DETAILED ACTION
Acknowledgements
This Final Office Action is in reply to Applicant’s response filed June 30, 2026.
Claims 1, 2, 4, 5, 10, 15-18 are currently amended. Claim 11 is currently cancelled.
Claims 1-10, 12-20 are currently pending.
Claims 1-10, 12-20 have been examined.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-10, 12-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Regarding claim 1
Claim 1 recites, in relevant part:
[…] identify the first blockchain address as invalid when the balance of the first blockchain address indicates zero,
The originally filed disclosure does not reasonably convey to one of ordinary skill in the art that the inventors possessed the new claimed limitation that a zero balance causes the first blockchain address to be affirmatively identified as invalid. Applicant relies on paragraph [0189] which states that an account may be identified as valid if it holds assets or performed a transaction. However, the inverse cannot be assumed to be true. Paragraph [0189] does not teach that an account which does not hold assets is not valid.
Regarding claims 2-10, 12-20
Claim 15 lacks written description for the same reason as claim 1, and the remaining claims lack written description by virtue of their dependence on claims 1 or 15.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2, 4-10, 12-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ready (US 20200320501 A1) in view of Walsh “Detect Cryptocurrency by Wallet Address” in view of Pyo (US 20220277274 A1) in view of Augusto “How To Accept Bitcoin on Your Website”.
Regarding claims 1 and 15
Ready teaches:
An electronic device comprising:
communication circuitry; memory, comprising one or more storage media, storing instructions; and one or more processors communicatively coupled to the communication circuitry and the memory; and
wherein the instructions, when executed by the one or more processors individually or collectively, cause the electronic device to:
in response to identifying the first blockchain address as valid, identify at least one second blockchain address capable of performing a transaction with the first blockchain address among at least one blockchain address of a user of the electronic device, and {[0047] "In several exemplary embodiments, the service provider server 180 examines the merchant or business in determining [identifying] which wallets [second blockchain address] are the most applicable and should be recommended." and [0048] "The service provider can also take into account the amount of the purchase and type of currency accepted by the merchant. Unusable [not capable of performing a transaction] wallets can be filtered out this way."}
display a user interface including the first blockchain address and the at least one second blockchain address. {Fig. 3B; claim 18 “wherein the first graphical element is selectable by the user on the user device to complete the electronic transaction using the first digital wallet.”}
Ready does not teach, however Walsh teaches:
identify a first blockchain address based on the identified text, {Page 1 “a library that detects a cryptocurrency by wallet address […] With the resource available, you can provide an address and get a relevant cryptocurrency back”; Page 2 “This type of library also inherently acts as a validator for addresses for any given cryptocurrency type. If you can’t match the currency type, obviously the address wouldn’t work.”}
identify a blockchain network indicated by the first blockchain address, {Page 1 “a library that detects a cryptocurrency by wallet address […] With the resource available, you can provide an address and get a relevant cryptocurrency [blockchain network] back”}
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the library for detecting cryptocurrency by wallet address of Walsh with the multiple digital wallet system of Ready because it would further Ready’s goal of filtering out unusable wallets by allowing a determination of which wallets are usable.
Ready in view of Walsh does not teach, however Pyo teaches:
transmit, to the identified blockchain network, an inquiry request for the first blockchain address, {[0042] “Cryptocurrency information of participants including types and an amount of cryptocurrency held by the participants and a past transaction history of the cryptocurrency may be received through blockchain platforms such as Bitcoin Block Explorer, and Etherscan, using [transmit] the received electronic wallet addresses of the participants.”}
receive, from the identified blockchain network, an inquiry result including information associated with a transaction and a balance of the first blockchain address, {[0042] “Cryptocurrency information of participants including types and an amount [balance] of cryptocurrency held by the participants and a past transaction history of the cryptocurrency may be received through blockchain platforms such as Bitcoin Block Explorer, and Etherscan, using the received electronic wallet addresses of the participants.”}
determine, based on the received inquiry result, whether a balance of the first blockchain address indicates zero or non-zero, {[0042] “Cryptocurrency information of participants including types and an amount [balance] of cryptocurrency held by the participants and a past transaction history of the cryptocurrency may be received through blockchain platforms such as Bitcoin Block Explorer, and Etherscan, using the received electronic wallet addresses of the participants.”}
identify the first blockchain address as valid when the balance of the first blockchain address indicates non-zero, and identify the first blockchain address as invalid when the balance of the first blockchain address indicates zero, {[0042] “Cryptocurrency information of participants including types and an amount [balance] of cryptocurrency held by the participants and a past transaction history of the cryptocurrency may be received through blockchain platforms such as Bitcoin Block Explorer, and Etherscan, using the received electronic wallet addresses of the participants.”}
Pyo teaches transmitting a wallet address to a block explorer and receiving back an amount of cryptocurrency held by the participant. The amount must be zero or non-zero since those are mutually exclusive and collectively exhaustive possibilities. To the extent the claim requires identifying a zero balance as invalid and a non-zero balance as valid, this is merely applying a label to the two possibilities and cannot distinguish the claim from the prior art.
