DETAILED ACTION
Status of the Claims
This action is in response to the applicant’s filing on November 20, 2025. Claims 1-20 are pending and are examined below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-4, and 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Ochiai et al., US 9707913 B1, hereinafter referred to as Ochiai.
As to claim 1, Ochiai discloses a method for adjusting a seat comprising the steps of:
inputting a desired position of at least one of a recline position of a seat, a fore-aft position of a seat, or swivel position of a seat (User adjustment – See at least Col. 9 Lines 4-8; Exemplary system includes adjustable component such as driver seat – See at least Col. 3 Lines 23-24; Recline angle – See at least Col. 1 Lines 52-55);
determining at least one of the current recline position, fore-aft position or swivel position (Control vehicle component to have optimal setting – See at least Col. 8 Lines 62-67 – Col. 9 Lines 1-4, and Fig. 4);
calculating a movement value based on the desired position, the current position, and a limiting value (Determine whether adjusted setting falls within acceptable range – See at least Col. 9 Lines 9-20; Examiner notes determining whether an adjusted setting falls within an acceptable range necessarily includes a movement value as that is the movement associated with the adjusted setting.);
activating a controllable device to limit or to force the position of at least one of the recline position, the fore-aft position, or the swivel position when the movement value is outside an predetermined acceptable range (Prevent setting outside acceptable range, i.e., “limit position” – See at least Col. 9 Lines 62-64; If driver continues to attempt to recline seat, ECU may allow seat to continue reclining, i.e., “force position” – See at least Col. 10 Lines 8-10).
As to claim 2, Ochiai discloses the controllable device forces movement of at least one of the recline position, the fore-aft position, or the swivel position of a seat (Recline angle – See at least Col. 1 Lines 52-55; If driver continues to attempt to recline seat, ECU may allow seat to continue reclining, i.e., “force position” – See at least Col. 10 Lines 8-10).
As to claim 3, Ochiai discloses the controllable device restricts movement of at least one of the recline position, the fore-aft position, or the swivel position of a seat (Prevent setting outside acceptable range, i.e., “limit position” – See at least Col. 9 Lines 62-64; Recline angle – See at least Col. 1 Lines 52-55).
As to claim 4, Ochiai discloses calculating the movement value comprises comparing the desired position, the current position, and the limiting value to determine whether movement to the desired position is permitted (Determine whether adjusted setting falls within acceptable range – See at least Col. 9 Lines 9-20; Examiner notes determining whether an adjusted setting falls within an acceptable range necessarily includes a movement value as that is the movement associated with the adjusted setting.).
As to claim 7, Ochiai discloses identifying a boundary condition based on a sensor input prior to calculating the movement value (Optimal setting based on sensor data – See at least Col. 8 Lines 35-38).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 5, and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ochiai et al., US 9707913 B1, in view of Kim et al., US 20080009989 A1, hereinafter referred to as Ochiai, and Kim, respectively.
As to claim 5, Ochiai fails to explicitly disclose detecting a potential interference based on a set of stored seat position limits when calculating the movement value. However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Ochiai and include the feature of detecting a potential interference based on a set of stored seat position limits when calculating the movement value, with a reasonable expectation of success, because Kim teaches it is well-known and routine to store a set of positions indicative of an interference related to moving a vehicle seat (See at least Abstract and ¶31 of Kim).
As to claim 10, Ochiai fails to explicitly disclose activating the controllable device to force the adjustment is based on predefined interference criteria stored in memory. However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Ochiai and include the feature of activating the controllable device to force the adjustment is based on predefined interference criteria stored in memory, with a reasonable expectation of success, because Kim teaches it is well-known and routine to store a set of positions indicative of an interference boundary related to moving a vehicle seat (See at least Abstract and ¶31 of Kim).
Claims 6, 8, 9, 13-15, and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ochiai et al., US 9707913 B1, hereinafter referred to as Ochiai.
As to claim 6, Ochiai fails to explicitly disclose activating the controllable device to force the position comprises adjusting a second seat parameter to enable continued movement toward the desired position. However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Ochiai and include the feature of activating the controllable device to force the position comprises adjusting a second seat parameter to enable continued movement toward the desired position, with a reasonable expectation of success, because Ochiai discloses performing the above forcing of a position with respect to a first parameter, i.e., a recline angle, and a person of ordinary skill in the art would readily and unquestionably recognize the claim is merely duplicating the forced position of Ochiai to an additional parameter, wherein seat adjustment movement in various dimensions, is well-known and routine as they are commonplace to everyday driving experience.
