an inner peripheral sidewall of the base. The term “engaged” is viewed as also meaning contact given the dictionary.com definition of “engage” which states “Mechanics. to cause (gears or the like) to become interlocked; interlock with”, and the Applicant’s invention is a mechanical structure thus the term “engaged” is meant to encompass interlocking i.e. contacting.
Claim 2 of ‘315 discloses the same limitations as current claim 2.
Claim 3 of ‘315 discloses the same limitations as current claim 3.
Claim 5 of ‘315 discloses the same limitations as current claim 4.
Claim 7 of ‘315 discloses the same limitations as current claim 5.
Claim 8 of ‘315 discloses the same limitations as current claim 6.
Claim 16 of ‘315 discloses the same limitations as current claim 7.
Claim 17 of ‘315 discloses the same limitations as current claim 8.
Claim 18 of ‘315 discloses the same limitations as current claim 9.
Claim 14 of ‘315 discloses the same limitations as current claim 10.
Claim 1 of ‘315 discloses all of the claim limitations of current claim 11 but claim 1 of ‘315 does not explicitly disclose “the base being further configured to contact an automatic locking arm when the safety knob assembly is in a locked configuration” as recited in current claim 11. Claim 1 of ‘315 discloses that the automatic locking arm is engaged with a locking notch, and the locking notch is formed in an inner peripheral sidewall of the base. The term “engaged” is viewed as also meaning contact given the dictionary.com definition of “engage” which states “Mechanics. to cause (gears or the like) to become interlocked; interlock with”, and the Applicant’s invention is a mechanical structure thus the term “engaged” is meant to encompass interlocking i.e. contacting.
Claim 2 of ‘315 discloses the same limitations as current claim 12.
Claim 3 of ‘315 discloses the same limitations as current claim 13.
Claim 5 of ‘315 discloses the same limitations as current claim 14.
Claim 7 of ‘315 discloses the same limitations as current claim 15.
Claim 8 of ‘315 discloses the same limitations as current claim 16.
Claim 16 of ‘315 discloses the same limitations as current claim 17.
Claim 17 of ‘315 discloses the same limitations as current claim 18.
Claim 18 of ‘315 discloses the same limitations as current claim 19.
Claim 14 of ‘315 discloses the same limitations as current claim 20.
Claim 1 of ‘315 discloses all of the claim limitations of current claim 22 but claim 1 of ‘315 does not explicitly disclose “the base being further configured to contact an automatic locking arm when the safety knob assembly is in a locked configuration” as recited in current claim 22. Claim 1 of ‘315 discloses that the automatic locking arm is engaged with a locking notch, and the locking notch is formed in an inner peripheral sidewall of the base. The term “engaged” is viewed as also meaning contact given the dictionary.com definition of “engage” which states “Mechanics. to cause (gears or the like) to become interlocked; interlock with”, and the Applicant’s invention is a mechanical structure thus the term “engaged” is meant to encompass interlocking i.e. contacting. Furthermore, free rotation of the knob is viewed as encompassing a clockwise rotation of the knob.
Claim 20 of ‘315 discloses all of the claim limitations of current claim 1 but claim 20 of ‘315 does not explicitly disclose “the base being further configured to contact an automatic locking arm when the safety knob assembly is in a locked configuration” as recited in current claim 1. Claim 20 of ‘315 discloses that the automatic locking arm is engaged with a locking notch, and the locking notch is formed in an inner peripheral sidewall of the base. The term “engaged” is viewed as also meaning contact given the dictionary.com definition of “engage” which states “Mechanics. to cause (gears or the like) to become interlocked; interlock with”, and the Applicant’s invention is a mechanical structure thus the term “engaged” is meant to encompass interlocking i.e. contacting.
Claim 20 of ‘315 discloses all of the claim limitations of current claim 11 but claim 20 of ‘315 does not explicitly disclose “the base being further configured to contact an automatic locking arm when the safety knob assembly is in a locked configuration” as recited in current claim 11. Claim 20 of ‘315 discloses that the automatic locking arm is engaged with a locking notch, and the locking notch is formed in an inner peripheral sidewall of the base. The term “engaged” is viewed as also meaning contact given the dictionary.com definition of “engage” which states “Mechanics. to cause (gears or the like) to become interlocked; interlock with”, and the Applicant’s invention is a mechanical structure thus the term “engaged” is meant to encompass interlocking i.e. contacting.