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the transaction history receiving of Pyo with the purchase request receiving of Ready because the existence of transaction history or a balance would indicate validity of the first blockchain address and would prevent loss of currency by sending to an invalid address.
Ready in view of Walsh in view of Pyo does not teach, however Augusto teaches:
identify text displayed on the electronic device,
display a user interface including the first blockchain address and the at least one second blockchain address. {Page 14 figure, shown below}
Ready teaches displaying on a user interface a plurality of accounts to use to make a payment, including a cryptocurrency account (at least one second blockchain address). Augusto teaches displaying on a user interface a “to” address in a bitcoin transaction (the first blockchain address).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the interface of Ready with the “to” address of Augusto to show the user what address they are sending funds to and therefore be more informative to a user. Note: The accounts of Ready read on “at least one second blockchain address” because [0076] in the specification reads “According to an embodiment, the account used in the decentralized network (e.g., a blockchain network) may be also referred to as an address (or a blockchain address).” “Blockchain address” is interpreted as encompassing accounts used in decentralized networks.
Regarding claims 2 and 16
Ready does not teach, however Walsh teaches:
The electronic device of claim 1, wherein the instructions, when executed by the one or more processors individually or collectively, further cause the electronic device to:
determine whether the identified text is in a defined format corresponding to a blockchain address for the blockchain network, {Page 1 “a library that detects a cryptocurrency by wallet address”}
identify the blockchain network indicated by the first blockchain address among a plurality of blockchain networks, based on the defined format, and {Page 1 “With the resource available, you can provide an address and get a relevant cryptocurrency back”}
identify validity of the first blockchain address based on the identified blockchain network. {Page 2 “This type of library also inherently acts as a validator for addresses for any given cryptocurrency type. If you can’t match the currency type, obviously the address wouldn’t work.”}
The reasons for combining Walsh with Ready are the same as given in regards to claim 1.
Regarding claims 4 and 17
Ready in view of Walsh does not teach, however Pyo teaches:
The electronic device of claim 1, wherein the instructions, when executed by the one or more processors individually or collectively, further cause the electronic device to:
request a transaction history related to the first blockchain address from the blockchain network, and {[0042] “Cryptocurrency information of participants including types and an amount of cryptocurrency held by the participants and a past transaction history of the cryptocurrency may be received through blockchain platforms such as Bitcoin Block Explorer, and Etherscan, using the received electronic wallet addresses of the participants.”}
identify validity of the first blockchain address based on the transaction history related to the first blockchain address received from the blockchain network.
Identifying validity is interpreted as the intended purpose of checking the transaction history / balance information. The reasons for combining the above teachings of Pyo with the system of Ready in view of Walsh are the same as given above with respect to claim 1.
Regarding claims 5 and 18
Ready in view of Walsh does not teach, however Pyo teaches:
The electronic device of claim 1, wherein the instructions, when executed by the one or more processors individually or collectively, further cause the electronic device to:
in response to validity of the first blockchain address not being identified, request a server, which stores a transaction history related to the blockchain network, to identify the validity of the first blockchain address, and
identify the validity of the first blockchain address based on a result of the validity identification request received from the server.