As to claim 8, Ochiai discloses a method for adjusting a seat, comprising:
receiving a desired position for at least one of a recline position, a fore-aft position, or a swivel position of a seat (User adjustment – See at least Col. 9 Lines 4-8; Exemplary system includes adjustable component such as driver seat – See at least Col. 3 Lines 23-24; Recline angle – See at least Col. 1 Lines 52-55);
determining a current position of the seat corresponding to the desired position (Optimal setting – See at least Col. 8 Lines 62-67 – Col. 9 Lines 1-4);
comparing the desired position, the current position, and a limiting value to calculate a movement value (Control vehicle component to have optimal setting – See at least Col. 8 Lines 62-67 – Col. 9 Lines 1-4, and Fig. 4); and
determining whether the movement value is within an acceptable range (Determine whether adjusted setting falls within acceptable range – See at least Col. 9 Lines 9-20; Examiner notes determining whether an adjusted setting falls within an acceptable range necessarily includes a movement value as that is the movement associated with the adjusted setting.).
Ochiai fails to explicitly disclose when the movement value is within the acceptable range, activating a controllable device to adjust the seat toward the desired position; and when the movement value is outside the acceptable range, activating the controllable device to force adjustment of a different seat parameter to enable continued movement toward the desired position.
However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Ochiai and include the features of when the movement value is within the acceptable range, activating a controllable device to adjust the seat toward the desired position; and when the movement value is outside the acceptable range, activating the controllable device to force adjustment of a different seat parameter to enable continued movement toward the desired position, with a reasonable expectation of success, because performing the control when a movement value is within an acceptable range is the logical iimplication of Ochiai’s disclosure of preventing movement when a value is outside an acceptable range (See at least Col. 9 Lines 9-11 of Ochiai), and Ochiai discloses performing the above forcing of a position with respect to a first parameter, i.e., a recline angle, and a person of ordinary skill in the art would readily and unquestionably recognize the claim is merely duplicating the forced position of Ochiai to an additional, i.e., different, parameter, wherein seat adjustment movement in various dimensions, is well-known and routine as they are commonplace to everyday driving experience.
As to claim 9, Ochiai discloses forcing adjustment of the different seat parameter comprises adjusting a recline angle to enable further fore-aft movement (If driver continues to attempt to recline seat, ECU may allow seat to continue reclining, i.e., “force position” – See at least Col. 10 Lines 8-10).
As to claim 13, Ochiai discloses the movement value comprises an offset between the current position and the desired position weighted by the limiting value (Determine whether adjusted setting falls within acceptable range – See at least Col. 9 Lines 9-20; Examiner notes determining whether an adjusted setting falls within an acceptable range necessarily includes a movement value as that is the movement associated with the adjusted setting with respect to a current position, i.e., “offset.”).
As to claim 14, Ochiai discloses a method for adjusting a seat based on controller logic, comprising:
receiving a desired position input for a seat (User adjustment – See at least Col. 9 Lines 4-8; Exemplary system includes adjustable component such as driver seat – See at least Col. 3 Lines 23-24; Recline angle – See at least Col. 1 Lines 52-55);
determining a current position of the seat (Optimal setting – See at least Col. 8 Lines 62-67 – Col. 9 Lines 1-4);
determining whether movement to the desired position is permitted based on a movement value calculated from the desired position, the current position, and a limiting value (Determine whether adjusted setting falls within acceptable range – See at least Col. 9 Lines 9-20; Examiner notes determining whether an adjusted setting falls within an acceptable range necessarily includes a movement value as that is the movement associated with the adjusted setting.);
Ochiai fails to explicitly disclose when movement is permitted, activating a controllable device to adjust the seat to the desired position; and when movement is not permitted, automatically overriding the desired position input and activating the controllable device to adjust the seat along a second axis to enable continued movement along a first axis.