Claim 20 of ‘315 discloses all of the claim limitations of current claim 22 but claim 20 of ‘315 does not explicitly disclose “the base being further configured to contact an automatic locking arm when the safety knob assembly is in a locked configuration” as recited in current claim 22. Claim 20 of ‘315 discloses that the automatic locking arm is engaged with a locking notch, and the locking notch is formed in an inner peripheral sidewall of the base. The term “engaged” is viewed as also meaning contact given the dictionary.com definition of “engage” which states “Mechanics. to cause (gears or the like) to become interlocked; interlock with”, and the Applicant’s invention is a mechanical structure thus the term “engaged” is meant to encompass interlocking i.e. contacting. Furthermore, free rotation of the knob is viewed as encompassing a clockwise rotation of the knob.
Claims 1-20 and 22 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 2, 20-27, 29, and 30 of U.S. Patent No. 12,204,359 B1. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because:
Claim 1 of ‘359 discloses all of the claim limitations of current claim 1 but claim 1 of ‘359 does not explicitly disclose “the base being further configured to contact an automatic locking arm when the safety knob assembly is in a locked configuration” as recited in current claim 1. Claim 1 of ‘359 discloses that the automatic locking arm is engaged with a locking notch, and the locking notch is formed in an inner peripheral sidewall of the base. The term “engaged” is viewed as also meaning contact given the dictionary.com definition of “engage” which states “Mechanics. to cause (gears or the like) to become interlocked; interlock with”, and the Applicant’s invention is a mechanical structure thus the term “engaged” is meant to encompass interlocking i.e. contacting.
Claim 20 of ‘359 discloses all of the claim limitations of current claim 1 but claim 20 of ‘359 does not explicitly disclose “the base being further configured to contact an automatic locking arm when the safety knob assembly is in a locked configuration” as recited in current claim 1. Claim 20 of ‘359 discloses that the automatic locking arm is engaged with a locking notch, and the locking notch is formed in an inner peripheral sidewall of the base. The term “engaged” is viewed as also meaning contact given the dictionary.com definition of “engage” which states “Mechanics. to cause (gears or the like) to become interlocked; interlock with”, and the Applicant’s invention is a mechanical structure thus the term “engaged” is meant to encompass interlocking i.e. contacting.
Claim 21 of ‘359 discloses the same limitations as current claim 2.
Claim 22 of ‘359 discloses the same limitations as current claim 3.
Claim 24 of ‘359 discloses the same limitations as current claim 4.
Claim 25 of ‘359 discloses the same limitations as current claim 5.
Claim 26 of ‘359 discloses the same limitations as current claim 6.
Claim 28 of ‘359 discloses the same limitations as current claim 7.
Claim 29 of ‘359 discloses the same limitations as current claim 8.
Claim 30 of ‘359 discloses the same limitations as current claim 9.
Claim 27 of ‘359 discloses the same limitations as current claim 10.
Claim 1 of ‘359 discloses all of the claim limitations of current claim 11 but claim 1 of ‘359 does not explicitly disclose “the base being further configured to contact an automatic locking arm when the safety knob assembly is in a locked configuration” as recited in current claim 11. Claim 1 of ‘359 discloses that the automatic locking arm is engaged with a locking notch, and the locking notch is formed in an inner peripheral sidewall of the base. The term “engaged” is viewed as also meaning contact given the dictionary.com definition of “engage” which states “Mechanics. to cause (gears or the like) to become interlocked; interlock with”, and the Applicant’s invention is a mechanical structure thus the term “engaged” is meant to encompass interlocking i.e. contacting.
