DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 2 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 2, parent claim 1 requires that “a main body housing configured to enclose the mechanism housing…”. However, claim 2 recites, “the mechanism housing includes a tubular fastened portion… the tubular fastened portion is exposed from the main body housing”. These two limitations are deemed to be in conflict with one another as written. To “enclose” something is generally understood to surround it such that it is placed inside a container like an envelope or package. If the mechanism housing is “enclosed” by the main body housing, it is not understood how a tubular fastened portion of said mechanism housing can be later claimed to be “exposed” from said main body housing which is supposed to be “enclosing” the mechanism housing.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3, 6, 10, 13-16 and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Julius et al. (US 2023/0278177 A1) hereinafter referred to as Julius in view of Hayashi et al. (WO 2011/010634 A1) hereinafter referred to as Hayashi in view of Knight et al. (US 2022/0009067 A1) hereinafter referred to as Knight alternatively in further view of McCardle et al. (US 2024/0017387 A1) hereinafter referred to as McCardle.
Regarding claim 1, Julius discloses a driving tool (10) comprising:
a driving mechanism (22, 30) configured to bias a driver (26) in a forward direction (paragraph 0094);
a power transmission mechanism (92) configured to move the driver in a rearward direction (paragraph 0102) using an output from an electric motor (46);
a mechanism housing (132, 42) that houses the power transmission mechanism (figs. 3-4);
a motor housing (seen in fig. 3) that houses the electric motor (46); and
a main body housing (88) configured to enclose the mechanism housing (figs. 2A and 3).
Julius fails to disclose a fastening portion that fastens the motor housing to the mechanism housing and a main body housing configured to enclose the mechanism housing while leaving the motor housing exposed.
However, Hayashi teaches a driving tool (fig. 4) wherein a fastening portion (see fig. 4 below) that fastens the motor housing (109) to the mechanism housing (fig. 4 below) and a main body housing (101) configured to enclose the mechanism (115a) housing (seen in fig. 4 below) while leaving the motor housing exposed.
Given the teachings of Hayashi, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the time of effective filing to modify the invention of Julius such that it had a fastening portion and an exposed motor housing. Having an exposed motor housing helps to allow someone to more easily gain access to the motor for repair or replacement and can also help to allow air to cool the motor by having the housing exposed. Having a fastening portion is generally desirable for non-integral components that need to be fixed relative to one another such that they can work together properly.
Julius as modified by Hayashi fails to disclose a fastener is used to fastens the motor housing to the mechanism housing.
However, Knight teaches a fastening portion that fastens the motor housing (46) to the mechanism housing (50) using a fastener (see fasteners depicted in fig. 2 that connected 46 and 50).
Given the teachings of Knight, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the time of effective filing to modify Julius in view of Hayashi to make use of fasteners in the fastening portion. The motor housing and mechanism housing of Julius as modified by Hayashi are clearly connected together. Fasteners were an old and well-known means of connecting tool housing parts together to ensure they did not move relative to one another.
The Office deems Julius in view of Hayashi in view of Knight to disclose the claimed combination. Wherein the Applicant may argue that fasteners are not explicitly disclosed, the Office alternatively further points to McCardle which teaches a driving tool which utilizes fasteners (96, 97) to secure housings to one another (paragraphs 0080, 0085; fig. 8).
Given the teachings of McCardle, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the time of effective filing to have the connectors disclosed in Julius in view of Hayashi in view of Knight be fasteners. Fasteners were an old and well-known means of connecting tool housing parts together to ensure they did not move relative to one another and the threaded fasteners of McCardle would provide a very secure connection that could be removed when needed.
Regarding claim 2, Julius as modified by Hayashi, Knight and McCardle discloses wherein the motor housing (Hayashi - 109) is formed in a tubular shape, the mechanism housing includes a tubular fastened portion (Hayashi – fig. 4; flat end of mechanism housing connecting to flanges of 109) configured to be fastened to the fastening portion with a fastener (Knight – fig. 2; McCardle – 96, 97), and the tubular fastened portion is exposed from the main body housing.