See claim 4. This step is the same as given in claim 4, except that the claim recites requesting a server to perform identify the validity. However, identifying validity is performed by virtue of checking the transaction history / balance information. Therefore, in the teachings of Pyo, both Etherscan and the Etherscan user have identified validity.
Regarding claim 6
Pyo teaches:
The electronic device of claim 5, wherein the result of the validity identification request received from the server comprises information indicating that the first blockchain address holds a non-fungible token.
This is merely claiming a specific balance information result. This is non-functional descriptive material because it describes the content of data and is not given patentable weight. Additionally, since Pyo teaches checking “an amount of cryptocurrency held by the participants”, a person of ordinary skill in the art would immediately envisage that the result could be an indication the address holds a non-fungible token.
Regarding claim 7
Ready teaches:
The electronic device of claim 1, wherein the instructions, when executed by the one or more processors individually or collectively, further cause the electronic device to identify the at least one second blockchain address related to the blockchain network from among the at least one blockchain address of the user. {[0048] “The service provider can also take into account the amount of the purchase and type of currency accepted by the merchant. Unusable wallets can be filtered out this way.”}
Regarding claims 8 and 19
Ready teaches:
identify the at least one second blockchain address, which holds the transaction object of the first blockchain address, among the at least one blockchain address of the user. {[0048] “The service provider can also take into account the amount of the purchase and type of currency [transaction object] accepted by the merchant. Unusable wallets can be filtered out this way.”}
Ready in view of Walsh does not teach, however Pyo teaches:
The electronic device of claim 1, wherein the instructions, when executed by the one or more processors individually or collectively, further cause the electronic device to:
identify a transaction object of the first blockchain address based on a transaction history related to the first blockchain address, and {[0042] “Cryptocurrency information of participants including types and an amount of cryptocurrency [transaction object] held by the participants and a past transaction history of the cryptocurrency may be received through blockchain platforms such as Bitcoin Block Explorer, and Etherscan, using the received electronic wallet addresses of the participants.”}
The reasons for combining the transaction history check of Pyo with the multiple wallet system of Ready are given above with respect to claim 1.
Regarding claim 9
Ready teaches:
The electronic device of claim 1, wherein the instructions, when executed by the one or more processors individually or collectively, further cause the electronic device to display the user interface including the at least one second blockchain address in a predetermined order. {[0066] “If more than one digital wallet is determined as likely to be applicable for a given consumer, the widgets representing the wallets may be displayed spatially, in order of descending likelihood of applicability for the given consumer”}
Regarding claim 10
Ready teaches:
The electronic device of claim 9, wherein the predetermined order is an order of use of the at least one second blockchain address of the user, an order of the at least one second blockchain address identified based on a transaction history related to the first blockchain address, an order of the at least one second blockchain address identified based on a transaction object of the first blockchain address, or an order based on a combination thereof. {[0013] “For example, the digital wallet determined to be most applicable for a given consumer may be displayed most prominently to the user (e.g., it may be displayed alone, it may be displayed first in a listing of digital wallets, it may be displayed first in a limited listing of digital wallets, or it may be displayed with a graphical user interface widget, e.g., a drop-down list or list box, that displays the most applicable digital wallet but allows the user to click the drop-down control to display alternative digital wallets from which to choose). The selected digital wallet can be based on […] specific consumer purchasing history [order of use]”; [0048] “The service provider can also take into account the amount of the purchase and type of currency [transaction object] accepted by the merchant.”}
Regarding claim 12
Ready teaches:
The electronic device of claim 1, wherein the instructions, when executed by the one or more processors individually or collectively, further cause the electronic device to:
based on receiving a user input selecting a second blockchain address from among the at least one second blockchain address, generate the transaction including the first blockchain address as a recipient address and the selected blockchain address as a sender address. {[0013] “For example, the digital wallet determined to be most applicable for a given consumer may be displayed most prominently to the user (e.g., it may be displayed alone, it may be displayed first in a listing of digital wallets, it may be displayed first in a limited listing of digital wallets, or it may be displayed with a graphical user interface [receiving a user input] widget, e.g., a drop-down list or list box, that displays the most applicable digital wallet but allows the user to click the drop-down control to display alternative digital wallets from which to choose).”; Claim 1 “the graphical element is selectable by the user on the user device to complete the electronic transaction”}
Regarding claim 13
Ready teaches:
The electronic device of claim 12, wherein the transaction is generated after the first blockchain address is identified as valid. {Claim 1 “the graphical element is selectable by the user on the user device to complete the electronic transaction”}
Regarding claims 14 and 20
Ready teaches:
The electronic device of claim 1, wherein the instructions, when executed by the one or more processors individually or collectively, further cause the electronic device to:
execute an application capable of supporting the transaction with the first blockchain address, and {Claim 1 “the graphical element is selectable by the user on the user device to complete the electronic transaction”}
display the user interface on the executed application. {Claim 1 “the graphical element [user interface] is selectable by the user on the user device to complete the electronic transaction”}
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ready (US 20200320501 A1) in view of Walsh “Detect Cryptocurrency by Wallet Address” in view of Pyo (US 20220277274 A1) in view of Augusto “How To Accept Bitcoin on Your Website” as applied to claim 2 above, and further in view of Buterin “EIP-55: Mixed-case checksum address encoding”.