Claim 20 of ‘359 discloses all of the claim limitations of current claim 11 but claim 20 of ‘359 does not explicitly disclose “the base being further configured to contact an automatic locking arm when the safety knob assembly is in a locked configuration” as recited in current claim 11. Claim 20 of ‘359 discloses that the automatic locking arm is engaged with a locking notch, and the locking notch is formed in an inner peripheral sidewall of the base. The term “engaged” is viewed as also meaning contact given the dictionary.com definition of “engage” which states “Mechanics. to cause (gears or the like) to become interlocked; interlock with”, and the Applicant’s invention is a mechanical structure thus the term “engaged” is meant to encompass interlocking i.e. contacting.
Claim 21 of ‘359 discloses the same limitations as current claim 12.
Claim 22 of ‘359 discloses the same limitations as current claim 13.
Claim 24 of ‘359 discloses the same limitations as current claim 14.
Claim 25 of ‘359 discloses the same limitations as current claim 15.
Claim 26 of ‘359 discloses the same limitations as current claim 16.
Claim 28 of ‘359 discloses the same limitations as current claim 17.
Claim 29 of ‘359 discloses the same limitations as current claim 18.
Claim 30 of ‘359 discloses the same limitations as current claim 19.
Claim 27 of ‘359 discloses the same limitations as current claim 20.
Claim 1 of ‘359 discloses all of the claim limitations of current claim 22 but claim 1 of ‘359 does not explicitly disclose “the base being further configured to contact an automatic locking arm when the safety knob assembly is in a locked configuration” as recited in current claim 22. Claim 1 of ‘359 discloses that the automatic locking arm is engaged with a locking notch, and the locking notch is formed in an inner peripheral sidewall of the base. The term “engaged” is viewed as also meaning contact given the dictionary.com definition of “engage” which states “Mechanics. to cause (gears or the like) to become interlocked; interlock with”, and the Applicant’s invention is a mechanical structure thus the term “engaged” is meant to encompass interlocking i.e. contacting. Furthermore, free rotation of the knob is viewed as encompassing a clockwise rotation of the knob.
Claim 2 of ‘359 discloses all of the claim limitations of current claim 22 but claim 2 of ‘359 does not explicitly disclose “the base being further configured to contact an automatic locking arm when the safety knob assembly is in a locked configuration” as recited in current claim 22. Claim 2 of ‘359 discloses that the automatic locking arm is engaged with a locking notch, and the locking notch is formed in an inner peripheral sidewall of the base. The term “engaged” is viewed as also meaning contact given the dictionary.com definition of “engage” which states “Mechanics. to cause (gears or the like) to become interlocked; interlock with”, and the Applicant’s invention is a mechanical structure thus the term “engaged” is meant to encompass interlocking i.e. contacting. Furthermore, free rotation of the knob is viewed as encompassing a clockwise rotation of the knob.
Claim 20 of ‘359 discloses all of the claim limitations of current claim 22 but claim 20 of ‘359 does not explicitly disclose “the base being further configured to contact an automatic locking arm when the safety knob assembly is in a locked configuration” as recited in current claim 22. Claim 20 of ‘359 discloses that the automatic locking arm is engaged with a locking notch, and the locking notch is formed in an inner peripheral sidewall of the base. The term “engaged” is viewed as also meaning contact given the dictionary.com definition of “engage” which states “Mechanics. to cause (gears or the like) to become interlocked; interlock with”, and the Applicant’s invention is a mechanical structure thus the term “engaged” is meant to encompass interlocking i.e. contacting. Furthermore, free rotation of the knob is viewed as encompassing a clockwise rotation of the knob.
Claims 1, 11, and 22 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 14 of U.S. Patent No. 12,504,776 B2. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because:
Claim 14 of ‘776 discloses all of the claim limitations of current claim 1 but claim 14 of ‘776 does not explicitly disclose “the base being further configured to contact an automatic locking arm when the safety knob assembly is in a locked configuration” as recited in current claim 1. Claim 14 of ‘776 discloses that the automatic locking arm is engaged with a locking notch, and the locking notch is formed in an inner peripheral sidewall of the base. The term “engaged” is viewed as also meaning contact given the dictionary.com definition of “engage” which states “Mechanics. to cause (gears or the like) to become interlocked; interlock with”, and the Applicant’s invention is a mechanical structure thus the term “engaged” is meant to encompass interlocking i.e. contacting.