Regarding claim 3, Julius as modified by Hayashi discloses wherein the main body housing further comprises:
an upper housing (Hayashi - portion near 115a and 130 in fig. 4 above) that houses the mechanism housing;
a handle housing (Hayashi - 103) that extends downward from the upper housing and supports a handle; and
a lower housing (Hayashi – portion near 110 in fig. 4 above) that protrudes forward from a lower portion of the handle housing and is configured to connect to a lower portion of the motor housing (Hayashi - see fig. 4 above).
Regarding claim 6, Julius as modified by Hayashi discloses wherein the lower housing includes a connecting portion (Hayashi – see fig. 4 above; Connecting part that extends from near 110 to 109) that connects to a lower portion of the motor housing (109), thereby positioning the lower portion of the motor housing.
Regarding claim 10, Julius discloses a magazine (14, fig. 3; 1014, fig. 29) that houses a plurality of driving members, wherein an upper portion of the magazine connects to the mechanism housing, and a lower portion of the magazine connects to a lower housing (figs. 3 and 26).
Regarding claim 13, Julius discloses wherein the mechanism housing (132, 42) includes a driver guide (slot for driver 26 seen in figs. 6A, 6E, 26) that extends in a front-rear direction and connects to the upper portion of the magazine (figs. 3, 25-26).
Regarding claim 14, Julius discloses a driving tool (10) comprising:
a driving mechanism (22, 30) configured to move a driver (26) in a driving direction (paragraph 0094);
a power transmission mechanism (92, 44) including a lifter (44) configured to move the driver in a direction opposite to the driving direction, and a reduction mechanism (92) configured to reduce an output of an electric motor and transmits the reduced output to the lifter (paragraph 0103-0108);
a mechanism housing (132, 42) configured to house the power transmission mechanism (figs. 3-4);
a motor housing (seen in fig. 3) formed in a tubular shape and configured to house the electric motor (46); and
a main body housing (88) configured to enclose the mechanism housing (figs. 2A and 3).
Julius fails to disclose a fastening portion formed on the motor housing; and
wherein the motor housing is configured to be fastened to the mechanism housing through the fastening portion, and is exposed outside the mechanism housing.
However, Hayashi teaches a driving tool (fig. 4) wherein a fastening portion (see fig. 4 above) formed on the motor housing (109); and wherein the motor housing (109) is configured to be fastened to the mechanism housing (see fig. 4 above) through the fastening portion, and is exposed outside the mechanism housing (fig. 4).
Given the teachings of Hayashi, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the time of effective filing to modify the invention of Julius such that it had a fastening portion and an exposed motor housing. Having an exposed motor housing helps to allow someone to more easily gain access to the motor for repair or replacement and can also help to allow air to cool the motor by having the housing exposed. Having a fastening portion is generally desirable for non-integral components that need to be fixed relative to one another such that they can work together properly.
Julius as modified by Hayashi fails to disclose a fastener is used to fasten the motor housing to the mechanism housing.
However, Knight teaches a fastening portion that fastens the motor housing (46) to the mechanism housing (50) using a fastener (see fasteners depicted in fig. 2 that connected 46 and 50).
Given the teachings of Knight, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the time of effective filing to modify Julius in view of Hayashi to make use of fasteners in the fastening portion. The motor housing and mechanism housing of Julius as modified by Hayashi are clearly connected together. Fasteners were an old and well-known means of connecting tool housing parts together to ensure they did not move relative to one another.
Wherein the screws are not explicitly disclosed as fasteners, the Office further points to McCardle which teaches a driving tool which utilizes fasteners in the form of screws (96, 97) to secure housings to one another (paragraphs 0080, 0085; fig. 8).
Given the teachings of McCardle, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the time of effective filing to have the connectors disclosed in Julius in view of Hayashi in view of Knight be screw fasteners. Screw fasteners were an old and well-known means of connecting tool housing parts together to ensure they did not move relative to one another and the threaded fasteners of McCardle would provide a very secure connection that could be removed when needed.