Regarding claim 3
Ready in view of Walsh in view of Pyo in view of Augusto does not teach, however Buterin teaches:
The electronic device of claim 2, wherein the instructions, when executed by the one or more processors individually or collectively, further cause the electronic device to identify the validity of the first blockchain address based on a blockchain address generation algorithm associated with the identified blockchain network. {Page 1 “EIP-55: Mixed-case checksum address encoding”; Page 2 “In English, convert the address to hex, but if the ith digit is a letter (ie. it’s one of -abcdef) print it in uppercase if the 4*ith bit of the hash of the lowercase hexadecimal address is 1 otherwise print it in lowercase”; Page 3 “On average there will be 15 check bits per address, and the net probability that a randomly generated address if mistyped will accidentally pass a check [identify validity] is 0.0247%.”}
Buterin teaches encoding a checksum in a hex format address using capitalization of the -abcdef characters. The checksum algorithm is part of the address generation algorithm. While Buterin does not state it explicitly, it is implicit in the concept of a checksum that it is used in validation by recomputing and comparing. It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the checksum validation of Buterin with the purchase request receiving of Ready because it would prevent the system of Ready from using a mistyped address and resulting in lost funds (Buterin: “On average there will be 15 check bits per address, and the net probability that a randomly generated address if mistyped will accidentally pass a check is 0.0247%”).
Response to Arguments
35 USC § 112(b)
The previous rejection of claim 10 is withdrawn due to the amendment.
35 USC § 103
Applicant points to the following limitation and argues it is not taught by any of the cited references:
identify the first blockchain address as valid when the balance of the first blockchain address indicates non-zero, and identify the first blockchain address as invalid when the balance of the first blockchain address indicates zero,
The rejection alleges this function is taught by Pyo, which teaches using a block explorer to retrieve an amount of cryptocurrency held by an address and a past transaction history of the address. Applicant argues Pyo does not address validity. However, the term “valid” as used in the claim is nothing more than a label that is being applied to an address that has a non-zero balance, while “invalid” is a label applied to an address with a zero balance. The claim must be distinguished from the prior art based on the structure of the claimed device, not on mere labels or terminology being applied to a given situation. Because Pyo teaches the function of retrieving balance information, it teaches the claimed function.
Cited Art Not Relied Upon
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure and is listed in the enclosed PTO-892.
Sheerin (US 20180082287 A1) teaches (relevant to the zero/non-zero balance check of claim 1):
[0019] “Once the user has logged into the online account, a certain subset of data and/or a certain subset of features may be disabled due to the public cryptocurrency address reflecting a particular balance (e.g., a non-zero balance). When the user desires to enable access to the secure part of the online account, the user employs the private cryptocurrency key in order to modify (e.g. reduce) the balance associated with the public cryptocurrency address (block 24).”
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/S.M.D./Examiner, Art Unit 3698
/PATRICK MCATEE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3698