Claim 14 of ‘776 discloses all of the claim limitations of current claim 11 but claim 14 of ‘776 does not explicitly disclose “the base being further configured to contact an automatic locking arm when the safety knob assembly is in a locked configuration” as recited in current claim 11. Claim 14 of ‘776 discloses that the automatic locking arm is engaged with a locking notch, and the locking notch is formed in an inner peripheral sidewall of the base. The term “engaged” is viewed as also meaning contact given the dictionary.com definition of “engage” which states “Mechanics. to cause (gears or the like) to become interlocked; interlock with”, and the Applicant’s invention is a mechanical structure thus the term “engaged” is meant to encompass interlocking i.e. contacting.
Claim 14 of ‘776 discloses all of the claim limitations of current claim 22 but claim 14 of ‘776 does not explicitly disclose “the base being further configured to contact an automatic locking arm when the safety knob assembly is in a locked configuration” as recited in current claim 22. Claim 14 of ‘776 discloses that the automatic locking arm is engaged with a locking notch, and the locking notch is formed in an inner peripheral sidewall of the base. The term “engaged” is viewed as also meaning contact given the dictionary.com definition of “engage” which states “Mechanics. to cause (gears or the like) to become interlocked; interlock with”, and the Applicant’s invention is a mechanical structure thus the term “engaged” is meant to encompass interlocking i.e. contacting. Furthermore, free rotation of the knob is viewed as encompassing a clockwise rotation of the knob.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-20 and 22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by O’Keefe et al. (US 2015/0168987 A1).
Regarding claim 1, O’Keefe et al. discloses an automatically locking, releasable, safety knob assembly, comprising:
a base (505) configured to mount to a stove surface (202) of a stove (200), the base being further configured to contact an automatic locking arm (545, 546) when the safety knob assembly is in a locked configuration;
an adapter (580) configured to mate with a valve stem (534) of the stove, the adapter comprising:
an adapter central aperture (the central opening in 580 that 534 fits into) configured to receive the valve stem of the stove;
a knob (510) comprising:
a knob housing (512); and
a housing disk (560) covering the base when the safety knob assembly is mounted to the stove, the housing disk comprising:
an arm movement channel (564); and
a housing disk central aperture (the central part of 560 that 534 extends into), the housing disk central aperture configured to receive the adapter (see Paragraph 0119); and
an automatically locking, releasable, sub-assembly (538, 540), comprising:
a button (538, 540) configured to allow free rotation of the knob when the safety knob assembly is in an unlocked configuration; and
wherein the automatic locking arm is resiliently biased with the button (541 biases 538 and 540 in an outward direction; see Paragraph 0118);
wherein engagement of the button causes the automatic locking arm to disengage from contact with the base allowing the automatic locking arm to move in the arm movement channel, causing the safety knob assembly to be in the unlocked configuration, the unlocked configuration allowing the knob to freely rotate and allowing rotation of the valve stem (the operation of the knob and it’s locking mechanism is disclosed in Paragraphs 0119, 0120, 0122, 0123, and 0127).
Regarding claim 2, O’Keefe et al. discloses that when the safety knob assembly is in the locked configuration, the knob is in a locked position and the valve stem is in an off position, preventing rotation of the valve stem (see Paragraphs 0107 and 0124).
Regarding claim 3, O’Keefe et al. discloses that when the safety knob assembly is in the unlocked configuration, the knob is in an unlocked position and the valve stem is in an on position, allowing rotation of the valve stem (see Paragraphs 0120, 0122, 0123, and 0127).
Regarding claim 4, O’Keefe et al. discloses that the automatic locking arm is resiliently biased with the button using a spring (541).
Regarding claim 5, O’Keefe et al. discloses that when the safety knob assembly is in the locked configuration, the knob is in a locked position and the valve stem is in an off position, preventing rotation of the valve stem (see Paragraphs 0107 and 0124);
wherein the spring causes the automatic locking arm to be resiliently biased with the button, the automatic locking arm being resiliently biased with the button causing the automatic locking arm to automatically remain engaged with the base (see Paragraphs 0120, 0122, 0123, and 0127).