Regarding claim 15, Julius as modified by Hayashi, Knight and McCardle discloses a tubular fastened portion (Hayashi – fig. 4; flat end of mechanism housing connecting to flanges of 109) configured to be fastened to the fastening portion with a fastener (Knight – fig. 2; McCardle – 96, 97), and the tubular fastened portion is exposed from the main body housing (Hayashi – fig. 4).
Regarding claim 16, Julius as modified by Hayashi discloses a gear housing (Hayashi – portion around 113) that houses the reduction mechanism, wherein the gear housing includes the tubular fastened portion (Hayashi – fig. 4).
Regarding claim 20, Julius discloses wherein the driving mechanism (22, 30) includes a piston (22) configured to move integrally with the driver, and an accumulation chamber (30) configured to be pressurized by a rearward movement of the piston.
Claim(s) 4-5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Julius (US 2023/0278177 A1) in view of Hayashi (WO 2011/010634 A1) in view of Knight (US 2022/0009067 A1) alternatively in further view of McCardle (US 2024/0017387 A1) in view of Eisenhardt (US Patent 5,706,902).
Regarding claim 4, Julius as modified by Hayashi discloses an upper housing and a mechanism housing, but fails to disclose an elastic member that is placed between the upper housing and the mechanism housing.
However, Eisenhardt teaches an elastic member (31; col. 4 lines 18-29; fig. 2) that is placed between the upper housing (9) and the mechanism housing (32).
Given the teachings of Eisenhardt, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the invention was made to incorporate the elastic ring of Eisenhardt with the upper housing and mechanism housing of Julius as modified by Hayashi. Doing so would help to reduce vibrations imparted to the user during jarring movements of the tool.
Regarding claim 5, Julius in view of Hayashi as modified by Eisenhardt above discloses wherein the elastic member is a rubber ring (Eisenhardt - 31; col. 4 lines 18-29; fig. 2) that is held in an elastically deformed state between an outer surface of the mechanism housing and an inner surface of the upper housing.
Claim(s) 7-8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Julius (US 2023/0278177 A1) in view of Hayashi (WO 2011/010634 A1) in view of Knight (US 2022/0009067 A1) alternatively in further view of McCardle (US 2024/0017387 A1) in view of Carrier et al. (US 2020/0070330 A1) hereinafter referred to as Carrier.
Regarding claim 7, Julius in view of Hayashi discloses a controller housing in the housing (Hayashi – paragraph 0075), but fails to disclose wherein the controller is housed in the lower housing.
However, Carrier teaches a controller (50), wherein the controller is housed in the lower housing (near 48, figs. 2 and 4; paragraph 0061).
Given the teachings of Carrier, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the time of effective filing to incorporate the controller of Carrier with the combination of Julius in view of Hayashi in view of Knight and McCardle. Doing so would allow for better control of the electric motor according to sensor input and defined parameters and protect the controller by having it housed in a location away from the work being done by the tool.
Regarding claim 8, Julius in view of Hayashi in view of Knight and McCardle as modified by Carrier above discloses a fan (Carrier - 46) configured to rotate by the electric motor (Carrier - 40); a ventilation hole (Carrier - 260) located in a lower portion of the lower housing; and an air passage (Carrier - 252; fig. 6) configured to introduce outside air, which is taken in through the ventilation hole by suction force of the fan, into the motor housing from inside the lower housing.
Given the teachings of Carrier, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of effective filing to modify the invention of Julius in view of Hayashi in view of Knight and McCardle to have the fan, ventilation holes and air passage of Carrier. Doing so would help to keep the controller and motor from overheating.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 9, 11-12 and 17-19 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. See Notice of References Cited. The prior art is generally related to electrically driven fastener drivers and the housings therefore with Shioya et al. (US 2021/0146517 A1) being exemplary of the field of art.
/ANDREW M TECCO/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3731