However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Ochiai and include the features of when movement is permitted, activating a controllable device to adjust the seat to the desired position; and when movement is not permitted, automatically overriding the desired position input and activating the controllable device to adjust the seat along a second axis to enable continued movement along a first axis, with a reasonable expectation of success, because performing the control when a movement value is within an acceptable range is the logical implication of Ochiai’s disclosure of preventing movement when a value is outside an acceptable range (See at least Col. 9 Lines 9-11 of Ochiai), and Ochiai discloses performing the above forcing of a position with respect to a first axis, i.e., a recline angle, and a person of ordinary skill in the art would readily and unquestionably recognize the claim is merely duplicating the forced position of Ochiai to an additional, i.e., different, axis, wherein seat adjustment movement in various dimensions, is well-known and routine as they are commonplace to everyday driving experience.
As to claim 15, Ochiai discloses recline movement (Recline angle – See at least Col. 1 Lines 52-55).
Ochia fails to explicitly disclose fore-aft movement.
However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Ochiai and include the feature of fore-aft movement, with a reasonable expectation of success, because Ochiai discloses performing the above forcing of a position with respect to a first axis, i.e., a recline angle, and a person of ordinary skill in the art would readily and unquestionably recognize the claim is merely duplicating the forced position of Ochiai to an additional, i.e., different, axis, wherein seat adjustment movement in various dimensions, is well-known and routine as they are commonplace to everyday driving experience.
As to claim 17, Ochiai discloses storing an override event in a system log (Store optimal setting and adjusted setting – See at least Col. 10 Lines 11-14).
Claims 11, 12, and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ochiai et al., US 9707913 B1, in view of Zouzal et al., US 20170355282 A1, hereinafter referred to as Ochiai, and Zouzal.
As to claim 11, Ochiai fails to explicitly disclose displaying the desired position on a user interface before adjusting the seat. However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Ochiai and include the feature of displaying the desired position on a user interface before adjusting the seat, with a reasonable expectation of success, because Zouzal teaches it is well-known and routine in the vehicle seat control arts to display a desired position on a user interface to facilitate seat adjustment (Display variety of adjustments for assisting occupant – See at least ¶20, 22, and 23 of Zouzal).
As to claim 12, Ochiai fails to explicitly disclose receiving the desired position comprises accessing stored operator preference data. However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Ochiai and include the feature of receiving the desired position comprises accessing stored operator preference data, with a reasonable expectation of success, because Zouzal teaches it is well-known and routine in the vehicle seat control arts to retrieve stored user preferences (Predetermined/preferred seat positions – See at least ¶22 of Zouzal).
As to claim 19, Ochiai fails to explicitly disclose determining the current position comprises receiving data from multiple sensors monitoring the recline position and the fore-aft position. However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Ochiai and include the feature of determining the current position comprises receiving data from multiple sensors monitoring the recline position and the fore-aft position, with a reasonable expectation of success, because Zouzal teaches it is well-known and routine in the vehicle seat control arts to express vehicle seat position in terms of recline and fore-aft position as determined by appropriate sensors (Sensors for detecting seat position – See at least ¶18 of Zouzal).
Claim 18 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ochiai et al., US 9707913 B1, in view of Yetukuri et al., US 20200171979 A1, hereinafter referred to as Ochiai, and Yetukuri.
As to claim 18, Ochiai fails to explicitly disclose providing a visual notification to an operator when the desired position input is overridden. However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Ochiai and include the feature of providing a visual notification to an operator when the desired position input is overridden, with a reasonable expectation of success, because Yetukuri teaches it is well-known and routine in the vehicle seat control arts to provide a manual override via a display which by its nature serves as a visual indication to a vehicle operator that a commanded positional movement is overridden (See at least ¶40 of Yetukuri).
Claim 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ochiai et al., US 9707913 B1, in view of Fang et al., US 20160292521 A1, hereinafter referred to as Ochiai, and Fang.
As to claim 20, Ochiai fails to explicitly disclose recalibrating the detection system during an inactive period of the seat adjustment system. However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Ochiai and include the feature of recalibrating the detection system during an inactive period of the seat adjustment system., with a reasonable expectation of success, because Fang teaches it is well-known and routine in the vehicle seat control arts to recalibrate a passenger detection sensor when the sensor is not in user (Recalibrate sensor when vehicle is empty, i.e., seat adjustment system not in use – See at least ¶92 of Fang).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 16 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/LAIL A KLEINMAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3668