Regarding claim 6, O’Keefe et al. discloses that when the safety knob assembly is in the unlocked configuration, the knob is in an unlocked position and the valve stem is in an on position, allowing rotation of the valve stem (see Paragraphs 0120, 0122, 0123, and 0127);
wherein the spring causes the automatic locking arm to be resiliently biased with the button, the automatic locking arm being resiliently biased with the button causing the automatic locking arm to automatically engage with the base when the automatic locking arm is aligned with the base (see Paragraphs 0107, 0112, 0113, 0118, 0120, and 0124).
Regarding claim 7, O’Keefe et al. discloses that the knob housing further comprises:
a central shaft portion (the part of 512 that mates with 560 which 580 mates with), the central shaft portion configured to mate with the adapter; and
a central shaft aperture (the part of 512 that 534 enters into), the central shaft aperture configured to receive the valve stem.
Regarding claim 8, O’Keefe et al. discloses that when the safety knob assembly is in the locked configuration, the central shaft aperture is receiving the valve stem and the valve stem is in an off position, preventing rotation of the valve stem (see Paragraphs 0107 and 0124).
Regarding claim 9, O’Keefe et al. discloses that when the safety knob assembly is in the unlocked configuration, the central shaft aperture is receiving the valve stem and the valve stem is in an on position, allowing rotation of the valve stem (see Paragraphs 0120, 0122, 0123, and 0127).
Regarding claim 10, O’Keefe et al. discloses the housing disk covering the base when the safety knob assembly is mounted to the stove further comprises at least one positioning aperture (the area between the lip 566 and the viewed housing disk 560; Paragraph 0121 discloses “As illustrated, a lip 566 may be formed in the lower surface of ring element 560 to hold compression spring 565 in place.”), the at least one positioning aperture **[configured to attach the housing disk to the knob housing]** (the viewed positioning aperture connects 560 with 505 through the presence of the spring 565, and element 505 is attached to the viewed knob housing 512 thus meeting the claim limitation).
Regarding claim 11, O’Keefe et al. discloses an automatically locking, releasable, safety knob assembly, comprising:
a base (505) configured to mount to a stove surface (202) of a stove (200), the base being further configured to contact an automatic locking arm (545, 546) when the safety knob assembly is in a locked configuration;
a knob (510) comprising:
a knob housing (512); and
a housing disk (560) covering the base when the safety knob assembly is mounted to the stove, the housing disk comprising:
an arm movement channel (564); and
a housing disk central aperture (the central part of 560 that 534 extends into), the housing disk central aperture configured to receive an adapter (580; see Paragraph 0119); and
an automatically locking, releasable, sub-assembly (538, 540), comprising:
a button (538, 540) configured to allow free rotation of the knob when the safety knob assembly is in an unlocked configuration; and
wherein the automatic locking arm is resiliently biased with the button (541 biases 538 and 540 in an outward direction; see Paragraph 0118);
wherein engagement of the button causes the automatic locking arm to disengage from contact with the base allowing the automatic locking arm to move in the arm movement channel, causing the safety knob assembly to be in the unlocked configuration, the unlocked configuration allowing the knob to freely rotate and allowing rotation of a valve stem (534) (the operation of the knob and it’s locking mechanism is disclosed in Paragraphs 0119, 0120, 0122, 0123, and 0127).
Regarding claim 12, O’Keefe et al. discloses that when the safety knob assembly is in the locked configuration, the knob is in a locked position and the valve stem is in an off position, preventing rotation of the valve stem (see Paragraphs 0107 and 0124).
Regarding claim 13, O’Keefe et al. discloses that when the safety knob assembly is in the unlocked configuration, the knob is in an unlocked position and the valve stem is in an on position, allowing rotation of the valve stem (see Paragraphs 0120, 0122, 0123, and 0127).
Regarding claim 14, O’Keefe et al. discloses that the automatic locking arm is resiliently biased with the button using a spring (541).
Regarding claim 15, O’Keefe et al. discloses that when the safety knob assembly is in the locked configuration, the knob is in a locked position and the valve stem is in an off position, preventing rotation of the valve stem (see Paragraphs 0107 and 0124);
wherein the spring causes the automatic locking arm to be resiliently biased with the button, the automatic locking arm being resiliently biased with the button causing the automatic locking arm to automatically remain engaged with the base (see Paragraphs 0120, 0122, 0123, and 0127).
Regarding claim 16, O’Keefe et al. discloses that when the safety knob assembly is in the unlocked configuration, the knob is in an unlocked position and the valve stem is in an on position, allowing rotation of the valve stem (see Paragraphs 0120, 0122, 0123, and 0127);
wherein the spring causes the automatic locking arm to be resiliently biased with the button, the automatic locking arm being resiliently biased with the button causing the automatic locking arm to automatically engage with the base when the automatic locking arm is aligned with the base (see Paragraphs 0107, 0112, 0113, 0118, 0120, and 0124).
Regarding claim 17, O’Keefe et al. discloses that the knob housing further comprises:
a central shaft portion (the part of 512 that mates with 560 which 580 mates with), the central shaft portion configured to mate with the adapter; and
a central shaft aperture (the part of 512 that 534 enters into), the central shaft aperture configured to receive the valve stem.
Regarding claim 18, O’Keefe et al. discloses that when the safety knob assembly is in the locked configuration, the central shaft aperture is receiving the valve stem and the valve stem is in an off position, preventing rotation of the valve stem (see Paragraphs 0107 and 0124).
Regarding claim 19, O’Keefe et al. discloses that when the safety knob assembly is in the unlocked configuration, the central shaft aperture is receiving the valve stem and the valve stem is in an on position, allowing rotation of the valve stem (see Paragraphs 0120, 0122, 0123, and 0127).
Regarding claim 20, O’Keefe et al. discloses the housing disk covering the base when the safety knob assembly is mounted to the stove further comprises at least one positioning aperture (the area between the lip 566 and the viewed housing disk 560; Paragraph 0121 discloses “As illustrated, a lip 566 may be formed in the lower surface of ring element 560 to hold compression spring 565 in place.”), the at least one positioning aperture **[configured to attach the housing disk to the knob housing]** (the viewed positioning aperture connects 560 with 505 through the presence of the spring 565, and element 505 is attached to the viewed knob housing 512 thus meeting the claim limitation).
Regarding claim 22, O’Keefe et al. discloses an automatically locking, releasable, safety knob assembly, comprising:
a base (505) configured to mount to a stove surface (202) of a stove (200), the base being further configured to contact an automatic locking arm (545, 546) when the safety knob assembly is in a locked configuration, the locked configuration preventing rotation of a valve stem (534) of the stove;
a knob (510) comprising:
a knob housing (512); and
a housing disk (560) covering the base when the safety knob assembly is mounted to the stove, the housing disk comprising:
an arm movement channel (564); and
a housing disk central aperture (the central part of 560 that 534 extends into); and
an automatically locking, releasable, sub-assembly (538, 540), comprising:
a button (538, 540) configured to allow free rotation of the knob when the safety knob assembly is in an unlocked configuration, the unlocked configuration allowing the knob to freely rotate in a clockwise direction, resulting in rotating of the valve stem; and
wherein the automatic locking arm is resiliently biased with the button (541 biases 538 and 540 in an outward direction; see Paragraph 0118);
wherein engagement of the button causes the automatic locking arm to disengage from contact with the base allowing the automatic locking arm to move in the arm movement channel, causing the safety knob assembly to be in the unlocked configuration, the unlocked configuration allowing the knob to freely rotate in the clockwise direction, resulting in rotating of the valve stem (the operation of the knob and it’s locking mechanism is disclosed in Paragraphs 0119, 0120, 0122, 0123, and 0127).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 21 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Cadima (US 12,681,522 B1) discloses a knob assembly that has a depressible portion which allows for rotation of a knob.
/ADAM D ROGERS/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3617